SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

ventrilocks
post Jul 10 2011, 04:52 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

on darky rom.. lets see what is the rom capable of..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 11:18 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

well darky rom not good on battery.. doh.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 11:49 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

did litening fix the lag on playing video? when im on 1.5 i experience this kind of problem..
if 2.0 the video is smooth i would go for litening once again..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 12:53 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jul 11 2011, 12:39 PM)
been using it for 3 days now on stock rom and getting the hang of it. couldn't find similar posts about these questions but:

1) is it normal for messaging, music player (perhaps more?) to not shut down by themselves and stay under Active Applications?
2) i've just created a samsung account and try software update but it showed no updates. mine is at I9100DXKF1 / 2.6.35.7-I9100XWKF1 / GINGERBREAD.XWKF1. is this the latest or should i be updating my firmware through Kies?

p/s: just bought a transparent light brown Modish silicon casing+SP and imho it looks really good on the phone  rclxms.gif
1) music player is known as bug auto restart when you use it..i've experience..as for messaging im not sure..never experience random reboot..
2) just use ODIN easier and no bug..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 01:58 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

do you guys notice 2.3.4 battery drain is more than 2.3.3? sweat.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 02:37 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 11 2011, 02:10 PM)
Really? Haven't notice yet le.... How much draining le?
even on idle it drain like vampire.. doh.gif
lets say 8 hours idle you get 5% drain on 2.3.3 (custom rom)..on 2.3.4 (custom rom) you get 15% drain... doh.gif

ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 02:50 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jul 11 2011, 02:41 PM)
my batt lasts longer with 2.3.4 lol
really? hmm.gif

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jul 11 2011, 02:43 PM)
what ROM r u on currently?
darky..gonna try litening 2.3.4...
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 02:52 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 11 2011, 02:51 PM)
let's villain  brows.gif
nuu..i hate wipe data... sad.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 02:58 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 11 2011, 02:53 PM)
rooted my sgs2..

few noob question (YES, i have read the first page, but still..  blush.gif ) :

i want to remove the yellow triangle warning sign. tried to follow >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1103399, but it said "extract the CF-root file until u get the zimage file": I COULDN'T GET IT. after extracted, i just got only 1 file CF-Root-SGS2_XW_OJV_KF1-v4.0-CWM4.tar. where is the zimage? need to re-extract the .tar file? but using what software? apparently my PC cant extract .tar file.  blush.gif needed to push the zimage file into SD card....

and, in order to remove the yellow triangle also, will need to flash stock kernel. so i downloaded : I9100XWKF1_OLBKE5_DXKF1 zip file, then extracted it, i got 4 different files. i recognized them as KERNEL, CODE, MODEM and the other file i dun really knw what its stands for >> GT-I9100-MULTI-CSC-OLBKE5.tar.md5. as mentioned in the guide, using ODIN, flash the stock samsung kernel. does this mean, in ODIN, i have to check on PDA then select the file with the KERNEL name only, then start flash??

last but maybe not least  biggrin.gif , about nand backup. im not really clear about the term. please correct me if im wrong, to perform a nand backup, go to CWM> backup.. just that? the backup file, where can i find it? should it be saved somewhere else?

to all sifus, thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif
1) just flash the .tar file..no need extract..use ODIN tick PDA...open from pda..

2) yes..check on PDA flash the kernel only..

3) yup..it saves at clockworkmode>backup> (the name of your backup)..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 02:59 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 11 2011, 02:57 PM)
use CWM do to a backup  smile.gif
the only problem i faced so far is the battery indicator doesn't show the actual percentage like lite'ning rom  unsure.gif
i use cwm to do backup before wipe it, and after flash to villain wat i c is most of my apps are restored automatically. only afew need to redownload again from market there, but not a problem since i can access to them in my apps there.  brows.gif
one more thing, my zenonia 3 data all gone mad.gif  start again at lvl 1  cry.gif  cry.gif
err..CWM backup is backup ROM...so if i restore..it will be ROM restore also..not the data..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 03:03 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 11 2011, 03:01 PM)
but most of my apps are restored without any action wor hmm.gif
thats why we use titanium backup... biggrin.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 03:09 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 11 2011, 03:04 PM)

I feel macam not much difference only. yesterday night from 2.30pm (100%) until 7am this morning (94% left). Is it normal?  hmm.gif
really? so it must be darky rom then..i will try litening tonight..see if got different or not..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 03:17 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 11 2011, 03:10 PM)
What about darky rom le? Didn't try Darky yet so mind to explain abit? laugh.gif
i kinda like the theme.. biggrin.gif
it is almost the same as other custom rom..
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 05:36 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

made in china..finish in korea... nod.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 07:49 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

flashing litening..i got error android.phone force to close.. =.="
anyone knows how to fix this?
ventrilocks
post Jul 11 2011, 08:19 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jul 11 2011, 07:59 PM)
i saw someone in the litenight thread got this problem also, try read the thread, i think he fixed it by wiping lol
try already..no luck..not gonna use litening..
ventrilocks
post Jul 12 2011, 01:57 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

now on cognition..gonna test battery tomorrow..~
ventrilocks
post Jul 12 2011, 09:04 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 12 2011, 09:01 AM)
just noticed... cases for sgs2 usually leave the top right corner (when the phone is facing you) 'open'.

i'm using sgp's ultra silke and if i'm not mistaken, an unfortunate drop on this angle should actually hit the phone rather than the casing.

checked the manual and it does not mention of any sensors there... any reason why case makers leave that portion 'open'? i checked a few other cases for sgs2 and its the same thing.
because your case coming from korea..korean SGSII have antenna at the top right corner...
ventrilocks
post Jul 12 2011, 07:38 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:19 PM)

anyone using this mod?

Advance Power Menu

Added on July 12, 2011, 6:20 pm
I played it from sdcard...class 4 only

mvideoplayer notworthy.gif rock...can see subtitle
ive tried last night with villain rom..and trying to put custom status bar,CRT effect and power mode button..but still cant get it right..sometimes the status bar did not shown..then i flash cognition and done.. biggrin.gif
ventrilocks
post Jul 13 2011, 08:56 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 13 2011, 08:29 AM)
wah, your friend take the easy way out and point you here instead of teaching/ showing you?!?

anyway... for rooting. dun even bother with that. why fix something if its not broken. if the phone serves you well, then there's no need to read up on rooting (yet). when you find the phone is limiting you in certain ways, then yes... it would be time for you to start reading up on rooting. smile.gif in the meantime, try to ignore the temptations about rooting -- can be hard considering that almost every other post here talks about it.

to project to projector... you will need the cable -- one end is microUSB and the other is HDMI. if the projector does not have HDMI input... hmmm... not sure if you can use converter boxes for it. group chats -- not sure if they support group chats but check out apps like tango, viber or even whatsapp. i've not tried them out yet as i can still live without it. hoping to get OS 2.3.4 on the phone soon so i can use GTalk's video function.

personally, i dun think sgs2 can be a replacement to a laptop. it can supplement it, but not replace... you can do most work on laptop, use sgs2 to review and do minor editing. perhaps even do presentations. but i dun think you can replace the laptop.

Added on July 13, 2011, 8:30 am
not sure about asphalt 6, but Galaxy on Fire 2 is meant to be for tegra only. i think you'll need an apps to trick the game and do some manipulation/ translation for the game to work properly on sgs2.
Chainfire 3D is the way to change the plugins for playing tegra games..

0.0220sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:10 PM