asking for current/last drawn and expected salary

TSIEE
post Jul 20 2011, 04:51 PM, updated 15y ago

1,037 posts

this is a do-u-agree-with-me / what-would-you-do-if-you-were-me thread.

I been unemployed for almost half a year because of what i done, rejecting all the call that asking for current and expected salary.
There is not a single call that don't ask for my salary info. This has been making my parent and me very angry and frustrated. sad.gif

so any way to get job from company that don't ask for salary info? smile.gif

P/S: 2 years IT industry working experience.
TSIEE
post Jul 20 2011, 05:10 PM

1,037 posts

QUOTE(imyourlimbeh @ Jul 20 2011, 04:54 PM)
I dont think so. All company will ask for your last drawn salary, why you want to hide your salary from your employer?
How about you think like that, will you accept a job without knowing the salary to be offered?
I want to a company that offer me the salary based on my technical/soft skills and my presentation during the F2F interview.
most of the call/email i received required me to write down the salary first before the company will proceed to interview me.

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 20 2011, 05:02 PM)
Probably TS wants to go for interview first before negotiating the salary. Like me, i dont need to ask the salary and i will go for interview to find out the job first, if i like the job, then, i will take up the job if the salary offer is acceptable for me. If not acceptable, i will just decline the job offered, and if they really want me after interviewed me and because i fit in very well to their post, they will call you and re-negotiate with you. At least i did this many years ago and rejected them 2 times and the 3rd time they calling me and offering the salary scale near to the top scale for my position at that time. Unless you are out of job, else you wont have such bargaining power, or you have lots of $$$ to back u up while you are still unemployed.  rclxms.gif
the thing is most company will offer you salary based on your last drawn salary + XX% which is true 90% of the company I interviewed. I still have money left for a few months.
TSIEE
post Jul 20 2011, 05:23 PM

1,037 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 20 2011, 05:18 PM)
Current Salary - sure, go ahead and hide. But expected salary imo if the company asks, then you should give. From an employer perspective, especially for junior-level hires, this would give me an up front indication of whether your salary expectations are within what I'm looking to pay. If your expectation higher than what I think you're worth, then we don't need to waste time going through interview and all that, no?
you are correct that company dun wan waste time,but they already put out the salary range.

there are company that advertised their salary range, since they put out their salary range. I gave my salary expectation at the lowest range.They still ask for my last drawn salary. sweat.gif
TSIEE
post Jul 20 2011, 05:29 PM

1,037 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ Jul 20 2011, 05:24 PM)
biar mati kebuluran, jangan putih mata.

your salary is P&C and is none of other business.

your expected salary is for them to offer, do not undermine your worth by putting a value.

in any case, i am interested to see the outcome of your tale.
biar mati kebuluran, jangan putih mata <-- ape maksud ayat ini?

now, what should I do?

A. give out all my salary info --- and get any freaking job available
B. only give out expected salary
C. still proceed as usual, still have 3 months reserve left.

0.0169sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:35 PM