8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

tesco brand engine oils, anyone dare to use?

normanliew
post Dec 20 2011, 09:31 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Dec 20 2011, 08:50 AM)
Most EU oils sold by Tesco is SL conformity. Feel that's good enuf for most modern cars.
Hv been using them eg Castrol Magnatec, Mobil S & Mobil 1 for my old & new rides. 
Save lotsa $$$, too!! thumbup.gif

Added on December 20, 2011, 8:52 amps. Most importantly is REGULAR oil changes @prescribed intervals eg 5k Km or 3 mths, whichever comes first!
every 3 months must change meh?

i car 1 yr also not yet change

btw, why 5k km?
semi can go 8k km
JLean
post Dec 20 2011, 12:37 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(normanliew @ Dec 20 2011, 09:31 AM)

btw, why 5k km?
semi can go 8k km
Bro Norman: It is recommended by most of the workshop to ask you to have a Regular Engine oil change at 5k km because it's due to the viscosity of the engine oil that will change due to the long use. But it applies to Fully Synthetic and Semi Synthetic only. Mineral hardly change form.

Your car in stationary behavior is it? One year never change oil. It will slowly damage and affect other parts in the engine due to clogs that generates inside the engine.

Just my 2cents, Cheers

JLean @ http://undercoverproject.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by JLean: Dec 20 2011, 12:38 PM
philipanda
post Dec 20 2011, 08:43 PM

66 posts

btw, why 5k km?
semi can go 8k km
ur car will get more n more slow
slow pick up. then later gasket spoil coz engine oil become
lesser... so be careful... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
zeone
post Dec 20 2011, 09:00 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

btw, why 5k km?
semi can go 8k km
Wat was mentioned are recommended oil change intervals. These can be "stretched" if need arises & no immediate serious harm may occur. tongue.gif

However, I've personally found that by following such schedules alwaz got good long term benefits. Good oil lubrication is most imperative in modern day engines that thrive on extracting the most output delivery.

Engine oil is the ONLY medium between all friction surfaces in an engine...& of course, the ONLY available protection!!

Thus, not "stretching" an oil change wld be a smart choice for a longer good engine performance & cut down premature wear & tear in an engine.

Your choice & decision... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Dec 20 2011, 09:01 PM
shinjite
post Dec 20 2011, 09:14 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

For me, every 3 months/5000km whichever comes first
No matter mineal, semi synthethic or fully synthethic
SUSjflcorp
post Dec 20 2011, 09:28 PM

DrFeelGood
1,219 posts

QUOTE(jcetham @ Dec 1 2011, 12:48 PM)

I am presently using Tesco's Semi Synthetic 10W-40 (RM54.90 to 69.90) presently in Civic 1.6 EXi (A) 1995 and am glad to report that the engine is running smoothly. Morning startups are smooth too. Very little oil burn as well. Able to extend mileage up to 8k km before oil change interval.

Overall, I feel that this oil is a bargain for the money despite what others say or fear about it. Of course I do not know what actually happens to the engine parts internally unless some mechanic takes it apart to verify its condition but since the engine is starting and running so smoothly, I am prepared to continue to use it.

Previously I have used Tesco's Mineral Grade 20W-50 (RM27.90 to 33.90) in Wira 1.5 (M) 1996 and report that morning startups appear to be not as smooth as compared to Tesco SS above perhaps due to thickness of oil affecting start up circulation. Once engine is warmed up, engine is smooth. Oil change interval is also less than that of Tesco's SS before engine seems to lose power and is less smooth. Best to stick to 5k km and below for oil change interval.

For this mineral grade, I feel that it is best for older vehicles and NOT for demanding drivers requiring high performance and extended oil change intervals. For the price, it may also serve as an engine flush if you wish it to - for a 500 or 1000 km drain interval. As for me, I will continue to use it within the limits described.

Overall Tesco branded stuff tends to sell at low prices and provide decent (not exceptional) performance for the little money. This comment does not relate to foodstuff as taste is highly subjective. I believe that Tesco can sell stuff at this rate due to global bulk purchase and distribution and no premium/cost is added in to pad up the branding, packaging, marketing and promotions.

To say that the product inside is "fake" or "recycled" seems to be off the edge. I have heard this from workshops and those who stick loyally to certain brands. Perhaps they cannot compete on the price and need to complain in this way.

So far, I have not seen or come across anything that confirms or strongly suggest that the product is recycled, fake, stolen or defective in some material way except remarks in passing.

As a matter of fact, the product is cheap and will appeal to those who are NOT brand conscious or demanding.
I agree with your statements. I am also using Tesco Engine Oil. Mineral 20W-50, so far so good for my Suzuki. My new car because forced by Proton SC, have to put useless Petronas Semi Costing Rm103, but on long distance the oil feels strained as well....

Also as with so many other essential items in our bolehland, engine oil is overly priced, so what is wrong if Tesco is able to break the evil cycle imposed upon us by unscrupulous government cronies and their distributors?

The EO has proper API ratings etc. Why can't Tesco brands?

Added on December 20, 2011, 9:32 pm

btw, why 5k km?
semi can go 8k km
This is all wastage forced upon us so that they(unscrupulous sc and oil manufacturers ) can cheat us....

My new Proton,Proton service sentre fill with useless so called semi synthethic petronas engine oil also they force us to service every 5k kms...

This post has been edited by jflcorp: Dec 20 2011, 09:32 PM
ben83
post Dec 20 2011, 09:50 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

Recently Tesco selling reputable brands fully synthetic now back at high prices RM 199
philipanda
post Dec 20 2011, 09:54 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Dec 20 2011, 09:50 PM)
Recently Tesco selling reputable brands fully synthetic now back at high prices RM 199
u can ignore those brands n but tesco brand..
no bad mah. juz brand only.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
zhelme
post Dec 22 2011, 05:09 PM

have been using Tesco mineral engine oil for the past 3 years. No problems. Driving a Honda Accord 2.0 with NGV 90% of the time.
sjz
post Mar 18 2012, 05:44 PM

3,876 posts

Tesco Semi-Syn 10W40 just bought it at CRAZY PRICE!!
RM34.90!!!
i won't believe i could get a SM/CF rated semi-syn oil at a price of mineral oil!!
kcgboyz
post Mar 18 2012, 06:08 PM

630 posts

when u bought it?got promotion today?which tesco
sjz
post Mar 18 2012, 08:57 PM

3,876 posts

QUOTE(kcgboyz @ Mar 18 2012, 06:08 PM)
when u bought it?got promotion today?which tesco
just bought it... rclxms.gif
so cheap!! even their 20w50 mineral oil i scan juz nw, it's w/o promotion & priced at RM36.90...
amazingly, semi synthetic 10w40 SM/CF rating RM34.90!!

i think the promotion is forthe weekend only..
last time i bought during promotion is RM60, usual RM69.90..
cheapest i heard before from my friend is RM54.90, my friend bought a few bottles back then..
i go to tesco extra here in penang...

buy 4 bottles... drool.gif

This post has been edited by sjz: Mar 18 2012, 09:07 PM
ibnuasad
post Mar 18 2012, 09:13 PM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

I have a mechanic friend and the actual supplier cost of SemiSyn is about RM40-RM60 only depending on the ratings. Fully Syn about RM70-RM100 and Mineral about RM20-RM40

TSultramaman
post Mar 19 2012, 09:23 AM

168 posts

interesting.
since you save money using tesco brand semi syn oils, do u guys enhance the oil further by adding oil addictive ? ( for e.g revo or ceratec and similar?)
JC999
post Mar 19 2012, 10:30 AM

659 posts

do you guys change oil yourself or bring it to the service centre?
kidmad
post Mar 19 2012, 10:40 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 19 2012, 09:23 AM)
interesting. 
since you save money using tesco brand semi syn oils, do u guys enhance the oil further by adding oil addictive ? ( for e.g revo  or ceratec and similar?)
haha want to save money already might as well don't add additive.
sjz
post Mar 19 2012, 04:22 PM

3,876 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 19 2012, 09:23 AM)
interesting. 
since you save money using tesco brand semi syn oils, do u guys enhance the oil further by adding oil addictive ? ( for e.g revo  or ceratec and similar?)
i don't think additive is needed as their semi syn oil has been rated SM/CF...
so the quality won't be too bad...
Castrol Magnatec Semi Syn is being rated SM/CF too..

Added on March 19, 2012, 4:23 pmbtw..i don't dare to use Tesco oil on my new Nissan..
only use semi syn for my iswara.

my new car used Castrol Edge Fully syn...
don't risk anything with the engine.. biggrin.gif
if old car, why not use semi syn for price of mineral oil? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sjz: Mar 19 2012, 04:24 PM
TSultramaman
post Mar 19 2012, 05:39 PM

168 posts

hows the castrol edge treating u ? better than mobil 1 ?
sjz
post Mar 19 2012, 11:45 PM

3,876 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Mar 19 2012, 05:39 PM)
hows the castrol edge treating u ? better than mobil 1 ?
yup...
i feel that castrol edge is a lot better than mobil 1...
both in FC and power...
but but but maybe i can't actually compare them, yet..not fair.. flex.gif
as castrol edge i use is 0w40, mobil 1 is 20w50...
both is fully syn...so it's normal mobil 1 cause my car under power, oil too thick... biggrin.gif

Tesco only sell 20w50 Mobil 1 fully syn...
after using 20w50 once, I won't buy 20w50 engine oil anymore... flex.gif

mdnurman
post Mar 20 2012, 12:01 AM

738 posts

20W50 fully syn? i think fully syn should be 0W or 5W... need to look up in wiki.. as far as i know... 0W-5W fully syn, 10W-15W semi-syn and 20W mineral multigrade thats why ur like under power... fully syn will be the thinnest while 20W will be the thickest (in 0W-20W range)

really need to look up regarding th oil

Added on March 20, 2012, 12:04 amjust checked mobil website.... mobil 1 20W-50 full syn is for motorcycle engine

This post has been edited by mdnurman: Mar 20 2012, 12:04 AM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:07 PM