SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mryellow19
post Jul 10 2011, 11:40 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 10 2011, 11:33 PM)
Ok, you guys MUST download this free app called Zombie Booth

one of the coolest app I downloaded since i bought SGS II!!

It transfers your photos into 3D MOVING zombies and it looks darn real..

One of the apps that you can SCARE your friends smile.gif
Edited. tongue.gif

That app is freaking scary laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 10 2011, 11:40 PM
mryellow19
post Jul 11 2011, 09:17 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 11 2011, 09:00 AM)
Guys, again, need help here.

Rooted my S2 on Saturday (using supercurio based on the guide here). All was well until 720am this morning. The alarm clock was working at 650. LOL. But at 720, I realized my phone has been shut down since I could not use the home button anymore.

Then I switched it on...drove to work, and realized it auto rebooted itself and brought me to my SIM card lock screen.

Also, whenever I reboot, after root, i saw this exclamation mark ! at the galaxy screen.

Finally...I also noticed that when I press the Home button which will bring me to the lock screen, the background image will somehwo dim...and then become bright a little.
is this due to root issue? did not encounter anything like this before root. anyone experiencing this?
The exclamation mark (which is normal after flashing to a different kernel) can be removed by flashing back to the stock kernel. Please refer to page 1 after the rooting section on how to flash back a stock kernel. Alternatively, you could purchase the USB Jig which is quite handy as well in removing the exclamation mark and as well as reviving a bricked phone. Please also refer to page 1 for the link to purchase the Jig if interested.
mryellow19
post Jul 11 2011, 09:36 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(rayzy22 @ Jul 11 2011, 09:27 AM)
So uncle benny and all who can help me out...these is the 4 files after extracted:

1.  CODE_I9100XWKF1_CL265340_REV02_user_low_ship.tar.md5
2.  GT_I9100_MULTI_CSC_OLBKE5_tar.md5
3.  KERNEL_I9100XWKF1_CL265340_REV02_user_low_ship.tar.md5
4.  MODEM_I9100DXKF1_REV_02_CL1017685.tar.md5

so if i'm going to use Odin to flashback...which goes to which box in Odin? i can recognize file #2 to CSC, #3 to PDA and #4 to Phone.So does this make file #1 to Bootloader?am i right or wrong?please advise and tq in advance
I believe both #1 and #3 goes to PDA. Flash #1 to restore back original apps. Then proceed in flashing #3 if you would also like to restore the kernel.

From page 1:
CODE (PDA) is android and all the applications that come with it. (The archives/folders will be named after the version of this file)
MODEM (PHONE) is the firmware of the wireless chipset of the device and will operate you WiFi, Blutooth and 3G/2G/GSM connections. (ie Radio ROM)
The CSC includes connection data for the broadband networks as well as apps that are only available in certain languages/intended for a specific area.

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 11 2011, 09:39 AM
mryellow19
post Jul 11 2011, 09:50 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(rayzy22 @ Jul 11 2011, 09:44 AM)
hmm.. files #1 & #3 did almost  identical. i guess u're rite.need another confirmation before proceed...
#1 is the OS while #3 is the kernel. Both are different files (with different functions) hence the file size difference. But of course you could always wait for other sifus to help biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 11 2011, 09:51 AM
mryellow19
post Jul 11 2011, 03:16 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 11 2011, 03:07 PM)
thanks.  notworthy.gif

but, based on the guide, need to push zimage file into sd-card, then flash stock kernel, then using CWM, flash the zimage file.. but i cant get the zimage file, how?.. or NO NEED the zimage file? just flash the stock kernel, and done?
Download 7-zip to extract .tar file. the zImage file is inside the .tar file. Not sure if flashing from the .tar itself will work. I myself bought the jig to remove the exclamation mark.
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 01:30 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Jul 12 2011, 01:25 AM)
anyone know where i can test the sgs2? or any particular maxis outlets that have stock?
Samsung shop (SEP) in One Utama Shopping Complex has test units for display. Shop is located in between old and new wing on 2nd floor (where TGV is). You can see the shop as you pass along F.O.S.

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 12 2011, 01:31 AM
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 02:29 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(xcorex69 @ Jul 12 2011, 02:25 AM)
anybody can tech me 1 to 1 how to root? maybe via ym. much easier. seriously not understand how to root.
Have you read page one? There is one easiest method posted by Benny with even step by step guide.
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 08:09 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 12 2011, 07:25 PM)
Is it before using Titanium backup, need to use superoneclick to root first, then follow the steps listed by you?

Thanks uncle beney. Helps much. I hope to write this up, it will help me understand these things and perhaps might be useful to other newbies.
You are right. You will need to root the phone first before you can use Titanium Backup.
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 08:47 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(pemuda.umno @ Jul 12 2011, 08:44 PM)
download kies, odin and 2.3.4 release stock rom.
do i need to root the phone 1st?
Kies is to install the phone drivers into your system. Use odin to flash the stock rom. You do not need to root the phone in order to flash to stock 2.3.4. But after flashing if you would like to have root access, then flash ChainFire KG1 kernel.
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 09:45 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(pemuda.umno @ Jul 12 2011, 09:38 PM)
why is there a pit file in odin?
surely we cannot select that right?
If you are flashing from stock rom to 2.3.4, there is no need to select the .pit file for now. Please disregard the .pit file. Just flash the Modem, CSC and Code. If you would like to know what the PIT file does, please search around this thread as Benny posted an explanation about it.

QUOTE(xcorex69 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:39 PM)
really?? so i just root and flashing? no need to do other safe method before flashing?
If you have read Lite'ning Rom feature, it includes root. So you do not even need to root the phone before flashing Lite'ning. Just flash and you will have root and CWM.

QUOTE(xcorex69 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:41 PM)
but im now on stock rom. need to factory reset too??
I believe flashing from stock rom to Lite'ning does not need factory reset.

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 12 2011, 09:46 PM
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 09:53 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 10 2011, 03:44 PM)
I was waiting for the user to respond to me before I reply. He was making a generalized statement which is misleading. ANyway here is my understanding . First and foremost I am not an expert in such stuffs - this is based on my experience flashing the first Galaxy S and Galaxy Tab and present Galaxy S II.

PIT stands for PARTITION INFORMATION TABLE. The pit file basically tells Odin how to divide the partitions (for formating) and also where certain components ( PDA, PHONE, CSC ) to go when flashing them individually. PIT understanding is very crucial when you wish to flash roms from samfirmware.com , one place I always discourage new users from attempting as it is a trap to bricking a phone if you do not understand what you are doing

Cooked roms take cares of PIT ; you rarely see cooked roms asking you to choose PIT during flash thro Odin. Most cook roms, the developer has built in his rom the PIT instructions

For example, in the samfirmware.com Galaxy S site, you can even see different types of PIT listed and a warning that you choose the right PIT file. In its SGS II site, If you look at samfirmware.com - there is a default PIT file you can download at the top box just above the list of firmwares for different regions. If you download any of these official roms, you will see some roms comes with a PIT file and some does not. You asked a very good question, why is the PIT included if is of no use ?
My advise is simply this : If you see a PIT included in your rom, choose it during flashing as most probably the PIT is a changed version from default. You can only use this PIT to flash with the rom that comes with it. You cannot take this PIT and used it to flash another rom - this will brick your phone. When you use a wrong PIT - you have 2 possible scenarios :
- failed flash and phone cannot boot
- flash OK but the whole internal SD is formatted and cannot be detected at all by phone ( my experience with the Tab)

If the rom downloaded does not supplied a PIT file - than you just flash it without it or you choose the default PIT

As the PIT name implies, using PIT basically repartition /reformat your whole internal SD - once you select PIT, you will see repartition is auto selected. All your data in the internal SD will be wipe clean

You can choose NOT to select the PIT during flashing if you wish to have your internal SD intact. I cannot say whether you will have a successful flash. If is successful it just means your present rom PIT is similar to the rom you have downloaded. If is unsuccessful, just flash it again and select PIT

Read this post if you wish to know more. The writer similarly points out about the false/wrong understanding of many users about using PIT
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=999097
QUOTE(pemuda.umno @ Jul 12 2011, 09:48 PM)
that one i faham. but do u know the reason why it was included? icon_question.gif
I quoted what Benny said in his previous post about PIT files. That should explain your question.

QUOTE(xcorex69 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:50 PM)
so just flash? no need to root?
Yupe. Lite'ning includes root access after flashing so there is no need to root it first.
mryellow19
post Jul 13 2011, 11:45 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(mave222 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:51 PM)

Added on July 13, 2011, 10:55 pmSorry i got 1 noob question....how to backup original stock ROM and Kernel b4 flash to lite'ning ROM?
To backup ROM, root your phone using Chainfire kernel. Open up ClockWorkMod which is installed together when you root using Chainfire. From there select Backup to backup your ROM. As for kernel, I believe there is no need to backup since the stock kernel is available in XDA for download. You will need stock kernel to remove the yellow triangle too after rooting or flashing to Lite'ning.
mryellow19
post Jul 14 2011, 11:24 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(kunlooi @ Jul 14 2011, 10:39 PM)
how to change to 2G? Teach me tq.
Hold the power button long enough and a menu will pop up. Next click on "Data network mode" to activate or deactivate 3g.
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 01:29 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:05 AM)
hey guys i just got my s2 and trying to root it. i have gone into the download mode for the firsttime by pressing volume down + power + menu went into download mode and now its stuck in the downloading screen?? or it just need a longer time to download it?
Erm mind telling what made you or which instruction you followed to go into download mode? If you are rooting using ODIN, after entering download mode you will need to plug in your USB from phone to the computer. ODIN will then be able to recognize your phone and you can root your phone (depending on which instructions you are following).

If you are still unsure of what you are doing, please refer to page 1 as there are many guides for you to root your phone.
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 01:50 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:39 AM)
ok i have done odin. done the kernel using the tick pda and succesful reboot but the superoneclick is not working.
What do you mean by SuperOneClick is not working? Pressing "Root" does not do any action? I did not root using SuperOneClick so maybe others can help out.

QUOTE(mave222 @ Jul 15 2011, 01:42 AM)
1 more noob question...u guys rooting got backup stock Rom b4 flash to custom Rom?
I believe you will need to root first before you are able to backup the stock ROM.
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 02:32 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(mave222 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:05 AM)
I want to flash litening rom and it's auto rooted right? can I flash back to stock rom in future? coz using chainfire is difficult to me.
Rooting using chainfire method should not be difficult since it's the same way as flashing Lite'ning. The good thing for me with rooting using Chainfire first is so that I can use CWM that comes with it to perform a backup on the stock rom. Then only I will flash to Lite'ning or whichever ROM. Even though Lite'ning comes with root, however there is no chance for you to perform a backup on stock ROM as I believe flashing to Lite'ning already overwrites the stock ROM.
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 03:04 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(mave222 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:46 AM)
I'd read chainfire topic few times already but still can't understand completely. hope got ppl upload it to youtube later. anyway thx for ur info :-)
I'm not sure which part is hard to understand but the important/detailed instruction is here below copied from the Chainfire thread itself.

- Unzip the attached CF-Root-SGS2_XX_OXA_KG1-v4.1-CWM4.zip
- (USB) Disconnect your phone from your computer
- Start ODIN
- Click the PDA button, and select the extracted CF-Root-SGS2_XX_OXA_KG1-v4.1-CWM4.tar
- Put your phone in download mode (vol down + power + home)
- Once in download mode, (USB) connect the phone to your computer. ODIN will say that device is added and a yellow box showing your COM port.
- Make sure repartition is NOT checked in ODIN
- Click the START button
- Wait for the phone to reboot
- Done (if it took you more than 30 seconds, you need practise!)

I think the steps above are quite clear and detailed. Just follow step by step and you will be fine. Before that please make sure Kies is installed in your computer. This is to install the phone drives into your system. Next before starting ODIN, please open up task manager and kill all Kies related processes (KiesTrayAgent.exe) to avoid conflict with ODIN during flash. Then follow the steps above to root and there you go.

If you are unsure of which kernel to use, I would suggest you to use this CF-Root-SGS2_XX_OXA_KG1-v4.1-CWM4.zip as it is the latest kernel.

Hope this helps a little.

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 15 2011, 03:13 AM
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 05:03 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(ToNer @ Jul 15 2011, 04:56 AM)
Hi all actually i mean to jailbreak mean can it be like iphone can jailbreak to free download game or not?paiseh a!i'm newbie with android
Nope you do not have the option to "jailbreak" and have "free" games. Anyway no piracy discussion here.
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 10:38 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(xavier7 @ Jul 15 2011, 10:30 AM)
Nobody notice this?

pic here - suppose to have numbers of photo that still can be taken where the arrow is pointing.

Noticed this too with the stock 2.3.4 but oh well, not that I really care. tongue.gif
mryellow19
post Jul 15 2011, 11:05 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(CalvinTeh99 @ Jul 15 2011, 10:55 AM)
whats the benefit?
extend the warranty?
Benefit = Go green, save paper and save the environment. tongue.gif

addon: Warranty will always be 1 year from Samsung unless purchased from Samsung Elite Partner which carries 2 years warranty instead.

This post has been edited by mryellow19: Jul 15 2011, 11:07 AM

0.0454sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:44 PM