126 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

Compelica
post Aug 3 2011, 01:14 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Just confirming, Malaysians can stay in Singapore for 30 days? If I exhaust the allowed stay period there, would it be more practical to apply for a longer visit pass or to exit and re-enter the country?
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 01:16 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Aug 3 2011, 01:14 PM)
Just confirming, Malaysians can stay in Singapore for 30 days? If I exhaust the allowed stay period there, would it be more practical to apply for a longer visit pass or to exit and re-enter the country?
Think u can extend your stay for another 30 days....after that u have to exit..there's like a max stay of 60 days in at 90 days period...then not sure if there's a cooling off period.

Try this link
http://www.ica.gov.sg/services_centre_over...aspx?pageid=376

Please do some homework......
crapp0
post Aug 3 2011, 01:25 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 3 2011, 11:22 AM)
Different people have different needs. What is your needs at the first place?  rclxub.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 11:23 am
Abang, you are in O&G, so, you are all taken care of as employees in O&G sectors are like worker kings.  tongue.gif
Just go for a pantry raid ler. Im sure you have some cup noodles lying around.

Compelica
post Aug 3 2011, 01:46 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 01:16 PM)
Think u can extend your stay for another 30 days....after that u have to exit..there's like a max stay of 60 days in at 90 days period...then not sure if there's a cooling off period.

Try this link
http://www.ica.gov.sg/services_centre_over...aspx?pageid=376

Please do some homework......
I know you guys here must be tired of answering the same things again and again, but thanks for the affirmation wink.gif
xbeelkh
post Aug 3 2011, 02:06 PM

40 posts

Finally I gt a job offer. smile.gif
Now I have to find a room near to Jurong East station, which website do u recommend to find those room advs?
MsiaqweR
post Aug 3 2011, 02:19 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(xbeelkh @ Aug 3 2011, 02:06 PM)
Finally I gt a job offer. smile.gif
Now I have to find a room near to Jurong East station, which website do u recommend to find those room advs?
Wah, wat job u got offered?
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 02:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 01:05 PM)
I mean for the Malaysia side of the income tax lor.....I file as 0 income..because i'm working in singapore mah
OT yes...because it goes into your salary.....same as allowances...unless its reimbursement for company expenses then its not....if your hit around 20-22k maybe u dont even need to file one.
Ok I thought u r referring to Spore side just now.
I believed there must be clear guide on this whether submission is compulsory regardless of the amount or not. And certainly as well for exact amount exempted (20k? 22k?). But I might be wrong tho. Need to dig further on this for details.
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 03:04 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Aug 3 2011, 02:30 PM)
Ok I thought u r referring to Spore side just now.
I believed there must be clear guide on this whether submission is compulsory regardless of the amount or not. And certainly as well for exact amount exempted (20k? 22k?). But I might be wrong tho. Need to dig further on this for details.
I do my submission for BOTH sides..regardless of the amount....better to be safe than sorry....
deodorant
post Aug 3 2011, 03:22 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Malaysia side, the proper way to do it is get a CP-21 form from your company, then take that to LHDN and close off your tax file. Then u no need to worry to file anymore until you decide to move back to Malaysia.
xbeelkh
post Aug 3 2011, 03:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Aug 3 2011, 02:19 PM)
Wah, wat job u got offered?
application engineer, the whole interview process + waiting take around 1 month~

ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 03:55 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 03:04 PM)
I do my submission for BOTH sides..regardless of the amount....better to be safe than sorry....
Yup, understood on that.
The reason I'm asking is becoz I tried filling the Form M (non-resident), even if I put 19k, it still calculated there that I need to pay tax 15% of that total amount. Which means the relief of below 20k is not automatically done by the system. Therefore in order to get the relief meaning I need to declare as 0 income for that particular year in the form then only it calculate 0 tax to be paid. So is this the correct way? Becoz as I recall when I'm doing e-filling for Msia last time eventhough I'm still not eligible for paying tax at that time, I just put actual figure I earned that year then it will automatically shown in the system that I do not required to pay any tax amount. Different system I guess? But how can Spore system less advance than Msia, made me curious. Sorry laugh.gif

Furthermore I couldn't find any details in IRAS website as well regarding relief of tax for income less than 20k except for appended below. (My sincere apology if I had missed on that somewhere)

If You are Here for 61 Days to 182 Days in a Year
You will be regarded as a non-resident. The number of days in Singapore include weekends and public holidays.

As a non-resident:

You will only be taxed on all income earned in Singapore.
You will not be entitled to tax reliefs.
Your employment income will be taxed at a flat rate of 15% or the progressive resident rates depending on which results in a higher tax.
Director's fees and other income such as rent earned in or derived from Singapore will be taxed at the prevailing rate of 20%.
You are required to fill in Form M (Income Tax Return for Non-Residents)
Unquote

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 04:07 PM
crazy25kid
post Aug 3 2011, 04:04 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

^ Or it means you will be taxed no matter how little you earn if you are here for less than 183 days?

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 3 2011, 04:04 PM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 04:15 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 3 2011, 04:04 PM)
^ Or it means you will be taxed no matter how little you earn if you are here for less than 183 days?
That's what I want to confirm becoz I've read few post before mentioning that we do not require to pay tax if we work less than 183 days + total income for that period <SGD20K, which I do hope so laugh.gif
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 04:17 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Aug 3 2011, 04:15 PM)
That's what I want to confirm becoz I've read few post before mentioning that we do not require to pay tax if we work less than 183 days + total income for that period <SGD20K, which I do hope so  laugh.gif
Sadly it isnt........based on this calculator in excel which i've downloaded from IRAS websiteNon-resident tax calculator

For example...if you earn SGD20k....as a non-resident your tax will be at SGD3k....at the flat rate of 15%

Added on August 3, 2011, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 3 2011, 04:04 PM)
Looks like it

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Aug 3 2011, 04:19 PM
seantang
post Aug 3 2011, 04:42 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

To follow up on my earlier question on paying income tax with GIRO, just received my GIRO instalment schedule from my company's payroll dept. I set up the GIRO payment using internet banking on Jul 19, and the schedule from IRAS is dated Jul 22. That's pretty fast, only 3 days to respond. However, my company's payroll people sat on it for 2 weeks!

Anyway, IRAS split up the amount into 8 instalments from Sept11 to Apr12. Something about full payment for each prior year must be made by April.
Tigerr
post Aug 3 2011, 04:49 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 04:17 PM)
Sadly it isnt........based on this calculator in excel which i've downloaded from IRAS  websiteNon-resident tax calculator

For example...if you earn SGD20k....as a non-resident your tax will be at SGD3k....at the flat rate of 15%

Added on August 3, 2011, 4:19 pm
Looks like it
The flat rate of 15% is heavy, machiam "tai yee loong"...... rclxub.gif
seantang
post Aug 3 2011, 05:17 PM

6,624 posts

Someone was looking for GIRO branch codes earlier. Just remembered I had bookmarked this page previously:

http://www.hsbc.com.sg/1/2/miscellaneous/p...anch-codes#bank
SUSkockroach
post Aug 3 2011, 05:36 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 3 2011, 04:49 PM)
The flat rate of 15% is heavy, machiam "tai yee loong"...... rclxub.gif
Later can get refund if subsequent year still working in singapore.
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 05:42 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 3 2011, 05:36 PM)
Later can get refund if subsequent year still working in singapore.
How do they calculate the refund?
seantang
post Aug 3 2011, 05:43 PM

6,624 posts

Did anyone see the 8TV Ramadan PSA (Public Service Announcements) that created a firestorm online?

https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/8tvfb

126 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:14 AM