iPhone Club v14 - iPhone related news & Questions, FAQ/Q&A Thread

tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 12:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

i think iOS 4.3.4 does not improve the battery drain issue after using it for few days
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 01:23 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 20 2011, 12:59 PM)
What battery drain issue are you having? I find that 4.3.3 is fine (I've installed some Winterboard theme so that has cause the battery to drain a bit faster but when I didn't have it before, 4.3.3 was fine)
im using 3GS
and have been experiencing terrible battery drain since 4.3

sometimes when i wake up my phone
it will reduce few % of batt at one go

other than that, even on 100%
after using fb or safari or games a while
around 70-90%
it will suddenly off
and the phone itself is quite hot

sometimes when i try to on the phone back
it says no battery and ask me to charge
even it auto off when around 70-90% battery level
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 01:47 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 20 2011, 01:25 PM)
I think it has something to do with your battery dying. You may need to look at the option of getting a new battery.
i see, but my warranty has long expired.
and im not in KL
so i duno in Penang who will provide such services
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 02:31 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(makaveli @ Jul 20 2011, 02:10 PM)
MB (Megabyte) or GB (Gigabyte) ?

Added on July 20, 2011, 2:13 pm
Turn off DATA PUSH when not in use.Simple as that.
iPhone are normal if its get too warm while charge or operating it.
My 3 years old iPhone 2g stand till now.
i've done everything i could
and im aware of the things u mentioned

turn off push
reduce brightness
sign out app store
disable ping
and many more

but was in vain

the problem is the issue arised after 4.21 upgraded to 4.3

p/s: i couldn't find anyone who provide the battery replacement service in Penang. Can anyone help me with it? I might overlook

tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 02:48 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(makaveli @ Jul 20 2011, 02:43 PM)
Have you tried cycle charging your iPhone ?
Read : http://www.apple.com/batteries/

or

Garage Sales might be a solution for you.
Or try brother Yezhacolic (apple spare parts specialist).No regret dealing with him.
yes i calibrate my phone 1-2 times a month or more

im not sure whether he operates in Penang as well

i will try my luck with him. Thanks wink.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 04:22 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

Bro yezha not able to help. Anyone think maxis gonna entertain me even after warranty? If so how long i nees to wait and pay??
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 05:17 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

Okay..i will do tat once i get back home

P/s: while im typing, the battery dropped 18% shocking.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2011, 11:31 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 20 2011, 05:48 PM)
Have a look see in this thread on hardware repair

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281/+4

Hope that helps

Added on July 20, 2011, 5:54 pmAlso do a forum search with iPhone Repair Penang and you'll get some posts as well
hope anyone who solved this problem before can help me
already pm~ed some of the service provider

tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 02:08 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

just changed a new battery for RM95
hope its sustainable for long

p/s: anyone play games while charging their phone?
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 02:51 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Jul 21 2011, 02:34 PM)
Oh, plug in iTunes. Right click "iPhone name on your left". Select "backup". That is all.

Wokeh for you?
Can last for sure after you changed, no worries man. I charge my iPhoney all the time while playing games. Just that remember to unplug before answering any incoming calls. Later kena shock susah.  icon_question.gif
I oso plug in wall whenever i play games
so i wonder if this habit contributes to my battery issues biggrin.gif

so u dun suggest charge overnight rite?
then what do u recommend?

are u using any battery app?

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jul 21 2011, 02:52 PM
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 05:01 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 21 2011, 04:55 PM)
That's not too bad. Hope this time your battery last okay. Who did you send the iPhone 3Gs to? Could help some other Penang user if he/she needs the same service.
I went to BJ complex and there got alot of shops offering hardware services
it depends on which u choose
but the one I went charged me RM95
the shop name is I Tech Mobile
while my friend told me he can get for RM80 but he is not available when im there

btw, I asked the guy is his battery ori
and he showed me my battery and the new battery
both same serial number and details
oso made in China

p/s: I pm`ed few forumer for the battery replacement and 1 replied me the ori is expensive around 200-300
so im not sure whether the one I paid is ori or not cos only RM95

and with few ppl actually said I can get battery from Switch but when i ask in Switch FB
they denied that and ask me to refer to telco rclxub.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 12:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

hey guys, if i wan to calibrate my iPhone

should I charge when it falls below 20% or let it drain until canot be turned on then recharge?

which is better?
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 02:33 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2011, 02:23 PM)
Do this once a month. Let it drain the battery until 0% and the charge till it's full. That's my method of keeping the battery healthy.
how to noe whether it's 0%?
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 06:53 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2011, 02:36 PM)
You will know because the phone will automatically shutdown and you won't be able to switch it on. And once you plug it in the charger, it will show an empty battery being recharged and it will take 2-3 minute before the Apple logo appears
okay thx
btw as u all don recommend charge overnight
wad if after wake up left 80% as example
then later need to go somewhere
do u charge it up to 100% b4 going out
or just leave it there?
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 07:13 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2011, 07:00 PM)
Ermm, personally I have no issues charging it overnight. I do it all the time.
i see
how bout in situation where u fully charged it and did smtg with ur phone
and later when u going out
will u still charge it to 100% regardless how many % u left?
or u just go out without recharge?
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 08:06 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2011, 07:49 PM)
No not really. That would be too much of a hassle. I don't needbthe phone to be constantly at 100%. Even at 40% I don't worry too much about it.
i guess i should relax abit since i changed the battery
not having to worry my phone will die out on me at any time

btw if the time of full charging increase
is this the indication that ur battery is depleting?

i just charge around 7pm from 0%
and now already near 75%

tzxsean
post Sep 4 2011, 10:33 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

experiencing wifi connectivity issue

when I play games..I will disconnect from time to time...

but the problem is ...it's just disconnected between iPhone and my modem

my modem however still connected to internet (I'm able to surf net and etc)

any idea how to fix this issue?
tzxsean
post Jun 21 2012, 12:24 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

guys...my iPhone weather app has problem

it will show the wrong day

it's already thu ..but the app still stated it's wednesday

how can I correct it?
tzxsean
post Jun 21 2012, 01:02 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

I always disable automatic time/date

and I dun use location services...I manually add the location

it usually will only display the correct day after few hours

but my friend's iPod Touch is unaffected
tzxsean
post Jun 21 2012, 01:13 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

for now I disabled cellular network as I'm using prepaid..only use wifi ...

tried to sync with iTunes and delete world clock...

still didnt solve the prob

0.0437sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:19 PM