8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

tesco brand engine oils, anyone dare to use?

Quazacolt
post Feb 10 2016, 05:56 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(foxfaisal @ Feb 9 2016, 03:20 AM)

advertising:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3310512

feel free.
foxfaisal
post Feb 12 2016, 01:46 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 10 2016, 06:56 PM)
Thank you for the information. I think I should post my posting over there in the 1st place :-p
hayenadeblue
post Feb 17 2016, 05:15 PM

53 posts

Hi all,
I've been buying branded EO from Tesco for years. Just came back from one continental shop in Bertam, Penang. The mech said that the same brand and SAE EO from Tesco is different with the similar brand bought from petrol station. I didn't argue with him. But I prefer to do some homework here for the next time I meet him. biggrin.gif

Here is my EO that I bought at Tesco last year for RM 199.

It said clearly that the EO is 0W40, MB-Approval 229.5/229.3, API SN/SM. If anyone is wondering, EO has a shelf life for 5 years.

Can anyone that use the same brand, same spec but bought this EO at petrol station/workshop that people said it is GENUINE post the EO pictures here? Just want to compare.

For info, this is my car's EO spec:

MB-Approval 229.3/229.31/229.5/229.51

There was someone in this thread that post about the API of the Tesco bought EO that is not in par with Malaysian standard. Do you see the above picture? It is API SN/SM. What is Malaysian standard? SO? SP? SZ?

Without discount/promotion, this EO cost around RM250 - RM27x if I'm not mistaken. I firmly believe that any branded EO at Tesco is genuine. But, I don't want to try Tesco's brand in my car. I always stick with car's manufacturer requirement.

One time, I brought my car to a workshop and the mech have a quick peek under the engine cover and he surprised that the top portion of my engine is very clean and not look like an over 10 years car.

For performance, morning startup is easy and smooth. There was one time I tried 5W40 EO and I wasn't satisfied with the smoothness. It was Shell if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by hayenadeblue: Feb 17 2016, 05:20 PM
voscar
post Feb 17 2016, 08:18 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(hayenadeblue @ Feb 17 2016, 05:15 PM)

I think Mobil and esso brand has quit petrol station business in Malaysia, so chances of getting the "genuine local" Mobil engine oil is low... Now only dependant on Tesco, Aeon, and some parallel import seller bring in this brand...

Used to seen Mobil and castrol semi syn oil rated API SL( 3 years back when API SN has just introduced) selling at Tesco and Carrefour. So I guess this is when good reasoning of "Lower grade engine oil selling by hypermarket" used by workshop started...

This post has been edited by voscar: Feb 17 2016, 08:21 PM
foxfaisal
post Feb 19 2016, 12:43 AM

114 posts

I just bought this brand (10W40) at AEON Big bor RM99.90. Would like to try 1 pack 1st. If satisfied, I would buy more :-)

heavensea
post Feb 20 2016, 10:18 PM

9,616 posts

If my car not under warranty period, I'll definitely pakai tesco oil. (Sebab murah!)
SUSdenimblue
post Jul 22 2016, 09:07 AM

1,217 posts

Is the price for this fully synthetic engine oil reasonable for a TESCO product?

wkc5657
post Jul 22 2016, 10:14 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 22 2016, 09:07 AM)
Is the price for this fully synthetic engine oil reasonable for a TESCO product?

Wa...super damn offer price...you can just buy for the heck of it and use it as flush oil for your engine if you're uncertain of the quality.

For myself, i used tesco oil before and driven it till 12,000km without problem. That time i buy was at the "offer" price of RM88 2 years ago. Looks like tesco is the only one trickling down the benefit of lower crude oil prices to the masses.
SUSdenimblue
post Jul 22 2016, 02:20 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 22 2016, 10:14 AM)
Wa...super damn offer price...you can just buy for the heck of it and use it as flush oil for your engine if you're uncertain of the quality.

For myself, i used tesco oil before and driven it till 12,000km without problem. That time i buy was at the "offer" price of RM88 2 years ago. Looks like tesco is the only one trickling down the benefit of lower crude oil prices to the masses.
Which one will you buy?

Quazacolt
post Jul 22 2016, 03:24 PM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 22 2016, 02:20 PM)
Which one will you buy?
trick question? hahaha
wkc5657
post Jul 22 2016, 03:56 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 22 2016, 02:20 PM)
Which one will you buy?

wa...website admin letak salah ke...the other way should be more reasonable...

You can just buy the gold one for the heck of it. Unbelievable can buy fully synthetic at RM60 for 4L.

(FYI, I used the gold one before)
SUSdenimblue
post Jul 22 2016, 04:48 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 22 2016, 03:56 PM)
wa...website admin letak salah ke...the other way should be more reasonable...

You can just buy the gold one for the heck of it. Unbelievable can buy fully synthetic at RM60 for 4L.

(FYI, I used the gold one before)
How do you find the gold one (fully synthetic)?

wkc5657
post Jul 22 2016, 04:55 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 22 2016, 04:48 PM)
How do you find the gold one (fully synthetic)?
nothing horrible, nothing fantastic, love the price on offer biggrin.gif
SUSdenimblue
post Jul 22 2016, 04:59 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 22 2016, 04:55 PM)
nothing horrible, nothing fantastic, love the price on offer  biggrin.gif
That's good enough for me. thumbup.gif

I already placed an order for the fully synthetic at RM69.

wkc5657
post Jul 22 2016, 11:36 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 22 2016, 04:59 PM)
That's good enough for me.  thumbup.gif

I already placed an order for the fully synthetic at RM69.
For that kind of price, nothing to complain.
SUSdenimblue
post Jul 23 2016, 08:53 AM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 22 2016, 11:36 PM)
For that kind of price, nothing to complain.
As expected, the price was increased from RM69 to RM89 this morning. laugh.gif

wkc5657
post Jul 23 2016, 09:13 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(denimblue @ Jul 23 2016, 08:53 AM)
As expected, the price was increased from RM69 to RM89 this morning.  laugh.gif

Wahahaha....now this revise price is the normal offer price....you untung lor rclxm9.gif
effectz
post Apr 27 2017, 03:53 PM

1,110 posts

Tesco brand is good in value for money
seikoho1
post Jul 6 2017, 06:25 PM

289 posts

Really
zeng
post Jul 7 2017, 02:23 PM

1,810 posts

Show me satu repot suggesting his car hancur after using Tesco house brand or Tesco euro engine oil, anyone ?

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0226sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:14 PM