Monash University Thread V3, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS Ranking: Top 69, THES: Top 91 ^^ Up!

azrash
post Aug 1 2012, 08:23 PM

1,174 posts

can agree on the PC thing, not sure why though. maybe we'll get new PCs. it would have been better if they did it during the break. the new ultrabooks are nice though!
azrash
post Nov 5 2012, 07:21 PM

1,174 posts

http://www.adm.monash.edu.au/execserv/abou...s/prdsemda.html

march 4th
azrash
post Mar 16 2013, 08:01 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Mar 13 2013, 07:05 PM)
Well according to the hostel rules cooking inside isn't allowed right? So there's a few cafe for tight budget living right? Thanks for the info =)

other than monash hostels, you can opt for off campus accommodation to save more $$$. do a search at ibilik and i am sure you'll find some listings. I am staying at PJS11, rougly 10 minutes walk from Monash, and it is a lot cheaper, and cooking is def allowed,and we subscribe to Unifi too. so decent internet speed for everyone.

This post has been edited by azrash: Mar 16 2013, 08:02 PM
azrash
post Jun 4 2013, 05:46 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(SnailWithFingers @ May 31 2013, 03:47 PM)
What course are you going for over there?
oh, how about the accommodation? I heard the hostel there is quite expensive right? I don't wanna spend so much on the accommodation, as long as comfortable and clean is enough already for me, let say if the accommodation is RM800 every month, if i can find cheaper one with let say rm500, then i have extra RM300 to spend  tongue.gif I am from east malaysia, that's why I need to rent a room near the campus, hope I can find nearest one so that I don't need to travel far, maybe just walk
er..I saw the google map why is there 2 monash campus near sunway there? I thought there is only one is in sunway university but one is at another side?  rclxub.gif  which one do we study in?

finding a suitable accommodation boils down to your budget and distance to uni. since the semester is ending, and a new semester is going to start in july, you might be lucky to get ones with better rates. if you have friends that are looking for a place too, renting the whole unit is cheaper than renting a room by room arrangement.

i suggest using sites like http://www.ibilik.my/ to check for available rooms or houses. just click the "Bandar Sunway" tag and put your preferences. call them quick and arrange for a meet where you can check the place out. if you are not familiar with the address, just look for them in Google Maps and check how far it is from Monash.

also, it is cheaper in the long run to rent a partially or not furnished room/house since the rough cost of buying these furnitures are not that expensive if you are not picky.

I am living in PJS11 and the house is partially furnished(living room area is furnished, rooms are empty), we managed to get a good rate for it.
azrash
post Jul 7 2013, 10:50 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(meishien5602 @ Jul 2 2013, 09:49 PM)
may I know where exactly do you stay? as in pjs 11/15 or something? and the price?
PJS11/12 Terrace house. we got ourselves a good deal, managed to rent the whole house instead of having the owner subletting. 1.2k for 4 rooms, 3 bathrooms. per room is paying roughly 300(rent) + 40-60(all utilities, unifi) per month. rooms are empty, but they are not expensive to furnish. we don't have air conditioning too, hence the cheaper rent.

around the same taman, i'll say you can get around RM400-600 per room for air conditioned room. just hit ibilik, and search for specific taman that you have in mind, or just click bandar sunway on the left. if you have friends that are already in Monash, they might be able to hook you up with their friends that are moving out/graduating.
azrash
post Jul 9 2013, 10:44 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 8 2013, 11:55 PM)
extreme cheap.. a steal.. good to stay with friends... i regret i didnt.

yeap, a lot more fun too! tongue.gif
QUOTE(meishien5602 @ Jul 9 2013, 03:58 PM)
yeah the price is really reasonable. but the thing is it's so far. I can hardly bear the distance walking from sunway Lagoon View Condo to Monash already.

haha, yeah, I think I have gotten used to the distance already. Lagoon View is already close enough, the next closest would be SMR, but the price is higher.

it's a trade off, nearer to monash/better facility = higher rent and vice versa.
azrash
post Sep 21 2013, 12:30 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ Sep 20 2013, 09:32 PM)
8 minutes walk from where i staying to pyramid , from there i sit shuttle bus , just wondering whether sitting shuttle bus to school reliable option or not

sun-u residence already full and SMR a little bit pricey sweat.gif
no assignment bring ipad lor , got asignment bring laptop lor
where are you staying? how much is your rent? shuttle bus can be unreliable. I'd rather walk to monash straight away.

I am living in pjs 11/12, near indah court, indah villa. around 10 mins walking distance to monash. you can check at ibilik website too.

as for laptop or ipad, it depends on your workflow.

a heavy laptop would be a burden, esp if you walk to monash. the thin and light laptops are getting cheaper too, you can check for prices here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2656663 you can probably get laptop that are sub 1.5kg at around 2k.

i myself, am a more of paper and pen guy. smile.gif
azrash
post Oct 24 2013, 03:26 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ Oct 23 2013, 08:58 PM)
i actually just signed up for a broadband , monthly rm88 , 5GB quota peak hours , off peak hours from 2am to 8am extra 15GB

do u think is worth it ? or should i downgrade to rm 68  for 4GB+4GB(OFF PEAK)

also , the wifi lan speed how fast is it
any senior want tell me any tricks in monash that usually 1st years dont know ab?

=D
worth it or not? depends, where do you live? does it have wifi?

monash wifi is good enough for streaming even at peak hours.

so if your accommodation doesn't have wifi, and you might travel outside of uni a lot, then perhaps the broadband plan is necessary. Otherwise, save your money,
azrash
post Nov 6 2013, 03:34 PM

1,174 posts

other places to consider, Indah Villa Condo, Indah Court, or housing area in front of indah court, PJS 11.

I am staying at a double storey house in PJS11. average market price here is around 400-600 for a room,
azrash
post Nov 6 2013, 04:29 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(newbzie @ Nov 6 2013, 04:03 PM)
yep i saw the pjs 11 zones
quite close to both rock cafe and also the university.
indah villa condo looks quite nice tongue.gif
are there families who rent out rooms , or does someone have to the master renter , and rent the whole house
then sublet it to other people?
it really depends actually. mine is the landlord rented out the whole place in one go. so we have to find ourselves new housemates if some of us decided to leave.

Some houses rent out their extra room, some sublet the whole place but they will find the housemates by themselves. with my current arrangement, it is slightly cheaper, since we are managing the house by ourselves.

you might score a room via ibilik.com
azrash
post Nov 8 2013, 09:52 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ Nov 7 2013, 08:46 AM)
SMR grounds are off limits to students that dont stay there....without a smart card u cant get past starbucks =X
if you want to, go there around daytime, and tell the guard that you want to activate your card for lunchbox. He'll give you a temporary pass. Head to the office on the left just before lunchbox and tell them that you want it activated so you can access lunchbox.
azrash
post Nov 8 2013, 11:18 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ Nov 8 2013, 10:29 PM)
@.@ ..... just went to lunchbox today ,the food was nice

gave the student card to guard , he gave me a pass , when come back use pass to get ur card back ....

kinda hassle cause the pass wont allow u to get thru the electronic gate ..the guard still have to open for u
how to request for activation of card? is there a fee or something?
QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 8 2013, 10:58 PM)
did you try to tap?it doesnt work?
guys,

i have just posted how to activate your card, like two posts before. sweat.gif
QUOTE(azrash @ Nov 8 2013, 09:52 PM)
if you want to, go there around daytime, and tell the guard that you want to activate your card for lunchbox. He'll give you a temporary pass. Head to the office on the left just before lunchbox and tell them that you want it activated so you can access lunchbox.
azrash
post Nov 9 2013, 12:25 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ Nov 8 2013, 11:51 PM)
i didnt tap it , but all ppl that wasnt staying in SMR just go the guard, guard will keep ur student card while he give u a visitor pass with a number....then he will PERSONALLY open for you , the visitor pass is just like an id card not for tag....

then when u come back , u have to call guard open gate for you , then u exchange the visitor pass for ur card again
my friends did ask me whether want to go activate together or not , cause if we frequent go lunchbox its kinda hassleĀ  sweat.gif

dont know that excuse valid enought to activate? activation process do what..just go in there without student card (guard is keeping it)...no charge???
It is a valid reason, and no charge. Just drop by at the SMR management office next time you visit lunchbox. Like I said, tell the guard you want to activate your card. Bring your Monash card to the office and activate it.

This post has been edited by azrash: Nov 9 2013, 12:26 PM
azrash
post Jan 6 2014, 02:43 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(al427 @ Jan 5 2014, 09:56 PM)
I did not take o level but I took spm instead. The one which is printed at the left bottom of our spm slips is the 1119 you mentioned just now right?
you can just call them and clarify. IELTS can be done at this one place near Taylors College SJ. i did mine there years ago.

0.0505sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:27 AM