126 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

tailtwist
post Aug 2 2011, 10:35 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Aug 2 2011, 10:31 PM)
is it trur that foreigner will get taxed 20% of monthly pay?
no.......where u got that info from?

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1190
fastreader
post Aug 2 2011, 10:44 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 2 2011, 10:35 PM)
no.......where u got that info from?

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1190
i got it from some hearsay.. icon_rolleyes.gif

for foreigner?.."Foreigner who stayed/worked in Singapore for 183 days or more in previous year " this means tat anyone working for more than a year will be entitled to the tax rate of "Tax resident"?..am i interperting the thing corerctly?..
deodorant
post Aug 2 2011, 10:47 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

within one full year, if you work or stay in SG for 183 days or more, then you will be taxed as a 'local.' Otherwise you are taxed as a foreigner i.e. 15% flat.
tailtwist
post Aug 2 2011, 11:02 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Aug 2 2011, 10:44 PM)

for foreigner?.."Foreigner who stayed/worked in Singapore for 183 days or more in previous year " this means tat anyone working for more than a year will be entitled to the tax rate of "Tax resident"?..am i interperting the thing corerctly?..
yes.......the other criteria would be your income in that particular year doesnt hit around SG20k-21k, then you're not required to pay tax....to be precise its not working for more than a year.....its stayed/worked in Singapore for 183 days in a 365 days of a calendar year....else its a flat 15% tax rate

Added on August 2, 2011, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(fastreader @ Aug 2 2011, 10:44 PM)

here in singapore...alot of rules & regulations are stated in Black & White....not like in MY....where there's lotsa loopholes everywhere

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Aug 2 2011, 11:04 PM
Jurlique
post Aug 2 2011, 11:11 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

niasing, 1 thing i hate about SG is most food court hawkers close its stall at 9.30pm (regardless of shopping centres food courts or open-air ones)

So, everytime when u OT till/after 9.30pm, you hardly can find anything to makan. So, in the end, always ended-up makan McD, KFC or drink Starbucks that closes their shops at around 11pm.

I wonder Singaporeans dont prefer makan supper one ah?
We Malaysians always go yamca at food courts till 4am in the morning leh.
fastreader
post Aug 2 2011, 11:12 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 2 2011, 11:02 PM)
yes.......the other criteria would be your income in that particular year doesnt hit around SG20k-21k, then you're not required to pay tax....to be precise its not working for more than a year.....its stayed/worked in Singapore for 183 days in a 365 days of a calendar year....else its a flat 15% tax rate

Added on August 2, 2011, 11:04 pm
here in singapore...alot of rules & regulations are stated in Black & White....not like in MY....where there's lotsa loopholes everywhere
oic..ok..so looks like that 20% tax for foreigner is all BS.. tongue.gif

so if i work there for 1 year (more than 183 days la), then the rate would be according to the table la?..the rate on tat table doesn't look all that scary.. smile.gif

and thanks a lot tailtwist for that table!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
fbjkl
post Aug 2 2011, 11:43 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 2 2011, 11:11 PM)
niasing, 1 thing i hate about SG is most food court hawkers close its stall at 9.30pm (regardless of shopping centres food courts or open-air ones)

So, everytime when u OT till/after 9.30pm, you hardly can find anything to makan. So, in the end, always ended-up makan McD, KFC or drink Starbucks that closes their shops at around 11pm.

ya, kind of fed up already...just eating cereal oat + fruits +bread/cookies during weekdays... smile.gif i eat everything during weekends with some exercises biggrin.gif

reasons:

1) no appetite to have heavy dinner. too tired.
2) trying to control z-axis development of my body. doh.gif hard to lose the fats accumulated at my stomach. cry.gif
3) not-so-fresh vege/meat at mixed rice stall. sweat.gif
4) impatient to wait for my food if i make order.
5) too oily foods like fried rice/fried noodles...
6) too lazy to queue up for my soup noodles.
7) i have phobia for fast food like McD, KFC, Pastamania, Pizza Hut, Domino Pizza....always called for delivery when I were on OT last time... sweat.gif
8) don't want to end up eating instant noodles...it's fattening as well...

any recommendation for the dinner? icon_question.gif
r1v3r
post Aug 2 2011, 11:45 PM

1,305 posts

Depend on your area. There are a few kopitiam and foodcourt that are open 24 hrs or till early am in amk.
Mackiddo
post Aug 3 2011, 05:03 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 2 2011, 11:45 PM)
Depend on your area. There are a few kopitiam and foodcourt that are open 24 hrs or till early am in amk.
there a lot of nite makan place, just that you have to drive or take a cab there. places like NUS nasi lemak, jln kayu roti prata, Eat 24, etc etc. sometimes I'll just drive down to JB.
kurt99909
post Aug 3 2011, 05:51 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 2 2011, 11:11 PM)

err...your company din provide food for those who are still working after 9pm?
Mackiddo
post Aug 3 2011, 07:54 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Aug 3 2011, 05:51 AM)
got such thing ? normally we just call up mcD, KFC or pizza and charge it to the company.

Added on August 3, 2011, 7:56 am
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 2 2011, 10:16 PM)
your digi got roaming or not?prepaid normally will be activated by default normally...cause i've been on DiGi all these while...started with prepaid.....the move to postpaid...now back to prepaid...since i'm based here in spore...
same, digi prepare here. My place here can get digi signal, very strong, 4 out of 5 bar. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 3 2011, 07:56 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 3 2011, 08:35 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

dodorant... i got the list of codes... but how to send to you ar?
crapp0
post Aug 3 2011, 08:40 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Aug 3 2011, 05:51 AM)
Yea, its odd that you dont get food if u work late nites. When i am onboard the rigs i get essentially unlimited free food and drinks. Best part is the kitchen is open 24/7 so if you have the late nite munchies, you can still have some leftovers or if the chief cook is generous, he'll bake some fresh sausage rolls for tea breaks. Plus every fortnight is BBQ nite.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 3 2011, 08:41 AM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 09:01 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 2 2011, 11:02 PM)
For somebody who worked less than 183 days and income for that particular year doesn't hit SGD 20k, did he still required to submit/filling his tax to IRAS?

Or it is automatically exempted?

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 03:29 PM
monsta2011
post Aug 3 2011, 11:10 AM

432 posts

Hello, is it recommended to apply for PR?
Tigerr
post Aug 3 2011, 11:22 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 3 2011, 11:10 AM)
Hello, is it recommended to apply for PR?
Different people have different needs. What is your needs at the first place? rclxub.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 11:23 am
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Aug 3 2011, 08:40 AM)
Yea, its odd that you dont get food if u work late nites. When i am onboard the rigs i get essentially unlimited free food and drinks. Best part is the kitchen is open 24/7  so if you have the late nite munchies, you can still have some leftovers or if the chief cook is generous, he'll bake some fresh sausage rolls for tea breaks. Plus every fortnight is BBQ nite.
Abang, you are in O&G, so, you are all taken care of as employees in O&G sectors are like worker kings. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tigerr: Aug 3 2011, 11:23 AM
monsta2011
post Aug 3 2011, 11:35 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 3 2011, 11:22 AM)
Different people have different needs. What is your needs at the first place?  rclxub.gif
Ease of getting a job. wink.gif Is there any difference if I hold a work pass or a PR? I heard that if a person renounce his/hers PR he/she will no longer be able to work in Sg?
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 12:05 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Aug 3 2011, 09:01 AM)
For somebody who worked less than 183 days and income for that particular year doesn't hit SGD 20k, did he still required to submit/filling his tax to IRA?

Or it is automatically exempted?
I would still do a filling....same as my income tax in Malaysia.....i would file it as 0 income.....better to be safe than sorry

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 3 2011, 11:35 AM)
Ease of getting a job.  wink.gif  Is there any difference if I hold a work pass or a PR? I heard that if a person renounce his/hers PR he/she will no longer be able to work in Sg?
when u get a PR.....its easier to you to move between jobs...u dont need to go to MOM and apply & wait & worst gets rejected...the hiring company can straight away offer you as a PR the offer letter.

This next question I'm not too sure. But I know that if renounce his/her PR so that in order to get the full amount in the CPF...then yes you will no longer be able to work in SG......not even on a work permit...basically can come in as a tourist only.

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Aug 3 2011, 12:08 PM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 12:29 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 12:05 PM)
I would still do a filling....same as my income tax in Malaysia.....i would file it as 0 income.....better to be safe than sorry
File the income as 0? Not the actual income during the period i.e 19k? Meaning it does not automatically exempted in the system am I correct?
Finger crossed that mine would not exceed 20k this time. 15% is quite hefty amount sweat.gif

Btw is OT insclusive as taxed income?
Never got OT in my past employment thus not sure bout this.

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 12:36 PM
tailtwist
post Aug 3 2011, 01:05 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Aug 3 2011, 12:29 PM)
File the income as 0? Not the actual income during the period i.e 19k? Meaning it does not automatically exempted in the system am I correct?
Finger crossed that mine would not exceed 20k this time. 15% is quite hefty amount  sweat.gif

Btw is OT insclusive as taxed income?
Never got OT in my past employment thus not sure bout this.
I mean for the Malaysia side of the income tax lor.....I file as 0 income..because i'm working in singapore mah
OT yes...because it goes into your salary.....same as allowances...unless its reimbursement for company expenses then its not....if your hit around 20-22k maybe u dont even need to file one.

126 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:24 PM