SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

blurjoey
post Jul 9 2011, 09:08 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kenaz @ Jul 9 2011, 09:06 PM)
guys anyone know where have stock SGS2 for sign up maxis plan in klang valley? been to sunway pyramid yesterday staff said 20units only finish. sad.gif
Can try maxis takacom at MV but heard maxis stock very limited and no more pre-book. Only first come first serve. KLCC also same.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 9 2011, 09:09 PM
blurjoey
post Jul 9 2011, 09:38 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jul 9 2011, 09:33 PM)
Waaa... why very hard to get. Why only take 20unit stock. Susah la mcm ni rclxub.gif
Maxis didn't anticipated on the high demand, hence not enough stock from Samsung to Maxis.

You can still get SGS2 from 1U from the SEP but have to pay RRP2099.
blurjoey
post Jul 9 2011, 09:55 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Uncle Benny, Can add me and sangels to the user list? Thank you.

~ Saw my name in the list

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 9 2011, 10:00 PM
blurjoey
post Jul 10 2011, 10:26 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kingster113 @ Jul 10 2011, 03:54 AM)
How on earth did mave222 get a class 10 MicroSD? I searched everywhere and found none. Anyone know where else I can get it?
All IT hypermart and Thundermatch in LYP is selling Patriot Class 10 MicroSDHC.
blurjoey
post Jul 15 2011, 12:23 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xavier7 @ Jul 15 2011, 10:30 AM)
Nobody notice this?

pic here - suppose to have numbers of photo that still can be taken where the arrow is pointing.

Mine have the number of pics left to take. On stock DXKF1.

But I don't have the AF and +/- icon.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 15 2011, 12:28 PM
blurjoey
post Jul 15 2011, 12:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:34 PM)
dat AF and +/- icon is quick acess button..you can simply drag the settings into the empty slots... biggrin.gif
Learn something new today tongue.gif
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 02:10 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 16 2011, 12:37 PM)
Sifus, I think I am gonna get flamed, but I am going to venture what I think is a my own assessment of the SGS2.

1. The hardware is super, the camera is great.
2. The UI is unpolished (understatement). Many things is hidden under multiple levels of menu, and involve too many clicks to access.
3. Some things work and some don't. APNDroid does not seem to work. Paypal and BUMP cannot install. So stock ROM is hopeless, unless you root.
4. Battery life sucks, even with juice defender installed. Paid for Tasker, but unfortunately cannot set data to off, late at night and still consume quite an amount of battery. Got tasker to set Wifi off, bluetooth off, GPS off. Perhaps it's just me, or I am playing with it a bit, but I would expect 2 days of battery life with lite or moderate usage.

Perhaps I am wrong, but I would not recommend to friends at this time, comments are welcome.
1. Agree
2. Different phones different UIs. You can always try other Android launchers. But I like the new TouchWiz 4.
3. Can install and use Paypal. Never use APNDroid or Bump. Root is just extra things you can do with Android like MarketEnabler, RootAccess, Titanium Backup, ClockSync, etc. Without root the Android is still a very good smartphone to use.
4. Battery life on both my SGS2 is very good. Unplugged from 7am until 11+pm, left about 20%-30% battery with heavy calls, sms+mms , FB, internet, emails and some gaming. I've only have Autokiller Memory installed and set to optimum settings applied. I only switch GPS, wifi and bluetooth on when I need them. Most of the time it is off. My 3G data is always on. My old SGS can last 3 days on airplane mode while I was in Taiwan, just moderate wifi for email and FB and taking pictures.

BTW I'm still on stock rom from day 1 until now. Only root the phone after 1 week as I need to restore my stuffs from Titanium Backup.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 16 2011, 02:45 PM
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 02:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 02:39 PM)
1. agree
2. yes and no, depending on individual's intelligence by using widget for quick access. UI = TWiz? TWiz has improved a lot compare to previous version and i kind of like it.
3. perhaps you do not understand the definition of root. please do more study before you give any comment. If APNDroid is not working, that doesn't mean is ROM issue and why would you need that at the first place? if you want to disable data, there are plenty of apps can do that such as switch pro widget and etc, or you can go all the way inside menu and disable data by untick "use packet data".
4. battery sucks? i find it better than my old galaxy S. it can last me more than a day. refer to 3 on setting data off.

lastly, 2 days of battery life if u,

1. permanent on 2G network
2. no data connection
Good reply thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 03:55 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 16 2011, 02:49 PM)
Really? How come I cannot. Did u have market enabler?
And all my apps was re-installed automatically when I first login my gmail account after I turned on the SGS2 the first time when I got it from Maxis. Paypal was installed then also. Even the Papago X5 MY/SG was installed automatically. This happened to both my SGS2. All working fine.

MarketEnabler only work with root. And I rooted my SGS2s a week later.

Not sure why yours cannot.

At least our SGS2 got better battery life than iPhones cause most of my colleagues are on iPhone 3G, 3GS and 4 and everyone of them have to charge their iPhones at midday or else the iPhone's battery will die flat. And most is not jailbroken. When I showed them the battery level on my SGS2 at midday, they were very surprised.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 16 2011, 04:02 PM
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 04:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jul 16 2011, 04:02 PM)
You can try Widgetsoid 2x. Get it from market free.
Widgets from curvefish is also not bad. Free also.
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 04:44 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 16 2011, 04:11 PM)
OK, will try again and see. Good to know, must beat the fruit la. Nope, tried and tried and tried. The requested item could not be found.
I can't find paypal in market even with marketaccess also. But I did manage to find with appbrain and access from there.
blurjoey
post Jul 16 2011, 11:56 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Jul 16 2011, 07:46 PM)
Hi guys , a new user here. Just tried to import contacts from my Nokia N900 and all the contacts are being seperated into .vcf files. I am getting tired of importing the file 1 by 1. Does anyone have other method to import all directly?
If you can sync your N900's contacts to Outlook. Then sync Outlook to SGS2 via Kies.

Did this for my SE C905 to SGS.

Added on July 17, 2011, 12:00 am
QUOTE(aun104 @ Jul 16 2011, 08:41 PM)
I want to ask, when u buy a new GS2, does it include 8gb of micro sd card? or just the phone?
The SGS2 already 16GB built-in. You can add until 32GB SDHC.

Just bought a Sandisk 32GB class4 from LYP for RM199. Now total I got 48GB on my SGS2 laugh.gif

Patriot 32GB class10 selling for RM289 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 17 2011, 12:00 AM
blurjoey
post Jul 18 2011, 10:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(yumi17 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:31 PM)
Anyone got pink spot issue for the camera?? how do u solve the issue? update the firmware? exchange for a new 1 or how?

Need help!!!
Read page 1. It's all there.

0.0512sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:23 PM