QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 7 2013, 04:34 PM)
Decision is made. Just waiting for the right time to pursue it. Meanwhile I'm applying for lecturing job.
I'd love hear about the good news! Academic Research Thread, MPhil/PhD candidate/holder welcome!
Nov 7 2013, 07:25 PM
3,713 posts Joined: Nov 2011 From: Torino |
QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 7 2013, 04:34 PM) Decision is made. Just waiting for the right time to pursue it. Meanwhile I'm applying for lecturing job. I'd love hear about the good news! |
Nov 12 2013, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(desmond~ @ Nov 12 2013, 04:27 PM) UPM study time is from 6.30pm to 9.30pm not suitable for me No pain, no gain, OK? |
Nov 12 2013, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(desmond~ @ Oct 30 2013, 02:16 PM) UTM doesn't have PhD in Accounting QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 30 2013, 08:07 PM) Ooops, I just found out there is no PhD in Accounting at UTM. Technically untrue! There are PhD programs offered by International Business School, UTM. Your research interest can be Accounting & Finance. But do not expect the research-based doctoral program to be fixated on Accounting ONLY. http://www.ibs.utm.my/programmes/doctoral-...ograms/phd.html |
Nov 18 2013, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(lolh @ Nov 16 2013, 01:30 PM) any lecturers need students for helping him/her in their research project? or i propose a topic to my ' future supervisor' ? thxs∩__∩ Do you have any research project ideas in mind? |
Dec 12 2013, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(UniquelyMe @ Dec 12 2013, 11:27 AM) Uniquely Me, At early 40's, we can understand that you probably cannot afford to quit your job, especially when you are the breadwinner of the family. So you intend to pursue a PhD in Engineering. What options do you have other than Monash, Taylor's and Swinburne? |
Dec 13 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(UniquelyMe @ Dec 13 2013, 05:08 PM) Thank you for your reply. I missed out some critical information in my first posting. I'm intending to pursue my Phd in the field of Business/Marketing. More specifically, the area of consumer behavior interest me greatly. Topics like human perception, persuasion, and effectiveness are what i'm currently reading up on. Infact, I'm trying to write an exploratory journal on areas as above. I was made to understand that by building up my research profile, it will increase my chances to pursue Phd in part time mode. I think what they are saying is they are looking for qualities like commitment and competency before agreeing to the part time mode. As I'm based in KL, the distance is also a factor with Swinburne, Kuching. It's time to test your persuasion skills. Meet the Dean of the Business School. (1) Identify a targeted situation. (2) Help the Dean sees that continuing with this situation without addressing it will ultimately cost her and the School in many painful ways. There is powerful psychology behind this tactic. Trigger the pain button first, before even beginning to talk about possible solutions or how your research can help. (3) Have the Dean identifies a preferred outcome (your way). Ensure that the preferred outcome has nothing to do with the Full-time or Part-time enrollment status. (4) Have the Dean identifies the consequences of this new outcome. (5) Confirm that this new chosen outcome is what the Dean really wants. (6) You need to be certain the new outcome is truly going to be good for the Dean and her School. |
Jan 7 2014, 03:29 PM
Do you find it hard to meet your self-imposed deadlines and work on your thesis?
![]() |
Feb 14 2014, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 13 2014, 05:20 PM) Hi guys long time no see Congratulations! I've graduated my PhD already with 11 papers haha :claps: Was just wondering whether there's anyone here interested in doing entomology and phylogenetics? Anyone specializing in toxins? Maybe we can collaborate hehe~ Where did you take those beautiful macro shots? |
Feb 15 2014, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 14 2014, 10:03 PM) Took those macro shots at different places of Malaysia, some in gardens, some in forests Ha! No wonder you took lots of insect pictures. So, you intend to specialize in Entomology and Entomotoxicology now? This post has been edited by Critical_Fallacy: Feb 15 2014, 10:10 PM |
Feb 16 2014, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 16 2014, 10:50 AM) Haha, macro photography is just a side hobby la sifu hehe You are the guru of photography here. Would you recommend an amateur to get Nikon D610? But if the photos can be used, why not? My main skills are still at phylogenetics and DNA barcoding, which is good since the techniques can be applied for any organism that I fancy doing hehe~ Now looking at spiders since there's a couple of new species I'm interested in describing haha On the other hand, what kind of effective genetic sequencing algorithms do you particularly use? I'm looking for a new Bio-inspired optimization idea for soft-computing purpose. jonoave, would you put your 2¢ in as well? |
Mar 19 2014, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(aremiey @ Mar 19 2014, 03:12 PM) I'm student from UiTM. Rite now taking degree in data communication and networking. I'm going to do final year project (fyp) in this sem. So, i need ur help to suggest me some of the revelant topics for my fyp. Next week our lecturer want everybody to proposed topic to them. The topic must be based on networking area. Please guys help me!!! Thx You are just asking for project ideas, and not the solutions. Here are some!(1) Multi-Layer Resource Management in Cloud Computing (2) Decontaminating a Network System from a “Cyber Hijack” virus (3) Application of Bayesian Networks for Autonomic Network Management |
Sep 7 2014, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(olkooi @ Sep 7 2014, 10:12 AM) add me to the list Okay, Dr. Ooi.olkooi [PhD] Medical Biochemistry Your request has been forwarded to alexkos. |
Sep 26 2014, 02:34 AM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Sep 25 2014, 11:11 PM) Anyone here doing research in nanostructured materials for energy storage? Are you dealing with Quantum Dots? |
Oct 1 2014, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 1 2014, 05:31 PM) Heat transfer, anyone? Two-phase heat transfer. Electronics cooling. Microchannel flow boiling. I'm thinking of adapting your microchannel heat sinks technology to exquisite_markas's sodium-ion energy storage technology for futuristic Spacecraft Thermal Control System. |
Oct 1 2014, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 1 2014, 07:40 PM) Nice suggestion. But the aerospace industry will never consider using liquid cooling on aircrafts, spacecrafts, and whatnot, despite its proven effectiveness over air cooling. Probably not on aircraft due to the added weight, but NASA has selected 8 proposals for future Spacecraft Thermal Control Systems and one of them is based on high-performance liquid metal cooling approach. |
Oct 2 2014, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 1 2014, 07:59 PM) Fark liquid metal. We have phase change materials. I know that wall wettability is one of key parameters affecting the multiphase flows in microscale systems.Can you control the wall wettability? |
Oct 2 2014, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 2 2014, 09:38 AM) Wall wettablilty is nothing when we can coat the surface with super hydrophillic materials. Making the indirect use of quantum-mechanical phenomena to manipulate the smart materials to rearrange their atomic structure might be the solution to control the hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity whichever wettability we want. Or use a fluid with low surface tension. |
Oct 2 2014, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 2 2014, 06:23 PM) Why wanna make it so complicated? Just add a few drops of surfactant on your working fluid will do the trick lahh. Cost-effective and proven method. |
Oct 2 2014, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 2 2014, 06:45 PM) What talk you? Okay. Come back to your research. What kind of non-water-based coolants do you use in your microchannel heat sink? |
Oct 2 2014, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 2 2014, 07:00 PM) Engineered fluids. Have you ever been to Chemor? Do I know you? I thought you are looking for academic peers in Two-phase heat transfer, Electronics cooling, and Microchannel flow boiling. |
| Change to: | 0.0437sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:39 PM |