7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 10:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KLHC1964 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:33 AM)
Benny

how much better is the stock KG1 rom -
Most obviously batterylife which is nearly twice better than the cook versions by villian, litening and Angelo

TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 10:14 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

JB guys can easily get from the newly open mobile city center at danga mall. Grab there while still available
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 10:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jul 12 2011, 10:11 AM)
Hi Benny,

Is the Stock Rom XXKG1 posted in Page 1 same as the XXKG1 in Samfirmware?

No idea as never download samfw version. If u use samfw better use the enclosed pit file to be safe
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 10:59 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wkwong77 @ Jul 12 2011, 10:52 AM)
Is this from SamFirmware? I ask this because after flashing ROM from SamFirmware, it will become non rooted again. Am I right?
YES - normally samfirmware will unroot. Does it matter ?? Because 99.9999 % most users will change the kernel back to Chainfire CF4 KG1 which will root back the phone

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:01 am
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 12 2011, 10:52 AM)
just sharing what i was recently told...

according to a phone seller, he's advising close friends not to get sgs2 because of the heat issue. after 10mins of use, phone becomes hot. so, the phone can't last long...
Typical pasar sellers mindset. same as telling people don't buy porche and ferrari as engine gets extremely hot within minutes and will burn out the car faster than proton saga

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 11:02 AM
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 12 2011, 11:06 AM)
ya. i saw that.
But there are a lot of charges applied if use moneybroker.
It stated sort of like usd2 or something for whatever charges and USD whatever for like credit card charges or something like tat.
So I am thinking whether is it safe to do bank transfer directly to them?
bcz if use bank transfer to them, no charges right?
I'd like to know any bank who doesn't charge you for any money transfer services abroad with no charge is definitely not a bank. You can afford to buy a rm2000 phone and here you worry a few ringgit or 10's of ringgit of bank charges GEEZ!

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 11:15 AM
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:14 AM)
Old thoughts die hard. It is the same as when people told me not to put hot water/soup into a plastic container/bag. Unless the phone seller is a material engineer, otherwise, very doubtful.  brows.gif
Same analogy - must charge 8 hours on battery overnight- they forgotten it is now LithiumIon technology not NiCad batteries ; cannot charge phone continuously cos will spoil battery n phone - all old school thoughts seems never go away
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 12 2011, 11:20 AM)
benny, i read in some forum, they stated calibrated the battery by charge it for 8 hours then off it then charge again.and recommended do it monthly. will it damage the battery if charge that long time?
That was highly recommended in desire HD thread and it originates from one ( ONE , SATU ) guy in XDA

You know something, many users forgot that all users at XDA are just like us. They are not wiser, more intelligent than us. The proficient and knowledgeable ones are usually the developers and a few of the tech engineers. Majority who post in XDA are sama sama with us. However being a very established website for geeks, whatever posted at XDA are often taken as truths and facts. It just take ONE guy in XDA to post something negative - it will be flamed out within a day and become a truth. I see many users here always like to quote XDA sometimes to prove a point - I just " cry" reading it

And I dont practice their recomendations. Initially I will just charge it full let it empty out and recharge it again. Simple. And my phone always on charge if power point available whether at desk or in car

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 11:36 AM
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Jul 12 2011, 11:36 AM)
at first i also got same thinking like u..but after i touch the sgs2 last sat..surprisingly super nice phone.. from still confuse wan to get or not (eventhough i already reserve also tongue.gif)  to fully confirm will grab it ... so better don touch it if you dun wan to upgrade  doh.gif
Well as they said, this phone is SLIM, SLENDER and very " HOT" - how to resist ?
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:33 AM)
hopefully i wont get poisoned coz im currently using SGS, and i still love my fone, dun see myself upgrading this year.. im actually going there coz my fren wanna test it.
one point to SGS , 10 points to SGS II . I don't know how you cannot be poison. I have use SGS before
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 12 2011, 11:42 AM)
i din ask... coz already got sgs2. no need to waste saliva and breath. smile.gif

anyway, this guy was supposed to help me get sgs2 when it finally launch in MY -- i was worried about stock-out issues, etc... so hoping can use 'relation' to get a phone. wink.gif but only heard from this guy today... heh heh...

do i regret after hearing it? NOPE?

i think its worth all the money spent on this phone -- i got what i wanted from my phone -- 3g video call and good photos. downloaded the video and photos i took over the weekend and they are simply amazing! i just love this phone! best rm2099 i ever spent!

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:46 am
looks like we can add you to the owner list very soon... lol...

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:49 am
tried out the default browser and i have to say, i am not impressed by it. i still like dolphin hd more. i guess to each, his own. smile.gif

reason for not being impressed -- i was browsing LYN forum and trying to reply... somehow, i was not able to scroll properly and view the text box -- so i was not really able to be sure of what i had typed. compared with dolphin, i have no such issue.
LYN forum posting /replying issues on the phone and even on my galaxy tab has some issues. It is related to LowYat web. You don't see such obvious issues posting/replying in other web forums. Anyway if you frequently need to post/reply on lowyat forums - Opera Mobile is better than Dolphin. I do not use stock default browser at all. I only use Dolphin HD most of the time. If I need to post on lowyat a long post I will use Opera Mobile. For short replies I use Dolphin HD
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:58 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=wkwong77,Jul 12 2011, 11:11 AM]
[quote=benny888,Jul 12 2011, 10:59 AM]
YES - normally samfirmware will unroot. Does it matter ?? Because 99.9999 % most users will change the kernel back to Chainfire CF4 KG1 which will root back the phone
Sorry Benny, I just know how to root or flash using Odin, can I flash CF4 KG1 through Odin?

[/quote]

Chainfire CF4 can only be flash thro Odin . Select the extracted tar file as PDA, NO repartition
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 12:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LPJ @ Jul 12 2011, 12:16 PM)
Well, I have a question to ask, not exactly related to SGS2, but more toward Android phone.

For the Outlook Exchange that I use for my office email, normally once the email is downloaded to my laptop, it will disappear from my phone. Is there a way of keeping the email in my phone?
USE K-9 Mail - and in setting set it to have mail remain on phone even when deleted from mail server. Search Topic K-9 Mail I have listed several adavnatges using this mail app several pages back

Added on July 12, 2011, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(ranhat007 @ Jul 12 2011, 12:13 PM)
OMG...OMG...OMG  ....after using for only 2 days , this S2 really rock..I love this little beasttt .....browsing is super fast  .. I am happy ... youtube also super fast ....I will keep this beast for another 5 yearrr .... just so happy with my investement for RM 2099 that I got the right HP ....bravo S2 hahahaahh yeahhhhhh
5 years ??? Quad core end of this year-loh !

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 12:19 PM
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 02:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 12 2011, 01:48 PM)
hmmm... i just remembered i get a 'usb' cable together with phone... should be safe to connect that to my TF and charge the phone? smile.gif
It is a standard micro usb. Any cable can be used with it. It is same as all other androids i have use - nexus, xperia arc, htc, galaxy s etc
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 02:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Jul 12 2011, 02:22 PM)
Can anyone help me with my problem.
Launch contacts. Menu/more/ just check your display options
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 02:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Karpanan @ Jul 12 2011, 01:18 PM)
guys i cant seem to find this anywhere so i decided to ask here, lcd to suffer damage from heat right, what about amoled then? because when im charging, the phone tends to get warmer, not hot but warm and since my room i air-conditioned, there would be a shift in cold and warm frequently, so does amoled suffer damage from heat or sudden changeift of temperature between cold and hot? thank you rclxub.gif
You are really paranoid. Never in my life i will ever think of such. You sound as if the temperature is so high which only averaging 30 to 40+ only
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 02:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LPJ @ Jul 12 2011, 01:24 PM)
Another question after playing around with the K9 Mail, does it has no Push function as in the stock email client for Outlook Exchange? Only can set the Folder Polling period?

Basically what I wish to get is, the mail will automatically go to my phone. Normally, when using the stock email client, the mail will go to my phone first, then only my laptop. But when I set the Polling period in K9 mail to 1min, kind of like mail already go into my laptop, and I wouldn't get it in my phone.

Any solution to this? Or I miss some setting somewhere? TQ
You can always set mail remain in server for no of days, you define it in your computer outlook settings/option. Default all email deleted from mail server once downloaded

Anyway dont expect a full 100% duplication of blackberry - tell your boss be realistic. If other platform can copy n imitate blackberry push mail excellence; RIM will close shop n die
some user had say if you use samsung social hub as a solution you can get closer push mail similarity but than you csnnot control your email server
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 03:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hojianming @ Jul 12 2011, 03:05 PM)
anyone get to update google maps to v5.7 from v5.2 preinstalled? , cant found it on android market on my galaxy s2
It just auto update when i launch market yesterday after i flash the new rom. It is now ver 5.7.0 filesize 10.53mb
i did not even have to bother looking for it
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 03:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hojianming @ Jul 12 2011, 03:11 PM)
uncle benny, which rom are you using?, im still using the stock KF1 rom @@
XXKG1 stock rom gb 2.3.4
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 04:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joeyap @ Jul 12 2011, 04:04 PM)
Have been using nokia e72 for a long while now thinking of getting SS2.

How do i transfer all my contacts, calendar, notes etc to ss2?

E72 is Symbian, SS2 is Android, is android better and faster?

How is the battery life of SS2 compared to e72?
Android is many times better and faster but Nokia battery life is better 2-3x St least
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 04:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 12 2011, 03:44 PM)
Got a question regarding this stock ROM..it will wipe all apps..
Currently using Litening ROM which come with CWM and rooted..install the stock KG1 rom will remove CWM and root? I need to install again?

Sorry for asking this noob question..  icon_question.gif
Root n clockworkmod remains. But is of no importance as most probably you will want to flash chainfire cf4 based on kg1 to replace the kernel n you get root n cwm again
If you flash samfirmware version you will lose root n cwm

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0593sec    0.30    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:59 AM