Which type of keyboard is best for SC2?, and why

TSpepsi89
post Jul 17 2011, 03:40 PM, updated 15y ago

56 posts

well, mechanical seems like a better choice but do u think the price worths the difference?

This post has been edited by pepsi89: Jul 17 2011, 03:44 PM
ricardoizecson
post Jul 17 2011, 04:29 PM

83 posts

mechanical keyboards. nuff said.

not only the best keyboard for sc2. but the BEST keyboard period.

This post has been edited by ricardoizecson: Jul 17 2011, 04:30 PM
BennyBaka
post Jul 17 2011, 04:56 PM

127 posts

mech keyboard, i think because the key is easy to press
and you can press more than 3 or 4 key
kEazYc
post Jul 17 2011, 06:19 PM

1,314 posts

You can pwn with any keyboard if you're good.

QUOTE(BennyBaka @ Jul 17 2011, 04:56 PM)
mech keyboard, i think because the key is easy to press
and you can press more than 3 or 4 key
A normal keyboard are able to press more than 3-4 keys as well, not just mechs.

This post has been edited by kEazYc: Jul 17 2011, 06:19 PM
KepalaRadio
post Jul 17 2011, 06:30 PM

389 posts

As for pressing multiple buttons, as long as your keyboard uses a PS/2 cable, you can press as many keys as you want and all of them will register correctly.

Picture:
http://www.computercableinc.com/ccinc/imag...leWholesale.jpg

Note; keyboard PS/2 cables are usually blue in colour.

Besides that, the main difference between mechanical keyboards and normal keyboard besides the obvious use of Cherry switches is the build quality. So it's really up to you to think if the extra cash is worth it or not. As for me, I think it's worth it, using a Ducky 9008 with brown switches at the moment.
evofantasy
post Jul 17 2011, 06:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

mechanical without a doubt...
once u touch em, u wont be using any other keyboards LOL...
i went to the extend of bringing my keyboard to uni for work...
kEazYc
post Jul 17 2011, 07:59 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 17 2011, 06:45 PM)
mechanical without a doubt...
once u touch em, u wont be using any other keyboards LOL...
i went to the extend of bringing my keyboard to uni for work...
Same lol, everytime i go cc i always bring my keyboard tongue.gif
quest_5692
post Jul 17 2011, 08:44 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

mech ftw.

the price is justified IMO
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2011, 10:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

>trying to brain old tech being renewed and marketed for gaming

lol. ill stick to the LCDs until logitech feels like releasing mech keyboards for their high end g series lol
evofantasy
post Jul 17 2011, 11:14 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2011, 10:50 PM)

lol. ill stick to the LCDs until logitech feels like releasing mech keyboards for their high end g series lol
old tech?
u do realize tat membrane are created as a tradeoff between quality for cheaper mass produced price?
mech have always been better, while membranes are cheaper and easily to sell...
then again, i cant brain ppl spending rm 200 for membrane re-badged into so called 'gaming keyboards'...

ps: sc2 pros use mech keyboards or dt-35 as their keyboards only... most of them dun use 'gaming LCD membrane keyboards' for a reason LOL

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 17 2011, 11:31 PM
quest_5692
post Jul 17 2011, 11:16 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

ask razer marauder, lycosa owner.
LoNeLy-Zhai
post Jul 17 2011, 11:16 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2011, 10:50 PM)

You sir, have the i despise old stuff mentality.
evofantasy
post Jul 17 2011, 11:20 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

it is not for gaming unless it is writen as gaming keyboard with LCD and backlight!!!

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 17 2011, 11:20 PM
axn992
post Jul 17 2011, 11:21 PM

676 posts

try qsenn dt-35
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2011, 11:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 17 2011, 11:14 PM)
old tech?
u do realize tat membrane are created as a tradeoff between quality for cheaper mass produced price?
mech have always been better, while membranes are cheaper and easily to sell...
then again, i cant brain ppl spending rm 200 for membrane re-badged into so called 'gaming keyboards'...

ps: sc2 pros use mech keyboards or dt-35 as their keyboards only... most of them dun use 'gaming LCD membrane keyboards' for a reason LOL
yeah im no pro anyways so who cares? rolleyes.gif

Added on July 17, 2011, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(LoNeLy-Zhai @ Jul 17 2011, 11:16 PM)
You sir, have the i despise old stuff mentality.
a bit, lol.

though, not quite the case for the keyboard issue though, if you would like hints, take it as how almost every thread in this sub-forum goes

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 17 2011, 11:40 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 17 2011, 11:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2011, 11:39 PM)
yeah im no pro anyways so who cares?  rolleyes.gif

Added on July 17, 2011, 11:40 pm

a bit, lol.

though, not quite the case for the keyboard issue though, if you would like hints, take it as how almost every thread in this sub-forum goes
"Which type of keyboard is best for SC2?, and why" <- thread title
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2011, 11:50 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 17 2011, 11:41 PM)
"Which type of keyboard is best for SC2?, and why" <- thread title
does it matter when no one likes taking in other opinions?

i didnt even say membrane is best for sc2 and i'm already getting staked and prepared for the burning already. go figure.
Timber2k7
post Jul 17 2011, 11:51 PM

101 posts

Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2011, 11:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Timber2k7 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:51 PM)
is this a mech keyboard?
Timber2k7
post Jul 17 2011, 11:56 PM

101 posts

nah, it is membrane, cost only rm60, it produces more mech than any1 did in a tvz though.

imo just stick with whatever mouse/keyboard u;re comfortable with. adapting to new ones just make me rage.
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2011, 12:01 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Timber2k7 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:56 PM)
nah, it is membrane, cost only rm60, it produces more mech than any1 did in a tvz though.

imo just stick with whatever mouse/keyboard u;re comfortable with. adapting to new ones just make me rage.
ill take this advice especially when its from a GM thumbup.gif
KepalaRadio
post Jul 18 2011, 01:04 AM

389 posts

lol timber i saw you using that in blitzone, the curve is weird so its hard for me to get used to it = / but i've heard its a pretty good keyboard
TSpepsi89
post Jul 18 2011, 02:02 AM

56 posts

i had always been a razer fan until i bought marauder, i think the apm light is cool despite the outlook out it (which is quite ugly), then when i got it, i realise the light is some shitty light, not like what it display in the picture of the razer website (which is spotlight like), but it looks quite nice in the dark but hell, i dont even stay in the dark even once when im using the laptop, then i realise, razer is started to produce tron, transformers, star wars kind of keyboard, mouse, headset etc. and i think, razer is shit, for gamers by gamers slogan doesnt mix with tron transformer and starwars kinda thing, who knows what razer will produce next? green lantern? shit

This post has been edited by pepsi89: Jul 18 2011, 02:04 AM
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2011, 02:05 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

awesome, i hate razer also, but i still use their mouse pads cuz no one else like logitech is stepping up to the table sad.gif
TSpepsi89
post Jul 18 2011, 02:15 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2011, 02:05 AM)
awesome, i hate razer also, but i still use their mouse pads cuz no one else like logitech is stepping up to the table sad.gif
i think the mouse is alright after im using it for almost 3 years, its a copperhead, becuz i was using it with my shitty laptop which only have 20 frame rate per sec with dota, the mouse pointer keep shaking whenever i move it slowly, even in the windows, i thought razer mice is over rated, guess my shitty laptop has some low resolution and thats why, i can even feel the shakiness when i my mouse now in a better laptop but just slightly
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2011, 02:41 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Jul 18 2011, 02:15 AM)
i think the mouse is alright after im using it for almost 3 years, its a copperhead, becuz i was using it with my shitty laptop which only have 20 frame rate per sec with dota, the mouse pointer keep shaking whenever i move it slowly, even in the windows, i thought razer mice is over rated, guess my shitty laptop has some low resolution and thats why, i can even feel the shakiness when i my mouse now in a better laptop but just slightly
i had a death adder, its so worn out now its not even funny lol. even my sister that i was using it as i passed it on to her also ditched it in a hurry in favor for a new cheaper mx518. im using the g9x now and its just leagues better than the deathadder. at least the damn thing doesnt peel off, and the Teflon feets are much ticker than the razer's :/
hikashi
post Jul 18 2011, 03:51 AM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

lol i hv this 10 years old HP keyboard. By any chance how do i check if its mechanical keyboard? Knowing it could increase my apm by 10%.

quest_5692
post Jul 18 2011, 08:19 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jul 18 2011, 03:51 AM)
lol i hv this 10 years old HP keyboard. By any chance how do i check if its mechanical keyboard? Knowing it could increase my apm by 10%.
clue 1, weight, it should be much more heavy than a nrmal keyboard

clue 2, use a ruler to pluck out the key cap to see whats up underneath. problem solved.

death adder.................rubber came out in less than 1 year. proceed to buy steelseries ikari optical, then buy ikari laser when im done with it. now both still healthy. mom still using optical to play bejeweled and very happy about it. thinking of changing a mouse d tho...........cuz i jusdt realized the unsually big mouse body is refraining my movement at some part of the game...etc mass boxing and some clickings, big mouse is a pain in the ass........
Timber2k7
post Jul 18 2011, 09:33 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jul 18 2011, 01:04 AM)
lol timber i saw you using that in blitzone, the curve is weird so its hard for me to get used to it = / but i've heard its a pretty good keyboard
its pretty shitty cuz once u get used to the curve, its hard to get comfortable with normal keyboard liao lol

i think currently roccat pyra and razer spectre top the list of best mouse for sc2 lol, i used to use microsoft inteli explorer cuz of my giant sized palm, but now i use the tiny little pyra, my hand is slow and lazy with big mouse =s
pyra only cost 1/2 the price of copperhead which is another fail experiment mouse i bought, barely use it and gave it away
mules
post Jul 18 2011, 10:31 AM

104 posts

I have always been using normal keyboard. Why spent rm200+ on a keyboard that works almost the same.

Then i got lured by the mech keyboard talks in the skype. So i bought a ducky mech with help from zhikun. RM279

First day, screw sc2, i can spent whole day typing away on that notepad cause i never know i can type so fast and the click and clack sounds is just awesome

It is like all this while i been driving a proton, then i get a BMW 5 series. The minute i press the gas pedal i dont feel like wanting to stop. The acceleration sound (click clack) makes me proud and happy, the performance awe me.

Like everyone else, i will say "Why didnt i get this sooner? this is awesome!"

If i lose this one, i will pay higher price for a new one, my fingers are spoiled, it will remain so.

# a pity on my logitech gaming keyboard rm90 two months old replaced violently by the new ducky that click clack all nite long

then again, that is just me
KepalaRadio
post Jul 18 2011, 10:37 AM

389 posts

Lol I have a friend that told me the exact same thing, getting used to the curve means he can't use other keyboards properly anymore lololol.

@quest&quaza
I keep hearing about how bad the rubber coating on razer mice are. Fortunately for me my razer DA has been used by me for the past 3 years (seriously) and the condition is still pretty good, with no tearing of the coating. I guess I have gentle hands biggrin.gif
ricardoizecson
post Jul 18 2011, 10:54 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Jul 18 2011, 10:31 AM)
I have always been using normal keyboard.  Why spent rm200+ on a keyboard that works almost the same.

Then i got lured by the mech keyboard talks in the skype.  So i bought a ducky mech with help from zhikun. RM279

First day, screw sc2, i can spent whole day typing away on that notepad cause i never know i can type so fast and the click and clack sounds is just awesome

It is like all this while i been driving a proton, then i get a BMW 5 series.  The minute i press the gas pedal i dont feel like wanting to stop.  The acceleration sound (click clack) makes me proud and happy, the performance awe me. 

If i lose this one, i will pay higher price for a new one, my fingers are spoiled, it will remain so. 

# a pity on my logitech gaming keyboard rm90 two months old replaced violently by the new ducky that click clack all nite long

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSpepsi89
post Jul 18 2011, 11:00 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jul 18 2011, 10:37 AM)
Lol I have a friend that told me the exact same thing, getting used to the curve means he can't use other keyboards properly anymore lololol.

@quest&quaza
I keep hearing about how bad the rubber coating on razer mice are. Fortunately for me my razer DA has been used by me for the past 3 years (seriously) and the condition is still pretty good, with no tearing of the coating. I guess I have gentle hands biggrin.gif
i have been using copperhead for almost 3 years, still in good condition despite the rubber which is covering the light is a bit peeled off, u know, some ppl just continuously smash their mice after moving it to a side and do it repeatedly like it has not enough sensitivity, any mouse will spoil in this way i guess

Added on July 18, 2011, 11:01 am
QUOTE(Timber2k7 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:33 AM)
its pretty shitty cuz once u get used to the curve, its hard to get comfortable with normal keyboard liao lol
i think currently roccat pyra and razer spectre top the list of best mouse for sc2 lol, i used to use microsoft inteli explorer cuz of my giant sized palm, but now i use the tiny little pyra, my hand is slow and lazy with big mouse =s
pyra only cost 1/2 the price of copperhead which is another fail experiment mouse i bought, barely use it and gave it away
seriously? razer spectre best mouse? why

This post has been edited by pepsi89: Jul 18 2011, 11:01 AM
hikashi
post Jul 18 2011, 11:27 AM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jul 18 2011, 08:19 AM)
clue 1, weight, it should be much more heavy than a nrmal keyboard

clue 2, use a ruler to pluck out the key cap to see whats up underneath. problem solved.

It look something like white and squarish underneath the key. Should be a mech keyboard. Would it be any different than those RM250+ mech keyboard?

fujkenasai
post Jul 18 2011, 11:48 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jul 18 2011, 11:27 AM)
It look something like white and squarish underneath the key. Should be a mech keyboard. Would it be any different than those RM250+ mech keyboard?
no usb lol
KepalaRadio
post Jul 18 2011, 11:49 AM

389 posts

When you say white and squarish did you mean this http://www.node.mu/images/mk96/mk96_switches.jpg? If you did then yes it's mechanical, it uses White Alps switches. More info here-> http://geekhack.org/showwiki.php?title=ALPS+switches
evofantasy
post Jul 18 2011, 02:34 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

I have always been using normal keyboard.  Why spent rm200+ on a keyboard that works almost the same.

Then i got lured by the mech keyboard talks in the skype.  So i bought a ducky mech with help from zhikun. RM279

It is like all this while i been driving a proton, then i get a BMW 5 series.  The minute i press the gas pedal i dont feel like wanting to stop.  The acceleration sound (click clack) makes me proud and happy, the performance awe me. 

lol...
now u went TF2 wit it rite sleep.gif"

to me the best analogy of a mech vs membrane keyboard is cameras...
mech = SLR
membrane = digital cameras
digital are newer tech and cheaper but SLR remained as the high end ones due to their capabilities, build quality and image...

----------

as for the mouse, everything is subjected to wear and tear...
u dun expect a mouse to last u like 5 years or so especially for something like rubber which is subjected to chemical reactions just being exposed to air LOL
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2011, 06:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Jul 18 2011, 11:00 AM)
i have been using copperhead for almost 3 years, still in good condition despite the rubber which is covering the light is a bit peeled off, u know, some ppl just continuously smash their mice after moving it to a side and do it repeatedly like it has not enough sensitivity, any mouse will spoil in this way i guess

Added on July 18, 2011, 11:01 am

seriously? razer spectre best mouse? why
well, after the rubber is peeled, whats left is a cheap plastic cover which, you know, you paid premium of over rm200 and that is what you get, sure feels bad lol.

that, and the teflon also fades pretty fast (3years or so) compared to most logitechs that can last you much longer, and they even have a tested and proven spec sheet (few kilometers of glide roflmao or how many millions of clicks etc) for each of their gaming series mices

razer on the other hand only provided fancy boxes, fancy design (LED bling bling! ill be the first to admit for falling for it) , and hella fancy marketing doh.gif

Added on July 18, 2011, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 18 2011, 02:34 PM)
lol...
now u went TF2 wit it rite sleep.gif"

mech = SLR
digital are newer tech and cheaper but SLR remained as the high end ones due to their capabilities, build quality and image...

----------

as for the mouse, everything is subjected to wear and tear...
u dun expect a mouse to last u like 5 years or so especially for something like rubber which is subjected to chemical reactions just being exposed to air LOL
as a casual photographer who owns both PNS/SLR cameras, i find that analogy highly offensive because you're clearly mistaken on a lot of points. just checking: do you know much about photography at all?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 18 2011, 06:35 PM
quest_5692
post Jul 18 2011, 09:19 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

exactly. proton can still drive you around no problemo. why BMW? cuz its fking awesome.
TSpepsi89
post Jul 18 2011, 10:25 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2011, 06:33 PM)

as a casual photographer who owns both PNS/SLR cameras, i find that analogy highly offensive because you're clearly mistaken on a lot of points. just checking: do you know much about photography at all?
an expert photographer cannot take a good picture with a digital camera, no matter what angle he is trying to use, a good starcraft2 player can pwn a very good player with a membrane keyboard

This post has been edited by pepsi89: Jul 18 2011, 10:26 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2011, 10:30 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:25 PM)
an expert photographer cannot take a good picture with a digital camera, no matter what angle he is trying to use, a good starcraft2 player can pwn a very good player with a membrane keyboard
aiyoh major mistake, the same one as evo made doh.gif

while i can see pass that error and acknowledge the intention and analogy is good, an error is still an error. i guess i couldnt blame you both for not being photographers/into photography? try to spot the error anyways if you dont mind putting in the effort. good for future references anyways

Added on July 18, 2011, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:19 PM)
exactly. proton can still drive you around no problemo. why BMW? cuz its fking awesome.
and just like cars, if a person is not into car and are into housing or maybe other hobbies, you preach how good a bmw is, can fly la, launch rockets la, that person also wont buy a bmw and will just buy a proton instead.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 18 2011, 10:31 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 19 2011, 12:17 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2011, 06:33 PM)
well, after the rubber is peeled, whats left is a cheap plastic cover which, you know, you paid premium of over rm200 and that is what you get, sure feels bad lol.

that, and the teflon also fades pretty fast (3years or so) compared to most logitechs that can last you much longer, and they even have a tested and proven spec sheet (few kilometers of glide roflmao or how many millions of clicks etc) for each of their gaming series mices

razer on the other hand only provided fancy boxes, fancy design (LED bling bling! ill be the first to admit for falling for it) , and hella fancy marketing  doh.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2011, 10:30 PM)
aiyoh major mistake, the same one as evo made  doh.gif

while i can see pass that error and acknowledge the intention and analogy is good, an error is still an error. i guess i couldnt blame you both for not being photographers/into photography? try to spot the error anyways if you dont mind putting in the effort. good for future references anyways

Added on July 18, 2011, 10:31 pm

and just like cars, if a person is not into car and are into housing or maybe other hobbies, you preach how good a bmw is, can fly la, launch rockets la, that person also wont buy a bmw and will just buy a proton instead.
then let me ask u this, in low light condition which is better?
how about fast shots especially for time-lapses?
there are a few more situations where SLR/ DSLR outperform P&S especially when the lenses come in for various shots...

just because u are a 'casual photographer' doesn't mean u know everything...
there is a big different between a hardcore photographer with SLR vs an amateur/ casual photographer with SLR...
casual photographer? stick to P&S if u are not utilizing SLRs the way they are meant to be...
^ might be offensive to some sensitive one but if u can afford it and it is ur money, continue getting SLR for P&S functions...
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2011, 12:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 19 2011, 12:17 AM)
then let me ask u this, in low light condition which is better?
how about fast shots especially for time-lapses?
there are a few more situations where SLR/ DSLR outperform P&S especially when the lenses come in for various shots...

just because u are a 'casual photographer' doesn't mean u know everything...
there is a big different between a hardcore photographer with SLR vs an amateur/ casual photographer with SLR...
casual photographer? stick to P&S if u are not utilizing SLRs the way they are meant to be...
^ might be offensive to some sensitive one but if u can afford it and it is ur money, continue getting SLR for P&S functions...
remember what you've said:

mech = SLR

just so it may slip out of your mind, digital cameras do include DSLR.

hope that helps smile.gif
evofantasy
post Jul 19 2011, 12:32 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2011, 12:22 AM)

sweat, so u are actually questioning my analogy to the point of how much i know about photography due to that?

ok i'll make it clearer for casual photographers like u who get offended by it:
Mechanical = single lens reflex (SLR) or Digital SLR (DSLR)
Membrane = The commonly found point and shoot (P&S) digital cameras. Most common people/ colloquialism use call them digital camera.

do note that digital P&S is much newer (since 2000ish) than SLR but experts were still using SLRs... only when DSLR started recently few years back...
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2011, 12:55 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 19 2011, 12:32 AM)
sweat, so u are actually questioning my analogy to the point of how much i know about photography due to that?

ok i'll make it clearer for casual photographers like u who get offended by it:
Mechanical = single lens reflex (SLR) or Digital SLR (DSLR)
Membrane = The commonly found point and shoot (P&S) digital cameras. Most common people/ colloquialism use call them digital camera.

do note that digital P&S is much newer (since 2000ish) than SLR but experts were still using SLRs... only when DSLR started recently few years back...
what, i cant nitpick errors now or something? didnt know it had became a rule. my bad, i humbly apologize then.

ps: DSLRs and digital PNS are created around the same decade, in which both served different market needs

though when they were both in their early stages, it wasnt quite the case where by digital pns may be more advanced that the current available dslr or hybrid analog/digital slr to be more precise, to the point where the PNS would be more preferred

it was only until the early 20th century where both dslr/d pns are widely available to consumers where they start serving their own markets respectively, leaving the analog SLRs or even normal cameras (or polaroids) to serve the still available niche market.

tldr: using cameras as analogies for keyboards, or more specifically, gaming keyboards, in a specific game (read: sc2) is just as derp as it can get.

Added on July 19, 2011, 8:46 am
was expecting something, then again http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1963065

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 19 2011, 08:46 AM
mules
post Jul 19 2011, 10:38 AM

104 posts

stay on topic man, do u realize most of the thread in lowyat sc2 is non sc2 related and more rage and grudge? Show some love, Quazacolt please refrain from ignite useless argument that is non sc2 related. I am bored of reading my favorite forum filled with rage from you. A metaphor is a metaphor! Seriously, try go teamliquid with ur attitute, you will be ban long time ago.
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2011, 10:51 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Jul 19 2011, 10:38 AM)
stay on topic man, do u realize most of the thread in lowyat sc2 is non sc2 related and more rage and grudge? Show some love, Quazacolt please refrain from ignite useless argument that is non sc2 related.  I am bored of reading my favorite forum filled with rage from you.  A metaphor is a metaphor!  Seriously, try go teamliquid with ur attitute, you will be ban long time ago.
pardon my immaturity for this, but "he started it first"
now that we got that out of the way, ill put it simple for you: it takes both hands to make a clap, whats an ignition without a burning medium, and/or a source of spark?

and rage you say? here letme demonstrate rage:
"f***ING BULLSHIT PEOPLE KEEP SPEWING BULLSHIT NONSENSE" etc.

get it? no? ill just put it out that i am perfectly calm and sane (if you can even call it that for browsing LYN sc2 sub forum), up to you to take it as you will.

and really, TL? why should i go there? give me a perfectly valid reason for me to waste my time going there.

lastly, FEEL FREE to report my posts that you deem offensive, and/or off topic/irrelevant/spamming including this very post here. although while doing that, i sincerely hope that you maintain an unbiased standpoint and report other offending posts as well.

that is all. i am done with this thread.
Sichiri
post Jul 19 2011, 11:12 AM

1,191 posts

I use a Dvorak keyboard.

/troll
xiaotim
post Jul 19 2011, 01:57 PM

142 posts

I Use HP standard p/s2 keyboard, come with super small size shift buttons too... rclxms.gif
fujkenasai
post Jul 19 2011, 02:00 PM

1,137 posts

Here shoot with something that can't event shoot in RAWRRRRRRR!!!!!
WINRARRRRRRRR

Added on July 19, 2011, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2011, 12:22 AM)

Some people thinks that DSLR is not a digital camera laugh.gif laugh.gif RLOLMFAO!!!

^ ok what above is just for info for the previous flame lets get back on keyboard, sorry

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Jul 19 2011, 02:07 PM
TSpepsi89
post Jul 19 2011, 04:15 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Jul 19 2011, 11:12 AM)
I use a Dvorak keyboard.

/troll
piano? lmao

Added on July 20, 2011, 12:51 am
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 19 2011, 12:17 AM)
i dont laugh at people who own dslr/slr with a normal photo shooting skill, well, i have to admit i do sometimes, but i would most probably laugh at people who is below platinum league and own mechanical keyboards just for starcraft2, because i dont have much ego in photo shooting as im not that interested in photo shooting, but i do admit i have some passion in starcraft2 and giving me this ego to laugh at people even though they are rich and own a mechanical keyboard without a good playing skill, i find myself stupid sometimes.

for people who find your analogy offensive, they are just afraid of people laughing of why they are not being making their hobbies to the next level by improving their photo shooting skill more when they have a good equipment, i find this reaction is very unnecessary because that is what u enjoy doing and some people just wouldnt understand how u feel about it, as i wouldnt ever understand how a bronze player would feel so good in playing sc2 with a mechanical keybaord, that justifies why i admit im stupid sometimes becuz i just cant get rid of my ego of laughing people who own mechanical keyboards even they dont play very good starcraft

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 19 2011, 02:00 PM)
^  ok what above is just for info for the previous flame lets get back on keyboard, sorry
that video shows how slayers_alicia can pwn with a membrane keyboard (marauder), u failed to dispatch us from that analogy xD

ONE QUESTION, do all mech keyboards have macro key function??

This post has been edited by pepsi89: Jul 20 2011, 01:04 AM
radkliler
post Jul 20 2011, 07:29 AM

WUBWUBWUB
985 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Jul 19 2011, 12:12 PM)
I use a Dvorak keyboard.

/troll
>Using this clusterf*ck of a keyboard
I seriously hope you guys don't do this
Sichiri
post Jul 20 2011, 08:12 AM

1,191 posts

Speaking of mechanical keyboard, remember the days (Intel Pentium 1 and before) when all standard keyboards were mechanical, and people complained that it was too noisy so they made membrane keyboards as 'silent' keyboard so it went to become the standards of today?

Then now they brought back mechanical keyboards and sell them at RM200+ a pop.

haha.

Timber2k7
post Jul 20 2011, 09:00 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2011, 10:51 AM)
pardon my immaturity for this, but "he started it first"
now that we got that out of the way, ill put it simple for you: it takes both hands to make a clap, whats an ignition without a burning medium, and/or a source of spark?

and rage you say? here letme demonstrate rage:
"f***ING BULLSHIT PEOPLE KEEP SPEWING BULLSHIT NONSENSE" etc.

get it? no? ill just put it out that i am perfectly calm and sane (if you can even call it that for browsing LYN sc2 sub forum), up to you to take it as you will.

and really, TL? why should i go there? give me a perfectly valid reason for me to waste my time going there.

lastly, FEEL FREE to report my posts that you deem offensive, and/or off topic/irrelevant/spamming including this very post here. although while doing that, i sincerely hope that you maintain an unbiased standpoint and report other offending posts as well.

that is all. i am done with this thread.
+1
mules
post Jul 20 2011, 10:26 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Timber2k7 @ Jul 20 2011, 10:00 AM)
+1
Sorry i admit i am bias. Please come back Quazacolt.

Back to mech, i don't think a keyboard will help you jumping the ladder, i don't see myself flying either. Like a better mouse, the precision indeed helps and seriously a great treat to your fingers. It takes a day or two to get used to the heavier keyboard and the new pressure but once you get used to it, it is a good investment. A mech keyboard life is much longer too. Come on, it is indeed a better keyboard for rts players, why else progamers take the hassle to carry that heavier keyboard all the way to tourney even abroad.

my two cents
evofantasy
post Jul 20 2011, 02:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Jul 19 2011, 04:15 PM)
piano? lmao

Added on July 20, 2011, 12:51 am

i dont laugh at people who own dslr/slr with a normal photo shooting skill, well, i have to admit i do sometimes, but i would most probably laugh at people who is below platinum league and own  mechanical keyboards just for starcraft2, because i dont have much ego in photo shooting as im not that interested in photo shooting, but i do admit i have some passion in starcraft2 and giving me this ego to laugh at people even though they are rich and own a mechanical keyboard without a good playing skill, i find myself stupid sometimes.

for people who find your analogy offensive, they are just afraid of people laughing of why they are not being making their hobbies to the next level by improving their photo shooting skill more when they have a good equipment, i find this reaction is very unnecessary because that is what u enjoy doing and some people just wouldnt understand how u feel about it, as i wouldnt ever understand how a bronze player would feel so good in playing sc2 with a mechanical keybaord, that justifies why i admit im stupid sometimes becuz i just cant get rid of my ego of laughing people who own mechanical keyboards even they dont play very good starcraft
that video shows how slayers_alicia can pwn with a membrane keyboard (marauder), u failed to dispatch us from that analogy xD
ONE QUESTION, do all mech keyboards have macro key function??
most of them dun have macro keys...
the selling point for mech is the quality of the switches, the feel of it (especially the feedback which u can get with DT-35 membrane as well) and how long they last (superb builds)...

as for mech keyboards, they are not only for gaming...
they are a blast to type on (especially if u are writing papers and doing coding like me)...
those who actually got their ducky/ filco etc dun go sc2 instantly when they get it...
they are looking for things to type on as it feels so good for ur fingers...

Added on July 20, 2011, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(mules @ Jul 20 2011, 10:26 AM)
Sorry i admit i am bias.  Please come back Quazacolt.

Back to mech, i don't think a keyboard will help you jumping the ladder, i don't see myself flying either. Like a better mouse, the precision indeed helps and seriously a great treat to your fingers.  It takes a day or two to get used to the heavier keyboard and the new pressure but once you get used to it, it is a good investment.  A mech keyboard life is much longer too.  Come on, it is indeed a better keyboard for rts players, why else progamers take the hassle to carry that heavier keyboard all the way to tourney even abroad.
my two cents
mech's switch life is said to last 10x longer than membrane...
a mech = rm 300...
a membrane = rm 20 (basic one)...
if u can afford it upfront, no reason not to =p

pop over to the mech keyboard thread in the hardware subforum and compare with the gaming keyboard thread...
u get ur answer on which is the better keyboard easily...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 20 2011, 02:51 PM
fujkenasai
post Jul 20 2011, 03:32 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 20 2011, 02:49 PM)
most of them dun have macro keys...
the selling point for mech is the quality of the switches, the feel of it (especially the feedback which u can get with DT-35 membrane as well) and how long they last (superb builds)...

as for mech keyboards, they are not only for gaming...
they are a blast to type on (especially if u are writing papers and doing coding like me)...
those who actually got their ducky/ filco etc dun go sc2 instantly when they get it...
they are looking for things to type on as it feels so good for ur fingers...

Added on July 20, 2011, 2:51 pm

mech's switch life is said to last 10x longer than membrane...
a mech = rm 300...
a membrane = rm 20 (basic one)...
if u can afford it upfront, no reason not to =p

pop over to the mech keyboard thread in the hardware subforum and compare with the gaming keyboard thread...
u get ur answer on which is the better keyboard easily...
thnx for the info
ckmultimedia
post Jul 21 2011, 06:04 PM

[attachmentid=2342764]

Features:

* STARCRAFT® II DESIGN
* Beautifully crafted with artwork from the game.
* MASTER THE GAME
* Labeled keys and one-touch macros grouped intuitively for quick access.
* MACROS BY RACE
* 3 race-specific macro layouts for Terran, Protoss and Zerg.
* EASY TO USE
* Assign 20 one-touch macro buttons with custom commands.
* CUSTOMIZATION
* Remap every key for a custom experience with the SteelSeries Z Engine software.
* ANTI-GHOSTING
* Anti-ghosting capability allows for 7 simultaneous keystrokes.
* FULL FEATURED
* Equipped with two USB 1.1 ports as well as a standard keyset for everyday use.
* COMPATIBILITY
* Compatible with all versions of the StarCraft® II PC Game.

Try SteelSeries Zboard Bundle: StarCraft II
KepalaRadio
post Jul 21 2011, 06:15 PM

389 posts

Macro keys are actually not allowed in Starcraft II ladder if I'm not mistaken. I remember that Grubby, or somebody else (quite sure it's Grubby) advertising this and it was under heavy flaming. So no, If you want to get better in SCII, using a keyboard with custom macros is not the way, and it's also illegal.
quest_5692
post Jul 21 2011, 06:41 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

QUOTE(ckmultimedia @ Jul 21 2011, 06:04 PM)
[attachmentid=2342764]
Features:

* STARCRAFT® II DESIGN
    * MASTER THE GAME
    * MACROS BY RACE
    * EASY TO USE
    * CUSTOMIZATION
    * Remap every key for a custom experience with the SteelSeries Z Engine software.
    * ANTI-GHOSTING
    * FULL FEATURED
    * Equipped with two USB 1.1 ports as well as a standard keyset for everyday use.
    * COMPATIBILITY

troll keyboard lol

steelseries 7G is good tho
kEazYc
post Jul 21 2011, 08:00 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Jul 20 2011, 10:26 AM)
Sorry i admit i am bias.  Please come back Quazacolt.

Back to mech, i don't think a keyboard will help you jumping the ladder, i don't see myself flying either. Like a better mouse, the precision indeed helps and seriously a great treat to your fingers.  It takes a day or two to get used to the heavier keyboard and the new pressure but once you get used to it, it is a good investment.  A mech keyboard life is much longer too.  Come on, it is indeed a better keyboard for rts players, why else progamers take the hassle to carry that heavier keyboard all the way to tourney even abroad.
my two cents
Well i own a mech keyboard, it doesn't really help much but at least i able to double/triple tap faster than i use membrane keyboard, its so responsive.

Furthermore my WPM improved from 95 to 11x thanks to it.
fujkenasai
post Jul 21 2011, 08:06 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(ckmultimedia @ Jul 21 2011, 06:04 PM)
[attachmentid=2342764]
Features:

* STARCRAFT® II DESIGN
    * MASTER THE GAME
    * MACROS BY RACE
    * EASY TO USE
    * CUSTOMIZATION
    * ANTI-GHOSTING
    * FULL FEATURED
    * COMPATIBILITY

I WANTTTT how much ya?

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jul 21 2011, 06:15 PM)
Macro keys are actually not allowed in Starcraft II ladder if I'm not mistaken. I remember that Grubby, or somebody else (quite sure it's Grubby) advertising this and it was under heavy flaming. So no, If you want to get better in SCII, using a keyboard with custom macros is not the way, and it's also illegal.
illegal in competitions?
evofantasy
post Jul 21 2011, 08:18 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jul 21 2011, 08:00 PM)
Well i own a mech keyboard, it doesn't really help much but at least i able to double/triple tap faster than i use membrane keyboard, its so responsive.

Furthermore my WPM improved from 95 to 11x thanks to it.
less tiring when gaming and typing as well =p
KepalaRadio
post Jul 21 2011, 10:39 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 21 2011, 08:06 PM)
I WANTTTT how much ya?
illegal in competitions?
Not just in competitions, in ladder as well, basicly the usage of macro keys on ladder is not "legal" following the terms of use. It has been discussed before on TL and Bliz has confirmed it.
fujkenasai
post Jul 22 2011, 11:23 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jul 21 2011, 10:39 PM)
Not just in competitions, in ladder as well, basicly the usage of macro keys on ladder is not "legal" following the terms of use. It has been discussed before on TL and Bliz has confirmed it.
So that keyboard is illegal? Why wont blizzard tell off the manufacturer since they have the SC2 logo on it?

Damn it isnt even a mechanical keyboard. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Jul 22 2011, 12:04 PM
fujkenasai
post Aug 29 2011, 08:37 AM

1,137 posts

http://gamekey.taobao.com/?userId=&shopId=...price1=&price2=
pink mechanical ones
SiewKaiz
post Aug 29 2011, 09:24 AM

304 posts

membrane RM10 keyboard rox~ thumbup.gif
TSpepsi89
post Aug 30 2011, 08:22 PM

56 posts

why the koreans like QSENN DT-35 Ergonomic Keyboard, i heard it is not mechanical..anyone using it?
evofantasy
post Aug 30 2011, 09:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:22 PM)
why the koreans like QSENN DT-35 Ergonomic Keyboard, i heard it is not mechanical..anyone using it?
cause it is very close to the mech keyboard feel...
only prob is it doesnt last tat long =(
quest_5692
post Aug 30 2011, 09:31 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

im using it, black x white.

Added on August 30, 2011, 9:31 pmto top that up, wif MC's signature.

This post has been edited by quest_5692: Aug 30 2011, 09:31 PM
axn992
post Aug 30 2011, 09:53 PM

676 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Aug 30 2011, 09:31 PM)
im using it, black x white.

Added on August 30, 2011, 9:31 pmto top that up, wif MC's signature.
how u get his signature?
kEazYc
post Aug 30 2011, 10:53 PM

1,314 posts

Its not ergonomic at all.
quest_5692
post Aug 31 2011, 02:03 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

QUOTE(axn992 @ Aug 30 2011, 09:53 PM)
how u get his signature?
i go watch him play live
enriquelee
post Mar 23 2012, 04:54 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Membrane and mechanical keyboard make so much different on gaming?
I think macro and key assign is more important.

This post has been edited by enriquelee: Mar 23 2012, 04:54 PM
evofantasy
post Mar 23 2012, 05:04 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 23 2012, 04:54 PM)
Membrane and mechanical keyboard make so much different on gaming?
I think macro and key assign is more important.
macros are banned in tournaments generally...
and u dun need macros/ key assign for sc2...
Sichiri
post Mar 23 2012, 09:19 PM

1,191 posts

Those macro key are meant for MMO players.
enriquelee
post Mar 23 2012, 10:56 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 23 2012, 05:04 PM)
macros are banned in tournaments generally...
and u dun need macros/ key assign for sc2...
I am refering to general gaming not specific to sc2.
Tournaments can't allow, but pub players like us sure find them handy. Don't you agree?
evofantasy
post Mar 23 2012, 11:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 23 2012, 10:56 PM)
I am refering to general gaming not specific to sc2.
Tournaments can't allow, but pub players like us sure find them handy. Don't you agree?
we are posting on a sc2 thread after all...
if u wanna be a casual i guess it is ok...

razer blackwidow is mech wit macro keys is u want macro keys...
enriquelee
post Mar 23 2012, 11:46 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 23 2012, 11:41 PM)
we are posting on a sc2 thread after all...
if u wanna be a casual i guess it is ok...

razer blackwidow is mech wit macro keys is u want macro keys...
I tried it before, can not stand the clicky sound. Thus, still stick with my Lycosa. biggrin.gif
evofantasy
post Mar 24 2012, 04:08 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 23 2012, 11:46 PM)
I tried it before, can not stand the clicky sound. Thus, still stick with my Lycosa. biggrin.gif
blackwidow stealth is on brown switches
wairai
post Mar 24 2012, 08:53 AM

351 posts

Just stick to the keyboard you feel comfortable with and workaround abit to increase your spamming rate or APM smile.gif
enriquelee
post Mar 24 2012, 09:52 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 24 2012, 04:08 AM)
blackwidow stealth is on brown switches
I think one of the forumer has it. And according to him, the sound is equally loud. doh.gif
mules
post Mar 24 2012, 02:42 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 24 2012, 10:52 AM)
I think one of the forumer has it. And according to him, the sound is equally loud.  doh.gif
you want silent and mechanical at the same time and is awesome fro sc2?

go 6gv steelseries
evofantasy
post Mar 24 2012, 02:47 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 24 2012, 09:52 AM)
I think one of the forumer has it. And according to him, the sound is equally loud.  doh.gif
That is user problem. Loud sounds happen when you bottom up in key press which you shouldn't be doing in the first place. The beauty of mechanical is the actuation points especially the tactile feel if you are using brown or blue switches.
enriquelee
post Mar 24 2012, 05:24 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Mar 24 2012, 02:42 PM)
you want silent and mechanical at the same time and is awesome fro sc2?

go 6gv steelseries
6G is famous for it's anti ghosting feature. Pub player like us don't really able to multitask too many in sc2 i believe.

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 24 2012, 02:47 PM)
That is user problem. Loud sounds happen when you bottom up in key press which you shouldn't be doing in the first place. The beauty of mechanical is the actuation points especially the tactile feel if you are using brown or blue switches.
Ow? We should have not bottom up in key press in mechanical key board? Maybe i should give it a try during next pc fair. hmm.gif
evofantasy
post Mar 24 2012, 06:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 24 2012, 05:24 PM)
6G is famous for it's anti ghosting feature. Pub player like us don't really able to multitask too many in sc2 i believe.
Ow? We should have not bottom up in key press in mechanical key board? Maybe i should give it a try during next pc fair.  hmm.gif
anti ghosting is just a marketing gimmick...
most of us use the term nkro and it is usually hardware depending on how many keys it can register (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key))...
in general, most mechanical keyboards have full nkro when connected via ps/2 cable...
usb have a maximum of nkro-6 if i am nt mistaken...

yes u shouldn't bottom up and because of that, ur speed increases while nt affecting ur accuracy...

yuvster
post Mar 25 2012, 03:06 PM

377 posts

Razer Marauder FTW.. (This is me justifying what I paid for it).. XD
Quazacolt
post Mar 25 2012, 04:05 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Mar 25 2012, 03:06 PM)
Razer Marauder FTW.. (This is me justifying what I paid for it).. XD
as did i (or anyone else) did/doing for their other razer products smile.gif
wairai
post Mar 26 2012, 09:16 PM

351 posts

6g black switch can tire people easily hohohohoh
nizora
post Mar 27 2012, 12:07 AM

24 posts

i must say that the best key now is brown key. Though, im using blue keys coz i juz love the click clack sound and i type a lot. biggrin.gif
yuvster
post Mar 27 2012, 12:17 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 25 2012, 04:05 PM)
as did i (or anyone else) did/doing for their other razer products smile.gif
Finally someone who understands my dilemma XD
Quazacolt
post Mar 27 2012, 12:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Mar 27 2012, 12:17 PM)
to end that dillema, you throw razer to the ground. get something else smile.gif
evofantasy
post Mar 27 2012, 01:13 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Mar 27 2012, 12:17 PM)
my mouse is razer and i love it still =)
yuvster
post Mar 27 2012, 01:41 PM

377 posts

I'm loving my Abyssus.. It's just sometimes that my Marauder makes me wonder if it was worth what I paid for it (RM369)..

And then I play SC2 and it lights up like it's f***in' Christmas and then all my worries go away.. XD
evofantasy
post Mar 27 2012, 01:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Mar 27 2012, 01:41 PM)
I'm loving my Abyssus.. It's just sometimes that my Marauder makes me wonder if it was worth what I paid for it (RM369)..
And then I play SC2 and it lights up like it's f***in' Christmas and then all my worries go away.. XD
rotfl...
play sc2 wit lights off?

imperator really suit me, i'll get another imperator when my current one died on (probably the ME3 version cause tat is smexy)...
yuvster
post Mar 27 2012, 01:49 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 27 2012, 01:43 PM)
rotfl...
play sc2 wit lights off?

imperator really suit me, i'll get another imperator when my current one died on (probably the ME3 version cause tat is smexy)...
Abo, play with lights on bo kick one.. brows.gif

In other news, I looking for partners to practice my ZvP.. My W/L Ratio against P is horribleh..
evofantasy
post Mar 27 2012, 02:35 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Mar 27 2012, 01:49 PM)
Abo, play with lights on bo kick one.. brows.gif

In other news, I looking for partners to practice my ZvP.. My W/L Ratio against P is horribleh..
buzz me on msn if u need some help =)
GodJesterZ
post Sep 9 2012, 07:19 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(pepsi89 @ Jul 17 2011, 03:40 PM)
well, mechanical seems like a better choice but do u think the price worths the difference?
yes worth it. it last longer and plays better

0.0694sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:51 PM