120 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 06:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 12 2011, 06:07 PM)
OK. Thanks. I don't know if there are anything or guide yet, but I hope there is one for newbie.

Here's what I want to do:
1. Backup my phone. Every damn thing.
   1.1 First I root my phone using superoneclick.
   1.2 Then I install ROMManager and use it to do a backup.
   1.3 Then now I get a file .zip or .tar, which I save into my PC just in case.
2. I wanna try custom ROM
   2.1 I download ODIN and Litening ROM, or the new stock 2.3.4 ROM.
   2.2 I use ODIN to flash new ROM into my phone.
   2.3 All works out, fine. If I don't like it, I can use ODIN to flash back my backup I made earlier.

IS the above all correct? Thanks a million sifus.
ROM Manager is not fully compatible with SGS II - still some bugs. If it is good, I'd have highly recommended it in Page 1. Not only me, ,many XDA'ers will propose to use it
When you use Rom Manger, first thing it will change your recovery on phone. Than depending on your rom type, kernel - when you try tyo backup - it will fail. And assumimg you can backup, most probably you will get a fail restore

When we want to use a backup/restore program , what is important you mjust have a 100 % good backup and a 100% good restore. There is no in between both must be 100%. Anyway you can try if you wish and please update us if you are successful

I suggest you :

1. Use Titanium Backup to backup all your apps/data
2. Use Odin to flash Chaimfire CF4 - this will root and install a Clockworkmod recovery
3. Boot to recovery and select backup
4. Than only proceed flash whatever rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 06:41 PM
nicregi
post Jul 12 2011, 06:29 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:19 PM)

anyone using this mod?

Advance Power Menu

Added on July 12, 2011, 6:20 pm
I played it from sdcard...class 4 only

mvideoplayer notworthy.gif rock...can see subtitle
I am using it back then. Now, kinda miss it already. Miss the reboot button sad.gif
Assclown
post Jul 12 2011, 06:31 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 12 2011, 06:29 PM)
I am using it back then. Now, kinda miss it already. Miss the reboot button sad.gif
Get the app called 'Quickboot'
Noobi3
post Jul 12 2011, 06:35 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(zoule HCo @ Jul 12 2011, 06:24 PM)
now running Batista 2.0.. I'm switching between Batista and Cognition.. dont have FC problem..
last time running lite'ning rom 2.0 got FC than revert to Cog S2 2.0.. no problem at all..

try to flash others CF kernel instead the stock custom kernel.. i've try this on lite'ning rom 2.0
and the FC not appear after flashing using other CF kernal.. or u can try the stock KG1 kernel..
Tx for the reply .... Ya .... Balista 2.0 > Cog 1.11 doesnt give prob ...... Balista 2.0 > Lite'ning 2.0+2.1update > Cog 1.11 gave it ....... All the while was running on Chainfire kernel ...... Anyway , flash back stock rom as it gives the best batt life for me thumbup.gif
Mudadak
post Jul 12 2011, 06:38 PM

hi, i am new to this forum and my friend recently brought me in here to learn more about the phone i recently purchased. my previous phone is pretty much a dinosaur and after reading what is on the 1st page, i felt somewhat even more confused.

can one of you please explain to me what root is ? it is way too technical for me to understand. how do i get the galaxy s2 to play encoded divx files ? can i hook this up to a projector unit and display it ? what kind of resolution would i be looking at assuming i have a sxga projector. will it be able to handle and beam out at the maximum resolution the projector can take ? what special cables or devices would i be needing and at what price range would i be looking at ? will this be a pal or ntsc system setting ? am i able to view photos shot in raw format ? and more importantly can i beam those out onto my projector for presentation purposes ?

is there any free software that i can use to do a group chat ? or is it bound to the service provider ? something sort of like video conferencing for mobile phones but not a 1 to 1 session rather a 4-5 people session.

the reason i bought this unit was that i was initially very impressed with the tablet computing power and my friend told me this is by far more powerful and faster than an ordinary tablet minus the screen size. so i thought that maybe for mobility purposes for presentations i could use this as a replacement to a laptop or a tablet as it is lighter and easier to pocket around.

thank you.
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 06:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 12 2011, 06:29 PM)
Just flash the mod in recovery but before you do that read the thread and make sure your firmware is supported
un_id
post Jul 12 2011, 06:48 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 04:42 PM)
Root n clockworkmod remains. But is of no importance as most probably you will want to flash chainfire cf4 based on kg1 to replace the kernel n you get root n cwm again
If you flash samfirmware version you will lose root n cwm
What? How come mine were removed after flashed to stock kg1, both root and cwm gone. i downloaded the firmware from link at page 1. And, i just relized when i plugin to usb now, my phone did not connect to Kies. Kies keep on "connecting" no end. rclxub.gif icon_question.gif
nicregi
post Jul 12 2011, 06:52 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Assclown @ Jul 12 2011, 06:31 PM)
Get the app called 'Quickboot'
Thank you biggrin.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:45 PM)
Just flash the mod in recovery but before you do that read the thread and make sure your firmware is supported
Yes sir uncle Benny! nod.gif Anything I dunno I PM you /gg brows.gif wub.gif
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 06:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 12 2011, 06:48 PM)
What? How come mine were removed after flashed to stock kg1, both root and cwm gone. i downloaded the firmware from link at page 1. And, i just relized when i plugin to usb now, my phone did not connect to Kies. Kies keep on "connecting" no end.  rclxub.gif  icon_question.gif
Then just go to download mode, use Odin flash Chainfire4 ( KG1 version ) to get back root and CWM

Added on July 12, 2011, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 12 2011, 06:52 PM)
Thank you  biggrin.gif
Yes sir uncle Benny!  nod.gif Anything I dunno I PM you /gg  brows.gif  wub.gif
Make sure too your current rom has deodexed features ; if not it will not work

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 06:59 PM
zoule HCo
post Jul 12 2011, 06:59 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 12 2011, 06:48 PM)
What? How come mine were removed after flashed to stock kg1, both root and cwm gone. i downloaded the firmware from link at page 1. And, i just relized when i plugin to usb now, my phone did not connect to Kies. Kies keep on "connecting" no end.  rclxub.gif  icon_question.gif
Bcoz its not rooted any more.. u are at stock rom..
just flash CF kernel n u will rooted again..

the KG1 is not official release.. it's a leaked..
so kies will not recognize the new firmware..

un_id
post Jul 12 2011, 07:08 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:57 PM)
Then just go to download mode, use Odin flash Chainfire4 ( KG1 version ) to get back root and CWM

Added on July 12, 2011, 6:59 pm
Make sure too your current rom has deodexed features ; if not it will not work
But i feel there is something not quite right...sometime pc cant recognize my phone. sometime it dun appear in odin.. is it ok if i do repartition if i re-flash stock xxkg1? I want to turn the phone back to factory condition since kg1 is good enough for now. is there any specific method to completely remov everything and restore fresh official firmware?

Added on July 12, 2011, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(zoule HCo @ Jul 12 2011, 06:59 PM)
Bcoz its not rooted any more.. u are at stock rom..
just flash CF kernel n u will rooted again..

the KG1 is not official release.. it's a leaked..
so kies will not recognize the new firmware..
Icic... thanks for info.. i tot i done it wrong

This post has been edited by un_id: Jul 12 2011, 07:09 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 07:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 12 2011, 07:08 PM)
But i feel there is something not quite right...sometime pc cant recognize my phone. sometime it dun appear in odin.. is it ok if i do repartition if i re-flash stock xxkg1? I want to turn the phone back to factory condition since kg1 is good enough for now. is there any specific method to completely remov everything and restore fresh official firmware?

Added on July 12, 2011, 7:09 pm
Icic... thanks for info.. i tot i done it wrong
YES you can do repartition - your internal SD card will be wipe completely clean; so backup any important stuffs you have - eg your games data, newsfeed/rss feed, etc . After successsful reinstall, just manually copy back. What I usually do ( lazy method ) I just copy everything over to my hard disk and than copy back everything ( except the folder Android, lost.dir, temp as these will be recreated back when you reinstall or restore apps)
un_id
post Jul 12 2011, 07:24 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 07:20 PM)
YES you can do repartition - your internal SD card will be wipe completely clean; so backup any important stuffs you have - eg your games data, newsfeed/rss feed, etc . After successsful reinstall, just manually copy back. What I usually do ( lazy method ) I just copy everything over to my hard disk and than copy back everything ( except the folder Android, lost.dir, temp as these will be recreated back when you reinstall or restore apps)
Thanks benny for prompt reply.. will do repartition. my phone still empty anyway, not worried to loose anything.. btw, to do repartition, i need to use the pit file during flashing, am i correct?
vkyip
post Jul 12 2011, 07:25 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:24 PM)
ROM Manager is not fully compatible with SGS II - still some bugs. If it is good, I'd have highly recommended it in Page 1. Not only me, ,many XDA'ers will propose to use it
When you use Rom Manger, first thing it will change your recovery on phone. Than depending on your rom type, kernel - when you try tyo backup - it will fail. And assumimg you can backup, most probably you will get a fail restore

When we want to use a backup/restore program , what is important you mjust have a 100 % good backup and a 100% good restore. There is no in between both must be 100%. Anyway you can try if you wish and please update us if you are successful

I suggest you :

1. Use Titanium Backup to backup all your apps/data
2. Use Odin to flash Chaimfire CF4 - this will root and install a Clockworkmod recovery
3. Boot to recovery and select backup
4. Than only proceed flash whatever rom
Is it before using Titanium backup, need to use superoneclick to root first, then follow the steps listed by you?

Thanks uncle beney. Helps much. I hope to write this up, it will help me understand these things and perhaps might be useful to other newbies.

This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 12 2011, 07:40 PM
ventrilocks
post Jul 12 2011, 07:38 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:19 PM)

anyone using this mod?

Advance Power Menu

Added on July 12, 2011, 6:20 pm
I played it from sdcard...class 4 only

mvideoplayer notworthy.gif rock...can see subtitle
ive tried last night with villain rom..and trying to put custom status bar,CRT effect and power mode button..but still cant get it right..sometimes the status bar did not shown..then i flash cognition and done.. biggrin.gif
Eiraku
post Jul 12 2011, 08:06 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(pemuda.umno @ Jul 12 2011, 07:39 PM)
there is no point to buy such a thin handphone only to add to the carrying bulk by using external battery packs.
will try the leaked 2.3.4 but need to look for mac version of odin and samsung kies.
People do it to the iPhone. Why not the SGS2?

Sigh, if people wanted long battery life, they would have gone and gotten something archaic like a Blackberry. If people wanted a balance of everything and CAN live within a walled garden (and the fact that it's practically made out of glass), they would have gone and gotten the iPhone 4.

The list goes on. EVERY phone has it's issues. It's all about compromises.

I got the SGS2 simply because it has OTG and I was dying to try a dual-core robot, to see if it's as MARVELLOUS as everyone said it was (which it is not, really. It's good, but right now you don't really FEEL the sheer power of a dual core).

BUT, with all that being said, Samsung SHOULD have made the entire back level, they could have AT LEAST fit a 1800-1900mAh battery in there if the battery compartment was level with the hump on the bottom back - which would have meant 2-3 hours more of screen on time.
mryellow19
post Jul 12 2011, 08:09 PM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 12 2011, 07:25 PM)
Is it before using Titanium backup, need to use superoneclick to root first, then follow the steps listed by you?

Thanks uncle beney. Helps much. I hope to write this up, it will help me understand these things and perhaps might be useful to other newbies.
You are right. You will need to root the phone first before you can use Titanium Backup.
Pandaman
post Jul 12 2011, 08:12 PM

251 posts

uncle benny, i have flashed to Litening ROM 1.5 and shortly after that i downloaded the tegrak overclock ultimate. Now i am trying to set the core voltage down to 750mV at all levels, but after i set at CPU level 4 (i started with this one first), my phone keeps vibrating and buzzing. it says.. watching stability.. am i doing it correctly?

Please i need help..
Noobi3
post Jul 12 2011, 08:13 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jul 12 2011, 08:12 PM)
uncle benny, i have flashed to Litening ROM 1.5 and shortly after that i downloaded the tegrak overclock ultimate. Now i am trying to set the core voltage down to 750mV at all levels, but after i set at CPU level 4 (i started with this one first), my phone keeps vibrating and buzzing. it says.. watching stability.. am i doing it correctly?

Please i need help..
Does the 300sec timer doing a countdown ?
Pandaman
post Jul 12 2011, 08:15 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:13 PM)
Does the 300sec timer doing a countdown ?
nope i dont see any countdown.. still buzzing as i am writing this.. oh no..

120 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:37 PM