US and UK TV Series: New Series /Season Review, For new airing only

TSdundermifflin
post Aug 16 2013, 03:51 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Aug 16 2013, 01:29 PM)
Anyone follows MAD MEN all the way?
i am. Madmen is my most favourite series. best writing u could get. as good as The Sopranos and The Wire.
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 4 2013, 08:55 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Sep 2 2013, 10:56 PM)
^It was leaked. I'm considering whether to watch this episode now and then have to wait a month for EP2 or to just wait and watch it when it was meant to be aired.

Anyway watch Low Winter Sun? Is it any good?
Homeland S3, yeah im better wait until 'official airing'. 4 or 5 weeks gap between episode are 2much..

Low Winter Sun. i watched 2 first episode. not so good, but its ok. corrupted cops, cop killing cop cover up. initially i just want to drop my interest after watched the pilot, but since not much good series around ill give another 2 or episodes. slow moving crime drama, much like The Killing.

trying catch up whole season of House of Cards, i heard its so good. any comment?
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 10 2013, 07:32 AM

237 posts

House of Cards

ive seen the first 2 episodes, and its brilliant. love it.

Netflix had some gems this year. House of Cards and Orange is the New Black. both are brilliant..
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 14 2013, 07:48 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Sep 13 2013, 10:01 PM)
Speaking about long murder investigations, I'm disappointed that The Killing got cancelled.
Low Winter Sun will be a good /similar replacement (for AMC channel).

contrast to The Killing, we already know the killers in the very first scene. and 2 main characters are the one did it but still pursue the case to cover it up.

prostitution, drugs, rainy and dire town..

at first 2 episodes, i didnt like it much. but i think i do now.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Sep 14 2013, 07:48 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 17 2013, 03:29 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Sep 17 2013, 02:59 PM)
Sleepy hollow is out too!

watching it now.
any good?
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 23 2013, 07:30 AM

237 posts

Sleepy Hollow

dont think i like it. will drop it..
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 23 2013, 04:10 PM

237 posts

wrapped up few series..

The Newsroom S2
an OK season. will follow the 3rd.

Suits S3 - midseason
fresh faces from UK were good. romantic side - boring. definitely will follow the rest of the season. hope they dare to make bold twist, Mike get caught for real or something.

Under the Dome
it was fun. acting were poor. meh, but will follow the 2nd season.
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 25 2013, 08:02 AM

237 posts

2013 Emmy Awards

Comedy Winners
Outstanding Comedy Series Modern Family (ABC)
Lead Actor Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Lead Actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep (HBO)
Supporting Actor Tony Hale, Veep (HBO)
Supporting Actress Merritt Wever, Nurse Jackie (Showtime)
Guest Actor Bob Newhart, The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Guest Actress Melissa Leo, Louie (FX)
Writing Tina Fey and Tracey Wigfield, 30 Rock (NBC)
Directing Gail Mancuso, Modern Family (ABC)

Drama Winners
Outstanding Drama Series Breaking Bad (AMC)
Lead Actor Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom (HBO)
Lead Actress Claire Danes, Homeland (Showtime)
Supporting Actor Bobby Cannavale, Boardwalk Empire (HBO)
Supporting Actress Anna Gunn, Breaking Bad (AMC)
Guest Actor Dan Bucatinsky, Scandal (ABC)
Guest Actress Carrie Preston, The Good Wife (CBS)
Writing Henry Bromell, Homeland (Showtime)
Directing David Fincher, House of Cards (Netflix)

Movie/Miniseries Winners
Outstanding Miniseries or Made-for-TV Movie Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Lead Actor Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Lead Actress Laura Linney, The Big C: Hereafter (Showtime)
Supporting Actor James Cromwell, American Horror Story: Asylum (FX)
Supporting Actress Ellen Burstyn, Political Animals (USA)
Writing Abi Morgan, The Hour (BBC America)
Directing Steven Soderbergh, Behind the Candelabra (HBO)

Other Winners
Reality Program Undercover Boss (CBS)
Reality Competition The Voice (NBC)
Reality Host Heidi Klum & Tim Gunn, Project Runway (Lifetime)
Variety Series The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Variety Special The Kennedy Center Honors (CBS)
Writing for a Variety Series The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Writing for a Variety Special Louis CK, Louis CK: Oh My God (HBO)
Animated Program South Park (Comedy Central)
Childrens Program Nick News With Linda Ellerbee - Forgotten But Not Gone: Kids, HIV & AIDS (Nickelodeon)
Nonfiction Series American Masters (PBS)
Nonfiction Film Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God (HBO)
Nonfiction Special Manhunt: The Inside Story Of The Hunt For Bin Laden (HBO)
Special Class Program 66th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)
Special Class Short-Format Live-Action Program Childrens Hospital (Adult Swim)
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 25 2013, 11:17 AM

237 posts

ive watched Grimm about 3 or 4 episodes, then gave up. Once Upon a Time was aired in a same month, kinda same type of series. ive followed the latter to the latest season/episode, but i think i gonna give it up too..
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 30 2013, 07:43 AM

237 posts

based on recommendation here, ive watched:

House of Cards
awesome. clever and entertaining series (but i think the made up suicide scene was a poor and not so clever)

Broadchurch
kinda UK version of The Killing. lots of red herring but my wild guess who dunnit was correct. was OK but not great.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 1 2013, 09:32 AM

237 posts

The Crazy Ones

big names, Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar. the guesses are A list, Kelly Clarkson on pilot.

im not impressed with pilot, but will watch the 2nd.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 8 2013, 07:22 AM

237 posts

Hell on Wheels S3

nice season, i like the finale. i love this series. no the greatest for sure, but i love it.

nobody ever mentioned this series in this forum, except once. IMO very underrated series.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 8 2013, 11:29 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Oct 8 2013, 08:38 AM)
Witches of The East End. Not a strong start. The daughters could be prettier. But I like stories about witchcraft so will keep following it.
will try it tonight /tomorrow. Julia Ormond lead it. i had kinda childish crush on her since Legend of the Fall.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 13 2013, 08:13 AM

237 posts

Witches of East End

didnt like it, will drop it.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 16 2013, 07:58 AM

237 posts

The Tomorrow People

definitely reminding me of Jumper. teleporting, 2 groups in 'war', one of parent of the protagonist left him, etc.

it'll never be a great series, but so far its fun to watch. will watch another one or 2 episodes.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 18 2013, 04:51 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Oct 15 2013, 06:10 PM)
New CW show 'Reign' starts this Friday. Seems somewhat different from the usual CW fare. Synopsis of EP 1:
Will def check it out.
any good?

usually i like English /European monarchy story. hope its good..
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 22 2013, 07:22 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(asamalikum @ Oct 22 2013, 06:47 AM)
Not too good. Suits a teenage category more.
Reign

yeah, ive watched it last night. its teenage drama basically rather than cut throat palace politics or medieval wars. will drop my interest..
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 25 2013, 07:17 AM

237 posts

Hello Ladies

watched 4 episodes, i think its pretty good. the lead actor is a Stephen Merchant, the creator of the original UK The Office.

very awkward and hilarious.

TSdundermifflin
post Oct 29 2013, 08:34 AM

237 posts

Dracula

so-so pilot, but i think prefer Dracula much than Witches of East End or Sleepy Hollow (similar theme series, recently airing)

will try 2nd episode, but i doubt i'll follow it further..
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 21 2013, 07:03 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Nov 20 2013, 10:37 PM)
Started watching Almost Human & Ground Floor.
Ground Floor

watched the pilot, didnt like it at all. kinda 90s sitcom.

December will boring month for TV series follower. many series will be on break.

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2957sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:39 PM