SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

xsaintzx
post Jul 4 2011, 12:45 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Jul 4 2011, 12:42 PM)
do i need to back up if i want to flash SGS2 with stock kernel?using litening 1.5..the yellow triangle..does it affect the SGS 2 anyway?
You don't need to backup if you want to flash back to stock kernel, flashing back to stock kernel will removes the yellow triangle.
Do a backup if you are afraid smile.gif
xsaintzx
post Jul 5 2011, 10:25 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jul 5 2011, 10:20 PM)
oh ic
my current Incredible S support it off the shelf

btw. anyone know how to wipe off the SD card data and revert it back to factory state?
gonna wipe off mine and handover to its new owner tomorrow.
Just do a format on your phone/computer.

If really after 2 weeks Maxis only have stock, I would take from senQ or wait for Digi, 2 more weeks to 22th which might be the end of Maxis exclusivity!
xsaintzx
post Jul 6 2011, 12:01 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jul 5 2011, 10:33 PM)

so confirm Digi will have stock?
Not confirm ,so far only rumors. Digi's response is only 'We are working on it, stay tune."

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jul 5 2011, 11:07 PM)
Not anymore sad.gif just signed two contracts today. The RM50 plan isn't too bad, you can burn it up just as quickly as the Value first plan if you send a lot of sms
Really? The website still shows value first is available in for SGS2 plan, or maybe they didn't update it (Android package).
But the data charges is still high sad.gif

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 5 2011, 11:41 PM)
eh just got sandisk 32gb class4... however now i only remember android only support fat32? means we cannot copy videos more than 3gb lor? T-T
How it performs? Do you try transferring files from PC to phone? What is the minimum writing speed?
The one I bought last time maximum speed only about 3.2mb/s (16GB), maybe it is because of the phone's capability.
More importantly, does it opens the gallery pictures instantly? or takes 2-3 secs for each picture (high megapixels).
Dilemma in getting Sandisk Class4 or DNA Class 10, because Class 10 has low random write speed but don't know how will it affect performance in phone.
xsaintzx
post Jul 6 2011, 01:12 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jul 6 2011, 12:48 PM)
Not just that, if you pay an additional RM175 for SenQ's V-care you get another 2 years of warranty. So in total if you pay RM2099+RM175 you get 5 years of warranty, 1 year from manufacturer and 4 years from them (confirmed with their staff).

I've already paid deposit and waiting for my SII. The only concern is about the last 4 years of warranty... will they send in some lousy shop to repair or will they give 1-to-1 exchange or send to manufacturer...
From my experience of buying from senQ (LCD), they said after the manufacturer's warranty has finished, in this case is 1 year from SME, if your phone is spoiled on the 2nd or 3rd year of the warranty, they will send to SME for you and bear the repair cost that SME charged. For the 4th or 5th year I'm not really sure, but the salesperson has said something like if the phone parts are already obsolete, you can exchange for product voucher of the same value of your item during purchase.

However, these are all statements from senQ salesperson, still don't know how the warranty is going to work out when you are really trying to claim warranty on 2nd or 3rd year. Need someone with experience to clarify. smile.gif
xsaintzx
post Jul 7 2011, 02:32 PM

598 posts

DarkyROM is now available in XDA, still in BETA though.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1156516
xsaintzx
post Jul 7 2011, 09:56 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 7 2011, 09:36 PM)
Guys , a bit of off topic question

When u guys bought from Handtec , UK ...... During purchase , will they inform u if they r out of stock and need 2 wait or is it after you pay will you only be informed that they are out of stock and need 2 wait ? Coz I wanna purchase LG from there and it's stated as " next day shipping " .... Just wanna be sure b4 i make a purchase .... Tx

Added on July 7, 2011, 9:37 pm
I'm from Pg too and sadly , I'm kinda disappointed with the way the ppl there threats their customers . Those shop keepers thinks they know every device available worldwide so if u ask 4 something they do not know , it means it doesn't exist
It's normal la in Penang, that's why I always shop online.
For USB OTG you can look up in eBay, I think benny has posted it on page 1, but I don't find it worth the price.
xsaintzx
post Jul 8 2011, 11:01 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 8 2011, 09:31 AM)
Ok guys, i finally manage to squeeze in 30gb worth of data to my new microsd card just to make sure that it is not those fake card hacked to show fake '32gb' size... so can introduce to you guys smile.gif

I bought this Sandisk 32gb microsd class 4 in http://www.lelong.com.my/sandisk-microsdhc...7-01-Sale-I.htm and so far no problem with it. Viewing 720p video is very smooth same performance as you play from the internal memory. I dun care about copy speed as i just need to copy one time.

the shipping is very fast as well.. best is the price RM204 including shipping, which is cheaper than anywhere outside. What annoys me when buying outside is when I ask the shopkeeper whether they sell 32gb microsd, they give me a shocking look like I'm from outer space or something.. then say they only sell 16gb max..
Thanks a bunch for the feedback.
I'm considering the DNA class 10 or Sandisk class 4.
Though I don't have a good history with Sandisk cards in terms of speed, they are always error free.
I am leaning towards more to Sandisk class 4 32GB now.

Btw, the card you bought from the Lelong seller does it comes with the red color retail packaging?
Do you save your videos/photos in the card and when you open the gallery it is instant load of thumbnail or it takes few seconds?
My guess it takes few seconds as the read speed is not so fast?
xsaintzx
post Jul 8 2011, 11:45 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:12 AM)
Oo... Noted. But I think I will try flashing to custom rom and just remove the triangle la... your advice sounds very adventurous smile.gif but thanks!
yup comes with the red color retail packaging smile.gif from what i heard, only the write speed is slow, the read speed is just as fast if not comparable to class 10?
instantly load la... no diff compare to internal storage from what i feel
I see, thanks for your reply.
Did you try recording 1080p video directly to the MicroSD card, to test about the writing speed is able to catch up with the recording or not.
I bought a SanDisk Class4 16GB for my GF's Samsung Galaxy SL, when she records 720p the video appears to be choppy, not serious but it stuck for 1 second after each 10 seconds intervals during playback. Transferred to PC and it is still stuttering on every 10s interval.
Not sure it is the phone capability issue or the card.

0.0420sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:16 PM