Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V12, Pls FOLLOW the FORMAT when posting TQ~!

AlexLai
post Jul 17 2011, 11:07 PM

5,531 posts

Congrats on V12. Time to fly~
AlexLai
post Jul 17 2011, 11:12 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 17 2011, 10:53 PM)
Actually you deserve to be a moderator already. Since there are so many moderators in other subforums...but not in Mobile Computing...

Try PM Ah Wang about it.... biggrin.gif
Moderator I doubt so, but Elite is very possible. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 17 2011, 11:49 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:23 PM)
FLY!! yoo hoo. hei alex... fb no choy me chat... wuwu  cry.gif
I see like nothing so never choy lor. Haha. icon_rolleyes.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 12:05 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:59 PM)
offtopic... alex, whut ur fb??? add me or i add u XD
Here you go. smile.gif

AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 11:12 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:24 AM)
erm..

Aspire 4750G, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT 520@RM2199[2.3kg], 3 years local limited warranty
asus

A43Sj, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2249, Color: Black
haha... either one would do....

asus comes with default 2 years warranty. acer only some models hav free 3 years warranty, standard is 1 year...
i hav a feeling the acer aspire can go down till 2k.... hav a try to discuss wit those shops... also. go and have a feel of these laptops... to see if you like their design...

haha... most shops would rather make a sales with some profit.... rather than lose a sales .
For the Asus, that price brings it dangerously close to its bigger brother, the A43SV which offers a more powerful GPU for an extra RM100.
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 08:35 PM

5,531 posts

A43Ta, I doubt the battery can reach 5 hours+ with WiFi.
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 09:07 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:02 PM)
shocking.gif  then? ~~approx 2H+?
4 hours maybe.
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 09:11 PM

5,531 posts

Just take the 1015B.

PS: We told you so. brows.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jul 18 2011, 09:12 PM
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 09:23 PM

5,531 posts

Just wait for the U36SD. Same price as the U36JC but performance is still way superior.
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 09:53 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 18 2011, 09:44 PM)
Now then I realise,  doh.gif

Luckily netbook not that expensive for normal study usage

But Asus 1215b is more than rm1000....haih
That's pretty awesome.

Are you talking about this? with the specs below

RM899, not bad, feels like getting this, thanks a lot yah
Yeap, that's the one and it can be gotten for cheaper too.
AlexLai
post Jul 18 2011, 10:04 PM

5,531 posts

This particular netbook has been at the top of my personal recommendation list for months. Looks like it'll be there until it phases out and gets replaced.
AlexLai
post Jul 20 2011, 11:53 PM

5,531 posts

Review for the Asus U31SD from notebookreview.

US version is equipped with an i3-2310M manages a staggering 11 hours with their standard battery rundown test which consists of the Windows 7 Balanced power profile, 70% screen brightness, wireless active, and refreshing a web page every 60 seconds.

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=6198&p=4
AlexLai
post Jul 21 2011, 12:10 AM

5,531 posts

Well, for i5 it's hard to say but it is possible. If you limit the CPU speed and turn off the Turbo-Boost then it's very possible.
AlexLai
post Jul 21 2011, 01:36 AM

5,531 posts

Sometimes, TB kicks in for no reason. But there is a way to turn it off via the BIOS.
AlexLai
post Jul 21 2011, 09:05 AM

5,531 posts

The DV6 is a better buy. Better performance and newer internal hardware.
AlexLai
post Jul 21 2011, 09:03 PM

5,531 posts

It's not minimal, there is a difference which can only be felt with some real world testing and not just with synthetics.

Head to head:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html

Nvidia GT520M
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.43104.0.html

Intel HD3000
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-HD-Grap...00.37948.0.html

Compare the figures in the game testing section and you'll see that the GT520M edges the Intel HD3000 by some degree. Also, games still prefer a discrete solution compared to anything integrated.

AlexLai
post Jul 22 2011, 04:31 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 22 2011, 04:00 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1809427/+1800

@expertester

Confirm with devour, U41SV doesn't has USB. Very weird because Asus Product Guide said otherwise. I will verify it today.

gt read that shocking.gif
You mean USB 3.0? Of course not. USB port, of course, don't be silly.
AlexLai
post Jul 25 2011, 06:01 PM

5,531 posts

That price inclusive of shipping?
AlexLai
post Jul 27 2011, 09:34 PM

5,531 posts

How about, use the format or else your request gets ignored?
AlexLai
post Jul 27 2011, 09:41 PM

5,531 posts

I only reply if I think there's a need. I don't do much recommendation itfp.

0.0517sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:30 AM