iPhone Club v14 - iPhone related news & Questions, FAQ/Q&A Thread
Aug 27 2011, 10:18 AM
424 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Apple hands internship to Jailbreakme.com developer "comex" By Chris Foresman | Published about 9 hours ago After building the semi-famous website that allowed iPhone users to jailbreak their devices by simply clicking a link, 19-year old hacker Nicholas Allegra, aka "comex," now has a job at Apple. A longtime member of the jailbreak community, Allegra announced late Thursday via Twitter that he accepted an internship with the iPhone maker. Allegra made use of a flaw in iOS's handling of PDF files in order to create jailbreakme.com. The website made the process of jailbreaking an iPhone—necessary to install unofficial apps and hacks—as easy as visiting a webpage. Apple quickly patched the flaw about a week later, but Allegra used other flaws in later iterations of the site. The third version of the site used a similar PDF-handling flaw that could jailbreak the latest devices, including the iPad 2. Ironically, the jailbreak community also offered a patch for the flaw before Apple released its own nine days later. Allegra, uncovered as a Brown University student by Forbes earlier this month, has been involved in the iPhone-hacking scene for some time. Last year he helped George "geohot" Hotz build a jailbreak tool called limera1n. He also co-developed a workaround for jailbroken iPhones that refused to load DRM-protected iBooks. Forbes suggested that Allegra's iOS hacking skills were so good that Apple should offer the student an internship, and now the company has done just that. "It's been really, really fun, but it's also been a while and I've been getting bored," Allegra wrote on Twitter. "So, the week after next I will be starting an internship with Apple." This isn't the first time Apple has dipped into the jailbreak scene to hire an intern. MacRumors noted that Peter Hajas, developer of the jailbreak app MobileNotifier, was hired by Apple this past summer as an intern. While Apple likely considers jailbreak hackers somewhat of a nuisance, the steady stream of exploits they discover certainly keeps Apple's security team on its toes. iOS hacking looks as though it may be a straight path to a job with the company. Source |
Aug 27 2011, 11:34 AM
1,491 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Pattaya,Thailand Status: Online |
QUOTE(Norazam @ Aug 27 2011, 10:18 AM) Apple hands internship to Jailbreakme.com developer "comex" Thanks but its old story.2 day passed.By Chris Foresman | Published about 9 hours ago After building the semi-famous website that allowed iPhone users to jailbreak their devices by simply clicking a link, 19-year old hacker Nicholas Allegra, aka "comex," now has a job at Apple. A longtime member of the jailbreak community, Allegra announced late Thursday via Twitter that he accepted an internship with the iPhone maker. Allegra made use of a flaw in iOS's handling of PDF files in order to create jailbreakme.com. The website made the process of jailbreaking an iPhone—necessary to install unofficial apps and hacks—as easy as visiting a webpage. Apple quickly patched the flaw about a week later, but Allegra used other flaws in later iterations of the site. The third version of the site used a similar PDF-handling flaw that could jailbreak the latest devices, including the iPad 2. Ironically, the jailbreak community also offered a patch for the flaw before Apple released its own nine days later. Allegra, uncovered as a Brown University student by Forbes earlier this month, has been involved in the iPhone-hacking scene for some time. Last year he helped George "geohot" Hotz build a jailbreak tool called limera1n. He also co-developed a workaround for jailbroken iPhones that refused to load DRM-protected iBooks. Forbes suggested that Allegra's iOS hacking skills were so good that Apple should offer the student an internship, and now the company has done just that. "It's been really, really fun, but it's also been a while and I've been getting bored," Allegra wrote on Twitter. "So, the week after next I will be starting an internship with Apple." This isn't the first time Apple has dipped into the jailbreak scene to hire an intern. MacRumors noted that Peter Hajas, developer of the jailbreak app MobileNotifier, was hired by Apple this past summer as an intern. While Apple likely considers jailbreak hackers somewhat of a nuisance, the steady stream of exploits they discover certainly keeps Apple's security team on its toes. iOS hacking looks as though it may be a straight path to a job with the company. Source |
Aug 27 2011, 02:53 PM
145 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
victorian seems very depress,can see all his topic all around.
Aug 27 2011, 05:57 PM
1,329 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Bangsar |
To all sifu....Plz help me...
i got a problem on my iphone 3G... At the time i open maps... Why my location was difference from map??? Mean i at Berjaya Times square, but on the map says at other... After i click on location,it still same... |
Aug 27 2011, 07:12 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
My iPhone 3Gs (with latest iOS) uses data (3G and wifi) when it's sitting idle. Anybody knows why? I'm using Dataman to monitor the data usage btw.
Aug 27 2011, 07:18 PM
1,491 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Pattaya,Thailand Status: Online |
QUOTE(FADIL FLHR @ Aug 27 2011, 05:57 PM) To all sifu....Plz help me... Is the map showing you are still in Malaysia or other states ?i got a problem on my iphone 3G... At the time i open maps... Why my location was difference from map??? Mean i at Berjaya Times square, but on the map says at other... After i click on location,it still same... Added on August 27, 2011, 7:26 pm QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 27 2011, 07:12 PM) My iPhone 3Gs (with latest iOS) uses data (3G and wifi) when it's sitting idle. Anybody knows why? I'm using Dataman to monitor the data usage btw. That nothing ashamed when people used to call it a brilliant built smartphones. Welcome to smartphone world dude.If you still want to know,installed application nor pre installed bundle with iOS firmware where integrate apps data push accour.where it's download which ever data just to simplisize your need right at the moment. For example games,twitter,Facebook and infamous notification apps like buzz me. This post has been edited by makaveli: Aug 27 2011, 07:26 PM |
Aug 27 2011, 09:24 PM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
last nite i baru get my 2nd replacement unit from digi..and found out that unit running 4.3.3..then i tried to update it...then half way restoring get error 9...i try many times to do it..even in DFU mode..still same!!!....any other solution than just go back digi 2moro?
Aug 27 2011, 09:45 PM
3,150 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Shah Alam, Subang, PJ |
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 27 2011, 09:24 PM) last nite i baru get my 2nd replacement unit from digi..and found out that unit running 4.3.3..then i tried to update it...then half way restoring get error 9...i try many times to do it..even in DFU mode..still same!!!....any other solution than just go back digi 2moro? hey mate, try to read on LINK, it provides u the reason of the error n the way to solve it..hope it helps u.. |
Aug 27 2011, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(makaveli @ Aug 27 2011, 07:18 PM) That nothing ashamed when people used to call it a brilliant built smartphones. Welcome to smartphone world dude. Yeah. Ok. If you still want to know,installed application nor pre installed bundle with iOS firmware where integrate apps data push accour.where it's download which ever data just to simplisize your need right at the moment. For example games,twitter,Facebook and infamous notification apps like buzz me. Another question is why my iPhone uses 3G data even though I'm connected to wifi? And at times, it uses both at the same time. Is it normal? |
Aug 28 2011, 12:08 AM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 27 2011, 09:50 PM) Yeah. Ok. eh how did u manage to determine u're using both 3g and wifi at the same time? got both wifi and 3g logo at the top?Another question is why my iPhone uses 3G data even though I'm connected to wifi? And at times, it uses both at the same time. Is it normal? |
Aug 28 2011, 02:28 AM
Aug 28 2011, 07:05 AM
1,135 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Damansara |
Aug 28 2011, 08:04 AM
832 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi guys, wanna ask if i travel to another country and get a prepaid sim there, will i be able to use it on my digi iphone 4 without the need to re-activate the phone on itunes? because i wont be bringing my laptop and i really dont want to get stuck with a useless phone for the whole trip. Anyone has any experience before using our malaysia iphone set in another country, with a foreign simcard?
Thanks! |
Aug 28 2011, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 28 2011, 08:04 AM) Hi guys, wanna ask if i travel to another country and get a prepaid sim there, will i be able to use it on my digi iphone 4 without the need to re-activate the phone on itunes? because i wont be bringing my laptop and i really dont want to get stuck with a useless phone for the whole trip. Anyone has any experience before using our malaysia iphone set in another country, with a foreign simcard? i dont think u need to set up anything. as long as it isunlocked then should be okThanks! |
Aug 28 2011, 08:32 AM
4,286 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 28 2011, 08:04 AM) Hi guys, wanna ask if i travel to another country and get a prepaid sim there, will i be able to use it on my digi iphone 4 without the need to re-activate the phone on itunes? because i wont be bringing my laptop and i really dont want to get stuck with a useless phone for the whole trip. Anyone has any experience before using our malaysia iphone set in another country, with a foreign simcard? Malaysian iPhone (if you bought them from Digi/Maxis/Celcom and not from some tepi jalan kedai) is factory unlocked which allows you to use it with ANY GSM SimCard all over the world. There will be no need to re-activate the iPhone via iTunes. It will be just plug and play.Thanks! |
Aug 28 2011, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 28 2011, 12:08 AM) eh how did u manage to determine u're using both 3g and wifi at the same time? got both wifi and 3g logo at the top? I downloaded (purchased) an app called Dataman. It monitors my data usage and it shows how much I've used for 3G and Wifi. Whether it is accurate or not, I'm not sure.QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 28 2011, 02:28 AM) Erm... I get full bar since I'm always near to the wireless router. Maybe it's the latter reason. QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Aug 28 2011, 07:05 AM) It's a lil troublesome, yea... |
Aug 28 2011, 12:50 PM
332 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: 1Malaysia |
Hi guys. My sister just lost her iPhone. Anyone of you used find my iPhone before? I tried locating the phone but it is offline, maybe due to the fact my sister deactivated the phone. So we need to wait the thief to change sim card or connect to wifi now!
Just wondering if I remote lock her iPhone, will I still be able to detect her iPhone? |
Aug 28 2011, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 28 2011, 12:49 PM) I downloaded (purchased) an app called Dataman. It monitors my data usage and it shows how much I've used for 3G and Wifi. Whether it is accurate or not, I'm not sure. its not even troublesome if you have SB settingErm... I get full bar since I'm always near to the wireless router. Maybe it's the latter reason. It's a lil troublesome, yea... |
Aug 28 2011, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 28 2011, 12:49 PM) I downloaded (purchased) an app called Dataman. It monitors my data usage and it shows how much I've used for 3G and Wifi. Whether it is accurate or not, I'm not sure. then turn of data/3g lor..sure it solve ur issue...sb setting is a must have aps for iphone user.. Erm... I get full bar since I'm always near to the wireless router. Maybe it's the latter reason. It's a lil troublesome, yea... |
Aug 28 2011, 06:59 PM
140 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(megabyte @ Aug 28 2011, 12:50 PM) Hi guys. My sister just lost her iPhone. Anyone of you used find my iPhone before? I tried locating the phone but it is offline, maybe due to the fact my sister deactivated the phone. So we need to wait the thief to change sim card or connect to wifi now! Just wondering if I remote lock her iPhone, will I still be able to detect her iPhone? U are able to remote lock the phone only if the MobileMe account is activated in the phone, and the phone is connected to the Internet. Which means that before u can lock it, u first need to detect it. After it's lock, same thing that the phone has to be connected to the Internet only u can detect it. |
| Change to: | 0.0268sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:37 AM |