Academic Research Thread, MPhil/PhD candidate/holder welcome!

Mr.Wang
post Nov 18 2011, 12:21 PM

377 posts

My journal submission got rejected by the editor cry.gif
Mr.Wang
post Nov 21 2011, 03:42 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(bumblebeezz85 @ Nov 18 2011, 11:12 PM)
Dun give up
Thanks. I won't give up.

QUOTE(alexkos @ Nov 20 2011, 02:02 PM)
amend it and submit to next potential journal. Don't give up bro.
I just did. Acceptance rate for the next journal is 20-30%.
Mr.Wang
post Jan 9 2012, 03:26 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(kurt5301 @ Jan 5 2012, 09:35 PM)
guys, need help here. currently doing msc. Last month i successfully defended my proposal at faulty level. They suggested for me to convert it to phd. Whats your view in this? Any cons?
Good for you. I'm sure they are impressed with your work. The only cons I can think of is you need to put more effort and time to enhance your thesis into phd level. and I think you need to defend another time.

Mr.Wang
post Apr 15 2012, 07:41 PM

377 posts

where to view the journal tier?
Mr.Wang
post Apr 16 2012, 08:33 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 16 2012, 01:14 AM)
As stated by Human Nature, rankings are categorized by institutions themselves, so it depends on where you're studying.
For UM, the rankings can be easily accessed using a library card > Web of Science > Journal Citation Reports  nod.gif
Noted, thanks smile.gif
Mr.Wang
post Apr 17 2012, 07:26 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Sandy90 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:14 AM)
Any trained librarian should be able to help you determine journal tier ranking. Plus, they should be able to show you how to get the information yourself. Ask your university librarian:)

Note too that universities sometimes dismiss the the official ISI impact factors when considering academic performance and promotions. I know of one public university that rates local publications above peer-reviewed international ones! Go figure!!
Really? Which IPTA is that? Perhaps the journal is belong to them, so that's why rate it higher.
Mr.Wang
post Apr 18 2012, 03:55 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Imaizumi @ Apr 18 2012, 02:39 PM)
Hi all.
I heard somewhere that if you get first class for your degree you can apply for PHD. Is it true?
If it does which university (local and internationally)?
true. i know ipta got, but not sure about ipts or overseas
Mr.Wang
post Apr 28 2012, 04:40 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Apr 28 2012, 01:09 AM)
I know myself. I am procrastinating. I know I am holding back. But then still, I am not moving forward. Hope to join you guys in discussion in the future when I'm truly a PhD candidate.
you are right. I am working, and work is hectic like hell. I find it hard to focus on two main important matters. And I can't let go of my job just to pursue my PhD.
That's the main problem that you have to face when you've entered the workforce. But if really want it, do it part time. Your main focus is your work and at the free time, you can give some time to your study. Might take more than 5 years to complete but I'm sure it's worth something. Whether it helps in your career or increase your personal satisfaction.

0.0343sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:22 AM