125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V9, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

TSbenny888
post Jul 29 2011, 11:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Jul 29 2011, 11:27 AM)
hmm, i read all the infos on first page already but still didn't see anything about upgrading the sgs2 firmware except rooting it and then update it. but my sgs2 is not rooted and currently has baseband version DXKF1. the build number is XWKF1. how can i update my sgs2 without rooting it? thanks.
If you do not wish to root, your only option is :

-Update it thro KIES - this is very slow and the updates are also very backdated when available. You will only know whether your firmware can have a later update by just connecting it to PC and launch KIES. Example now is already at KG3. Most probably your nextupdate will only be KF2 or KF3 or KF4. KG series is most unlikely

The power of root : Analogous you have a BMW 525i car but inside is only a 1600 cc engine. Root it and unleash the 2500 ccc power inside it

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 29 2011, 11:45 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 11:51 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Jul 29 2011, 11:27 AM)
hmm, i read all the infos on first page already but still didn't see anything about upgrading the sgs2 firmware except rooting it and then update it. but my sgs2 is not rooted and currently has baseband version DXKF1. the build number is XWKF1. how can i update my sgs2 without rooting it? thanks.
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 29 2011, 11:45 AM)

-Update it thro KIES - this is very slow and the updates are also very backdated when available. You will only know whether your firmware can have a later update by just connecting it to PC and launch KIES.  Example now is already at KG3. Most probably your nextupdate will only be KF2 or KF3 or KF4. KG series is most unlikely

The power of root : Analogous you have a BMW 525i car but inside is only a 1600 cc engine. Root it and unleash the 2500 ccc power inside it
hmmmm... this is what i get when i check my phone info...
Model number:
GT-I9100
Android version:
Baseband version:
I9100DXKF1
Kernel version:
2.6.35.7-I9100XWKF1-CL265340
root@DELL106#2
Build number:
GINGERBREAD.XWKF1

my phone is unrooted... so wondering if the line marked red is normal.

we can't update the firmware direct from the phone? as in... settings --> about phone --> software update.

another Q... i noticed when i click applications icon... some of the pages have got an empty box. i tot it would auto populate the boxes?

adding another Q... how to know what is the latest firmware? is it published on Samsung site?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 29 2011, 11:52 AM
Angelpoli
post Jul 29 2011, 11:52 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 29 2011, 11:45 AM)

-Update it thro KIES - this is very slow and the updates are also very backdated when available. You will only know whether your firmware can have a later update by just connecting it to PC and launch KIES.  Example now is already at KG3. Most probably your nextupdate will only be KF2 or KF3 or KF4. KG series is most unlikely

got it. thanks a lot for that infos! will consider rooting it! smile.gif
rayzy22
post Jul 29 2011, 11:53 AM

395 posts

From: Sri Kembangan, Putrajaya, K.Terengganu, Butterworth

flash to litening 4.2 but donno why after a while kenot connect to internet...maybe telco problem but can help to notice there is symbol of two circle arrow on top of the screen..what does it mean eh?
mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 11:54 AM

7,044 posts

anyway, sharing another interesting link for those into dev or knowing more tech details about sgs2:
http://innovator.samsungmobile.com/prd/sym...ET&platformId=1
TSbenny888
post Jul 29 2011, 11:59 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 29 2011, 11:51 AM)

we can't update the firmware direct from the phone? as in... settings --> about phone --> software update.

another Q... i noticed when i click applications icon... some of the pages have got an empty box. i tot it would auto populate the boxes?

adding another Q... how to know what is the latest firmware? is it published on Samsung site?
Is NORMAL - it just shows the source of the kernel ; the word root does not mean it is rooted

You can update firmware ( if available ) through KIES ; if you are lucky you can get it done within an hour ; if you are unlucky it can drag several hours as KIES is stiill very buggy and its performance is heavily affected by your 3rd party installations in your PC. Unless you are tech savvy and has the time to troubleshoot , you can remove those 3rd party software affecting it. Some guys puirposely format their PC just to get KIES working perfectly to update their phone firmware

You can look it up at www.samfirmware.com - you need to register to access site and view firmware listing and download
mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 12:03 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 29 2011, 11:59 AM)
Is NORMAL - it just shows the source of the kernel ; the word root does not mean it is rooted

You can update firmware ( if available ) through KIES ; if you are lucky you can get it done within an hour ; if you are unlucky it can drag several hours as KIES is stiill very buggy and its performance is heavily affected by your 3rd party installations in your PC. Unless you are tech savvy and has the time to troubleshoot , you can remove those 3rd party software affecting it. Some guys puirposely format their PC just to get KIES working perfectly to update their phone firmware

You can look it up at www.samfirmware.com - you need to register to access site and view firmware listing and download
samfirmware.com is official samsung site?

anyway, will check it out soon...

guess its not official site. still good site to visit.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 29 2011, 12:06 PM
todinidot
post Jul 29 2011, 12:10 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 29 2011, 11:51 AM)

from what i learn,

if we didnt have the superuser inside the application then our phone not yet rooted..
LuffyPSP
post Jul 29 2011, 12:12 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(todinidot @ Jul 29 2011, 12:10 PM)
from what i learn,

if we didnt have the superuser inside the application then our phone not yet rooted..
yeah thats one of them

btw KIES update sucks. never able to successfully updated my aunt's Ace. it always failed.
inesen
post Jul 29 2011, 12:13 PM

81 posts

Yeay new user here!

Fallenangelz
post Jul 29 2011, 12:13 PM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jul 29 2011, 12:12 PM)
yeah thats one of them

btw KIES update sucks. never able to successfully updated my aunt's Ace. it always failed.
the moment i help my fren get his ace, the first thing i do when we go back to my room is:

flash to VR1.0, since dat's the only custom ROM using 2.3 at dat moment cool2.gif

btw, its time to move on to V10!!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Fallenangelz: Jul 29 2011, 12:17 PM
monkeyjumbo
post Jul 29 2011, 12:33 PM

85 posts

add me to the users list thankies :3
LuffyPSP
post Jul 29 2011, 12:35 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 29 2011, 12:13 PM)
the moment i help my fren get his ace, the first thing i do when we go back to my room is:
flash to VR1.0, since dat's the only custom ROM using 2.3 at dat moment cool2.gif
btw, its time to move on to V10!!!  rclxms.gif
she dont want custom rom or root~~ didnt really have the interest to search for official updates to flash ODIN but if i found somewhere i'll be sure to flash it straight away.
afad
post Jul 29 2011, 01:03 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 29 2011, 12:13 PM)
btw, its time to move on to V10!!!  rclxms.gif
+1, ive also flash my wife's Ace with leaked rom before,
now on firstUA custom rom 2.3.4,
the only custom rom that is quite stable i think out there..
Eiraku
post Jul 29 2011, 01:31 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Delicious hidden guesture lock screen:

It's still there though to taunt you every time you make mistakes

blugear
post Jul 29 2011, 01:40 PM

I am more that meets the eye...
1,053 posts

Guys,

Im currently on VR 2.3 and Speedmod kernel.

If i want to change to litening rom 4.2, do i need to factory wipe?
mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 01:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 29 2011, 01:31 PM)

nice! smile.gif
alvin_lee
post Jul 29 2011, 01:49 PM

131 posts

Hi all, i am new to Android,

Just to check: should i Root the HP first ot should i flash the Lighting ROM to 4.2 Version?

Rom is same as firmware?

mydragoon
post Jul 29 2011, 01:51 PM

7,044 posts

oh ya... this morning when i was taking out my sgs2 battery, i took the opportunity to check the details...

the warranty sticker did not indicate any month/ year.

but the battery had a manufacturing date (i think -- the description is written in chinese)... 25th June 2011. but i dun think this indicates the handset manufacturing date...

just thought i'd share... for whatever reasons...
tenchi0205
post Jul 29 2011, 01:53 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 29 2011, 01:31 PM)

It's still there though to taunt you every time you make mistakes

drool.gif nice....is that 地狱少女?

125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top