The Official Blu-ray Thread v13, Let's sharing BD news & BD purchase. ;)
johnbluraylover
Aug 8 2011, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 03:17 PM) Yup, my copy is US edition, the US edition extra special features DVD is region 1 (if not mistaken the LOTR EE BD of DVD part is region 1 locked). If your blu-ray player is Sony, it is playable as Sony Blu-ray player of DVD part is region Free. If your blu-ray player is Samsung, the DVD part is locked to region 3, but it is easier to unlock it via remote control. Google around for solution. I had no idea for others brand. If your blu-ray player DVD part is locked, you can grab any standalone DVD player in market, 99.99% DVD player in market is region Free now. No issue for the BD (blu-ray disc) as US is same region as Malaysia which is Region A. ** The LOTR EE Blu-ray extra special features DVD is exactly same as previous release DVD version. AMZ UK - 20TH FOX sometimes still got slip cover just received GRINHOUSE from AMZ CANADA, no slipcover. so all packing lover please stay away from it. AMZ DE got steelbook sales now.
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Aug 8 2011, 02:35 PM) AMZ UK - 20TH FOX sometimes still got slip cover just received GRINHOUSE from AMZ CANADA, no slipcover. so all packing lover please stay away from it. AMZ DE got steelbook sales now. Thanks for the information, lucky I not buying Canada edition Grinhouse. That the main reason, sometimes I more prefer eBay to be more confirm came with slipcover. Or buy 1st release, no choice for more expensive a bit, as I need slipcover!  At least it still cheaper than buying the slipcover later separately. This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 8 2011, 02:41 PM
bzz
Aug 8 2011, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 02:17 PM) Yup, my copy is US edition, the US edition extra special features DVD is region 1 (if not mistaken the LOTR EE BD of DVD part is region 1 locked). If your blu-ray player is Sony, it is playable as Sony Blu-ray player of DVD part is region Free. If your blu-ray player is Samsung, the DVD part is locked to region 3, but it is easier to unlock it via remote control. Google around for solution. I had no idea for others brand. If your blu-ray player DVD part is locked, you can grab any standalone DVD player in market, 99.99% DVD player in market is region Free now. No issue for the BD (blu-ray disc) as US is same region as Malaysia which is Region A. ** The LOTR EE Blu-ray extra special features DVD is exactly same as previous release DVD version. Thanks bro!
johnbluraylover
Aug 8 2011, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 03:38 PM) Thanks for the information, lucky I not buying Canada edition Grinhouse. That the main reason, sometimes I more prefer eBay to be more confirm came with slipcover. Or buy 1st release, no choice for more expensive a bit, as I need slipcover!  At least it still cheaper than buying the slipcover later separately. i was shock when i found out the $ of the slipcover is actually > than the bd itself. however as it is collector's item, i cannot comment on the $ as it is consider "art" rather than a product anymore. some of the seller at lowyat still sell the BD with slipcover at a resonable $, but u might have to do lots of searching.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Aug 8 2011, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Aug 8 2011, 03:00 PM) i was shock when i found out the $ of the slipcover is actually > than the bd itself. however as it is collector's item, i cannot comment on the $ as it is consider "art" rather than a product anymore. some of the seller at lowyat still sell the BD with slipcover at a resonable $, but u might have to do lots of searching. Most of the 1st press Slipcovers has now..been categorized as "Rare". The cost , obviously slightly higher than the Blu-ray price itself.
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Aug 8 2011, 03:00 PM) i was shock when i found out the $ of the slipcover is actually > than the bd itself. however as it is collector's item, i cannot comment on the $ as it is consider "art" rather than a product anymore. some of the seller at lowyat still sell the BD with slipcover at a resonable $, but u might have to do lots of searching. Thanks, but I not interesting on it at the moment.
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 8 2011, 03:33 PM) Most of the 1st press Slipcovers has now..been categorized as "Rare". The cost , obviously slightly higher than the Blu-ray price itself. That why, if you love slipcover, is better purchase on 1st press. No need worried on how rare they are later and eventually spending more later.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Aug 8 2011, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 04:44 PM) That why, if you love slipcover, is better purchase on 1st press. No need worried on how rare they are later and eventually spending more later. For some price matters, for some quantity matters, for some interior matters, for some quality matters..
fadthil
Aug 8 2011, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 8 2011, 05:52 PM) For some price matters, for some quantity matters, for some interior matters, for some quality matters.. ...and for me: place where u purchase oso matters!
nazmanson
Aug 8 2011, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Aug 8 2011, 03:00 PM) i was shock when i found out the $ of the slipcover is actually > than the bd itself. however as it is collector's item, i cannot comment on the $ as it is consider "art" rather than a product anymore. some of the seller at lowyat still sell the BD with slipcover at a resonable $, but u might have to do lots of searching. QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 8 2011, 03:33 PM) Most of the 1st press Slipcovers has now..been categorized as "Rare". The cost , obviously slightly higher than the Blu-ray price itself. Yup I agree recently I was informed that Dracula slipcover was selling at RM150  so I have to forget it
johnsontys
Aug 8 2011, 09:08 PM

A quick check with B&N noted that the 8-disc Lion- King can be pre-ordered at USD57.77,.more than twenty dollar cheaper than AMZ.
Can anybody.confirm this?
johnbluraylover
Aug 8 2011, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 05:42 PM) Finally! my HMV.com purchase is waiting for despatched  congrates, buddy, mine also not yet ship Added on August 8, 2011, 10:25 pmQUOTE(nazmanson @ Aug 8 2011, 09:36 PM) Yup I agree recently I was informed that Dracula slipcover was selling at RM150  so I have to forget it  yup, RM150 sounds high, but consider it as a collector's item, just wish i got it too This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: Aug 8 2011, 10:25 PM
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(johnsontys @ Aug 8 2011, 09:08 PM) A quick check with B&N noted that the 8-disc Lion- King can be pre-ordered at USD57.77,.more than twenty dollar cheaper than AMZ. Can anybody.confirm this? Yo! Thanks for the information, B&N do pre-order at USD $57.77 http://video.barnesandnoble.com/DVD/The-Li.../e/786936815153Anyway I believe soon Amazon will slash the price as well. This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 8 2011, 10:46 PM
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Aug 8 2011, 10:23 PM) congrates, buddy, mine also not yet ship Added on August 8, 2011, 10:25 pmyup, RM150 sounds high, but consider it as a collector's item, just wish i got it too  Only prepare for despatched as well. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- RM 150 is madness for a slipcover only. You also can get together with the BD itself, eBay is selling at US $94.99 + shipping USD $29.99 = USD $ 124.98 (RM 377.30) only! Cheap Cheap la! http://cgi.ebay.com/Bram-Stokers-Dracula-B...=item43a8974b6cThey is another seller selling at USD $ 100.00 but not ship to Malaysia. This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 8 2011, 10:47 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Aug 8 2011, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 8 2011, 10:44 PM) Only prepare for despatched as well. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- RM 150 is madness for a slipcover only. You also can get together with the BD itself, eBay is selling at US $94.99 + shipping USD $29.99 = USD $ 124.98 (RM 377.30) only! Cheap Cheap la! http://cgi.ebay.com/Bram-Stokers-Dracula-B...=item43a8974b6cThey is another seller selling at USD $ 100.00 but not ship to Malaysia. LYN has new FAQ Elite..  Nazmanson, just keep searching for the slipcover. Let me check with some of my regular eBay sellers, if they have it for as low as $8-$10 QUOTE(johnsontys @ Aug 8 2011, 09:08 PM) A quick check with B&N noted that the 8-disc Lion- King can be pre-ordered at USD57.77,.more than twenty dollar cheaper than AMZ. Can anybody.confirm this? It's confirmed and it could be the lowest for time being. Amazon might drop it to 49.99? Don't think so This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Aug 8 2011, 11:07 PM
TSAndrewtst
Aug 8 2011, 11:07 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Aug 9 2011, 12:06 AM
Winnie the Pooh Combos Available for Pre-order with $7 Off Coupon
Disney's upcoming animated feature Winnie the Pooh is available now for pre-order on Amazon.com in a 3-disc Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy combo for $30.99 and in a 2-disc Blu- ray/DVD combo in DVD packaging for $27.99. You can use a $7 off coupon when ordering.
nazmanson
Aug 9 2011, 05:26 AM
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 8 2011, 11:02 PM) LYN has new FAQ Elite..  Nazmanson, just keep searching for the slipcover. Let me check with some of my regular eBay sellers, if they have it for as low as $8-$10 It's confirmed and it could be the lowest for time being. Amazon might drop it to 49.99? Don't think so   me just peasant only could only FAQ not like bro Andrew Elite Buyer Pls do check with ur friend and let me know BTW bro Sky this might interest you Wacken 2010 - Live at Wacken Open Air incl. BluRay [Box Set, Import] £16.64 will be released on August 12, 2011 http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005DO4...=A3P5ROKL5A1OLEBut don't know if it is region free or not
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Aug 9 2011, 05:35 AM
QUOTE(nazmanson @ Aug 9 2011, 05:26 AM)  me just peasant only could only FAQ not like bro Andrew Elite Buyer Pls do check with ur friend and let me know BTW bro Sky this might interest you Wacken 2010 - Live at Wacken Open Air incl. BluRay [Box Set, Import] £16.64 will be released on August 12, 2011 http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005DO4...=A3P5ROKL5A1OLEBut don't know if it is region free or not Will let you know on the slipcover. Wacken set is an Audio CD set. It includes Blu-ray of live performance. Wacken 2010 not the best i've seen. They should release Wacken 2005, 2006,2007,2008,2009 on Blu-ray. This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Aug 9 2011, 05:36 AM