New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

ar188
post Jul 3 2011, 08:29 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 3 2011, 05:50 PM)
Thats the specs for the current US Camry la.
• PRICE IS EXPECTED BELOW 170K ABOVE 160K

including this sentence? laugh.gif
ar188
post Oct 12 2011, 09:21 PM

9,206 posts

acterly ppl will still prefer new camry.. even at 170k..
ar188
post Mar 1 2012, 12:14 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Mar 1 2012, 09:37 AM)
The engine output on paper for K5 actually beaten the Teana hands down for the 2.0, but when you drive it in real world test, the result will be in opposite direction.
already mention to those people regarding the sonata before.. teana on paper less 29BHP.. but acceleration is way better...
ar188
post Mar 11 2012, 11:50 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(michspc @ Mar 10 2012, 10:25 PM)
.....wow....
turn another 45degrees suddenly not so wow.. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Mar 14 2012, 09:00 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 13 2012, 10:56 PM)
Hm... first you say it's fate anyway, so it doesn't matter. Then you say one should drive safe? But it doesn't matter... or are you saying by driving fast etc. you are tempting fate? But aren't you tempting fate too when you drive an unsafe car, when you could afford a safe one? I just wish to extend this thinking that you shouldn't act silly or dangerous to the choice of cars. Is that hard to understand? Driving an unsafe car is like driving a bike without proper helmet and protective gear (fall down and it will hurt like hell, but obviously I know that in Malaysia those who ride a bike probably do it because they can't afford a car, thus an expensive protective suit is out of question too... it would be uncomfortable too).
Again, if you can't afford it, that is bad. But nothing you can do about it (although a safer not too old conti can be had for relatively little money, even models that are cheap to run). But many chose to buy a Toyota (exception Prius) despite there being safer options in the same class, for a comparable price.

I am not arguing for the sake of arguing, I do hope that I can convince someone to care about what car they buy, to pick the safer choice (not financially, but in terms of protecting themselves and those who are in the car). Obviously that also means behaving properly, like not letting children run around in the car etc., they have to be wearing seatbelts and sit on children seats.

I have nothing against old people, just that sometimes they are not flexible. Toyota will keep ripping off Malaysians until Malaysians show them that they do not like it. Then will the cars improve. But I don't see it happening, unfortunately.
so what car your drive? hmm.gif
ar188
post Mar 15 2012, 09:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 15 2012, 02:27 AM)
In Europe a Citroen Xsara 1.4, 2002, with 6 airbags. 3 stars EuroNCAP (that's the pre-facelift rating which had fewer safety features and some airbag malfunction during the crash, so ours probably should perform better). I think we paid 8000 Euro for the 1 year old car. I'm very satisfied with it, drives well even at high speeds, is comfortable. The engine could be stronger, obviously, but the manual gearbox makes the most out of it.

In Malaysia a 2005 Renault Kangoo, 2 airbags, 4 stars EuroNCAP. 5-6 year old car, paid 25k. Been relatively reliable and affordable to run, extremely spacious and has decent handling too (to me a good compromise between comfort and handling, although it is leaning on the stiffer side of things. It's a conti after all).

As you can see both budget cars, but both reasonably safe for their price and age. It can be done, even in Malaysia. From a D segment car I do expect much more than that though, especially considering the price and competition. I wouldn't consider the Jaguar XF either, despite being gorgeous and having a very lovely interior. But 4 stars is just not good enough if you pay so much.
so price aside, i'm pretty sure the new camry would withstand an accident as well as your 2005 kangoo right? so safety wise, on par with what you are driving mah.. since final destination type scenarios dun care you sit in kangoo/xsara or 2012 camry right?
ar188
post Mar 16 2012, 12:28 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 16 2012, 12:21 AM)
Likely, yes. But the Camry is much, much much more expensive. In those price regions you can get cars that are much safer than the Kangoo, so the question is: Why not buy one of them? Find me a 25k car that is as safe as the Kangoo though. You simply go for the safest car that it in the price range that you are willing to pay. If it is a bit less safe, but has other advantages, ok. But the gap between a Camry and a Jetta/Passat for example will be pretty big. Or between a Fiesta sedan and the Camry.
well that's your reasoning based on price factor, but the way i see it, if you can put your life in a kangoo, i dun see what;s wrong with a 2012 camry with similar crash protection..
ar188
post Mar 16 2012, 08:45 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 16 2012, 01:17 AM)
If I had the budget for a safer car, I would have gone for it. Probably a C4 Picasso or something like that (I need an MPV), although the C4 isn't as practical as the Kangoo (sliding doors). And for Camry sort of money that would be the very last car I'd consider, even far behind the Koreans (ok, ahead of _some_ Chinese cars. Some Chinese D segment cars are likely to be safer than a Camry).

If people would stop buying the Camry for safety reasons, the next Camry would be as safe as the competition. Toyota has the tech. They CAN do it.

Btw., a brand new D segment which offers the same sort of protection (probably) as a 9 year old (probably much older, the facelift was rather cosmetical) design of a car that was built upon a B segment platform and that was meant to be a very affordable panel van? And you fail to see what's wrong with that? Times have changed, technologies have advanced. A lot.
obviously you fail to see that your kangoo in 2002 getting 4 stars would fail to get even 3stars in 2012 new euroncap tests.. so please don't think so greatly of that panel van that you put your life in.
ar188
post Mar 18 2012, 09:04 AM

9,206 posts

Curiously, electronic stability control (VSC in Toyota lingo), which is available in the current 2.4V model, has been omitted in its replacement model. Not even the 2.5G gets the feature.

If you want VSC, you will have to go all the way to the range topping Camry Hybrid.

Also missing is a front passenger seat shoulder adjustment switch, which allows the driver (or the boss riding in the back) to adjust the front passenger seat forward. Again, this is now only available in the Camry Hybrid.

aiyoh some of the current model features removed also.. and reserved for hybrid model.
ar188
post Mar 18 2012, 02:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(michspc @ Mar 18 2012, 02:14 PM)
anyone know if it comes with 10 airbags too???  if would be grat with 10 airbags and 10 speakers 5.1 surround by JBL ...wow
not sure also, since it's gonna be assembled here I guess we will have some different options than those thai built ones..
ar188
post Mar 27 2012, 09:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Mar 27 2012, 06:35 PM)
1 thing..  Camry vs Passat..  which car do u guys think will stand out in term of reliability?
which got higher chance to go in SC for 1week within few years of ownership? biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 27 2012, 09:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Mar 27 2012, 09:49 PM)
U know better than anybody else here I think...  laugh.gif
P/s: which 1 giving away a rolex of ownership every year... tongue.gif
i dunno wor, i'm not the one enjoying the courtesy car.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 27 2012, 10:07 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 27 2012, 09:55 PM)
camry is never fastest, best speed, best safety, best tech,best interior, best outlook.

but....its reliable. otherwise, VW wont fight so hard with him for number 1 biggrin.gif

imagine u need twincharger dsg to fight the sales with uncle car wink.gif
infact now they smart abit lieo, they had to dumb down the passat to fight the camry, they are selling the usa made passats with 8V old engines.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post May 30 2012, 11:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 30 2012, 09:56 PM)
boss, probably going to get another car soon. Apa suggestion? Used car also ok as I 'kek sim' looking at those depreciation.
u ar? need to carry 100Kg power amp.. so maybe one with large boot.. biggrin.gif

0.0491sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:08 AM