105 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

=..=
post Mar 16 2012, 03:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 16 2012, 03:47 PM)
Whats the cpu temp when u were running this?
at full load 52-53 degrees C.
cloudwan
post Mar 16 2012, 04:11 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(=..= @ Mar 16 2012, 03:53 PM)
at full load 52-53 degrees C.
Try setting ur ram tRC higher & turn on (LLC = load line calibration) in ur bios & up ur CPU-NB volt abit also.. see how..
FYI Athlon II isn't much of a clocker, not many chips i have seen that can oc high.. hmm.gif
=..=
post Mar 16 2012, 05:06 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 16 2012, 04:11 PM)
Try setting ur ram tRC higher & turn on (LLC = load line calibration) in ur bios & up ur CPU-NB volt abit also.. see how..
FYI Athlon II isn't much of a clocker, not many chips i have seen that can oc high.. hmm.gif
increased the CPU/NB voltage to 1.2... seems to work on 220FSB........ how high is safe? as long as temp is good?
cloudwan
post Mar 16 2012, 05:09 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(=..= @ Mar 16 2012, 05:06 PM)
increased the CPU/NB voltage to 1.2... seems to work on 220FSB........ how high is safe? as long as temp is good?
Try to keep ur cpu/nb voltage below 1.35v is good enuff for 24/7 i believe.. I'm running mine at 1.3v IIANM.. forget already laugh.gif
Post ur latest SS lah smile.gif
8tvt
post Mar 16 2012, 05:10 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Mar 16 2012, 02:53 PM)
Surely best to have felt 3000mhz with 1000mhz ram speed....me have 1033 ram but only running 800mhz coz cpu is still the old Phenom 2 X4 sad.gif
that's the reason i not that picky on the ram..
maybe it's just best for me to use 1600ram with 2400nb..
need to start optimizing the resources...
=..=
post Mar 16 2012, 05:17 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 16 2012, 05:09 PM)
Try to keep ur cpu/nb voltage below 1.35v is good enuff for 24/7 i believe.. I'm running mine at 1.3v IIANM.. forget already  laugh.gif
Post ur latest SS lah smile.gif

Will try to up FSB together with cpu/nb volt later

soulfly
post Mar 16 2012, 09:42 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(=..= @ Mar 16 2012, 05:17 PM)

Will try to up FSB together with cpu/nb volt later
any luck with 4th unlocked core?
=..=
post Mar 16 2012, 09:49 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 16 2012, 09:42 PM)
any luck with 4th unlocked core?
Can unlock, but temp jump to 70C idle.... been looking for CM hyper 212 evo but cant find at my place....
8tvt
post Mar 17 2012, 08:39 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

still joy ride..
temp is killing me...
i wonder how stock cooler handle it..

maybe i should play within this range..
dafreak
post Mar 17 2012, 09:38 AM

1,064 posts

1.55v for 3.8GHz is a too high mang.. hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Mar 17 2012, 10:22 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 17 2012, 08:39 AM)
still joy ride..
temp is killing me...
i wonder how stock cooler handle it..

maybe i should play within this range..
Woahhhhhh that volt is kinda too high for that clock yoo.. u ken go lower than that.. do a mix of cpu volt + cpu/nb volt..

ah_khoo
post Mar 17 2012, 10:42 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

agreed with abg wan. abam 8 why not u try with quad core 1st & check whether d 2 unlocked cores are holdin d chip back? if d voltage needed for x6 is too high i'd rather stick to quad for 24/7. smile.gif

here was my best attempt on a 1055t. icon_rolleyes.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=2213996
8tvt
post Mar 17 2012, 10:58 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i set 1.45 ler.. this LLC or what ever settings in the bios increase it while loading..
if it really need to stabilize the cpu.. no choice edy to bring it down..

i doubt i use that kinda of setting full load 24/7.. so i let the system pulling some juice when ever they need it..

ofcourse i will optimize it later on.. but those extra voltage not concern me much..
i need better cooler...
Thrust
post Mar 17 2012, 11:02 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 17 2012, 10:42 AM)
agreed with abg wan. abam 8 why not u try with quad core 1st & check whether d 2 unlocked cores are holdin d chip back? if d voltage needed for x6 is too high i'd rather stick to quad for 24/7.  smile.gif

here was my best attempt on a 1055t.  icon_rolleyes.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=2213996
Actually is there any advantage by setting the Northbridge at 3GHz? The performance improvement is minimal right?
kuntawakaw
post Mar 17 2012, 11:06 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 17 2012, 11:02 AM)
Actually is there any advantage by setting the Northbridge at 3GHz? The performance improvement is minimal right?
not sure if all software scale like this.
but i use winrar test and the improvement was good

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=43420977
Thrust
post Mar 17 2012, 11:10 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Mar 17 2012, 11:06 AM)
not sure if all software scale like this.
but i use winrar test and the improvement was good

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=43420977
Looks like Winrar does scale well with higher Northbridge speed. However, I found that my 990FX chipset has a freaking hot Northbridge. It could hit 80+C under load.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Mar 17 2012, 11:10 AM
dafreak
post Mar 17 2012, 11:27 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 17 2012, 11:10 AM)
Looks like Winrar does scale well with higher Northbridge speed. However, I found that my 990FX chipset has a freaking hot Northbridge. It could hit 80+C under load.
northbridge on chip is not the same as the northbridge on the board nod.gif

on chip is normally refered to as the mem controller
cloudwan
post Mar 17 2012, 11:39 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Mar 17 2012, 11:27 AM)
northbridge on chip is not the same as the northbridge on the board nod.gif

on chip is normally refered to as the mem controller
yup, mem controller @ cpu-nb... Its not the same as NB=Northbridge smile.gif
Thrust
post Mar 17 2012, 11:50 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 17 2012, 11:39 AM)
yup, mem controller @ cpu-nb... Its not the same as NB=Northbridge smile.gif
So actually the temp that is heating up is the CPU NB?
8tvt
post Mar 17 2012, 11:55 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

which software is good to check cpu-nb voltage in windows?

Added on March 17, 2012, 12:08 pmi let the vCpu on auto..
cpu-nb @ 1.35v..

the thing is how to check the cpu-nb?
base on the HWmonitor if VIN8 is vRam... what is VIN3 and VIN6?

if VIN6 is cpu-nb.. no wonder the temp so high.. any advise?

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Mar 17 2012, 12:08 PM

105 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:16 PM