Unifi UNIFI wireless modem

TScitadel
post Jul 18 2011, 10:15 AM, updated 15y ago

38 posts

Contractor just came to my house and installed UNIFI yesterday. And there seem to be a problem with the wireless mode. I'm connected to the modem wirelessly with my macbook pro and i get frequently disconnected every 5 minutes. Even when I'm like 1 meter away from the modem. Wired connection works perfectly though. Was wondering whether I received a problematic modem or is there something wrong with my macbook pro?
Do assist me. Thanks in advance.
TScitadel
post Jul 18 2011, 10:30 AM

38 posts

yup. did both but problem still there
TScitadel
post Jul 18 2011, 03:05 PM

38 posts

Are u using the 2011 macbook pro. HEard this is because of the software update. IS this true? but then again even tethering 3g from my ipad, ive never experienced disconnections.
TScitadel
post Jul 18 2011, 07:32 PM

38 posts

I see.apparently when I connect to other wifi areas, I don't experience disconnections like this

TScitadel
post Jul 19 2011, 04:13 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jul 18 2011, 08:15 PM)
I gave up on the crappy TM router and just bought a TP-Link WR841ND router for RM88 instead. Been working flawlessly for now. Hope you'll get to solve your issue.
If ure using the TP link router, how bout the tv box and residential gateway?
TScitadel
post Jul 19 2011, 05:28 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(zuljag @ Jul 19 2011, 04:55 PM)
TP link router is a complete solution to the black router..i just setup the tplink router with  my fren last nite and it works a charm..signal is better n no more intermittent signal..i can race rfactor without any lag or dc..its a cheap rm85 ringgit solution for me..buy the tp link wifi card 3 antenna with it n ur pc have less wire to be plug in to.
Any configurations to do when setting up that router?
Because I'm clueless bout all this. I just want to use the net wirelessly without and disconnections and how's the connection strength? As I'll be situated about 2 metres from the router.
TScitadel
post Jul 19 2011, 06:15 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jul 19 2011, 05:34 PM)
Residential gateway - placed it back on it's original box. Keep it on the safe place. When TM technician want to troubleshoot your connection, plug in back when they on the way to your home.

TV box aka IPTV - Connect your red lan cable to the LAN PORT 4 of TL-WR841ND router.

So, basically everything will be still the same, unless you're using the new router which is far more stable and consistent than DIR-615 or TM RnD router.

You can get TL-WR841ND as low as RM80 at Lowyat. I even saw someone at garage sales sell the TL-WR841ND for just RM75...  smile.gif

To setup your TL-WR841ND, you can refer to Klseet's website.... Here's the link : http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=7&Itemid=6
Wah. Still must flash router. Looks scary. haha. Anyone selling the router and provide setting up service? I don't mind paying extra for the service
TScitadel
post Jul 19 2011, 06:49 PM

38 posts

The guide shoes in Windows. Will the steps be the same if I use mac?
TScitadel
post Jul 20 2011, 09:03 AM

38 posts

Seems like a lot of MAc users facing similar problems. TM should have a MAc expert or troubleshooter to help us out here because there are quite a number of MAc users around.
TScitadel
post Jul 20 2011, 04:17 PM

38 posts

Something to do with the settings and incompatibility with the TM router. according to the TM technician
TScitadel
post Jul 21 2011, 01:17 PM

38 posts

How to get into wireless settings? Under system preferences?
TScitadel
post Jul 23 2011, 10:57 AM

38 posts

Does the the new LION OS X overcome solve this problem?
TScitadel
post Aug 7 2011, 09:31 PM

38 posts

Hi guys, anyone knows what TP-link router to buy to counter this problem? And anyone knows how to configure the router?

0.0230sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:51 AM