The Official Blu-ray Thread v13, Let's sharing BD news & BD purchase. ;)

Boy96
post Aug 15 2011, 09:27 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

RIO 3D Blu-Ray not available yet in Amazon.com/Amazon.co.uk

But I went to Sony Style KLCC edi got... RM119 only? Should I get it?
Boy96
post Aug 16 2011, 12:38 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 15 2011, 09:50 PM)
RIO 3D is release late in Amazon, only 30/August will available, this title is release earlier by bestbuy on 6/August but bestbuy only for US. You can get it now at eBay or wait until 30/August get from Amazon.

US edition came with 2 BD which include 3D edition and 2D edition, + 2 DVD which include a DVD and digital copy + a nice slipcover. I don't think local copy do that. 99% local copy only came with single disc edition in standard blue amaray case without slipcover and higher price.
I see, slipcover I am not sure got or not, but I am the type of person who only watch the movie once, then blu-ray put in closed cupboard.. and I dont really use the DVD nor the digital copy..

but then, I probably wont buy it cause this movie's aspect ratio is 2.40:1 which is horrible for my TV.. summore + its 3d. hayoo

Not full screen + the infamous Crosstalk on LG LX6500 = rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

recommend me a good 3D movie, that is full screen, and not too expensive...
Boy96
post Aug 16 2011, 08:22 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 16 2011, 08:05 AM)
I prefer my movies in 2.35:1 or 2.40:1, even animation.

Example animation from Pixar framed in 1.85:1

Toy Story, Toy Story 2, Toy Story 3, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, and Up

Example animation from Pixar framed in 2:35:1

A Bug's Life, The Incredibles, Cars, Ratatouille, and WALL-E

All in all, give me 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 any day.
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 16 2011, 09:15 AM)
No 2.40:1 ... hmmmm ... Even though I love 1.78:1 or 1.85:1 but I won't reject on 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 and above, or even 1.33:1 as I prefer watching movie in origin aspect ratio. They is nothing horrible in it, you will get use to it after a while and appreciate it as actually 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 is the most beauty aspect ratio for film.

Example few below is movie in 3D with aspect ratio of 1.85:1 or 1.78:1
Thx, not that I dont like 2:35:1 movies, but the amount of flashlighting on my TV makes watching movies with black bars unwatchable.. and the black bars are so gray... not true black...
Boy96
post Aug 17 2011, 01:07 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 16 2011, 11:56 PM)
What telly u r using?
LG 42LX6500, u can really notice the black bars are gray if u sit at an angle which is not straight infront of the TV
Boy96
post Aug 17 2011, 02:05 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 17 2011, 01:28 PM)
That bad? Ever try on fine tuning it?
Sometimes I feel like I just wanna reduce the brightness of the black bars..

if I reduce the brightness, everything will be dark..
Boy96
post Aug 18 2011, 10:51 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 17 2011, 03:53 PM)
I had no idea on LG, but I never seen that bad LED.

Probably your unit issue, or too high brightness, try factory default and re-tune from there?

** Are you watching in 100% complete dark room? If yes, then you probably need Plasma as LED not suitable for such environment.
Im not in a dark room, but nvm lah, oredi got the TV.. what to do...

QUOTE(bobtahar @ Aug 17 2011, 04:08 PM)
While we are on the topic of LG... have any you guys has experience with LG42PW450... currently the cheapest 3D tv in market. Harvey Norman sell it at RM2299.

As at today I can't find any store demoing the 3D capability of this unit, even at Harvey Norman.
I saw the demo (2D only lah), PQ sucks la, non vivid at all
Boy96
post Oct 21 2011, 08:51 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

3D Blu-Ray movies are still expensive.. sigh.. Many of them >$27 and the cheap ones from UK are Region B locked sad.gif
Boy96
post Oct 23 2011, 09:32 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Oct 21 2011, 09:07 PM)
Studios are not charity organization. Their don't sell it slight expensive at this time when 3D is still considered "new", when should their sell it expensive? Future?  Their need profit to live in bigger house.  tongue.gif

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2 (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2011][Region Free] - £14.99

and

Ocean Wonderland - (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) - £7.97

I wanna order now, but the hari putar muvie December only out.. then later both the movies price sky rocket... haiyooo..

Can recommend any 3D movies that is good (pop out, no crosstalk, region free/A,) that is less than £ 10?

0.0440sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:29 PM