English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, OFFICIAL: Insua OUT. Good Luck!

Yluxion
post Jul 29 2011, 05:34 PM

543 posts

My prediction first team line up for Sunderland:

--------------------- Reina --------------------------
Kelly ---- Carragher ---- Skrtel ----- G. Johnson
--------------------- Lucas --------------------------
--------- Meireles ------------- Adam --------------
Kuyt ------------------------------------ Downining
------------------- Carroll ---------------------------

Bench: Doni, Agger, Insua, Henderson, J. Cole, Maxi & Ngog.

This post has been edited by Yluxion: Jul 29 2011, 05:35 PM
Yluxion
post Aug 2 2011, 12:12 PM

543 posts

Watched the game, everyone seems to have heavy legs. (maybe Liverpool coaches really put up some intense training for the players before the game) Glen still rusty, at this rate Kelly seems to be more ready for our first league game. LB, both Jack Robinson and Flano also not doing good.

For Henderson, he kept things simple and do string some good passes and movements. He have a silent second half after KD move him to an attacking role. C. Adam is really weak in terms of marking and defense apart from that everything else is okay. While Downing is doing pretty well and on both flanks.

The chemistry and understanding still not there yet for our new signings. It's clear we miss Lucas in our pre-season to provide the extra assurance to the defense. While Andy Carroll do looks sharper.

Looking forward to the Valencia game now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Yluxion: Aug 2 2011, 12:23 PM
Yluxion
post Aug 2 2011, 02:40 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Aug 2 2011, 01:51 PM)
no comment bout Jonjo??..i'm disappointed! cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Shelvey comes in together with Aquilani. Both also got a nice long range shot saved. biggrin.gif 20 mins can't look much into his game. Aquilani definitely caught our eyes with his passing and corners, but I do think KD is looking to offload him to generate fund.
Yluxion
post Aug 3 2011, 11:01 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(dedade @ Aug 3 2011, 08:31 AM)
Nice! Hope this go through a.s.a.p.
Yluxion
post Aug 3 2011, 03:22 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Aug 3 2011, 02:24 PM)
I would be mad at KD if Aquilani leaves, nuff said. I'm going to twit at KD's twitter page now.
I do feel that Aquilani doesn't mix well with the local lads. It's a pity for him that's he is unable to fully performs during his time with us. At least he's attracting top Serie A clubs thus doing himself and LFC a favour (our CM is really too pack right now).

This post has been edited by Yluxion: Aug 3 2011, 03:32 PM
Yluxion
post Aug 3 2011, 03:43 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 3 2011, 03:34 PM)
I say we move gerrard to the right midfield position and move dirk kuyt upfront (where he belongs). I think Gerrard brings more positive impact on our problematic right midfield position. We can rotate Gerrard and/or Jordan Henderson on the right midfeld position.

Left midfield will be helmed by Steward Downing. No contest. Maxi can play if Downing is injured/not fit/tired/rested

Central Midfield we have a lot of choices. But best bet is to start with Charlie Adams and Lucas. Lucas as ball winning midfielder and Adams as deep lying playmaker. That would be solid enough.

Meanwhile we can put Luis Suarez into the paul scholes position i.e. hole behind forwards. That way he can have maximum impact exploiting the hole and bombing forward with his skills and trickery. Aquilani can play in this position if fit.

There. Midfield problem solved.
There are Meireles, Spearing, Shelvey, Joe Cole, Poulsen that you left out. Plus, we're not even playing in Europe competition.
Yluxion
post Aug 4 2011, 01:08 PM

543 posts

Some good read of our 3 new major signings.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...o=feeds-newsxml

Yluxion
post Aug 7 2011, 02:29 AM

543 posts

Liverpool: Normal service restored.

Yluxion
post Aug 8 2011, 12:58 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Aug 7 2011, 11:55 PM)
I know.But scoring last minute really dampened my confidence.But i still think we can win against either of them.We have a superior midfield compared to any team in
the league.Games are won in midfield.
Credits to the 2nd half team of Man U, apart from Anderson everyone else are doing really good (especially Cleverly & Nani). Man City aren't using as much width as they usually did, don't know why. Maybe Mancini field one too many defensive midfielders (Yaya, Barry, De Jong)
Yluxion
post Aug 12 2011, 01:51 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(kabuto rider kick @ Aug 12 2011, 01:44 PM)
im in hospital rite now,hopefully can discharge by tomolo,want to see our opening match live,here in the hosp dun hv sports channel,huhu
what happen dude? I'm sure watching Liverpool plays is the best remedy. biggrin.gif
Yluxion
post Aug 12 2011, 04:21 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(RealHrsh @ Aug 12 2011, 12:32 PM)
Liverpool 5 - Sunderland 0
That would be a dream start. biggrin.gif But seeing Sunderland also go through heavy team recoup, they're certainly no pushover. 2 - 0 would be a more realistic target.
Yluxion
post Aug 14 2011, 01:58 AM

543 posts

I'm very frustrated with Henderson in this game. He's playing in right midfield, and he provides no crosses into the penalty box. Non. Every time he gets the ball, he just pass it backward and he isn't opening space and making runs down the flank. Does he purposely doing this because it's Sunderland?

Overall, we're not there yet. Lack of understanding among the players is very obvious and long ball after long ball is very frustrating to watch, we hold no possession (especially 2nd half).
Yluxion
post Aug 24 2011, 11:03 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Aug 24 2011, 09:32 AM)
I can't really say that Henderson performed badly. Though in truth we've got the same playmakers of Meireles and Suarez that thrashed Manchester United (and made their defenders look like dolls) the thing is that if you look at it sublimely, Henderson managed a convincingly acceptable amount of passes, even if he may be positioned-wrongly (having a football brain that isn't settled)

assuming we're playing with a 4def 2dcm/cm then Adam + Lucas pairing should work, although I'll say Adam is a suspect when reading the defensive game. However, somebody did mentioned that in the game against Arsenal, Adam + Lucas combined completed 50% of the tackles as well as a respectable 41% of interceptions (we're talking about Arsenal here who's playing the pass and move model for many successive games now) so I guess that assuming the remainder are done in within the defensive area, we've managed to pull off an impressive stat markers over previous performances over Arsenal in their home turf.

In regards to Aquilani, I won't want to mention much since he's still not yet featured, although I suspect in the event he did, we'll have to revamp the entire midfield formation to a diamond-strategy to suit Aquilani's most effective role which he played with much success during his loan spell.

Though if you ask me, KD is showing that he's got something up in his plans but he's not sure whether it works or not. As long as we're not playing a "false  nine" (like how Manchester United does) or Barcelona I think we're in for a more fluid footballing games one box to another.
I have to agree with you that we're up for more fluid footballing games with our current squad. Direct long ball, possession short pass, set piece threats and going wide with wings or full backs, these are some of the tactical options KD can apply. Even though, the "pass and move" is not doing as swiftly as we want it to be, but I guess that can only improve in times when players are getting more familiar with each others plays in the training ground.

One more thing I really like about KD is how he manages expectations. He gives credit where it's due (even if it's the opposition), thus keep the players & fans grounded.

Yluxion
post Aug 24 2011, 12:23 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Aug 24 2011, 11:54 AM)
Liverpool made a formal written bid to Nacional on Monday.

Talks are still on-going but Nacional vice president Hector Olmes
said: 'The offer (from Liverpool) is very good. Coates will surely go to Liverpool.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...l#ixzz1VunZqQLU
Things are getting better and better. rclxm9.gif

Hope this deal really goes through. Coates of such young and quality defender is seldom to comes by. Imagine Carroll + Coates on corners and set pieces. biggrin.gif
Yluxion
post Aug 24 2011, 01:18 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Aug 24 2011, 12:58 PM)
Ah,you have your opinion and i have mine.I just dont think he has what is needed to play left wing or right wing.He scores two hattricks and suddenly he is the best player in everyone's eyes.Question: Where was he when we were playing badly or needed a goal?

Players like soto stood up during the tough times and gave his all.I'll never slate people like soto,kuyt or ngog because they give their all although they are limited.
But not maxi.Doesnt do anything decent worthwhile and all of a sudden given a hero's reception.

Before any of you start by saying that who else decent is gonna be willing to sit on the bench,let me ask will you be happy taking 40-60k
for doing nothing everyweek?i rather let players like sterling or suso be on the bench.
If you happen to go through some of the Liverpool training & tour pictures/videos. You know that Suarez, Maxi and Lucas are bonding very closely and 3 of their family often gather together. That's a very healthy and happy relationship to have.

It's no coincidence that Suarez is able lay some passes for Maxi to scores, though he's aging and most probably declining in terms of fitness and skills, but his movement in the box that put him in scoring position is quite good. I definitely like him to stay just to keep the positive bonding going. smile.gif
Yluxion
post Aug 25 2011, 11:50 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Aug 25 2011, 10:46 AM)
Ok no offence bro, but I am pretty cheese off by fans like yourself to deny any match a "couldn't give a rat's S" attitude. League Cup or not it's like what KD says, you have to respect the other team. Its by being respectful in both winning and losing, in any game no matter how big or small that makes us a respectable club.

KD has already infused his ideology of an already great club into his players and hopefully now he can do it to fans like you. Every match is a risk and every match is a chance to improve the team. Sure Miereles was injured, but he could have also been injured in training too even if he didn't feature, who's to say?

By saying its a waste of his or any players energy playing a "small" team is disrespectful and in so many levels that is where we went wrong last season. It does the team no morale good losing anytime of the season. Remember the loses to "smaller" or "unknown" teams? Remember our first half of the season?

If you are truly a fan then you would want to see Liverpool win every game - BIG or small. You would want to see your players playing together, gelling with every chance they get. And KD did make changes and he made good those changes. Unless he is a manager gone daft, i think this morning's performance is more than enough to build up the confidence of Carroll, Henderson and the rest of the team to shut most critics up. That confidence boost is priceless, more than trying to be over protective of our players like you suggested. To be fair, Suarez was rested when he only came on for the last 20 mins for the Arsenal game.

Have a read and understand what the KD is trying to do and if winning the League becomes a reality, it would be from this man's influence and confidence that he brings to the team and the fans.

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news...andy-and-exeter?

that is my take on your post and yes I disagree a whole lot but no, still no offence.

YNWA!  blush.gif
Totally agree with you. Respect your opponent in order to be respectful, that's what KD said. smile.gif

Watched an hour of the match, sadly to say the only one I see that capable of creating scoring chances is Suarez. Everyone else are just doing okay. Henderson first touch is very poor in this game (maybe the ball is not official BPL ball laugh.gif ), C. Adam passes are not as accurate as he used to be and lost a lot of possession of trying to get pass player.

A win in the bag, but team play wise, there're still a lot of works to be done.
Yluxion
post Aug 28 2011, 01:27 AM

543 posts

It's been a while that I saw such hardworking rate from our whole team. I expect Downing to slack a bit when it comes to defending but to my surprise, he's tracking back and closing down people.

The first half display, have to agree with you guys. Lucas really..... wow! Those clean cut interceptions, tackles and marking really superb class.

0.0279sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:54 AM