Vaccinations, yes or no for your babies?
TSEnPoiNte
Jul 5 2011, 04:48 PM, updated 15y ago

Hi all mommies and daddies,
I was wondering if you do send your babies for those extra vaccinations like pneumococcal and rotavirus? Any side effects? Just want to know if it is neccessary though...
and do you go for these vaccines?
sbux
Jul 5 2011, 05:57 PM

I opt for everything. Rotavirus is a oral medication while pheumococcal is another jab.
what do u mean by side effects?
merchant9
Jul 6 2011, 09:33 AM
Although my parents advised us against optional vaccination, we took them anyway because nowadays, parents want the best protection for their children.
Elder mentality thinks that it is unnecessary to have so many poison (vaccine) injected into body.
Syd G
Jul 6 2011, 10:43 AM
Mom. Servant of God.
Vaccine is not really poison, but it's the virus itself  There are parents who dont want to vaccinate their kids at all - calling the pharmaceutical companies as greedy and questioning the content of the vaccine. In this case I take a neutral stand - I vaccinate my child but only the necessary ones. Regarding the rotavirus vaccination : http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/newsmaster.cfm?...eid=207&lang=ENDo enlighten me - why do some moms are gungho with protecting the young with all the available vaccines but arent really keen on breastfeeding?
phythia79
Jul 6 2011, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 6 2011, 10:43 AM) Vaccine is not really poison, but it's the virus itself  There are parents who dont want to vaccinate their kids at all - calling the pharmaceutical companies as greedy and questioning the content of the vaccine. In this case I take a neutral stand - I vaccinate my child but only the necessary ones. Regarding the rotavirus vaccination : http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/newsmaster.cfm?...eid=207&lang=ENDo enlighten me - why do some moms are gungho with protecting the young with all the available vaccines but arent really keen on breastfeeding? In the US...from what I read..the parents over there tend not to vaccinate their kids. I chose to just vaccinate the necessary ones. And on the breastfeeding part..kekeeke..you are spot on
nonameNo
Jul 6 2011, 05:01 PM
the doctor recommended us the rotavirus. so we just send my baby for vaccine... as all bill to company. ahaha.
Secret Hunter
Jul 13 2011, 06:56 AM

pneumococcal = respiratory infection rotavirus = gastrointestinal infection
depends on parents.. usually, those who vaccines which are already the MOH guidelines are sufficient. Unless, the child has any co-morbid that predisposes him/her to these infection.
moorish
Jul 13 2011, 10:33 AM
extra vaccine I give
pneumococcal and chicken pox.
Ekaterina
Jul 13 2011, 02:09 PM
We did all that recommended by malaysian MOH (I checked with our guidelines - almost the same). No additional jabs.
stupidbump
Jul 15 2011, 08:43 AM
Mind to share where to get a precise and complete malaysian MOH guideline for these jabs? I want to know which is necessary, and which is optional.
phythia79
Jul 15 2011, 09:36 AM
If I'm not mistaken the doctor will give a card with the list of jabs needed..those are the ones that are compulsory by MOH. The ones stated above like the rotavirus and pneumococcal are optional which aren't stated in the card (for mine that is). Usually the doctor will advise about the optional ones.
moorish
Jul 15 2011, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jul 15 2011, 09:36 AM) If I'm not mistaken the doctor will give a card with the list of jabs needed..those are the ones that are compulsory by MOH. The ones stated above like the rotavirus and pneumococcal are optional which aren't stated in the card (for mine that is). Usually the doctor will advise about the optional ones. chicken pox oso not compulsary
stupidbump
Jul 15 2011, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jul 15 2011, 09:36 AM) If I'm not mistaken the doctor will give a card with the list of jabs needed..those are the ones that are compulsory by MOH. The ones stated above like the rotavirus and pneumococcal are optional which aren't stated in the card (for mine that is). Usually the doctor will advise about the optional ones. Can we bring the baby to Gov Clinics or Gov Hospitals for these jabs even if we opt to deliver the baby in a private hospital?
Snowee
Jul 24 2011, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Jul 15 2011, 09:51 AM) Can we bring the baby to Gov Clinics or Gov Hospitals for these jabs even if we opt to deliver the baby in a private hospital? Yes i delivered my bb in private hospital and register my bb for jab at gov clinic. At the gov clinic i was informed by the nurse that they hv improve the formula for the 3 jabs of DPT,Hib,IPV jab which has also include pneumococcal in it. At first i was planning to take it at private clinic since it is included. . .Save my money.
achcmy
Jul 24 2011, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(Snowee @ Jul 24 2011, 05:43 PM) Yes i delivered my bb in private hospital and register my bb for jab at gov clinic. At the gov clinic i was informed by the nurse that they hv improve the formula for the 3 jabs of DPT,Hib,IPV jab which has also include pneumococcal in it. At first i was planning to take it at private clinic since it is included. . .Save my money. Where do you register your bb for free jabs? Any govt hospital will do? Thanks, AC