4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

English Clubs Chelsea FC - All Blues, Chelsea 2 Bayer Leverkusen 0

Nitheon
post Aug 23 2011, 06:10 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(nanamiwashio @ Aug 23 2011, 05:48 PM)
the way it seems, he's working for himself rite now. I failed to remember any delicious through pass from midfield to torres for the past 2 games.
Sure looks like it.

But anyway, a truly gifted striker doesn't need someone to service him. He'll take things into his own hands.

I don't recall Zola waiting for through balls or wingers delivering the ball to his feet. He found his own way. The fact that Torres needs players to complement him is a sign of his inadaptability as a player.

Do you see Aguero or Suarez having any problems despite coming into a new team? They started like a house on fire.

The truth is, Torres is just like a gun that needs to be provided with bullets constantly. He's not an ammunitions factory which produces the bullets.

You could say Torres is a more refined version of Darren Bent (a proven goalscorer despite his shortcomings).

Every team has a player who provides a spark that lights up the players around him.

For Chelsea, it's definitely not Torres.

Mata on the other hand, could be that spark we've been missing.
Nitheon
post Aug 24 2011, 11:09 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:56 PM)
I dont think this is a fair assessment towards Torres.

Every player on the pitch got their own role to fulfill. If one of them slacks off, the objective of winning the game will not be achieved or it will be a hard fought battle. And mind you, every player also got their style of play. Both your example which is Zola and Suarez are totally different from Torres style of play.

I would say, Torres is like a center forward, and a target man. Same like Drogba, minus the strength. So, being a target man, you cannot expect him to come deep and dribble his way pass all the defenders. From my understanding, when a team utilize a target man, the player will receive the ball from deep, hold it until support arrive and float the ball again until a gap is exposed in the defense.

Another thing is that we expect him to score but football is not an individual game. He cannot function well when the midfielders sux to the max.

Inadaptability should not be the question here. Chelsea should consider his style of play before even make a bid for him. There is a lot other options that may suit or style but why still buy him and ask him to change?

Same like for all the time, you are right handed. You apply for the job and they ask you to be left handed. So, can you functions properly? And will you blame your inadaptability in this situation?

For me, the one that doesn't deserve to be on the regulars are Malouda and Kalou. Others depend on situation. And  the best partner for Torres is Drogba. This is not rocket science. Their traits complement each other. And with enough time together, I think they will perform superbly.
I think you made some good points about a player's role and function but my point is merely that great players will always be great players no matter what team or tactics they are exposed to.

Isn't everyone tired of making excuses for Torres? I myself once believed he would come good and I still hope so. But we have to concede he isn't going to be the saviour and star striker we thought he would. He might score 15 goals a season, but he isn't going to be the one to inspire Chelsea to league and UCL glory.

As for the points you made, allow me to reply:

- Yes, Chelsea should have considered his style before purchasing him. Bu they didn't and now they're stuck with a striker who can't perform. Torres was well aware of the system Chelsea used. He still wanted to join.

If you were to use the example of an employee being asked to do something he isn't familiar with, well he has to learn hasn't he? Try telling your new boss that you can't perform because it's a new job function. In the case of Torres, he gets paid 100k+ a week. I think that's motivation enough to adapt.

What's said about Malouda and Kalou is true. They're rubbish.

However, a Drogba and Torres partnership doesn't make sense in theory nor does it on the pitch. Like you said, they're both target men. Torres has never played well with a strike partner. At Liverpool, he was the focal point of a 4-2-3-1. Drogba has been the lone wolf and spearhead of a 4-3-3 for years now. Given Drogba's ego as well, I doubt this partnership would go down well if they even tried it out long term. Drogba isn't going to hold the ball and slide it behind the defense for Torres. Nor does Torres power his way past defenders to lay the ball off for Drogba.

But I'm curious as to why you think their traits complement each other. How so?

But once Mata is in, let's see if Torres can perform. If he doesn't, I'm keen to see what other excuses everyone can make for him.

Maybe then we'd need Modric? Gerrard? Alonso?

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 24 2011, 11:16 AM
Nitheon
post Aug 25 2011, 04:44 PM

28 posts

Maybe AVB's contingency plan for not getting Modric is to play Pereira on the left side of midfield (bye bye Lamps) and Mata as left forward (good riddance Malouda).

That would leave Sturridge to flank Torres on the right. It's not ideal, but it's better than having Anelka or Kalou there.

Don't think Lukaku will be shoehorned into a left/right forward role so he could be biding his time for a few years until Torres wears out his pricetag.

Anelka may have played a part in our comeback against WBA but he missed a couple of sitters too. His goal owed a lot to a lucky deflection anyhow.

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 25 2011, 04:45 PM
Nitheon
post Aug 26 2011, 05:03 PM

28 posts

I wonder what AVB is thinking with this Pereira bid. It's not like we don't have enough left sided defenders. There's Bertrand and van Aanholt waiting in the wings. Lampard on the left side of midfield. McEachran could ostensibly fit in there too.

Mata will most probably take Malouda's place.. or even Lampard's.

So why spend almost 30 million on a squad player who'll probably be Ashley's backup?

UNLESS, this is the planned formation (which I doubt):

Cech

Bosingwa, Terry, Ivanovic, Cole

Ramires, Mikel, Pereira

Sturridge, Torres, Mata

Midfield looks pretty weak and uninspired I think.

Why spunk 30 million on a left back when we so desperately need a creative midfielder? There's Moutinho who's also from Porto. Chelsea haven't so much as glanced at Sneijder (AVB probably thinks he's too old, expensive and egotistical). Modric is locked down more securely than an ingot at Fort Knox.

Are we really going to struggle through the season with THIS midfield again?

We're in for a rough ride.

Added on August 26, 2011, 5:25 pmhttp://www.level3football.com/royhendo/article/andre_villas_boas_how_would_he_fare_at_chelsea

A great read and insight on Villas-Boas.

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 26 2011, 05:25 PM
Nitheon
post Aug 27 2011, 12:55 AM

28 posts

It was announced on the club website that Benayoun will be taking the No.30!
Nitheon
post Aug 27 2011, 11:40 PM

28 posts

Same old Chelsea. No desire at all.

We're struggling against mid-table and bottom three teams.

The organization is all over the place. We can't even rely on our normally solid defence. Never mind the complete lack of creativity.

Every game so far this season, Chelsea have failed to dominate and finish off.

We might end up 3rd or 4th this season.

Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 12:13 AM

28 posts

We seriously got lucky with that sending off and the Norwich defender assisting Mata.

Let's not get too excited. There's still plenty of work to do. Hope we haven't used up all our luck yet!

Would've loved to have seen Torres' face when Mata scored.
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 12:15 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Va Va Voom @ Aug 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
Great coverage!

Added on August 28, 2011, 12:16 amLukaku looked lively today. Shame he didn't score though. Deliberated too long when he had the ball.

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 28 2011, 12:16 AM
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 12:18 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(ijamz @ Aug 28 2011, 12:14 AM)
tapi aku geram defence kita SLOW NAK MAMPUS!!  PEHAL HILARIO Boleh jadi rajin sgt kacau bola defend? mangkaa bolos satu gol
Our defense has always been slow but the fullbacks covered up. Time to bring Luiz back.

Is it just me or does anyone else find it odd that Luiz is injured even thigh he just kept the bench company during the Copa America?
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 12:20 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kucingmainan @ Aug 28 2011, 12:17 AM)
i root for mata-torres-sturridge combo.  drool.gif  2 pacey wing/striker flanking torres would be superexciting to watch.
Hopefully then people can stop making excuses for Torres that he isn't getting service from the other forwards.
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 01:01 AM

28 posts

Is it just me or did Norwich's players look more concerned about Didier than his own teammates did?
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 02:12 AM

28 posts

Poor old DD. Hope he recovers quick and doesn't suffer anything long term.

This Ulises Davila signing is completely out of the blue and a great surprise!

Don't know much about him though. What does this mean for McEachran? They're both about the same age.

Is he the contingency for not securing Modric?

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 28 2011, 02:21 AM
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 01:51 PM

28 posts

Even our ex-player Di Santo scored two goals yesterday.

Has he been getting a lot of service from his midfield? More like he made space for himself and took great shots at goal.

Can't see Torres doing that ever.

I'd even take a gamble on Lukaku today, despite him being a little apprehensive and ponderous yesterday.
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 04:19 PM

28 posts

This lack of urgency has been prevalent for quite long now. Either the players lack desire or just give up too easily.

I don't think a new coach has changed that. We need new players who actually want to prove themselves.

Torres... I can see him back in Spain or playing a Michael Owen role at some other big club.
Yes, he's suffered from a lack of service, but with the chances he's had, he's done nothing with.
Nitheon
post Aug 28 2011, 11:17 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Aug 28 2011, 10:41 PM)
judging from the way we defend at the moment, if our opponent last nite was city, we'll be slaughter by city at least 5 goals and above...seriously not joke... sweat.gif
We don't have to think so far ahead, considering that even Sunderland in two weeks are going to push us around.

The core of the team is complacent and lazy.

Trying to get Torres back in form will be the death of us. Look at Dzeko, he had a torrid time when he first joined but now he's scoring for fun.

Torres is still moping around and hoping for the best.

This post has been edited by Nitheon: Aug 28 2011, 11:18 PM
Nitheon
post Aug 29 2011, 01:22 AM

28 posts

We can't even beat Stoke and you guys think we're going to trash anyone anytime soon? We're lucky enough as it is getting the last couple of wins.

The EPL is soon going to be a two horse race like Spain. And no, we aren't in the top two by a long shot.
Nitheon
post Aug 29 2011, 12:04 PM

28 posts

Sturridge is best suited for the center forward position but given that we don't have a right winger, he'll be shafted into the position. He's a left footer though. And more often than not, cuts in to take defenders on. Everyone knows this and defenders will be able to suss him out soon enough.

It's still not a long term solution.

And I'm not sure 4-3-3 is a formation that would best suit Modric. He would definitely have to take Lampard's place and operate from slightly out left. Maybe a 4-2-3-1 would be better.
Nitheon
post Aug 30 2011, 02:32 AM

28 posts

http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/08/29/ma...ernando-torres/

I really hope this is true and we cut our losses!
Nitheon
post Aug 30 2011, 05:10 PM

28 posts

http://www.stoke.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=253292

Apparently Stoke want Lukaku on loan!

I think it's a bad idea considering Torres will never score and Drogba's out.
Nitheon
post Aug 30 2011, 05:20 PM

28 posts

If it was Bolton then it wouldn't be so bad. Wilshere and Sturridge improved from being there.

At Stoke he'll just become a second rate Kenwyne Jones.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0226sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:29 PM