SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 08:08 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(msyope @ Jul 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
hi all,

I just got my SGS2 about 2 weeks ago and the batt life seems to be the problem. I let the wifi and 3G on all the time and at best my batt will last upto 6 hours just using to make/receive calls and emails. But last night my friend suggested that I use 2G network instead of 3G. I tried and it paid off. Today the batt last for the whole day in office and a bit more after reaching home. No need to recharge during office or when driving. There is no prob when sending/receiving emails as well syncing with contact and calendar...I am at peace with my SGS2 now...I think I'll be a happy user for the next 1 year or so....

Cheers
Shahar
2g can surf internet/ data? or will it end up using gprs for data -- meaning slower download speed?

Added on July 15, 2011, 8:09 am
QUOTE(mave222 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:10 AM)
1 more problem here why my Google pinyin typing English always force closing?
i noticed that too... but just yesterday or the day before, there was an update. no FC since that update. but i think that update added voice. quite sure the voice button wasn't there before coz now i keep accidentally pressing it.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 08:09 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 08:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 15 2011, 08:35 AM)
if you want to download something.. change your data connection to 3g la.. if not using the internet, change back to 2g.. easy..  sweat.gif
troublesome. smile.gif

gadgets are supposedly to be 'slaves' to owners... not the other way around. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 08:39 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 08:55 AM

7,044 posts

found the 'free' BT headset HM1100 button is a bit too sensitive for my liking. was using it yesterday and then putting it aside in my car. when i got home, i realised it had called my 'last dialled' contact 3-4 times. i suspect swerving my car caused the BT headset to move a bit in the place i had stored it and those slight bumps caused the button the be pressed. previous BT headset i used needed two presses to initial 'call last dialled'.

anyway, texted the person to apologise for the calls and said it was a new phone.

the reply that came back -- "it s ok. iphone? samsung?"

looks like sammy is really making its mark! smile.gif

Added on July 15, 2011, 8:58 am
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
if you care about battery life so much without little bit effort.. dont dare to use smartphone..  whistling.gif
i dun really care about battery life... if it lasts while i'm not at home or office, i'm happy. at home or office, i charge my phone.

you should be quoting the person who's concerned about battery life, not quote me. i dun have an issue whether its 2g or 3g. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 08:58 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 11:06 AM

7,044 posts

Just sharing my unboxing experience...

and if you wanna try to put on a screen protector by yourself, here's a guide i have done up on how to apply the screen protector. it worked for me -- and trust me, i'm no expert when it comes to this. my car road tax is a good example. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 11:07 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 02:14 PM

7,044 posts

more than a week and still happy with my phone being on ori ROM and not rooted. however, slowly, reasons to root is coming up...

* need to use market enabler. partly due to my concern about getting updated version of an apps. currently using google+ apps via apk. i dun think apk has an update function, right? so if there's a new version, i will need to remove current and install new version? that seems to be the case, so might as well use market enabler and download officially from market.

* titanium backup. seems to be the best backup but it requires root. i wonder any other good backup that can do that without root? sorry, yet to explore all the apps available.
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 03:15 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(cjxs @ Jul 15 2011, 02:53 PM)
edited

Added on July 15, 2011, 2:54 pm
ivanlmh

Sorry where to enable the mobile sync function? Have log in to gmail and try under setting but cant find the mobile syne function.

Pls advice coz i see lights at the end of the tunnel......
ori samsung rom...

go to settings... accounts & sync... select the gmail account (you can have more than 1)... then enable the sync you want to do. contacts, gmails, calendar, etc

sorry, din know you meant from Google side.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 03:16 PM
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 03:43 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(aXisSymmetry @ Jul 15 2011, 03:28 PM)
thx thx  rclxms.gif its confirm that my GSII is ori. just curious that there are 2 different colours they provide. Midnight Black and Noble Black. thought it was bootleg ones
hmmm... din know got two types of black... lol...
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 03:44 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(cjxs @ Jul 15 2011, 03:29 PM)
2. Phone settings done. Account and Sync>Sync Google> Options sync mail or contact or calendar. Tap sync calendar only new event i created as dummy sync to google calander at PC but BIrthday and PH at google calendar PC not sync to Phone  vmad.gif

Thanks for your guys quick reply thou.
just curious... how you set up Public Holiday? also, Birthday as in under contacts? or how you setup birthday entries?
mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 03:59 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(cjxs @ Jul 15 2011, 03:29 PM)
2. Phone settings done. Account and Sync>Sync Google> Options sync mail or contact or calendar. Tap sync calendar only new event i created as dummy sync to google calander at PC but BIrthday and PH at google calendar PC not sync to Phone  vmad.gif

Thanks for your guys quick reply thou.
you might wanna check out:
http://www.nicholasoverstreet.com/2010/03/...-your-calendar/
Go to the Google Calendar web interface on your computer (google.com/calendar).

1) Click the settings button in the upper right

2) Click the “Calendars” settings tab

3) In the Other Calendars section click “Browse Interesting Calendars”

4) Click the More tab here

5)  You should see an item labeled “Contacts’ birthdays and events”, click the Subscribe link. (While you’re in here, you might want to poke around.  There may be some other calendars you’re interested in adding in to your own as well, such as holidays and stuff!)

http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=3879

mydragoon
post Jul 15 2011, 04:15 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 15 2011, 04:10 PM)
Shit....didn't notice that...Thank god....thought it was gone and not include....now all good only "freaking" hidden...what a UI.
i had this exactly one week ago...
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry43682012

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 15 2011, 04:16 PM
mydragoon
post Jul 18 2011, 09:56 PM

7,044 posts

not going for v9? sorry if i missed out the last few posts...

anyway, i just noticed today that on ori sammy rom, i can't start the camera apps when the battery level is low. i noticed this when i tried to start the camera with only 10% battery left. i think that is bad... sammy should allow users to decide what to do... i mean... 10% is still a lot of battery! but it sucked that i could not take a nice photo today... sad.gif

anyone can help confirm this and let me know what rom they are on?
mydragoon
post Jul 18 2011, 10:35 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Jul 18 2011, 10:23 PM)
Yes the default camera app on the phone doesn't allow you to take picture when your battery is 15% or below if not mistaken.
You can change to this camera app, it allows you to take picture at any battery level, it has better sound recording quality as well.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1104051
thanks for the link. will check it out soon... quite stupid that a smartphone thinks its user/ owner is stupid and dun let the user start the camera aps...

dang, just checking out the link... requires rooting... *sigh* looks like i will need to read up pg 1 real soon... wink.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 18 2011, 10:38 PM
mydragoon
post Jul 18 2011, 10:39 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(honwei91 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:35 PM)
Anyone experienced b4 when u click on ur Task Manager to end some apps,
then the RAM: xx MB, CPU : xx% ..the words for that << is in red colours ?
Coz..i install some apps from android market like tank hero,dragon hunter those game..
Then it freeze when i try to play it...
then i have to press HOME button to go out task manager to end it.
When i go task manager,i saw those words in red colour..then oni change back to blue colour ..do u guy know wht it indicates when it is in red colour ? 
Thx  doh.gif  doh.gif
i m curious myself... only noticed the red letters in the last 2-3 days. quite sure never noticed that before.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.1904sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:10 PM