SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB : Official Thread V3, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet

rashad
post Jul 16 2011, 10:41 AM

336 posts

Tyvm Team Overcome for the hard work.

Just wanted to share this with u guys, as some of u may know that Honycomb 3.2 SDK (said to be suited for smaller-slates) is out and that spacemoose is working on the port for our beloved galaxy tab.
Whats new is that Huawei is going to introduce the first 7 inch slate with honycomb 3.2 working on it, this is great news for us ....it means soon there will be either a full functioning port of it to our GT or an update from Samsung.

u can read about it here (Sry if it was old news)

http://blog.gsmarena.com/huawei-announces-...-3-2-honeycomb/

rashad
post Jul 16 2011, 10:29 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(cielBleu @ Jul 16 2011, 09:45 PM)
hi, i ecountered a problem
cant get my 3g working
before this, works just fine... but today, i activate airplane mode, and when i disable it, no 3g...

what ive done:
1.manually setup apn http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1473755
2.doesnt work, using maxis phone setting http://www.maxis.com.my/phonesettings/index.asp
3.reboot my tab
4.after doesnt work, reset APN

but still cant get 3g on...receive msg and calls just fine...(using 500mb simcard maxis sold at garage sale)

im using Overcome ROM v3.0.0-ICARUS

final solution i might try, reset my tab
usually i use gsm for my network settings, but i know this if u want to see the 3g availability make sure that the
1. network mode is gsm/wcdma
2. the -use packet data- is checked

3g icon should show up, if not try opening a webpage it should show up then.

hope it works.

rashad
post Jul 29 2011, 02:41 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:37 PM)
after updating my Tab to overcome Jupiter.... now some of my apps cannot update it keep prompting me insufficient memory when i check i still got like 220mb+ ram memory free, how come it is like this? Any person facing same problem as me?
yeah i am facing this issue too but only for 20+ mb apps or games so far.

-> try clearing the market data and try downloading again it might work. i tried it once before and it did work for 1 app.

i am hoping the new update from overcome will solve this issue.

another issues i discovered with Jupiter is that u can't UV the processor below 800 MHz, won't work
rashad
post Aug 3 2011, 01:42 PM

336 posts

i see an update on the way maybe couple of hours, i see team overcome is finished with the baking phase......testing phase is on.
rashad
post Sep 1 2011, 08:50 PM

336 posts

My eyes are on the Galaxy note i think its the perfect blind between a smartphone and a tablet and will be a nice compliment to my galaxy tab. Cant wait to get my hands on it probably 1 year from now hehe until it becomes available and affordable better start saving. others are complaining about the size i think its not that big, still its pocket-able and can be used by one hand.

check this video to get a feeling of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4O7YIM3hbr0

This post has been edited by rashad: Sep 1 2011, 08:53 PM
rashad
post Sep 13 2011, 05:24 PM

336 posts

Hi guys,thought of sharing this since there wasn't a real test done on the exact heavy use of galaxy tab with the kratos rom on. here is the result:

After full charging my tab i simply used my tab for web browsing, downloading apps and playing games(need for speed), and google maps for 20 minutes there was no standby time in between. sorry this is not a very detailed test but it gives an idea.

My battery lasted 5 hours and 35 minutes. i don't know but i think with overcome 1.6.4 rom (froyo) it lasted more than 6 hours if i am not mistaken.

This post has been edited by rashad: Sep 13 2011, 05:33 PM
rashad
post Sep 20 2011, 07:16 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 18 2011, 11:08 PM)
question :

i set 3 4 email account on my tab, 1 of cos is gmail. 2 is company email account and 1 hotmail. Gmail i set as Gmail program, the other 3 i set at stock email program. for hotmail, i hv a problem, i can sync and read, but those read email in hotmail will still show unread when i login to hotmail in pc. any problem on the setting? gmail and company mail got no problem. actually i have the same problem setting hotmail on my ip4 also....
any one encounter this and got solution?
I simply stopped using the build in mail application because of the unread issue. A good alternative to this application which basically has the same functions and more. I use K-9 Mail which is available for free at the market u will still get old emails as unread when u have already did read, especially Hotmail i think this is an issue with Hotmail email server itself it doesn't get updated. Here is why this app is great u get the option to select all your emails and mark them as read, after this u will not get the issue of unread emails. I hope this helped tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rashad: Sep 20 2011, 07:19 PM
rashad
post Oct 19 2011, 04:24 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Oct 18 2011, 08:44 PM)
guys, want to ask.
I just won a Galaxy Tab P1010 from some contest, its still new, should i sell it off and get a tab 10.1?
Any opinion? My budget wise i think RM 300-800 for an upgrade is not a problem.
Definitely do the upgrade

---if u want bigger screen without call functionality:

1.Asus transformer would be my choice (if u want 3g look for the 3g one)

for the following advantages:

*16hours of battery with the dock
*u get 2 usb full ports for connecting usb flash sticks
* 2 ports for card reading with different sizes
* 5 mega pixel camera compared to the 3.2 on galaxy tab 10.

2.Galaxy tab 10 inch

---if you want portability and phone functionality:

1.Either galaxy tab 8.9 or galaxy tab 7 plus .

(if u want little bigger screen than 7 inch go for the 8.9)

2.If u don't want android honeycomb then go for the galaxy tab p1000 also more cheaper.

hope this helps good luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by rashad: Oct 19 2011, 05:05 PM
rashad
post Oct 25 2011, 06:47 PM

336 posts

guys any of you facing light flickering issue with the new overcome 7 series.
i usually turn off the auto brightness , but once i enable it seems the flickering becomes less, but the issue is still there. i am only facing this issue with this rom, didn't face it with kiratos. shakehead.gif

p.s: I did a fresh install using wipe version.

This post has been edited by rashad: Oct 25 2011, 06:50 PM
rashad
post Jan 9 2012, 07:52 PM

336 posts

Sup guys, for all of u that flashed overcome v4.1.0 did u notice a center vertical white line poping out for milliseconds of the screen when u come out from screen off. i don't know is it a glitch or its part of the crt tv-off animation. Any way its bothering me and i want to remove it, if someone can direct me to a way to change the crt-animation to the default one or any other alternative. i tried different ways to change the lock screen but that did't cut it, my guess i need to change something in the framework-res.apk.

This post has been edited by rashad: Jan 9 2012, 07:54 PM
rashad
post Jan 12 2012, 11:29 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Jan 12 2012, 09:58 PM)
hey guys, new owner of a GT P1000 yah i know im kinda late tongue.gif but meh i decided to grab it to read all my future law materials using it, its kinda mafan to carry 8-9 thick dam huge books everyday to class and also those tiny wheeny statute books tongue.gif

anyways, bought it used but almost new, with OS 2.3.6 which according to him is the latest but i seen in this thread u guys mentioning icarus 3.0? wut is dat issit a higher OS?? cn enlighten me abit here, wud appreciate it notworthy.gif
Congrats for the purchase. I believe ur seller is right 2.3.6 is the latest version or build of the rom. Icarus is just a version of a custom rom built by the overcome team and its not their latest one either, Overcome v4.1.0 is their latest build.

I hope that answered ur query. smile.gif

p.s:
Rom : OS
Stock Rom: Rom that came with device or created for the device.
Custom Rom: Adding some tweaks to the stock Rom to make it better

This post has been edited by rashad: Jan 12 2012, 11:38 PM
rashad
post Jan 13 2012, 12:15 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Jan 12 2012, 11:55 PM)
so if i were to root it to overcome v4.1.0 is it going to be a relatively or subjectively "higher" version? or with improvements?
u get more features and improvements over the stock rom, but doesn't make it a higher version.

My suggestion is that u stick with a stock rom for a while until u get to know all of its features then try any of the custom roms out there, the only way to understand the difference is through trial.

By the way since u r new to this please have a look at the first page written by brother Benny it has most of the info u may need.

All the best smile.gif

0.0491sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:21 PM