Laptop Temperature, is this normal? Dell N4030, I have a feeling this may be a bit high

TSeuphoria92
post Jul 9 2011, 10:25 AM, updated 14y ago

98 posts

I have a Dell N4030 running a Win 7 OS and IntelĀ® Core™ i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz.

I just downloaded SpeedFan to monitor my laptop temp because sometimes it can feel a bit too warm for my liking.

I left it on idle for 10 min and this is the reading

This post has been edited by euphoria92: Aug 14 2012, 11:50 AM
aziq92
post Jul 9 2011, 10:42 AM

25 posts

dell really got high temp problem.it likes putting mini cooper engine into myvii.=)mine also got the problem.reach 90 when run game.cannot direct contact to any surface.if not...my dell vostro will shut down automatically
TSeuphoria92
post Jul 9 2011, 03:18 PM

98 posts

Well did you call Dell and ask to fix the problem?

I want to know if it is worth it to call over Dell technician to fix this problem....since I have just over a month of warranty...

Added on July 9, 2011, 9:51 pmNo other responses on here???

I'm sure there are other more serious problems that get quick responses

:-/

This post has been edited by euphoria92: Jul 9 2011, 09:51 PM
Sashikumaran
post Jul 10 2011, 05:47 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(euphoria92 @ Jul 9 2011, 10:25 AM)
I have a Dell N4030 running a Win 7 OS and  IntelĀ® Core™ i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz.

I just downloaded SpeedFan to monitor my laptop temp because sometimes it can feel a bit too warm for my liking.

I left it on idle for 10 min and this is the reading

This is the reading when I runned a few tabs on Mozilla firefox for about 10 min (as I am typing, HD can get up to 45C+ and Temp1 and Core1 get up to 80C+)

I have about 42 more days of warranty. I bought the laptop August last year and after a few months, it had overheating problem ( I was at college and you know sometimes watch movie with lappy on bed) So sent laptop to Dell service centre and they fixed it.

But lately I realise it starts to get warm again. BUT I have been using cooling pad all the time--after the last overheating incident.

I know they say if overheat, clean fan and all that, but since I have warranty, I don't want to fiddle with things that may void my warranty.

What do you think I should do? Can I just call Dell technician to come over just to clean my fan? Is it reasonable?
Your Core is 71C at 28% load. Image if 50% load. I think the laptop will off automatically. I strongly recommend you to send for warranty as soon as possible before your warranty ends.
squall0833
post Jul 10 2011, 11:07 AM

1,473 posts

quite warm

my dell XPSM1530 wont raise more than 65 when idle in any environment

unless cpu load 80+% highest is 75-87c

ur case quite not normal send back warranty
Fallensya14
post Jul 10 2011, 05:03 PM

115 posts

Did you call Dell already? They are the best company to provide after sale service and you didnt use it? They will surely ask you to do few procedures to make sure your system is overheat or not..
adbacc
post Jul 10 2011, 05:51 PM

Still Here
1,951 posts

One method is to limit maximum CPU clock speed. (Which in turn reduces maximum performance, so not recommended unless your main priority is heat control)

First, do this: (allowing processor to go into lowest power mode when idle, this should not have any impact on performance)
HEAT control when idle
Power Options -> Select Plan -> Advanced -> Processor Power Management -> Minimum Processor State, put 0

Then only this if overheating still is an issue (capping max speed when under load)
HEAT control during load
Power Options -> Select Plan -> Advanced -> Processor Power Management -> Maximum Processor State, put under 100 if it was 100 e.g. 99.
(If it was originally under 100 and it was overheating, you have serious issues)

Highly not recommended to set Maximum processor state too low.

Sidenote: To monitor the CPU current frequency, use CoreTemp (So you can tell the processor clock speed is at a low amount when idle (e.g 1Ghz+) and also find the highest.

This post has been edited by adbacc: Jul 10 2011, 05:56 PM
TSeuphoria92
post Jul 10 2011, 11:43 PM

98 posts

I had overheating problem few months after buying this lappy like I said above.

I sent it to Dell, and they fixed it or so it seems..

Now 6 months down the line, it's starting to get warm again....

Have not shut off suddenly like before, but don't want it to happen.

Will call Dell tomorrow hopefully they'll fix it.
Hilmax
post Feb 21 2012, 05:46 PM

4,042 posts

Use high quality thermal grease like xigmatek PTI-G3606 or Tuniq Tx-4.
stevenlaw188
post Feb 22 2012, 12:27 AM

25 posts

dell have heat problem, a lots of maintenance need to be done.
for your case better send for checking since warranty end soon.
cjoenic
post Feb 22 2012, 01:00 AM

-
773 posts

at idle, 62'c/64'c is not normal. maybe the fan is filled with dust already?
prestigio
post Feb 22 2012, 03:15 PM

549 posts

ofcoz this will happen to all laptop except laptop using AMD APU proc.
amd use new tech on APU combination graphic with proc. i

If u rely wanna perfomance. buy amd apu tongue.gif
It rely briliant idea.. i oso wanna get after settle scholarship...

Not all laptop for gaming.. it just for work n study...

0.0189sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:15 AM