louvre windows, opinions wanted
TSSkydrop
Jul 5 2011, 10:02 PM, updated 15y ago
Hi I noticed the current trend is moving away from louvre windows. Wonder if anybody still prefer louvre windows and why? Saw this http://www.breezway.com.au/ and feel that it's kinda cool! What's your opinion? Thanks
weikee
Jul 5 2011, 10:26 PM
This one like the olden days 8 leafs windows. For non guarded house is not practical. I was looking at this too, but above my budget and not safe for my housing area.
kucingfight
Jul 5 2011, 10:48 PM
wow old skool stuffs..brings me back to the ole days...somehow, it's not my thing
weikee
Jul 5 2011, 11:01 PM
Another type i like "grill" is the kopi shop type. Now is also in trend, but the thickness is so thin.
skng03
Jul 6 2011, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 5 2011, 10:02 PM) Hi I noticed the current trend is moving away from louvre windows. Wonder if anybody still prefer louvre windows and why? Saw this http://www.breezway.com.au/ and feel that it's kinda cool! What's your opinion? Thanks look nice, can maximize air flow but........ you/ your maids will have hard time to clean the glass, always got leaking problem when heavy rain + strong wind
TSSkydrop
Jul 6 2011, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 5 2011, 10:26 PM) This one like the olden days 8 leafs windows. For non guarded house is not practical. I was looking at this too, but above my budget and not safe for my housing area. Yeah, I like most is the airflow into the house. This one, I guess you need to instal security bar or grill for more protection. skng03, got leaking problem meh? That I am not aware of because I'm not doing the cleaning last time  But now This post has been edited by Skydrop: Jul 6 2011, 11:48 AM
weikee
Jul 6 2011, 11:52 AM
This version will not leak, saw a demo last week on the Achidex.
And is sure tough to clean. All this need to have maid.
kelvyn
Jul 6 2011, 02:56 PM
Was having the louvered windows for my back rooms previously. If using air con, they do not provide a good seal.
As for security, could always install grilles. Even for those casement and sliding windows, would need grilles anyway.
weikee
Jul 6 2011, 03:01 PM
Not nice lah with this windows + Grill. You know the conventional "8 leaf" windows, come with metal bar already. Better
TSSkydrop
Jul 6 2011, 03:01 PM
Yeah, cleaning part is a challenge now. Sliding windows are easy to clean but I don't like it when one part of the window is blocking airflow (I am not a fans of aircond, so natural ventilation is important for me.) I visited them at Archidex but no promo pun  Added on July 6, 2011, 3:03 pmQUOTE(weikee @ Jul 6 2011, 03:01 PM) Not nice lah with this windows + Grill. You know the conventional "8 leaf" windows, come with metal bar already. Better  Everything looks nice without grills. But security purpose, no choice. Not only have to clean windows, grills also have to clean. This post has been edited by Skydrop: Jul 6 2011, 03:03 PM
gunh
Jul 6 2011, 05:15 PM
not good to prevent dust coming into the house... also u will need an awning for that as during heavy rain, water may seep inside...
TSSkydrop
Jul 13 2011, 01:01 PM
Thanks gunh. The demo macam simbah air also tak masuk  Not sure if the quality nowdays is really better than olden days though.
skng03
Jul 13 2011, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 6 2011, 11:46 AM) skng03, got leaking problem meh? QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 13 2011, 01:01 PM) Thanks gunh. The demo macam simbah air also tak masuk  Not sure if the quality nowdays is really better than olden days though. every window co. can do demo and guaranty leak free, but in reality most of them failed the leak test when they carry out on site with <water jet>