Ringer is okay...Interesting premise and the execution could have been better. The pilot may work better if it is a double episode. Too many things happened and things happened too quickly and too easy. And there is a laughable boat scene....It could be a homage to Alfred Hitchcock though.
The Secret Circle is meh. IMO.
This post has been edited by xy2610: Sep 20 2011, 04:47 PM
Ringer is the best new suspense drama in this season....episode 1 is totally bad because the plot is so weak......then episode 2 start to gain momentum non-stop until episode 6...so many twisted moment....if you like watching The Vampire Diaries, i recomended Ringer... or maybe i love Ringer because of Sarah Michelle Gellar....miss her since last season of Buffy
It does get better along the line but some sub-plots seems a bit draggy.
I currently started to watch 'Downton Abbey', which is about to finish its 2nd season and 3rd Season coming next year in UK. It is very good. The production value is top-notched for a British Drama. And the drama, whao, is gripping. Anyway, I don't think it will get much attention here in this forum though.
The pilot is not as good as I expect. Almost all major characters are in some sort of a life changing circumstances...a bit too melodramatic for me. But....it has its moments and I would love to see who will be cast in the role of Marilyn. The songs are so far not bad! And the idea of Broadway Musical TV is something refreshing to the TV land. (Glee is no way Broadway musical, btw.) I'll keep watching and see if it is going to pass my 4 episodes test.
This post has been edited by xy2610: Feb 9 2012, 09:44 PM
i think the pilot are very OK, have potential, and this is my type of series.. demand a little concentration. which is which, 2 set of alternate realities, etc.
but i dont think they should make it as a long run of series.. one sole season are enough.
The 2 set of alternate realities is a very good concept but why on earth the lead character must be a cop. (Isn't there a show called Fringe with the same concept!) The crimes of the week in the pilot are very weak, the kidnapper and the cabbie killer did not have a convincing motive to do the crime. IMO, it would be more interesting if this is not a cop show with the twist!
but sometimes, episodic episodes series are okay (like CSI, etc) cause not all viewer would like to 'committed' to tv series..
im also, if i happen ive free time and turn to AXN, CSI /House /Leverage is on, ive no problem to watching it.. dont really bother they on what episode or season..
For me, serialized is always better than procedural. Most of the plots and characters in procedurals just seem like under-developed and the goods always win plus after a while every episode looks quite the same. Serialized FTW.
Girls It is quite entertaining overall, mostly because of the way the main character, Hannah, dealing with her predicaments...Too bad, it's only 30 minutes per episode. Due to its time limit, most of the characters cannot be fleshed out yet. But Hannah is somewhat likeable. I like her mean mother too. Her struggle to get a paid job is painstakingly realistic while the indecisiveness of the other girl, Marnie, to get out of her relationship is a bit annoying though. That might be a good start for this girl to grow. Anyway, I will stick around to see these girls grown up. And it is nothing like Sex and the City, at least for now, although it was briefly mentioned.
re-boot /renewing old TV series are bound to be a failure.. but Dallas did well so far.. not many really good series currently airing, so i give this series a serious go..
It is a continuation of the old one. Still wondering if I should give it a try...What if it runs for another 12 years. Anyway, it will be interesting to see more old casts come back to shake up the plot.
Just discovered 'Burning Love', a parody to 'The Bachelor', 'The Bachelorette', and 'Bachelor's Pad'. Recommended if you're looking for serious laugh. Interesting cast too.
Anyone watching The Last Ship? I thought the pilot was good and exciting. Even the action and portrayal of american navy was good. And Rhona Mitra? Oh how I miss her...
The show is exciting but it's annoying that everyone is the bad guys except the Americans. LOL!
no one mention HBO new show leftovers?? watched ep 1 and i really cant express how i feel about the show.. only reason im not giving up hope so soon coz its HBO production..
It is getting better in Episode 2. But it seems like the list of questions is getting longer too. Must say the score of the ending montage is really beautiful and powerful.
gracepoint, american remake of broadchurch. i'll not watch the remake though, cause it'll pointless if we already knew the killer. i think legend get into my list of shit-series-but-i-still-watch-it. i always like sean bean. it was weak series, i'll not recommend it.
Gracepoint will have a different killer, but it could be more than one killer. Based on advanced review, Gracepoint and Broadchurch will be the same until episode 7.
UnReal, a very interesting look behind the scenes of a dating competition shows (i.e. The Bachelor), is so far pretty good. However, I don't know how it is going to be as good as it is now beyond Season 1.
This post has been edited by xy2610: Jul 11 2015, 11:17 AM