Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

yes why not? PAP is always malaysian friendly smile.gif
icycokes
post Jul 26 2011, 10:00 AM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 26 2011, 09:26 AM)
I wonder if the graduating class includes MBAs.

Anyway, my colleagues found out that while we were paying our finance intern $1000, Goldman Sachs was paying his classmate $8000, basically a graduate analyst's salary.

But our intern comes in at 9am, leaves by 6pm. Work is junior stuff. The GS intern apparently works 16hour days and weekends.
thats interesting. mind sharing more with regards to the intern's job scope since he is earning $8K and he has to work 16 hours a day because as far as i know internship in those BBs means office assistant work as in running errands, but mostly doing photocopy and fax.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Jul 26 2011, 10:02 AM
icycokes
post Jul 27 2011, 09:24 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 26 2011, 10:38 AM)
So?

Added on July 26, 2011, 10:41 amObviously, it's not just to photocopy and fax, right?

Even our intern is doing hands-on credit reviews and maintenance of our customer credit info database.

Since I'm not at GS, I don't know the job scope... but he's paid the same as a fresh analyst... so I'd expect he'd be doing all the spreadsheets, data crunching and drafting reports like the other analysts.
thanks for sharing. now i get a better idea.

well i could be wrong because i once attended a career talk conducted by HR folks in those BBs.. and they said the interns usually perform simple office admin work and even to the extent of buying/making coffee for their bosses. but they never rely the interns to do real work.

i thought its fair enough to hire someone with first class results to do those minor work at $8K.. especially in this amazing industry.
icycokes
post Jul 27 2011, 11:34 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 27 2011, 09:44 PM)
If you're the hiring manager in a bulge bracket bank, and you agree to pay $8K for an intern... why?

It's a 6 month job interview lah. The big salary is motivation for the interviewee to go all out during those 6 months, so that the hiring manager can see the real extent of his capabilities and make the right decision whether to hire him as permanent staff later on. But you're right that these banks are an "amazing" industry. No other company will approve this kind of budget.
i would definitely wanna see the personality of my potential staff. that is one very important thing. if he cant even handle those simple tasks without complaining then what more can i expect from him to perform other important tasks?

my perception is that everyone can actually work in those BBs, not just elites. because its not some rocket science work. so if i want to hire you, i would have need to make sure you are the right person with the right personality that i am looking for. if you dont have the skills or knowledge, i can always train you. but i cant train or change your attitude/mindset.

however the stiff competition today has made it so tough that they are now hiring only the cream of the crop.

you do have a point there. the company should use this opportunity to assess the candidate. i appreciate for your input as didnt thought of that. thanks for the enlightenment, and sorry if i am digressing smile.gif

Added on July 27, 2011, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(BASQUASH @ Jul 27 2011, 10:00 PM)
ezlink is a must for taking mrt? can't buy ticket with cash? thx
this is not KL..

trust me the convenience that the card gives definitely exceed the money you pay for it.

just buy the card.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Jul 27 2011, 11:40 PM
icycokes
post Jul 28 2011, 04:29 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(usopp @ Jul 28 2011, 01:32 PM)
tq bro for your reply.. and i'm really appreciate it.  i've been thinking about this job for quite few times.. i think i'm gonna roll the dice after raya. thanks again ya smile.gif  nod.gif
i must warn you that working as a Auxiliary police in spore is a very tough job. besides the mundane boring working job scope, they require you to work long hours (here i mean more than 12 hours a day). the turnover rate for the position is very high, and they are always recruting because they are always shorthanded.

most people quit because cannot stand of it. there must be some reasons why they pay you so well of its simple work tasks.

you will be working like a security guard. probably with no gun.. i am not sure but when last time i enquire about this job i was told no gun were to be given. if you see an aux with gun, then he must be a real cop. but that doesnt really matter.. make sure you can withstand these

- extreme long working hours (often need to work more than 12 hours a day)
- hard to apply for leave or MC (even when you sick your supervisor will force you to come work, because there is no one else to substitute you.. yes they are that shorthanded)
- tough working environment (sometime when they assign you to some events you cant even go to lunch/dinner or even go to toilet)

just sharing some insights here. i almost took up this job last time after my STPM. now i am glad i didnt.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Jul 28 2011, 04:32 PM
icycokes
post Jul 28 2011, 09:35 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 28 2011, 09:18 PM)
can, if u have the approval from IDA and the proper permit.
by right it should be like that.

but yours only one or two items... no need la.. dont scare people. just bring it over.
icycokes
post Jul 29 2011, 07:23 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 29 2011, 06:02 PM)
TEP appeal rejected. cry.gif  cry.gif
The HR said that
"The reason – The prospective employee does not meet their criteria for approval."

haiz..
dont know what's the exact reason again.
Anyone got any idea of what is the possible problem?
Any forumer or any HR people here got any idea on this?
maybe you should seek for another company. this TEP thing is seldom heard of.. and i seldom see foreigners doing their internship here.. even local undergraduate like me find it hard to secure a good internship in spore (not sure other field, but biz/banking is hard! as industrial training/internship is not so prevalent since its not our graduate requirement). so i would assume that the employer would need to satisfy some certain criterias.

even yourself last time also said this is the first time your company is doing this. so most likely its like the reason above, this company cannot apply for TEP.

keep your options open.

This post has been edited by icycokes: Jul 29 2011, 07:24 PM
icycokes
post Aug 5 2011, 09:46 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

based on my experience in school.. those ah tiongs are darn GOOD. easily own other students (like me) esp sporeans academically.

i dont think most of the tiongs can actually blend into the society well.. they usually mix with their own people and many of them are arrogant (guai lan because they excel in everything).

yes, you can easily tell from their appearance or accent on first look.

just my perception.
icycokes
post Aug 15 2011, 04:27 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

your HR dept has done the application for you and unfortunately your application failed.

this is very simple and why cant you understand?

all the HR not doing work or not helping you to appeal were merely your guesses. i dont think it is good to point your finger at anyone before you confirm.

why are you so desperate to coming to spore to intern? like i said earlier, it will not be easy. you can always come to work in spore later with your complete education.

you say you are not blaming anyone but you sound as you are. if you carry on the attitude like this, i dont think you will go far in your career.

all the best and stop whining
icycokes
post Aug 15 2011, 05:11 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Aug 15 2011, 04:36 PM)
hey man,
U didnt follow my whole story I guess.
Previously a company helped me applied, failed.
Appealed and failed. << yes, she did helped me to appeal. I am sorry for the wrong guess previously

Then as suggested by forummers, I leave it and move on to other company.
Currently what I am saying is already the second company that help me to process for the working pass.
I think you missed out the scenario.
This time I am not guessing, but is confirmed that he havent helped me to apply yet.
Cz the HR just contacted me. << not guessing this time
Well, I am thinking, why want to go through all the messes to apply for TEP?
Isnt WP is easier to apply since it does not requires a degree cert? Well suited for my current situation.
But the company must willing to pay the levy in the first place, right?

Added on August 15, 2011, 4:38 pm

hey man,
we are here to share, to learn and to help each other.
Not to criticise.
*peace* icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, I listed my case here just as a guideline for other ppl.

sharing is caring  thumbup.gif  blush.gif
ok, you may be right he has not apply for you yet. if you have just went through your interview like few days ago, please be patient. in case if you dont know, it is very normal in work field to take a few months time from interview to starting work for a new comer. like one of the forummer mentioned earlier, people do things by prioritizing. and yes you are not in their priority.

levy is one thing, are you gonna work with WP even after your graduation? whatever reason it is, i believe they have their reason not applying a WP for you. maybe you can find out from them.

however, the point i am going to make is that why so despo wanna intern in spore? despite the low pay, i think going through all these hassles is simply not worth it. i know i know you have your reasons to work here but you have to understand the fact that you are a foreigner in this land and it is their say whether you can or cannot work here.

since you have been rejected once, it is very likely that you will be rejected again. IMO, doing internship in msia wont differ much. no?

0.0546sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:41 PM