(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V3, A tough phone for Android

Nightstalker1993
post Aug 20 2011, 05:49 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

wahhh see here all on MIUI. Me here on latest Nightly version of CM7 tongue.gif laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 21 2011, 04:49 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(defybest @ Aug 20 2011, 12:42 PM)
Sup night, long time no see.cm7 is good. My miui fc market n Google map.
yea long time no see bro tongue.gif laugh.gif

seriously can't get used to the iphone-style launcher in MIUI. Restored my backups of like 150 apps and its a headache to browse, let alone organise into folders rclxub.gif

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Aug 20 2011, 06:31 PM)
wooo nightnight, so fast 3 months pass jor??
i 30th July already come back lorr. Wait for you ar? tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Aug 20 2011, 09:37 PM)
ok heres the problem i told be4 @salimbest c tis
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mTiWmLYv6v8
as u can c...my defy "self" move itself again
back button, home button all cannot use
until i lock my screen and unlock again
miui 1.8.19
y is it happen on me  doh.gif

record using nokia n8...no marco feature...wtf? doh.gif

Mine is more like screen not sensitive/screen detects touch by itself sometimes if my screen is covered with a thin layer of something(oil, water etc) and i suspect the phone actually calibrates the digitiser everytime it turns the screen on. for example if theres a wayer droplet on the phone, it will respond to it but after you lock and unlock the screen it will like 'calibrate' itself to the water on the screen lol.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 22 2011, 03:40 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hey guys. Since I'm bored until October, wanna have a gathering somewhere in Sept? tongue.gif laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 22 2011, 06:59 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Aug 22 2011, 08:37 AM)
hey hey, front page gathering part still under you incharge  rolleyes.gif

fast fast come out with proposal  laugh.gif

Added on August 22, 2011, 8:42 am

can't remember for apps2 sd card with Eclair. coz most of us ( may be me only?? ) install apps direct to phone memory, but apps data it will auto put into sdcard.

then highly recommend to root, in order to use apps like "titanium backup" to backup restore your apps.

and for Defy Eclair original supported wifi thetering, u will find the "hostpot" icon. Also function like DLNA.

For Defy's Eclair .. only support lite flash, can't view full flash item with browser. But still can use opera mini to handle most  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
like blackwhitechipsKL suggest, play around 1st. Any problem you encounter I'm sure they all like to help, right ??  laugh.gif
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Aug 22 2011, 11:25 AM)
so, bila mau TT?? put one weekend lah...as long as got 5-6 ppl, sudah lah...can jalan!
QUOTE(defybest @ Aug 22 2011, 01:16 PM)
LOL seriously, any one planning to gather?? that would be awesome. wonder if sgs 2 user have gathering? ? wonder what are we going to do??

Added on August 22, 2011, 1:17 pm
jalan to where??
Suggest a date first then! I suggest 17th Sept, anybody object? tongue.gif laugh.gif

Go there do what ar? For those who have laptops you should bring it and we can do on-the-spot modding or flashing and sharing of knowledge and just chit chat talk cock over there LOL laugh.gif

and share apps as well brows.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 22 2011, 09:39 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

place with wifi, easy parking. Can't think of any rclxub.gif if easy parking then shopping malls in KL is definitely out. One Utama or the Curve? But can't think of a place with wifi.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 23 2011, 03:12 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(defybest @ Aug 22 2011, 10:16 PM)
LOL good idea.

Added on August 22, 2011, 10:18 pmlets make it all defy user at lowyat to gather!!!
Never been to Lowyat before so no idea wheres good. So.... wheres good inside lowyat? LOL laugh.gif

or wanna go some mamak ar? hmm.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Aug 22 2011, 10:42 PM)
huhuhu.... me @ Kota Kinabalu can't TT..... T.T
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Aug 23 2011, 01:15 AM)
air asia, now everyone can fly!!
airasia now cost how much only 2 way? tongue.gif laugh.gif

btw tyenfei, remember this? LOL laugh.gif

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

ps: the most special phone is mine tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 23 2011, 07:44 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

my e398 the battery died already. went way below 3v liao the battery cry.gif

now, anybody knows of a good mamak that is popular, easy to access, easy to park and have working wifi(some mamaks have very unstable wifi) and preferrably with air-con? tongue.gif laugh.gif

Added on August 23, 2011, 7:51 pm
QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 23 2011, 03:55 PM)
whoa. loyal Moto user there.. thumbup.gif
when that TT ?

BTW..
my officemate just bought a Defy® today to join the party. 
my Poison's works great biggrin.gif

o hai there tongue.gif laugh.gif

It was on 16 dec 2006. The date is written there wad LOL laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Aug 23 2011, 07:51 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 23 2011, 09:09 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Aug 23 2011, 08:37 PM)
sent my e72 to ncc...dead becoz of lemas dlm laut...it will cost me more than 500...still dunno the figure yet...how i wish dat my fon is defy...myb it will not cost me 500++
top up another 600 can get a brand new defy!

Now i see some places selling RM1099 brand new ori brightstar set together with 2gb memory card! Alot cheaper than the 1530 i spent on mine in January shocking.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 23 2011, 09:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Aug 23 2011, 09:40 PM)
My unit spent me RM1200, from Singapure Dec 2010. hehehehe

Added on August 23, 2011, 9:40 pmMy unit spent me RM1200, from Singapure Dec 2010. hehehehe
but mine comes with official warranty. mine sent to service center for faulty earpiece send thursday, friday morning before i go to work ready for collection liao whistling.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 23 2011, 10:06 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Aug 23 2011, 10:00 PM)
where do u sent ur defy...searching motorola service center...cant find any...live in kl...
service center for brightstar original phones is at Sunway Mentari there

http://phoneworx.com.my/location.html

for warranty, fastest and easiest way to settle is to go direct to the service center. you send to dealer they have to wait for fella come pick up la, this la that la all takes damn alot of time man doh.gif

like me go there direct next day kaotim laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Aug 23 2011, 10:07 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 24 2011, 02:48 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Aug 23 2011, 10:26 PM)
one question...can they repair motorola fon which is not from their (brightstar) set....i mean AP set....
they're an authorised service center for Motorola, but they also do LG and other products so i'm assuming they can.

QUOTE(hudrey @ Aug 24 2011, 12:46 AM)
Hi all,

I just bought my defy and it kept rebooting,do this reboot,do that,reboot ,

What might be the problem?

Rgds,
you running on original firmware? try sending it back to moto if its under warranty. MIGHT be a hardware defect you never know as this don't usually occur on stock fw rclxub.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 24 2011, 11:40 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

hey guys, so any good mamak that you guys know can suggest to host our gathering? so maybe we can hang out in the night and have dinner instead of an afternoon gathering. easier to go/find parking/cooler environment/cheaper laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 24 2011, 11:55 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

use marketenabler and choose a US telco with that, then go to the market and search for the youtube app again
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 25 2011, 12:29 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

so candidate #1 is Starbucks in Tropicana City Mall in the afternoon eh? Any more suggestions? Then maybe we'll place a poll on the thread laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 26 2011, 01:03 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

hey sorry guys, i'll be MIA until Sunday due to an event job, anyway you guys continue discussion about the location then i'll follow back on Monday ok? LOL laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 30 2011, 04:35 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Aug 30 2011, 12:14 AM)
My phone gave me an awesome rays present. Earpiece officially dead. How long would brightstar take o fix it? And do they take in custom roms? Anyone with experience can share?

I'm on miui now. Whenever I click the volume tabs during an active.call it will say headset volume. Does that mean the.earpiece is dead?
last time i tried to send it in for repairs when it was only 3 months old and the phone was on custom rom. i went direct to the service center and requested to talk to the technician and explained to him that the earpiece died and i'm on a custom rom. he say he can tutup mata and just repair it but depends on how you talk i guess, pandai pandai la laugh.gif no promisses he'll do the same thing again though.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 30 2011, 09:31 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Aug 30 2011, 03:44 PM)
how long did it take to repair? They do it on the spot at sunway mentari?

I just PM'ed the seller that i bought the defy from. Apprently he told me i have to flash back to official malaysian ROM. Can i flash back to froyo SEA rom? he said flash or all warranty void.  doh.gif
but you've already flash to 2.2, if not mistaken you cant downgrade.

well, you can try going there and before even handing them the phone you request the counter girl to call the technician out for you to speak with him see what he says.

mine i sent in thursday noon, friday morning before my work it was ready for collection.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 30 2011, 11:21 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Aug 30 2011, 11:02 PM)
Ic. With the raya break and all fuuu... earliest also Friday. Can you pm me the tech guys name? Maybe if Ifind him he is more willing to repair for me as he knows motor blur is garbage.  Lol...
i have no idea what's the tech's name. All i know is that i went there, straight request to speak with the technician and spoke to him nicely and politely saying i already flashed my firmware to a 3rd party firmware but the earpiece already died then he also like faham faham la since he also knows the dead earpiece problem for the defy is a very very common problem so he just kaotim for me lorr laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 2 2011, 11:41 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hey guys, just to restart the gathering plans since it looks like its dead already doh.gif

so anywhere to suggest? Still open for suggestions for a good place to TT with aircon, big space and can lepak for damn long laugh.gif

Motorola Defy LYN Gathering v1! rclxm9.gif
Date : 17th September
Place : KL Area, suggestion are welcome
Attendance list :
1. Nightstalker1993
2. Tyenfei
3. YOU! tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 3 2011, 09:55 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Sep 3 2011, 08:07 AM)
ZzZZzzzZz...Z.zzZ..z

out jor?? ok ... try update now .. btw, who else want to join the gathering ?? 3 only ??
where you see got 3 worr? the 'you' is literally 'you', not a member named 'you' LOL laugh.gif

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Sep 3 2011, 05:01 PM)
TAGreptiles in for the gathering or not??

No one say owner without bringing Defy can not join oh biggrin.gif
or just bring along la the dead defy laugh.gif

QUOTE(KKLOO @ Sep 3 2011, 09:08 PM)
Planning to get myself a Defy... One thing in my mind is that the 800mhz processor will make the phone laggy..?? Thinking of OC the phone after getting it... And I found some on Mudah selling Rm900+... Is that possible..?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
you can always overclock to 1gHz if you want to lol. 900+ maybe AP set. I've seen before ppl selling at that price but if you're talking about ori, the CHEAPEST i've seen is 1099 for an ori Brightstar set

0.0434sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:35 PM