US and UK TV Series: New Series /Season Review, For new airing only

greyshadow
post Jul 9 2018, 01:30 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Sacred Games

A first Hindi Netflix original crime series, 8 episodes only for season one, but I've binge watching it whole night, fantastic story, great pace, engaging plot to make you wanna watch what's next
It's rare to see so much violence, nudity & touch on some of the taboo subjects in a Hindi show thumbup.gif

greyshadow
post Jul 12 2018, 09:07 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Jul 11 2018, 04:43 PM)
Passport Malaysia  laugh.gif
Yeah, so that's where he's hiding for 15 years laugh.gif

Do continue watching, can't wait for season 2 next year, eager to find out who's the third father is
greyshadow
post Jul 12 2018, 04:41 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Jul 12 2018, 12:09 PM)
Ya lor, was a bit disappointed first season storyline ended like that ... need to wait for next season  unsure.gif

When you wrote "so much violence, nudity & touch on some of the taboo subjects" ... I was expecting GoT level,  laugh.gif
1st & 3rd aspects, ya; 2nd, medium level only, heheh.

Did you notice that the edge of the screen is always out of focus? Like only the centre is sharp.  Sometimes, the edge even get distorted a bit, not until fish lens angle, but slightly.
Nudity in an Indian show, that's a very very big deal already, full frontal, multiple sex scenes, plus a dick also laugh.gif
I won't be surprised if some of the actress received death threat later on from some conservative locals.

anyway, yeah, the shooting style reminds me of the shows from olden days, where only center if focused, edges are blurred

also just found out the flashbacks scenes & the modern scenes are shot by two totally different directors separately, but only weaved together during end production, IMO that's no small feat rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jul 12 2018, 04:42 PM
greyshadow
post Sep 6 2018, 12:08 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Sep 5 2018, 08:32 AM)
Jack Ryan update pretty much your standard hunt for terrorist but failed at grounding the storytelling aspects. Dunno maybe the TV network aesthetic or predictability of the plotline throw me off. Still rehashing "24" era of story beats while Homeland and The Americans already showed it can be done differently and delved in complex characterisations.
Not my cup of coffee....
replace Jack Ryan with Jack Bauer and some countdown clock you'll get the 24 reboot laugh.gif

but overall, not a bad series, looking forward to Season 2, which is already confirmed.
hope to see more characters from Tom Clancy's universe in the next season, hopefully John Clark

suspense, twist, chase, action, violence and some nudity are all there, but it feels a bit of shallow, maybe due to limited episodes this season, 8 episodes only, too much to cramp into and have to sacrifice the complexity
the drone guy plot is too draggy, should have cut shorter, and the terrorists are too typical 24 villain as well, was hoping for a villain that's more worthy & complex in the beginning, but disappointing at the end doh.gif

"I'm just an Analyst!" famous quote of Jack Ryan laugh.gif

greyshadow
post Feb 19 2019, 04:03 PM

1,844 posts

https://deadline.com/2019/02/the-punisher-j...hal-1202535835/

Well, finally it's official...
Netflix officially cancelled the last of 2 MCU series on their network, Jessica Jones & The Punisher.

It was expected when Netflix cancelled Iron Fist, then Luke Cage, even the popular Dare Devil also cancelled

Kinda enjoyed S2 of Punisher as well, love the brutality there

Now just wait for airing of JJ S3 to bid the final farewell
greyshadow
post Aug 16 2019, 11:51 AM

1,844 posts

PSA:
Sacred Games Season 2 is now streaming on Netflix

greyshadow
post Sep 11 2019, 02:14 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Sep 11 2019, 11:38 AM)

Someone laying the gauntlet at streaming war.
when the beginning of the trailer is full of credits like from the director of XXXX, and producer of YYYY, and maker of ZZZZ
and 90% of the trailer is focusing on Jason Momoa, I've got a bad feeling about it already tongue.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Sep 11 2019, 02:17 PM
greyshadow
post Sep 21 2022, 11:03 AM

1,844 posts

Quantum Leap 2022

Grew up watching this weekly episodes on RTM2 or was it TV3?

Loved the weekly Oh Boy! moment from Scott Bakula, and his interaction with Dean's Al (may he RIP)

But this reboot/continuation is a abomination IMO, cringe worthy cast, bad plots and pacing, and worst of all, super cheap and lazy special effects... it's like watching the special effects from the 90s
it's a super insult to the original

It seem the producers are just having a woke checklist to check and just deliver the end product...
gender swap with original - check
racial diversity team - check
non-white protagonist - check
gender neutral character - check
gay characters - coming soon

wasted 1 hour watching this trash, won't be continuing, and i doubt they'll get renewed for another season doh.gif

btw, it's on HBO Go

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Sep 21 2022, 11:05 AM

0.0643sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:44 PM