SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 03:27 AM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jul 10 2011, 03:14 AM)
got my sgs2 at around 1 o'clock had to wait for the salesperson to finish selling an uncle a galaxy tab... i almost fell asleep ....

however as usual senq opens ur box for u... so didnt have the feel of unboxing sad.gif and then i checked using *#0*# cant find the yellowish tint or my eye not that sharp la.... then i check for camera pinkish tint.. VERY visible.... i try to bodek the salesperson to let me see the other set and check whether that one also have pinkish tint issue or not.. he wont let me says its already reserved for other ppl ..... sooo strict... but box they open first can .. blerghhhh

i asked him so how... he say can exchange for another set but most probably will have to wait for 1 more week to get a new one... i was warghhhhhhhhhh and cannot change with other set already in the store.. as it is already RESERVED ... then i asked can i bring my baby home first ... he says can but plz come back in 1-2 days if still want to exchange.

i have just upgraded the camera firmware to SCEF02 and the pinkish tint is less noticeable, i think i'm going to keep and not exchange, because it is not everyday that i want to take picture of an A4 paper or the white table in Senq or white wall...  i can live with it la.... because even without upgrading when i try to shoot the tvs on the wall of the senq automatically pink tint less visible...

so uncle benny can u add me to the list of not so lucky sgs2 user smile.gif
off topic: i wonder how much a second hand omnia is nowadays ??
damn u bought from SenQ KBMall? Got meh? I'm in KB too, currently on holiday. I guess I'll be buying the AP set from the mobile section.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 01:17 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(karlbum @ Jul 10 2011, 03:50 AM)
yep omnia 1 sgh-i900 smile.gif i think i still remember rayz from the days of the omnia official thread smile.gif

luffy: senq kbmall is currently only for those who paid deposit last week, no ready stock for walk in, only next week they'll bring in ready stock..., quick get one la hehehehe
haha nice2. they bring many stocks or not eh?

Not sure to get ASAP or when I'm going for UTM for my 3rd year on September. Kinda crazy for this phone so much cuz i saw korean drama Lie To Me using it all the time but still am not using much while at home cuz got ps3 with me. Will go check out at senQ though, see if that can change my mind haha~~

Added on July 10, 2011, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jul 10 2011, 12:57 PM)
[GUIDE] How to get Google Map 5.7 (nav) to work

If you are getting "Application not installed" when installing Google map 5.7, here's what you need to do:

1. In Titanium Backup, select Maps and make a backup.
2. Select Maps and wipe data, then uninstall.
3. Select Street View and wipe data, then uninstall
4. Download map5.7ownhere-signed.apk from here: http://www.filesonic.com/file/1389928264/m...wnhere-sign.apk
5. Copy the file to /system/app using root explorer (or any "root" explorer)
6. Mount system as R/W
7. Install Google Maps 5.x ownhere-signed.apk
5. If you wish to reinstall streetview, download it from here: http://www.freewarelovers.com/android/app/street-view (doesn't work in Msia, as you should know)

One "bug" I noticed google nav has is that it automatically sets the system volume to MAX, but it wouldn't turn it back down to default volume when it quits
i see ownhere's mod has been updated. thanks although i'm a desire user here! still using the 5.5.

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jul 10 2011, 01:18 PM
LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 02:07 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jul 10 2011, 01:58 PM)
Hi Benny,

What would I be missing if I just use the S2 as it is? As an "oldie" on the wrong side of 50 I prefer not to get muddled in the complexity of ROM/baseband/kernel. But everybody here seems to be flashing left and right so I just wonder if the original Samsung ROM s good enough to use. What's the main advantage of changing the original ROM?
its the most powerful smartphone so why would it have anything wrong with the original rom?

unless you're using lower droid phones, you dont have to worry with SGS2. but using the stock 2.3.4 instead of Touchwiz would be the fastest. and the custom rom will have mods/tweaks as time goes. so you'll have more features than the original. but having a SGS2, you are not missing anything. those that dont have are missing the SGS2!
LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 06:41 PM

3,771 posts

why i've been reading all 12 pages of SGS2 thread? new sgs2 users didnt even bother and yet i read it....lolz i really think need to get this ASAP.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 07:17 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 10 2011, 06:56 PM)
Because you are a User, not just a Buyer. Now go get your SGS2 and come join us!

@UncleBenny: RAS, boss. ROM Acquisition Syndrome.

But really, this "thing" that we're cooking, flashing, modding, adjusting, comparing --> isn't it more "Firmware" then "ROM"?.

I guess it came from those old WinMo days where ROMs ACTUALLY meant ROMs - stored in a saparate part of the internal memory, not accessible EXCEPT by flashing.
huhu i will. soon enough~~ biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Jul 10 2011, 06:56 PM)
which one nicer? smile.gif

or

user posted image user posted image

better?
the above one bro!

LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 07:24 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jul 10 2011, 07:20 PM)
class 4 so fast edi...if class 10, geng....
my class 2 16GB is the same as my 8GB class 10. so i use class 2 since it is bigger.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 10 2011, 07:26 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 10 2011, 07:21 PM)
Bluetooth headsets is up to u personally in terms of preferences of design , functions and most importantly , budget . . . . Go for brands like Jabra , Jawbone , Plantronics if u have the budget .
try looking at jabra easy go. i am planning to get that one. currently using jabra bt3030 since i use it for music. easygo is when i need to talk. bt3030 no good got talking since it use 2 earphone, and its very loud; hence good for music~~
LuffyPSP
post Jul 13 2011, 05:29 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 13 2011, 05:26 PM)
huh? only 27% for display?!?
lol cuz it divided with other processes below~~ if the below ones is lower then the display will be higher la~~

btw wtf 3 days and 40++ pages. i'm still waiting for my scholarship to buy this phone. really cant wait actually, unless got a miracle someone PM me to loan some money~~

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jul 13 2011, 05:31 PM
LuffyPSP
post Jul 13 2011, 06:00 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Optimus2x @ Jul 13 2011, 05:35 PM)
Loan OK... 10% per week interest compund  rclxub.gif
hahaha~~

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 13 2011, 05:37 PM)
wahlau eh... dun be another case where after buy phone, no money to buy food or apps... or even pay for phone bill.
i'm not one of those. apps use my mom's credit card all the time. food, hmm my dad send money every months or whenenver i asked(but need reason la hihi). but now i'm at home and food is free until after raya. phone bill, recently my dad start paying them. i dont know why~~

i can still buy the phone and at the same time buy my ps3 games. but until i got my scholarship~~ plus i'm building a website for my uncle, so i'll have extra to buy the accessories.

but still i cant wait~~~~ gagagagaga~~~

wait, its Galaxy S 2!!!!!!

LuffyPSP
post Jul 13 2011, 07:33 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 13 2011, 07:00 PM)
Where got 1% every 30 min brows.gif

0% after 30mins, maybe my battery monitor is broken.
omg that font is beautiful. what is the name of the font?
LuffyPSP
post Jul 13 2011, 08:11 PM

3,771 posts

Ubuntu something? not good enough cuz the ubuntu i have doest not look like that~~ proper name please if you can find it~~
LuffyPSP
post Jul 14 2011, 12:48 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Optimus2x @ Jul 14 2011, 12:28 PM)
If you're no interested in contract... I got a few more SGS2 Maxis units for sale tongue.gif
how much for 1 maxis unit? same as the reseller's price?
LuffyPSP
post Jul 14 2011, 01:46 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Optimus2x @ Jul 14 2011, 12:50 PM)
Slightly cheaper at 2k... 1950 for an unboxed unit...

Got 1 brand new and 1 unboxed unit left.
i wish i have the money right now~~ still dont know when will get it.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 14 2011, 07:16 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(ToNer @ Jul 14 2011, 06:56 PM)
Hello everyone ..here got ppl teach jailbreak ma?
FAIL!!!
LuffyPSP
post Jul 15 2011, 11:49 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(sorethroat @ Jul 15 2011, 11:02 PM)

A bit bulky at the back. But oklahh as long can get more juice..
wah sory if it offends you. that looks not a bit bulky, its a damn lot bigger, and ugly too~~ spoil the beauty of SGS2.
LuffyPSP
post Jul 17 2011, 09:34 PM

3,771 posts

Hi guys, be prepared to add me in a couple of days. I'm coming to SGS2 family!!

this might be my final screenshot with my HTC Desire, running MIUI since yesterday as before using Cyanogenmod 7 all the time. Now gotta flash stock HTC Sense rom cuz I'm giving this phone to my mum. Its been hell of a ride. 1 months left until a year using this phone. I'll miss this phone so much(hehe can still play when my mum's around though but no flashing).

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jul 17 2011, 09:35 PM
LuffyPSP
post Jul 17 2011, 11:40 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(stormstrider @ Jul 17 2011, 11:37 PM)
That's cheaper that mine. Just bought mine at RM2099. Uncle Benny, could you kindly add me to the user list. Thank you very much.

(Bounty) - Since i'm a newbie, noob and dont have any computer, i am willing to offer RM50 to anybody who can meet either at Low Yat Plaza or Times Square KL and help me to root my new SGSII using CF-root then flash it back with Stock Rom. For the time being i just need root with superuser, busybox, CWM and Titanuim backup only.

Anybody interested can msg me anytime at 016-9037670
how come you dont have any computer? its essential in everyday life. and you have a SGS2!!! but no pc~~ sad.gif
LuffyPSP
post Jul 18 2011, 12:31 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(stormstrider @ Jul 17 2011, 11:46 PM)
Sorry dude, i'm a total noob and got some phobia with pc.. lol.

So, if anybody staying at KL and willing to meet and help me rooting this phone can msg me at 016-9037670.

Thanks in advance.
haha why sorry me eh~~ free RM50, i would've gone if i'm in KL. tongue.gif
LuffyPSP
post Jul 18 2011, 08:26 AM

3,771 posts

cant wait for my sgs2~~~ wanna root on the first hour i got it and i'll stay stock for a few days before trying custom rom. biggrin.gif
LuffyPSP
post Jul 18 2011, 09:03 AM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(aeronic @ Jul 18 2011, 08:50 AM)
No offence but don't you think the sgs2 is a little but too high end for someone who does not use a PC?
i mentioned this before~~ cant think why phobia of pc lol~~

0.0343sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:21 AM