124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

Isepunye
post Jul 16 2011, 08:14 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jul 16 2011, 09:45 AM)
if sharpness is concerned, get the cheapo 50mm f/1.8D also will do.

its a sharp lens
sharp but lose some detail. here sample from 50mm f1.4 nipon kogaku. FYi, 50mm F1.4 Ai is sharper and 50mm1.4 AiS more sharper then Ai. mine is the less sharp one.

i thnk i already post this one but im gonna post this again
shot at F2. no editing just resize and crop only

This post has been edited by Isepunye: Jul 16 2011, 08:17 PM
Bliz
post Jul 16 2011, 09:00 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 16 2011, 02:14 PM)
shocking.gif

Okay let's get to basic first.

1. If I understood your reply, you assumed I or my friend uses 'Area mode' AF tracking when comparing the 85 f/1.4D versus the 85mm f/1.4G?

2. 50% that my shots are OOF? Meaning not focused to where I intend to? I get it focused where I want it to be. I shoot only in single AF point mode. If it is the eyes, then it is the eyes.

3. Based on my experience with the 85 f/1.4D, it acquire focus faster than the 85mm f/1.4G. But hit rate aren't as good as the f/1.4G despite being faster.

4. Depending on condition, sometimes the 85 f/1.4D can't even get a lock under low light, hunting compared to 85mm f/1.4G. To be frank, have you tried the 85mm f/1.4G and comparing it side by side with the f/1.4D before? If you did, you would understand what I experience.
This I would agree 100%, have used my friend's 85 f/1.4D many times already before getting my own 1.4g

1. Focus accuracy @ 1.4 is way better than the 1.4D under low light
2. Focus speed i think is almost the same anyway ( Way slower than 70-200 but not unbearably so )
3. Focus accuracy improves once stop down ( I guess it's the same for any prime lens? )
4. Sharpness for 1.4G wideopen is generally a bit better than 1.4D, but not shockingly better as the 1.4D is quite usable wideopen

My conclusion is same with CY, under low light condition the D version hunts and miss focus much more frequently compared to the 1.4G version, there's just no comparison at all smile.gif
Agito666
post Jul 16 2011, 10:01 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jul 16 2011, 09:00 PM)
This I would agree 100%, have used my friend's 85 f/1.4D many times already before getting my own 1.4g

2. Focus speed i think is almost the same anyway ( Way slower than 70-200 but not unbearably so )
3. Focus accuracy improves once stop down ( I guess it's the same for any prime lens? )
4. Sharpness for 1.4G wideopen is generally a bit better than 1.4D, but not shockingly better as the 1.4D is quite usable wideopen

My conclusion is same with CY, under low light condition the D version hunts and miss focus much more frequently compared to the 1.4G version, there's just no comparison at all  smile.gif
if G is worst then D what is the point of nikon make these new lens tongue.gif
TS0168257061
post Jul 16 2011, 10:38 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 16 2011, 11:54 AM)
f/1.8D kinda fail compared to f/1.8G tongue.gif. Want cheap and sharp lens can go to f/1.8G instead.
u get what u paid mah.Rm3xx vs Rm6xx,

rm300++ difference there smile.gif
freddy manson
post Jul 17 2011, 12:14 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jul 16 2011, 10:38 PM)
u get what u paid mah.Rm3xx vs Rm6xx,

rm300++ difference there smile.gif
Double the price bah..
dark lenanza
post Jul 17 2011, 03:32 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 16 2011, 10:58 AM)

Welcome. What is orange country?  biggrin.gif

Which Nikon model did you get?

I think if you have sufficient photography experience from another brand, it should be fine on the Nikon. Just need to get used to the buttons. That's all. Just like driving a new car with unfamiliar controls. But that does not mean you need to take L driving license again, right?  smile.gif

from sony a200 to D7000
too much button...pheww...
much setting and menu
and the most i love is AF point...
rclxms.gif
jchue73
post Jul 17 2011, 04:05 AM

2,496 posts

shocking.gif

Okay let's get to basic first.

1. If I understood your reply, you assumed I or my friend uses 'Area mode' AF tracking when comparing the 85 f/1.4D versus the 85mm f/1.4G?
No.

2. 50% that my shots are OOF? Meaning not focused to where I intend to? I get it focused where I want it to be. I shoot only in single AF point mode. If it is the eyes, then it is the eyes.
Excellent ! rclxms.gif

3. Based on my experience with the 85 f/1.4D, it acquire focus faster than the 85mm f/1.4G. But hit rate aren't as good as the f/1.4G despite being faster.
I guess I need to get myself a 1.4G and shoot more.

4. Depending on condition, sometimes the 85 f/1.4D can't even get a lock under low light, hunting compared to 85mm f/1.4G. To be frank, have you tried the 85mm f/1.4G and comparing it side by side with the f/1.4D before? If you did, you would understand what I experience.
Never held the AF-S 85mm f/1.4G before. If under extreme low light, I only rely and use the 15 cross type sensor to focus.

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jul 16 2011, 09:00 PM)

My conclusion is same with CY, under low light condition the D version hunts and miss focus much more frequently compared to the 1.4G version, there's just no comparison at all  smile.gif
Agree on all accounts except for #1. I would they are about equal and would depend on how you handle it.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 16 2011, 10:01 PM)
if G is worst then D what is the point of nikon make these new lens  tongue.gif
That's why I mentioned that I will not refuse if you give me the new AF-S 85mm f/1.4G to replace my AF 85mm f/1.4D. biggrin.gif

The one thing I like (and miss) about AF-S lenses is the ability to override the attained final focus manually if required by twisting the focus barrel.
gnome
post Jul 17 2011, 04:50 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Jul 17 2011, 03:32 AM)
from sony a200 to D7000
too much button...pheww...
much setting and menu
and the most i love is AF point...
rclxms.gif
Oit next time turun for paintball big games bawak la...wanna test drive laugh.gif
jchue73
post Jul 17 2011, 05:10 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 17 2011, 04:50 AM)
Oit next time turun for paintball big games bawak la...wanna test drive laugh.gif
Aiks... Baru lagi sudah kena buli. laugh.gif
Bliz
post Jul 17 2011, 08:20 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 17 2011, 04:05 AM)
No.
Excellent !  rclxms.gif
I guess I need to get myself a 1.4G and shoot more.
Never held the AF-S 85mm f/1.4G before. If under extreme low light, I only rely and use the 15 cross type sensor to focus.
Agree on all accounts except for #1. I would they are about equal and would depend on how you handle it.
That's why I mentioned  that I will not refuse if you give me the new AF-S 85mm f/1.4G to replace my AF 85mm f/1.4D.  biggrin.gif

The one thing I like (and miss) about AF-S lenses is the ability to override the attained final focus manually if required by twisting the focus barrel.
Since u mentioned u have never held AFS 85g before, how would you even know the focus ability is the same? I am speaking base on my experience of using both lenses, I know how to use 1.4 lens laugh.gif Hard to believe that u can say the focus hit rate of 1.4D = 1.4G from a user who have never even use the 1.4G version before. It's just like those 80-200 user saying their lens is as sharp as my 70-200 VR2 doh.gif
celciuz
post Jul 17 2011, 10:28 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jul 17 2011, 08:20 AM)
Since u mentioned u have never held AFS 85g before, how would you even know the focus ability is the same? I am speaking base on my experience of using both lenses, I know how to use 1.4 lens  laugh.gif Hard to believe that u can say the focus hit rate of 1.4D = 1.4G from a user who have never even use the 1.4G version before. It's just like those 80-200 user saying their lens is as sharp as my 70-200 VR2  doh.gif
LOL, totally agree. Well, experience is the best smile.gif. Like wise, I always thought 80200 was pretty good and easy to handle.. but the other time trying out Bliz's 80200 got a shock haha!

Initially I always thought 85D and 85G differences is just the nanocoat, but was dead wrong when I compared both units side by side.
Str33tBoY
post Jul 17 2011, 10:57 AM

1,874 posts

wat's the current market price for 85G & 16-35...?
got drop or increase...?
Bliz
post Jul 17 2011, 11:18 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 17 2011, 10:28 AM)
LOL, totally agree. Well, experience is the best smile.gif. Like wise, I always thought 80200 was pretty good and easy to handle.. but the other time trying out Bliz's 80200 got a shock haha!

Initially I always thought 85D and 85G differences is just the nanocoat, but was dead wrong when I compared both units side by side.
Lol never try never know, don't just say the focus hit rate of D version is the same as the G version when you didn't even test the G version before laugh.gif ... 80-200 is really front heavy and feels much more heavier than the 70-200 eventhough the latest version of 70-200vr2 is the heaviest among all doh.gif

Added on July 17, 2011, 11:19 am
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jul 17 2011, 10:57 AM)
wat's the current market price for 85G & 16-35...?
got drop or increase...?
Normally price of lenses won't change much, that's why always buy more lenses first drool.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Jul 17 2011, 11:19 AM
celciuz
post Jul 17 2011, 11:27 AM

14,035 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jul 17 2011, 11:18 AM)
Lol never try never know, don't just say the focus hit rate of D version is the same as the G version when you didn't even test the G version before laugh.gif ... 80-200 is really front heavy and feels much more heavier than the 70-200 eventhough the latest version of 70-200vr2 is the heaviest among all  doh.gif

Added on July 17, 2011, 11:19 am
Normally price of lenses won't change much, that's why always buy more lenses first  drool.gif
Hahaha~ oh well its the same as me la... Last time I thought AF-D is faster and better. Cause its the 50mm f/1.4D versus f/1.4G kinda thingy.. mana tau when I used 85mm f/1.4D I was glad I didn't buy that LOLs...
Everdying
post Jul 17 2011, 02:42 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

got lazy, so brought 70-300VR instead tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 17 2011, 02:43 PM
yanhui95
post Jul 17 2011, 07:05 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

hi guys, a small question here,
Can anyone recommend a filter for the 18-105 lens that comes with the kit?
And the price too, thanks so much
KIEN18
post Jul 17 2011, 08:17 PM

176 posts

spam spam spam brows.gif

hazwan_aviator
post Jul 17 2011, 10:05 PM

418 posts

2nd pic, did u used support equipment...?(monopod/tripod)
dark lenanza
post Jul 17 2011, 10:14 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Jul 17 2011, 07:05 PM)
hi guys, a small question here,
Can anyone recommend a filter for the 18-105 lens that comes with the kit?
And the price too, thanks so much
hoya 1d..
never regret

Added on July 17, 2011, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 17 2011, 04:50 AM)
sure gnome...
later on teach me..haha

This post has been edited by dark lenanza: Jul 17 2011, 10:14 PM
yanhui95
post Jul 17 2011, 10:47 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

[quote=dark lenanza,Jul 17 2011, 10:14 PM]
hoya 1d..
never regret

thanks for the reply, how much would that cost me?

124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:08 AM