Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V12, Pls FOLLOW the FORMAT when posting TQ~!

Koki
post Jul 18 2011, 10:56 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jul 18 2011, 10:34 PM)
Model HP Pavillion G4-1007TX
CPU
Intel Core i3-2310M Processor 2.10GHz, 3MB L3 Cache
Chipset Intel HM65 Express Chipset
OS
Genuine Windiws 7 Home Premium (64 Bit)
Memory 2GB DDR3 RAM ( Max up to 8GB )
Display 14"  HP BrightView LED Display ( 16:9 )
Graphic ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 6470 with 1GB GDDR3  (HDMI)
Hard Drive 500GB SATA HDD
DVD Drive LightScribe SuperMulti 8X DVD±RW with Double Layer Support
Network Standard
IEEE 802.11b/g/n
Integrated 10/100BASE-T Ethernet LAN
Webcam Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone
Bluetooth Bluetooth Combo
Audio High Defination Audio
Speaker Build in Altec Lansing Speaker
Pointing Device Notebook keyboard with home roll keys,Touchpad supporting Multi-Touch gestures.  With On/Off button.
Ports 3 USB 2.0,HDMI,VGA,RJ-45,1 Headphone out,Microphone in,Kensington® MicroSaver lock slot
Battery 6-cell Li-Ion Standard Battery Pack
Dimension 34.1cm(W)x 23.1cm(D)x 3.0cm(min H)/ 3.56cm (max H)
Weight 2.1kg
Free HP Care Pack 3 Years Warranty                                                                            Limited Edition KungFu Panda 2 Cover & Nylon Carrying Bag
Warranty
1 Year International Limited Warranty
Color Charcoal Grey & Sonoma Red
RM1800

is g4 good lappy?
Spec wise it's good.
Koki
post Aug 15 2011, 09:14 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Aug 15 2011, 08:40 PM)
im looking for laptop,budget within 4k,

wanted long lasting battery ,at least 4 hours with wifi....

and question,nowadays ...

any laptop with sata hdd can upgraded to SSD?
Yup, given that your laptop motherboard supports SATA 3 if you are using SATA 3 SSDs.
P/S : SATA 3 chipsets are backward compatible nod.gif
Koki
post Aug 15 2011, 10:21 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(strictly @ Aug 15 2011, 09:45 PM)
ah forgot to mention i want FHD screen. 1920 x 1080. and i7 preferred. should just cancel out the i5 =____=
HP dv6 with FHD variant simply just Dell XPS 15 or Inspiron 15R icon_idea.gif
Koki
post Aug 18 2011, 06:38 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Aug 18 2011, 04:51 PM)
Looking for light notepad for daily use. Need to bring from class to class (working as teacher).

- Normal MsOffice work
- Internet
- Some light Photoshop
- No games but some internet game (facebook smile.gif )

As cheap as possible. Budget below Rm1500 only.

Check at a shop, Lenovo G475 look nice. But good or not? My technician said have bad experience with Lenovo. He suggest dell or Asus.
Yes, for you usage the spec of Lenovo G475 is perfect.
For ASUS you can have an alternative. Have a look at the K43u.

Same AMD E-350 CPU + AMD HD6310 in a 14 inch body. RM 1299 (IINM), FreeDOS

This post has been edited by Koki: Aug 18 2011, 06:39 PM
Koki
post Aug 18 2011, 10:28 PM

3,142 posts

^As what bro Lee_what said, it's quite a good price
Koki
post Aug 19 2011, 12:51 PM

3,142 posts

Sifus, anyone can explain how can I control the TurboBoost and things like that? I only have the widget to display my usage of the processor...

Added on August 19, 2011, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 19 2011, 10:36 AM)
Thanks bro.

Just flash game n yahoo n pop cap game(my gf) lol...ahahaha

Hp 1 only aa? Ok, let say expand spec to i3 2nd gen.....?
I have a review on the Lenovo G470 on that variant. So far so good, and I'm posting using it too laugh.gif
Might want to have a look at AMD E-350 laptops too hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Koki: Aug 19 2011, 12:52 PM
Koki
post Aug 19 2011, 02:25 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 19 2011, 02:19 PM)
Wow, this is very informative  notworthy.gif
So will there be much differences if I disable TurboBoost during gaming with my laptop?  hmm.gif
As far as I know some games actually makes use of multiple cores present, but some games would run better with less cores and higher clock speed since you don't have any other task running simultaneously
Koki
post Aug 19 2011, 08:16 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(creepy_ghost @ Aug 19 2011, 06:21 PM)
thank you guys for the advice.......i will get the 5560g as soon as i enter uni...hehe
drool.gif
btw, does anyone know the 5560g total usage of battery life? does it reach 3 hours on light usage as playing internet and do a little ms word...when playing game is not considered?
Assuming that A6 has the same power rating as an i5-2410M then I'd say yes, beyond 3 hours
Koki
post Aug 20 2011, 12:07 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Aug 20 2011, 12:01 AM)

still confuse about this i5-2410M cpu, wonder if the i5 will lag if i open too many browsers tab while downloading at 400-600kbps and playing movie or mp3 at the same time? can't close my browser cause i am looking at stocks whole day. or is it the hard disk rpm that is the factor?

see even my PC with i7 and 8mb dedicated ram at home sometimes lag too cause i open to many applications or multitask too many things
8MB or 8GB? (not necessarily have to answer though)
Your PC is on DDR3 or DDR2? It makes a lot of difference in terms of the speed. Take it like a highway with 2 lanes and a highway with 3 lanes.
I don't think that the HDD RPM is a factor here except for the downloading part, which plays the heaviest role in hogging the hard disk.
Koki
post Aug 20 2011, 01:25 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Aug 20 2011, 12:26 AM)
ddr3, bought 2x4gb, those ram that comes in pairs, high end stuff in terms of price (most expensive) when i bought it in low yat.
I have no difficulties running Photoshop, iTunes playing and downloading at 2Mb/s with uTorrent (intranet) via WiFi and yet running Chrome with 10 tabs at the same time on my Lenovo G470. i5-2410M with 4GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Running with a WD Blue 640GB @ 5.4krpm with 8MB cache.
QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Aug 20 2011, 12:40 AM)
my budget until rm 800...

so i need to go for ?
Be aware that some of the Intel SSDs have the "detected as 8MB" problem, a firmware fix has been released, but I didn't catch up with the news sweat.gif
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 07:55 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 07:35 PM)
u r right, dont have to waste time learning.

thanks for your reply.  notworthy.gif

it means almost two third of my friends are unlucky?  hmm.gif bro, i know what u mean, even macbook user will face problem. however, it depends on the probability, right? EXAMPLE: "the probability of getting a faulty Asus laptop is very much lower than getting a faulty Acer laptop."

do u have the latest statistics?  drool.gif 

i really dare not to take the risk to buy acer. 

my brother has a Thinkpad 'given' by his company. i know that it is shockproof & waterproof. rclxms.gif but, the design..... sad.gif

"Asus U46Sv-WX023v, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2999[2.14kg]; USB3.0, Asus optical mouse" may be an option.  nod.gif

thanks, bro.  notworthy.gif

if the budget is unlimited, any other laptop u can recommend(besides macbook)? MUST BE LIGHT, i5 processor, 3Gb Ram.

Thanks.  biggrin.gif
Lenovo U260 tongue.gif
ASUS U series is okay too
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 08:38 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 08:02 PM)
THANKS, bro. i've been troubling u. so sorry for that.

Added on August 22, 2011, 8:03 pmmay i know the differences between PC and MAC? gonna buy macbook for myself to try when financial status allows. biggrin.gif
Generally speaking... the OS different. It makes the largest difference. Other than that you can see that the hardware to price ratio.... totally off
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 09:04 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 08:49 PM)
Sorry, there is no waterproof laptop in the market. wub.gif
A yes for spill resistant keyboard though. Well might as well give the Lenovo U260 a look, if it's for your father (I assumed he doesn't want to learn everything as he'll ask you questions all day long and you'll be frustrated)
Other cheaper ones if you don't game then maybe even an AMD A-series processor would do.
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 10:13 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Aug 22 2011, 10:07 PM)
Oh, sorry, I've forgotten that DVD drive is necessary. Without it, really inconvenient. sad.gif

Then, u260 doesn't suit.
To be honest Acer's build quality is rather bad... the only one good (touched myself) is the Acer 4830TG.
You might want to have a look at what bro TJ posted laugh.gif Or wait for AMD Llano laptops
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 10:48 PM

3,142 posts

Ini resis, not all of the same race look alike laugh.gif
Back on to topic, Xeon processors are meant for workstations like servers... i7 is for those heavy rendering stuff
2 different things, 2 different optimizations
Koki
post Aug 22 2011, 11:35 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Aug 22 2011, 11:28 PM)
Can macbook air 2011 lowest spec dual boot windows 7 and run "visual studio ultimate 2010" smoothly?
Smoothly... impossible. If you boot camp to Win7 then it's like a PC with the same specs as MBAir
If you use VMware on Mac then you lose resources...
Koki
post Aug 23 2011, 12:48 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Aug 23 2011, 12:29 AM)
sifus,

now i bought ssd for my laptop, sony -vpcsb26fg

but i use re-install windows, all the windos files store inside my ssd,

where to delete it cause i already backup and burn to dvd...
I don't quite understand what you mean?
If you want a clean copy of Windows installed, click on "Custom" at the menu where the button "Install Windows" is
Koki
post Aug 23 2011, 05:26 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Aug 23 2011, 12:52 AM)
cause the files of Windows CD is store inside the storage, so it will automatic occupied my spaces,

i wanted delete the content of the Windows CD from my storage,so my storage will be more spaces..
Assuming you installed your Windows using that CD, then after you installed it you can delete the Windows CD image file
Koki
post Aug 23 2011, 07:35 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Aug 23 2011, 07:23 PM)
ya, for now. have two recovery CD, 1 had burn. 1 still inside my laptop...

where can i locate the Windows CD image file?or content of it?
It depends where you saved it... I can't help you with this :S
Koki
post Aug 23 2011, 09:59 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 23 2011, 09:45 PM)
**Do take note that I din't recommend the N45Sf (the best-speced 14" within RM3k at the moment) because there is some issues with the GPU  nod.gif
I think TS better add to the main post

0.0272sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:10 PM