Viber for Android

mydragoon
post Oct 25 2011, 01:16 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Oct 24 2011, 05:25 PM)
As far as we understand, it's a known issue of Market, not Viber's.

Meanwhile, until that bug is fixed, you can try the direct link to our latest released .APK - http://helpme.viber.com/index.php?/Knowled...-android-market
ya, i meant to say known Market issue... smile.gif
stefchichi
post Oct 25 2011, 03:51 PM

Hi all,
If i can add a stone to the edifice,

Since the last update, I have lost the emoticons from vibers, I can't even receive the one from Iphone users. They appear as special charaters and chinese or japanese characters.
Any fix or add on app to fix this?
Viber
post Oct 25 2011, 05:18 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(stefchichi @ Oct 25 2011, 03:51 PM)
Hi all,
If i can add a stone to the edifice,

Since the last update, I have lost the emoticons from vibers, I can't even receive the one from Iphone users. They appear as special charaters and chinese or japanese characters.
Any fix or add on app to fix this?
Hmm...
We've just tried sending emoticons on the new Viber version (using Emoji), and they are sent just fine.
Are you sure both sides have the emoticon client, and that both sides have the latest version of Viber?
stefchichi
post Oct 25 2011, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(Viber @ Oct 25 2011, 05:18 PM)
Hmm...
We've just tried sending emoticons on the new Viber version (using Emoji), and they are sent just fine.
Are you sure both sides have the emoticon client, and that both sides have the latest version of Viber?
I am using viber 2.1.2
I will check wath emoticon client the other person is using.
I also just installed Emoji from tom jones..
But i don't seem to be able to add emoticons from viber....
I will keep you updated...

Added on October 25, 2011, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(stefchichi @ Oct 25 2011, 05:27 PM)
I am using viber 2.1.2
I will check wath emoticon client the other person is using.
I also just installed Emoji from tom jones..
But i don't seem to be able to add emoticons from viber....
I will keep you updated...
I also just installed Emoji keyboard and i am able to type emoji emoticons but they don't appear in the viber application.
Can you tell me which application emoji i need to install or the settings i need to change to have the emoticons showing up on viber.

Many thanks for your help.

Stef

This post has been edited by stefchichi: Oct 25 2011, 05:42 PM
Viber
post Oct 25 2011, 06:04 PM

160 posts

Well,
Emoji is a completely separate app than Viber. The fact that emoticons work on Viber is simply because Viber allows using iPhone's native keyboards. Once Emoji is configured as a legitimate keyboard, there is no reason why specifically Viber wouldn't allow using it.

After you install Emoji and go through the keyboard configuration process (check out this quick guide: http://www.cultofmac.com/37959/enable-the-...os-4-0-how-to/) then reboot your phone. Then, open Viber, and check if emoticons are finally there. If not, check your iPhone native text app. Do you have emoticons there? Are they sent fine when you text normally?
stefchichi
post Oct 25 2011, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(Viber @ Oct 25 2011, 06:04 PM)
Well,
Emoji is a completely separate app than Viber. The fact that emoticons work on Viber is simply because Viber allows using iPhone's native keyboards. Once Emoji is configured as a legitimate keyboard, there is no reason why specifically Viber wouldn't allow using it.

After you install Emoji and go through the keyboard configuration process (check out this quick guide: http://www.cultofmac.com/37959/enable-the-...os-4-0-how-to/) then reboot your phone. Then, open Viber, and check if emoticons are finally there. If not, check your iPhone native text app. Do you have emoticons there? Are they sent fine when you text normally?
Aren't we on an android section of the forum??
I am running the lastest android version on a google nexus one.
I tried a reboot of the system and it does not work.
It does not work either in a text application.
In fact I probably only have it in handcent because of the plugin..

Anyway to get it to work?

Thanks again for your help..

Stef
Viber
post Oct 25 2011, 06:33 PM

160 posts

Sorry, my bad. Didn't notice I was replying in the Android thread wink.gif

If the emoticons don't show up on your native Android text app, then unfortunately it's out of our hands (Viber)...
Try contacting Android or threads that deal specifically with those emoticon apps on Android.
Dannyl
post Oct 25 2011, 07:05 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Feedback from SonyEricsson X10i on stock 2.3.3.

1) The typing is laggy, sometimes I press a few letters and nothing happens, then suddenly the letters all appear quickly.
2) No problem with notification bar, but in the app itself, the unread message count always shows even when the messages have been read.

Everything else works fine smile.gif
tmtmnut
post Oct 26 2011, 02:21 PM

81 posts

@viber

here a short suggestion:

add the time for every send and receive msg.

thanks.
Viber
post Oct 26 2011, 10:19 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Oct 26 2011, 02:21 PM)
@viber

here a short suggestion:

add the time for every send and receive msg.

thanks.
Thanks for the suggestion.
At this stage we prefer leaving the time stamp status as it is (if you notice, it's just like the iPhone time stamp configuration, meaning there is an interval of less than 10 minutes before messages, we don't write the time stamp).

This might change in the future if it becomes a popular demand wink.gif
mydragoon
post Oct 27 2011, 08:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Viber @ Oct 20 2011, 05:16 PM)
@Shizuru - sorry, there's no work around the problem. Are you getting the code now? Is everything OK?

@mydragoon - thanks for the info. A new 2.1.2 version for Android is now on Market. Please try it out and see if it solves the problem.
managed to somehow get the new version of viber installed.

tried and its still the same regarding the notification and message count. to summarize:
* notification only goes away after i open the message screen (and clear away the read count)
* the thing with the read count is... the messages are not new and already read

and ya... adding time stamp on every message would be a good idea.

i still dun quite like that location icon's position. wish it can be located somewhere else. i normally dun use it. so find it rather annoying that sometimes while touching the screen, i accidentally enable it.
Viber
post Oct 27 2011, 09:57 PM

160 posts

We're checking the notification issue and hopefully find a solution soon.
Thanks again for the detailed explanation.
mydragoon
post Oct 31 2011, 02:01 PM

7,044 posts

hi viber...

i noticed that recently, more than one instance of viber seems to be reported program monitor. this seems to be intermittent. can't even kill it...

i'm ok with one instance running... but two like the screenshot above?

on the plus note... i had the opportunity to test out the new voice engine on the new version... really clear (not that i've ever complained its not clear). in fact, it was as clear as a normal call!

the only thing... i noticed the voice call gets connected after about 5-10 seconds. i was actually about to hang up when i finally heard the caller... before that (the first 10 seconds), it was just all quiet.
Viber
post Nov 1 2011, 12:12 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 31 2011, 02:01 PM)
hi viber...

i noticed that recently, more than one instance of viber seems to be reported program monitor. this seems to be intermittent. can't even kill it...

i'm ok with one instance running... but two like the screenshot above?

on the plus note... i had the opportunity to test out the new voice engine on the new version... really clear (not that i've ever complained its not clear). in fact, it was as clear as a normal call!

the only thing... i noticed the voice call gets connected after about 5-10 seconds. i was actually about to hang up when i finally heard the caller... before that (the first 10 seconds), it was just all quiet.
As usual, thank you for a great report.
We will look into both these problems and see if we can replicate them, and hopefully fix.
steventsc
post Nov 7 2011, 06:26 PM

188 posts

Hi Viber

I'm using SE ARC on 2.3.4 and Viber 2.1.2.116554.

2 issues
- even with bluetooth headset option ON in Viber, I still can't use any bluetooth headset, both on Viber AND normal calls.
- Viber sync does not work properly. It will show in Accounts & Sync for a while, then disappears.. even if I manually add it back, it will disappear. That means my contacts will not show their viber in the contacts view.
wama1go
post Nov 7 2011, 10:01 PM

229 posts

the latest version of viber is consuming resource and laggy, as one user reported above, the program is hanging for a while before i can start typing the message, btw i am using s2. Pls improve the performance of the program.
Viber
post Nov 8 2011, 03:04 AM

160 posts

@steventsc -
Please note that Viber does not officially support Xperia SE Arc, and that may be the source of the Bluetooth problem. Anyway, we'll take a look and see if we can find the source of the problem, but I can't really guarantee when that will happen sad.gif

About the no-sync issue, assuming it's not an incompatibility issue again:

1. Are you running a custom ROM or stock?
2. Did you try reinstalling Viber and let it sync when connected to a different WiFi network?

@wama1go -
We haven't received any reports of battery consumption or lag from other S2 users.

Please make sure that Viber is the cause for the battery drain. We conduct strict testings in our labs with several devices and other than when making a call (when it is natural for the battery to be used), we did not came across any significant battery drain when Viber was simply running in the background. Furthermore, over the course of over 15 hours, on average the battery use was only 2%.

You can find additional information on tests performed by Viber users, which show similar results, at:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1625174#r30755699
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1965357/+220
takashiyert
post Nov 9 2011, 07:21 AM

650 posts

im using a sgs on viber and test d text and d voice quit ok with it .. any idea which app can make d video call but not requir a register ID ... same with viber using a phone number as id
CuriOu5
post Nov 17 2011, 11:15 AM

380 posts

I've switched to fring. It is much clearer and better reception when talking to my friend in UK. Just like a local call. Both us can hear one another loud and clear.

Have not tried the fring's video call.

This post has been edited by CuriOu5: Nov 17 2011, 11:16 AM
mydragoon
post Nov 18 2011, 02:40 PM

7,044 posts

some additional feedback:

* when i get notification for new messages, i usually read them by clicking on the notification. it normally brings me to the message -- though sometimes in brings me to an old message. plse look into this.

* related to the above... after reading the messages (clicking on notification), naturally, we press the 'back' button on the phone and expect to go to viber's main screen (where we can then choose the diff tabs like contacts, messages, etc). but it does not do that. pressing back will exit viber. the reason why sometimes i press back is because notification tells me i have a few messages from different contacts. after reading the messages from one contact, i wanna press back to go back to main screen and then select the new unread messages from my other contacts.

* when are you guys going to have multi-party chat? viber is still not heavily used by my group of friends because we can't chat together. we're now using whatsapps more than viber. sadly, viber is now only used when i wanna make voice calls...

37 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:54 PM