4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[WTA]DBA Programme

TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 9 2011, 11:34 PM, updated 15y ago

131 posts

halo guys, i would like to know which uni in Malaysia do offer DBA (doctor of business admin) course ?

public and private university ? i only knew segi and lim kok weng. taylors offers PhD in business admin which more towards to academic line, i would like to go for career.

thanks ! notworthy.gif
malayantiger
post Jul 11 2011, 04:18 AM

320 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_of_Bus..._Administration

Malaysia

Malaysia Multimedia University
Malaysia Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Malaysia Universiti Sains Malaysia
Malaysia Universiti Utara Malaysia
Malaysia International Islamic University Malaysia
Malaysia Universiti Teknologi MARA
Malaysia HELP University College
Malaysia UCSI University
Malaysia SEGi University College
Malaysia Limkokwing University of Creative Technology
Malaysia International University College Of Technology Twintech
Malaysia Asia e University
Malaysia City University College of Science and Technology cooperation with University of Ballarat, Australia
Malaysia Institute of Training and Development cooperation with University of South Australia, Australia
Malaysia Stamford College Malaysia cooperation with United Business Institutes, Belgium

Good luck!
TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 11 2011, 12:33 PM

131 posts

thank you so much !!

how is the stamford college ? is it good?
malayantiger
post Jul 12 2011, 12:27 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Jul 11 2011, 12:33 PM)
thank you so much !!

how is the stamford college ? is it good?
Seriously mate, I have no idea. I did a traditional PhD as I wanted to work in academia. Research carefully before taking the plunge. PhD is a long and tedious undertaking, make sure you find the right university, right supervisor and that you are prepared to slog for the next 3 - 5 years! Good luck!
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 03:06 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Jul 9 2011, 11:34 PM)
halo guys, i would like to know which uni in Malaysia do offer DBA (doctor of business admin) course ?

public and private university ? i only knew segi and lim kok weng. taylors offers PhD in business admin which more towards to academic line, i would like to go for career.

thanks ! notworthy.gif
hello can ask why u want to do the DBA ?
i also been thinking of doing one for the past 1 year but still have not pull the trigger yet.
u got your mba already i guess ?
meanwhile i am floating around doing some short term professional paper
TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 12 2011, 10:21 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(malayantiger @ Jul 12 2011, 12:27 AM)
Seriously mate, I have no idea. I did a traditional PhD as I wanted to work in academia. Research carefully before taking the plunge. PhD is a long and tedious undertaking, make sure you find the right university, right supervisor and that you are prepared to slog for the next 3 - 5 years! Good luck!
alright mate, how was your PhD research? how is the academic line ? im struggling in between traditional PhD and DBA.

but i prefer shorter research.

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:26 pm
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 03:06 PM)
hello can ask why u want to do the DBA ?
i also been thinking of doing one for the past 1 year but still have not pull the trigger yet.
u got your mba already i guess ?
meanwhile i am floating around doing some short term professional paper
Nope, im just 22. so i couldt accumulate sufficient working experience to sign up for any MBA programe, as the requirement is minimum of 3 years working experience. currently im doing my MMgt. I love to study, and believe in having better knowledge can give me better living and life. Therefore i plan to further my study.

Reason for DBA:
1)Faster way to get "Dr".
2)Lesser research (as i not a hardcore researcher)
3)Not moving into acedamic, but most likely to be in career.

can DBA holder be a consultant or part time lecturer in uni ?

some ppl believe in PhD has higher power than DBA, truth ?

This post has been edited by ExtremeSeller2012: Jul 12 2011, 10:26 PM
malayantiger
post Jul 13 2011, 12:04 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Jul 12 2011, 10:21 PM)
alright mate, how was your PhD research? how is the academic line ? im struggling in between traditional PhD and DBA.

I did 'Psychological Empowerment'. PhD was quite a struggle, but I got through in the end. You can read more about my PhD in other PhD threads. Anyway, in the end, I never got into academia as half way through, I got a good job with a major retailer in UK, lol.

Academia, especially in UK and in good universities, can be very stressful. Publishing at least 2 papers in good journals is a must if you want to advance your career.

In your case, I do seriously think you should get at least 2 years work experience first before attempting PhD or DBA. It will add more weight to your research. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!
TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 13 2011, 11:39 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(malayantiger @ Jul 13 2011, 12:04 AM)
I did 'Psychological Empowerment'. PhD was quite a struggle, but I got through in the end. You can read more about my PhD in other PhD threads. Anyway, in the end, I never got into academia as half way through, I got a good job with a major retailer in UK, lol.

Academia, especially in UK and in good universities, can be very stressful. Publishing at least 2 papers in good journals is a must if you want to advance your career.

In your case, I do seriously think you should get at least 2 years work experience first before attempting PhD or DBA. It will add more weight to your research. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!
thanks my friend, mind to post your PhD threads link over here ?

2 papers in good journals?

currently im doing my Mmgt, just started, working and part time study now. after i finish my master, i would have 2 years working experience.

How can PhD holder being very successful in career? being a consultatnt ? operation director ?
ivanswk
post Jul 14 2011, 09:00 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Jul 12 2011, 10:21 PM)

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:26 pm

Nope, im just 22. so i couldt accumulate sufficient working experience to sign up for any MBA programe, as the requirement is minimum of 3 years working experience. currently im doing my MMgt. I love to study, and believe in having better knowledge can give me better living and life. Therefore i plan to further my study.

Reason for DBA:
1)Faster way to get "Dr".
2)Lesser research (as i not a hardcore researcher)
3)Not moving into acedamic, but most likely to be in career.

can DBA holder be a consultant or part time lecturer in uni ?

some ppl believe in PhD has higher power than DBA, truth ?
hi thanks for sharing, the new generation is indeed more ambitious
i thought DBA requirement is a master ? some famous DBA in the market is UKM and UPM, UUM is too commecialised, if u dun mind even UOM and AEU university have them but .. seriously biggrin.gif
if u really just want a Dr tittle, the fastest and most legitimate way is some Philipine uni where some college is conducting. Is legit uni, but without MQA, and cost 30 percent lower.
u intent to finance the DBA yourself ? MMGT is from UM is it ?
i personally feel PHD is better than DBA, but i am in a corp sector i so i am also bias toward DBA, still serching for sponsor nod.gif

TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 14 2011, 01:43 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 14 2011, 09:00 AM)
hi thanks for sharing, the new generation is indeed more ambitious
i thought DBA requirement is a master ? some famous DBA in the market is UKM and UPM, UUM is too commecialised, if u dun mind even UOM and AEU university have them but .. seriously  biggrin.gif
if u really just want a Dr tittle, the fastest and most legitimate way is some Philipine uni where some college is conducting.  Is legit uni, but without MQA, and cost 30 percent lower.
u intent to finance the DBA yourself ?  MMGT is from UM is it ?
i personally feel PHD is better than DBA, but i am in a corp sector i so i am also bias toward DBA, still serching for sponsor nod.gif
not sure,planning to do my DBA in lim kok weng or UM maybe. im doing my mmgt in taylors now.

not planning to study oversea, because have job in KL.

ya, DBA require a master, therefore im doing my Mmgt now.

ivanswk
post Jul 14 2011, 03:07 PM

+J
2,110 posts

how much is the mmgt in taylor ? how much is the DBA from LKW and UM ? i shortlisted two DBA, from Southern Cross University and one University of Western Australia
UK DBA is just too expensive and too hard too pass, online one is Heriot Watt and Liverpool. my mba, although grad with merit, which is just manage to pull through at the end, because i took some time off from work
stamford DBA, i check with with belgium embassy, it actually not recognised

TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 18 2011, 01:28 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 14 2011, 03:07 PM)
how much is the mmgt in taylor ? how much is the DBA from LKW and UM ? i shortlisted two DBA, from Southern Cross University and one University of Western Australia
UK DBA is just too expensive and too hard too pass, online one is Heriot Watt and Liverpool.  my mba, although grad with merit, which is just manage to pull through at the end, because i took some time off from work 
stamford DBA, i check with with belgium embassy, it actually not recognised
thanks for the information.

taylors mmgt about 43k (ori price is 53k, i got 10k scholarship), for 18 months course.

LKW im not sure, UM should be cheaper. Segi college has funny requirement which require 5 years working experience (by the time i work for 5 year, my momentom have definately lost)
ivanswk
post Jul 19 2011, 08:49 AM

+J
2,110 posts

segi DBA is from segi rite ? when u graduating from your Mmgt ?
my dba is further postpone not happending this year, as i need another paper, more related to work and i think i can convince my emplyer to chip in sweat.gif

so is either UM or LKW ? hmm let dig further

TSExtremeSeller2012
post Jul 19 2011, 10:44 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 19 2011, 08:49 AM)
segi DBA is from segi rite ? when u graduating from your Mmgt ?
my dba is further postpone not happending this year, as i need another paper,  more related to work and i think i can convince my emplyer to chip in  sweat.gif

so is either UM or LKW ? hmm let dig further
yup,Segi DBA is from Segi college uni.

mid of 2012 i will be graduated from mmgt.

gonna find a day to vist LKW.
cheahcw2003
post Jul 30 2011, 02:43 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 14 2011, 03:07 PM)
how much is the mmgt in taylor ? how much is the DBA from LKW and UM ?
UM does not offers any DBA program

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Jul 30 2011, 02:44 AM
aripp
post Aug 15 2011, 09:51 AM

One of my friend's brother graduated in DBA from University of Newcastle twinning with Segi last year.. Just called Segi and currently they only offer DBA from Segi..

Also called Malaysia Stamford College Malaysia and they are no longer collaborate with United Business Institutes, Belgium. They replaced it with DBA programme with Scandinavian Art & Business Institute (No MQA Accreditation)..

will get more info on this -- Malaysia Institute of Training and Development cooperation with University of South Australia, Australia
TSExtremeSeller2012
post Aug 15 2011, 10:08 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(aripp @ Aug 15 2011, 09:51 AM)
One of my friend's brother graduated in DBA from University of Newcastle twinning with Segi last year.. Just called Segi and currently they only offer DBA from Segi..

Also called Malaysia Stamford College Malaysia and they are no longer collaborate with United Business Institutes, Belgium. They replaced it with DBA programme with Scandinavian Art & Business Institute (No MQA Accreditation)..

will get more info on this -- Malaysia Institute of Training and Development cooperation with University of South Australia, Australia
thanks, does DBA useful in career ? for him ?
aripp
post Aug 16 2011, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Aug 15 2011, 11:08 PM)
thanks, does DBA useful in career ? for him ?
Well from what I heard from his brother, after his grad with DBA his life turn around.. some offered him to be in the Board of Directors..

That what inspired me to persue my DBA too (which ended me to this thread laugh.gif )..

I am currently searching for local Uni/College offering a DBA twinning programme with oversea university which I can't find right now..

Any suggestion ?
TSExtremeSeller2012
post Aug 16 2011, 10:54 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(aripp @ Aug 16 2011, 12:56 PM)
Well from what I heard from his brother, after his grad with DBA his life turn around.. some offered him to be in the Board of Directors..

That what inspired me to persue my DBA too (which ended me to this thread  laugh.gif )..

I am currently searching for local Uni/College offering a DBA twinning programme with oversea university which I can't find right now..

Any suggestion ?
actually, i created a fake acc on jobstreet saying that im a DBA holder,i actually got offer from solaries group. head of sales and marketing, Gm of training department. all 5 digits salaries.

im still searching, LKM maybe? segi taking too long to fulfil the requirement (5 years working exp)
ivanswk
post Aug 17 2011, 11:46 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ExtremeSeller2012 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:54 PM)
actually, i created a fake acc on jobstreet saying that im a DBA holder,i actually got offer from solaries group. head of sales and marketing, Gm of training department. all 5 digits salaries.

im still searching, LKM maybe? segi taking too long to fulfil the requirement (5 years working exp)
wow i am motivated already rclxms.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:34 AM