SAMSUNG GALAXY R Official Thread, Galaxy S II's affordable little brother

Blackthorn
post Dec 1 2011, 01:45 AM

374 posts

I just bought a SGR yesterday.. RM one three something from lowyat plaza..

I did asked Samsung official shop at level 1.. and they said SGR is not coming to Malaysia market officially.. (or that guy just tok kok like always coz too many customers to entertain tongue.gif )

anyway.. i'm going to OC my phone soon enough.. last time I OC my beloved X10 which already kong.. so sad cry.gif

so here is the thread for custom kernel and able to OC up to 1300MHz.. not sure how to do it yet.. never own a tegra set yet.. hehe brows.gif

hope you guys can join and unveil more about this low profile tegra2.. coz no one seem to know bout this small monster..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1348857

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 1 2011, 01:55 AM
Blackthorn
post Dec 3 2011, 02:33 PM

374 posts

Hi all Galaxy R users..

please vote in http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1301121
so that we can have our own Galaxy R I9103 FORUM in XDA Developers.

and here is the link for newest firmware Samsung i9103 Galaxy R Android 2.3.6 I9103ZSKK5
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1372457

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 3 2011, 02:44 PM
Blackthorn
post Dec 4 2011, 10:14 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 3 2011, 05:37 PM)
Also, some developers assume that Tegra 2 has less overheating problems compare to other phones, even when overclocking.

Galaxy R vs Galaxy S II non-g is impossible, but compare it to G version, that's another situation.

I wish to buy this phone, but there are some problems concerning me:
1. Only AP. AP phones are suspicious for me.
2. Only firmware from Taiwan. Some function will be lost if it is used in Malaysia.
3. Android support and updates. I don't think Galaxy R will get ICS update and
    the developer will stop creating / updating / modifying their rom / kernel after some time.

Blackthorn can you give further updates about your experience in using this phone?

Edit: Maybe I'm going to buy this phone in this month. biggrin.gif
Hey buddy...

yep totally agreed that SGR (i9103) vs SGS2 (i9100) is not entirely can match.. only i9100G can head to head with SGR.. due to diff CPU and GPU.

you can read up some comparison in here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=19879762
there is only around 4 pages.. infos n some trolling comments (hehe), u can read and know that SGR is also a good gaming phone..

but lack of NEON SIMD and can't support FSAA (anti aliasing) via Chainfire3D.. still Tegra2 is a good GPU.. hence its a nVidia la bro! ehehe... super smooth I tell you.. to be honest I'm not sure is NEON really matter.. coz nVidia always had their own ways to boost/improve their chipset..

1. Yes.. atm only AP set is available atm.. I did asked at Samsung Mobile shop at Lowyat they said not coming to malaysia..(yet?) but a friend of mine told me that its coming to malaysia this month officially!!

2. The latest firmware http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=19902314 is Taiwan Release 5 acoording to the thread.. it says google apps and english language is available. not sure whats missing. I haven't update it yet though.

3. This one i'm not sure.. atm we r voting to get our own Forum.. and from there.. there is hope for developing custom roms/kernels/tourble shooting etc... maybe ICS port to SGR maybe.. but official ICS still unconfirmed.
so many expectation.. so it just pinch of salt...

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 4 2011, 10:18 AM
Blackthorn
post Dec 4 2011, 09:48 PM

374 posts

hope not...

I asked my friend he said its coming to Malaysia this month..

he said go find the latest brochure from Samsung Malaysia..

so far I didnt d found any in the net.. maybe gotta see the real print brochure..

Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 12:14 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 4 2011, 10:31 PM)
Officially from Samsung? Do you have scanner? Can you upload the brochure in this thread? drool.gif
no not me lah.. i oso donno... maybe my friend knows better coz he owned a handphones business..

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 5 2011, 12:17 AM
Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 11:24 AM

374 posts

if rm200++ different margin is still big different lah bro..
unless rm50-100 ok lar...

its like considering buying between galaxy ace rm799 or galaxy w rm990... or iphone4 16gb rm1799 or iphone4 32gb rm2099.

ppl will still choose which ever is lesser and affordable for their pocket.. if u got big money.. then ok lar...
just like u're looking a sgs2 which cost u rm1799 or sgs2 rm1899? of coz u will buy the cheaper one, eventho its only rm100 cheaper right ?

so do you feel me brah??.. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 5 2011, 11:52 AM
Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 12:12 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 5 2011, 11:55 AM)
good to know SGR is not RM1100 biggrin.gif

so, at the moment, i have no regret buying SGW at RM899... kakakakak
Galaxy W is a nice phone bro.. 1.4ghz below RM900 gap worth buying if budget below RM1000.

I also almost bought it.. but prefers bigger screen.. then tak jadi lah.. wanted SGS2 so bad but budget only below than that.. huhuh

Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 02:01 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 5 2011, 12:10 PM)
Oh ya...
Another thing that people prefer Galaxy SII:
Galaxy SII has Super Amoled and Gorilla glass.
Galaxy R has SC-LCD and no Gorilla glass...
And.. Galaxy SII is thinner?
yep.. its all about the monehhhh.. u got big pocket.. u deserve it. thumbup.gif

but not sure whether got Gorilla Glass or not.. in wikipedia.. it does mentioned it.. and the physical surface between SGS2 and SGR.. almost the same.. hehe.. not sure lah. tried scratch it with car keys.. so far ok jer..
hehe

Added on December 5, 2011, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 5 2011, 12:34 PM)
Use the custom kernel and clock it to 1.2Ghz. Then imagine that you are holding a modified version of Galaxy SII.  brows.gif
hehe my SGR 1.3ghz... hehe flex.gif brows.gif

better than SGS2. no wonder samsung decided to increase SGS2 up tp 1.2ghz exactly before they officially announced it. if not.. SGR will be rival with SGS2.

heheheh...

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 5 2011, 02:06 PM
Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 04:49 PM

374 posts

lol... not scratching it like a mad cat... test test only lor..
so far the screen is quite good. maybe a diff type gorilla or lesser one is ape glass! heheh..
Blackthorn
post Dec 5 2011, 11:15 PM

374 posts

who else using this phone besides me?

sweat.gif
Blackthorn
post Dec 6 2011, 03:01 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 6 2011, 11:10 AM)
mjoe...
apa tu mjoe?.. hehe

bro u sudah pakai SGR ke?
Blackthorn
post Dec 6 2011, 05:54 PM

374 posts

rm1650 compared to rm1350.. (both AP) is quite a margin to me.

thats why i choosed SGR..

Blackthorn
post Dec 7 2011, 12:30 AM

374 posts

Zrong...

u open new thread lah... TS seems bz in other thread.. and ignoring this thread.. thumbup.gif

Blackthorn
post Dec 7 2011, 09:14 PM

374 posts

I bought this when I bought my phone..

RM10 hehe.. 1st I tot sure pasar mlm quality , not fit and feels cheap.. but kinda worth it.. really fit very well.. not like cap itik or ayam..

the seller also show me hard case and the one u link above..

but screen protector still cannot find locally..

Attached image(s)
Blackthorn
post Dec 8 2011, 11:51 PM

374 posts

oh ya.. saw that post before... very cheap!

thanks man!! smile.gif
Blackthorn
post Dec 9 2011, 12:18 AM

374 posts

Kiosk phone shop to be exact.. level 1 in LowYat Plaza..

got many small2 kiosk there.. in front of Sony shop..hard to tell which one..

just look for a tall and big Arabian guy.. I bought from him..
Blackthorn
post Dec 11 2011, 03:46 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Dec 7 2011, 11:25 PM)
Hey, thanks on informing about this.
So there are sellers of case/covers/pouch at Lowyat?
Mind to tell me which shop you visited to buy this phone?

This gives me another reason of buying this phone for myself. biggrin.gif

Edit: Hey I just found a seller that sells many types of screen protector for Galaxy R
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...amsung+galaxy+r
Check it out.  rclxms.gif
Just bought SP from the post u linked..

bought the Privacy HD for SGR RM15

and here is the result..

1st I thought it was a clear typed privacy... coz seller stated CLEAR "...but with HD version, with clear vision, but don't have antifingerprint... " so thats why I bought it in the 1st place..

then after applied it.. it is actually a matte typed.. and according to the seller it supposed to be clearer than normal matte or privacy.. and asked me to compare to believe it.. lol where can I compare the diff between normal privacy and hd privacy?

and acutally I dont really like matte typed.. it does look luxury sort of.. but from display wise.. it a bit blurry and when U swipe it U can hear "hissing" sound effect lol.. hmm..

clear typed much better in my opinion.. sharper display.. readable under the sunlight..smooth while swipe
except fingerprints magnet.. but u can wipe it off..

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 11 2011, 04:18 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Blackthorn
post Dec 15 2011, 10:28 AM

374 posts

any news regarding this phone is coming to Malaysia officially?

hmm

This post has been edited by Blackthorn: Dec 15 2011, 10:29 AM
Blackthorn
post Dec 16 2011, 12:15 AM

374 posts

my phone doing great.. playing games flawlessly...
battery wise.. same like other.. almost a day till recharge back

Games installed
Need4speed Hot Pursuit & Shift
Dungeon Hunter 1 & 2
Dungeon Defender 1
Galaxy on Fire 2
Samurai Revenge 2
Cordy
Angry Birds Rio etc..
Majestic Kingdom
Asphalt 6
Fruit Ninja
Blade 3
ShadowGun E. Warrior
Guerrilla Bob
GRave Defender
Block Breaker 3 HD
Toki2, Talking Tom 2, Robotek,
and many more small2 games..

I only had one problem.. how to install certain apps/games into external SD card.. not the internal USB Storage..

Blackthorn
post Dec 16 2011, 08:26 PM

374 posts

i mean move to external sd.. in android root. there is already 'sdcard' which is internal storage (the 8gb)
default installation path always goes into 'sdcard'

0.0255sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:12 PM