>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

eveready
post Apr 3 2019, 12:23 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Apr 3 2019, 11:25 AM)
If I only select nvme, and none for hdd, will I have the cable /adapter for hdd to motherboard?

----sleep.gif-------
Same for t480,
If I choose hdd, later want change to nvme, I need to find the cable/adapter myself?

-sleep.gif----------
Want get x1e but currently budget Abit tight as my car ICE broken......
The nvme adapter is not that cheap. On ebay, around RM300.
The speed increament not really justify using sata ssd vs nvme (2 lanes)
hong3831
post Apr 3 2019, 02:04 PM

314 posts

So my X1E shipping lead time changed from 8Apr to 22Apr...Lenovo ah Lenovo...
keyser soze
post Apr 3 2019, 02:09 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Apr 3 2019, 02:04 PM)
Normal lah.
prasys
post Apr 3 2019, 06:28 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Apr 3 2019, 11:25 AM)
If I only select nvme, and none for hdd, will I have the cable /adapter for hdd to motherboard?

----sleep.gif-------
Same for t480,
If I choose hdd, later want change to nvme, I need to find the cable/adapter myself?

-sleep.gif----------
Want get x1e but currently budget Abit tight as my car ICE broken......
Just get the T480 if you are going for it. Good value for money...worry about storage later..once NVME comes cheap , swap out for a larger storage

QUOTE(hong3831 @ Apr 3 2019, 02:04 PM)
Normal
koji188
post Apr 7 2019, 07:24 PM

115 posts

New X1 Carbon user checking in! Waited a month for this baby. It's my first windows laptop after 10 years of being Mac user. Holy cow the build quality is amazing. The 500 nits screen is incredible. Who else has an X1C and how long have you owned it? Looking to have this for at least 3-5 years, fingers crossed.
prasys
post Apr 7 2019, 08:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 7 2019, 07:24 PM)
New X1 Carbon user checking in! Waited a month for this baby. It's my first windows laptop after 10 years of being Mac user. Holy cow the build quality is amazing. The 500 nits screen is incredible. Who else has an X1C and how long have you owned it? Looking to have this for at least 3-5 years, fingers crossed.
It will last , don't worry . The build quality is amazing and it gives you the feeling of MacBook during Steve Jobs era , not the crappy MacBooks that they make now

You can go check out in reddit , thinkpads are built to last
koji188
post Apr 7 2019, 09:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 7 2019, 08:21 PM)
It will last , don't worry . The build quality is amazing and it gives you the feeling of MacBook during Steve Jobs era , not the crappy MacBooks that they make now

You can go check out in reddit , thinkpads are built to last
Is there a link for X1C for Reddit? I've only seen very limited post on it. It's mostly on other Lenovo laptops.
prasys
post Apr 7 2019, 09:24 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 7 2019, 09:21 PM)
Is there a link for X1C for Reddit? I've only seen very limited post on it. It's mostly on other Lenovo laptops.
No but you gotta search. There are amazing tutorials for it

https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comments/...t_do_i_need_to/

widget
post Apr 8 2019, 09:11 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 7 2019, 07:24 PM)
I have an X1C6 since the new year but mine only WQHD, without HDR.
Just like you, it's also my 1st Windows laptop after using MBP for the past 10 years.
The things I like about the X1C6 is the typing experienced and the weight.
koji188
post Apr 8 2019, 05:58 PM

115 posts

How is the customer service for Lenovo? The one thing I really liked about owning a Mac was it's customer service. Even authorised service centers repaired my Mac pretty quick.
koji188
post Apr 9 2019, 07:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 8 2019, 05:58 PM)
How is the customer service for Lenovo? The one thing I really liked about owning a Mac was it's customer service. Even authorised service centers repaired my Mac pretty quick.
No reply? Ok I'm guessing no one can say anything good about it. 😅 That's worrying.
keyser soze
post Apr 9 2019, 07:24 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 9 2019, 07:18 PM)
No reply? Ok I'm guessing no one can say anything good about it. 😅 That's worrying.
My thinkpad is so good till no need to worry about warranty. In fact ours mostly is on site warranty. They send someone to your place.
prasys
post Apr 9 2019, 07:44 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 9 2019, 07:18 PM)
International + on-site warranty and you can replace your own parts. The part numbers are all there , service manual also there...can DIY yourself also

that's why it is very friendly for companies to swap/upgrade/replace.....
grabulasa
post Apr 9 2019, 11:41 PM

60 posts

Easter sale going on at Lenovo Malaysia. After discount X1C 6th Gen going for RM5400. Should I pull the trigger? It's either this or Dell XPS 13.
SUSEBBattlefield
post Apr 9 2019, 11:43 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

T430

i5-3230m
8g ddr3
240gb mSATA+750HDD
NVS5400M
afiqsabri
post Apr 10 2019, 01:27 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(grabulasa @ Apr 9 2019, 11:41 PM)
Easter sale going on at Lenovo Malaysia. After discount X1C 6th Gen going for RM5400. Should I pull the trigger? It's either this or Dell XPS 13.
If you love typing...go for x1c, it has plenty of ports too, else...go for x1c also....lol...
widget
post Apr 10 2019, 08:13 AM

1,156 posts

I was in the same boat as your before.
Either I remains as an MBP user just like the pass 10 years or jump ship to XPS13 or X1C6.

But as the above poster comments, if you type a lot and need plenty of ports, go for X1C6.
You also get additional warranty for just RM1 whereas for XPS13, 3 years warranty will easily cost additional RM7xx to 8xx

This post has been edited by widget: Apr 10 2019, 08:15 AM
prasys
post Apr 10 2019, 09:10 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Go for it smile.gif
grabulasa
post Apr 10 2019, 09:38 AM

60 posts

Thanks all. Checked this morning and there was a flash sale for the same laptop plus add ons so got it all in for RM 4972. Hope it ships!
widget
post Apr 10 2019, 09:43 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(grabulasa @ Apr 10 2019, 09:38 AM)
Thanks all. Checked this morning and there was a flash sale for the same laptop plus add ons so got it all in for RM 4972. Hope it ships!
If you're OK with the config and don't need to customize, I'd say go for it.
It comes with 512GB SSD too, instead of the usual 256GB

234 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:03 PM