dear all, how's everyone's research?
Academic Research Thread, MPhil/PhD candidate/holder welcome!
Dec 13 2011, 08:09 PM
2,275 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
dear all, how's everyone's research?
Mar 17 2012, 11:17 PM
hi, glad that everyone is doing fine for research. The early year I was occupied with student's coursework and my master class.
I've submitted one journal in Feb 2012 to "Accounting Education: an International Journal", hoping to get their feedback before I prepare my proposal defense which is due in July. Any prospective student who like 'academic research' as their career advancement may post over here and we'll try to assist you. |
Mar 18 2012, 08:23 AM
@Critical_Fallacy
I agree with what you says. I am too from accounting background, and now my master research involves a combination of communication and psychology and education. I can't imagine how a PhD in accounting looks like =) |
Mar 20 2012, 12:19 PM
it's new to me to hear that a PhD is a working experience. Upon completion a candidate is expected to be real good in project management, since he/she handles all chapter 1 to 5 alone.
Mar 22 2012, 11:14 PM
curriculum vitae. I always have problem pronouncing that.
Yes PhD is an intense programme. Those who are interested may also google MyMaster and MyPhd for possible scholarship scheme offered by Malaysian government. |
Mar 23 2012, 03:41 PM
Hi Blofeld
I don't know whether the answer will sufficiently represent the institution I'm serving right now. To answer your question: Research culture is visible at faculty level, but not among year 1-2 students. Science based faculty, at present moment, has the highest contribution as compared to other faculties. Student number is incomparable to public U's where e.g. UPM produces a 3-digit of postgraduate students every year (I got this statistics in a conference co-organized by them, if I am not mistaken). Currently the 'most' basic database is provided. Yes it is limited. But librarian has always had a workaround to that. Most of the time the time to read a journal exceeds the time to secure a hardcopy, if you know what I mean. I suggest you look into UTAR's research expertise prior to joining as a research student. If, you intent to serve as an academic, arms open wide =) This post has been edited by alexkos: Mar 23 2012, 03:46 PM |
Mar 25 2012, 02:47 PM
yes there always comes a dilemma whether to even mention the contradicting studies. An ethical researcher must report what he has found. The one you highlighted normally happens when one is doing a background literature review.
Another temptation will be during data analysis. Instead of letting the finding to emerge from data itself, the researcher reports the finding selectively. |
Apr 4 2012, 12:56 PM
you may conduct similar topic, even with large amount of literature review in such area. As long as your justification is logical, arguing that
why your study is different, or why theirs are different from your objective and why your study will fill in the gap of knowledge In social science, it boils down to the ability of a researcher to justify. Of course, with sound and critical literature review and valid and reliable research methods. background review- state what researcher did, and their result. critical review- criticise their work (not person, be careful), comment on their result, find their flaw, highlight the loopholes. The best way to aim is their sampling technique. Good to see a discussion going on =) |
Apr 7 2012, 12:02 AM
I believe that the 'review paper' we are discussing here is also referred as 'conceptual paper' in my field. In social science/business, I've seen a PhD candidate secure her proposal defense because she published one conceptual paper to lock her model.
I wish to write a review paper too. But like what is said, it requires deep knowledge in one subject area. I've been looking into my field 'communication apprehension' for at least 2 years. So can I write? Possibly no, because I am no assoc. prof D= This post has been edited by alexkos: Apr 7 2012, 12:03 AM |
Apr 8 2012, 10:58 PM
ya it's a good idea to consider peer review as part of research journey. Criticising other people's work will eventually lead to criticising our own.
When I comment on student's thesis, and looked at mine, I found that there's a lot of things I need to justify. Still need motivation to fix all these loopholes =/ |
Apr 13 2012, 11:18 PM
just submitted an edited conceptual paper today for 2nd time review =)
so sad lo, the journal i'm submitting are lower tiers |
Apr 18 2012, 02:35 PM
Paper accepted for publication. WIN =D
Apr 19 2012, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 18 2012, 06:16 PM) first submission was around feb, 2nd revision was last week. A first-class in bachelor is an indication that the candidate is competent (enough) for pursuant in PhD programme. I strongly suggest a research background prior to enrolling a PhD program. You might first try MPhil, then if it's worthy for a PhD scope, convert it according to the requirement of the university. Remember, normal MPhil is 1-2 years full time, PhD 3-4 years. I mean full time. Part time times 2. This post has been edited by alexkos: Apr 19 2012, 01:58 PM |
Apr 22 2012, 02:30 PM
I added a link for forumer's reference in case anyone is interested to read more about conducting a research. Any prospective link you wish to be shared via this thread may be sent to my pm =)
Good day. |
Apr 27 2012, 08:57 PM
for academics, the nature of job will motivate them for a PhD. But I will reserve such opinion if one works outside of academia while pursuing a PhD.
There are books about motivation of conducting a research. I hope to find it out, I read it before I enroll a research degree. |
May 3 2012, 01:15 PM
May 8 2012, 12:14 PM
it's like running something but at a smaller scale.
Let's say if coca cola wants to launch a new product, the company will conduct a pilot test, to test if the market is ready to receive this product. In survey research, pilot test is administered to a smaller scale of respondents. It allows modification before the mistake is extended to the larger sample group. p/s: i will unfollow this group from now on. Alternatively, I invite you to join http://www.postgraduateforum.com/ as well as http://www.vitae.ac.uk/researchers/1218/Po...esearchers.html All the best in your research. God bless you. |
Jun 16 2012, 02:21 PM
hi researchers, am glad to announce a publication in light of knowledge management (business) published last month =D
International Journal of Management, Knowledge and Learning QUOTE http://econpapers.repec.org/article/isvjouijm/v_3a1_3ay_3a2012_3ai_3a1_3ap_3a71-89.htm =D now preparing for my master proposal defense. 1 month from now... QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Jun 13 2012, 09:20 AM) still trying bro.... waiting for journal feedback of my manuscript submitted since 15 Feb. The reviewer promised to send me the feedback by next week. Ganjiong eh....This post has been edited by alexkos: Jun 16 2012, 02:24 PM |
Jun 17 2012, 11:11 PM
Accounting Education: An international journal
mine has no impact factor, not listed in ISI =/ |
Jun 23 2012, 09:41 AM
guess all of you are doing well yeah, am meeting supervisor next week.
if all sun-sun-li-li, will submit intend for proposal defense form. See you end of July @ Defense, with Lee Chong Wei =D |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:02 AM |