Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V12, Pls FOLLOW the FORMAT when posting TQ~!
staind
Aug 6 2011, 03:33 PM
Brand: Asus/ Acer/ Toshiba Budget: Below 2.3K Usage: Microsoft Office, movie, surfing. Hardly play game using PC but not intended to get i3 as price difference seems not much.
I am being offered this 2 models at PC Fair. Spec seems almost similar to me. There are some others free gift as well. One of the promoter told me there is no point getting 8GB of RAM as laptop only utilised max 4GB. 8GB is for those who install 2 windows in the PC. True? Can anyone advice me which to take? thanks.
Acer Aspire 4750G-2414G50 - RM1950 i5-2410M Processor 2.30GHz Window 7 Home Premium 500GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM 14" Acer CineCrystal LED backlit TFT LDC Nvidia Geforce GT520M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
Asus A43SV-VX053V - RM2249 i5-2410M Processor 2.30GHz Window 7 Home Premium 500GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM 14" HD Color Shine LED Nvidia Geforce GT540M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
staind
Aug 6 2011, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 6 2011, 03:56 PM) lolx.... using 32 bit windows? yea... max is 3.sumting gb..... 64 bit windows??? 8 gb still can la... lolx.... thing is not cant use... is wasted din use .. lolx.. under normal use... 4gb pun tak sampai.... haha... if me i would go for the a43sv.. =P cz that 540m..  Both of models are Window 7 Home Premium 64 bits.
staind
Aug 6 2011, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 6 2011, 04:31 PM) then 8 gb no prob can fully use... but do u utilize it? haha... 4gb adi enuf for most of us.. lolx.... so.... which one u want??? the asus or acer?? There are many choices. Acer seems to have quite a lot of bad comments. However, it is cheaper. Got USB3.0. Asus only USB2.0. Still thinking actually.
staind
Aug 6 2011, 05:11 PM
thanks for all the reply. Design wise, I bend towards Acer. Anyway, I will decide soon. I am currently using Dell Inspiron 6400. Already served me 5 years and still very good. No heat issue and robust. If not because of wanting to try other brand, I will go back to Dell. Added on August 6, 2011, 5:45 pmQUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 6 2011, 03:46 PM) Wow, that's very rare  Added on August 6, 2011, 3:51 pmThose 2 are good, the Acer comes with 3 years warranty, whereas the Asus comes with 2 years international warranty. The Asus has a better GPU  Can consider this one as well: G470, i5-2410M + Intel HD3000@RM1999 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Its true that most normal users don't really fully utilize the 8GB RAM, but the running on 2 windows thing is BS  Thanks. Will go and have a look on Lenovo as well. This post has been edited by staind: Aug 6 2011, 05:45 PM
staind
Aug 8 2011, 11:47 PM
Thanks for the advice given by [PF] T.J. and IvanWong1989.
I decided to get Asus A43SJ-VX259V at PC fair yesterday.
Basically, the spec is: i5-2410M Processor 2.30GHz Window 7 Home Premium 640GB, 4GB DDR3 RAM Nvidia Geforce GT520M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
Decided to give up the 8GB RAM and GT540M GPU. Opt for little saving and slightly bigger hardisk size as I am not gamer and using PC for online, movie and other light activities only. Well, price difference between A43SV-VX053V and my current model is only RM150 only.