SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 09:34 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 1 2011, 09:29 AM)
FINALLY SenQ is selling. For folks even MORE worried about warranty than I am, thst is lol.

Anyway, pre-testing of medium usage batt drain w/o too much crap installed + undervolting -> 1h30 min = 15% gone. Now this is more like it!
how do u do the undervolting?

BTW
for ppl who asked about updating fw tru KIES ... as far as now Malaysia one cant be updated tru KIES ... need to do it manually by Odin

Refer page 1 for more info on Odin
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 09:44 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

the latest one should be

JPKF3

Firmware info
PDA:JPKF3
PHONE: XXKF1
CSC:OJPKF2
Date: 20/06/2011

if u flashed any updated stock kernel ... u dont need to root it to flash another fw ontop

warranty ??? u can flash the ori on top ... that is why i recommend to flash a CF-Root kernel that have CWM and then backup nandroid the old rom before flashing new one
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 09:49 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

ZSKF1

Firmware info
PDA:ZSKF1
PHONE: XXKE4
CSC:OZSKE7
Date: 04/06/2011

Firmware info
PDA:ZSKF4
PHONE: XXKE4
CSC:OZSKF4
Date: 10/06/2011

is the HK fw ... support chinese char n keyboard i think

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 1 2011, 09:55 AM
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 10:03 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

found this on the net ... but the region is a lill bit off

The firmware code is split into individual sections:

XX -  region / network carrier designation (XX = open Market).
H - release year (H = 2008).
H - release month (H = August).
7 -  version number.

Region / language
BD = Cyprus, Greece
CP = Finland
DB = Vietnam
DC = Thailand
DD = India
DT = Australia
DX = Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam
DZ = Malaysia, Singapore
JA = South Africa
JC = Algeria, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Tunisia
JP = Arabic
JR = Arabic
JV = Algeria, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Morocco, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia,South Africa, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey
MT = Switzerland
XA = Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom
XB = Denmark, Norway, Sweden
XC = Portugal, Spain
XD = Croatia, Czech, Hungary, Slovakia
XE = Bulgaria, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Russia, Ukraine
XF = Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania
XX = Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom
ZC = China, Hong Kong
ZH = Hong Kong
ZT = Taiwan

Network carrier codes:
AE = SFR, France
AI = Tim, Italy
AM = Vodafone
AN = E-Plus, Germany
AO = O2
AS = KPN, Netherland
AU = Mobilkom, Austria
BB = Tmn, Portugal
BF = Optimus, Portugal
BG = Telefonica, Spain
BM = Swisscom, Switzerland
BN = Amena, Spain
BO = T-Mobile, Germany
BU = Vodafone
BV = Orange, Switzerland
BW = O2, United Kingdom
CD = Proximus, Belgium
CG = Telia Mobitel, Sweden
CH = SingTel, Singapore
CK = Tele2 Comviq, Sweden
CT = Tdc, Denmark
CU = One, Austria
CV = Telenor, Norway
DT = Optus, Australia
DV = Telstra, Australia
EF = Celcom, Malaysia
JB = Vodacom, South Africa
MD = Telia Sonera, Finland
MJ = Vodafone, Italy
MM = Tele Ring, Austria
MV = NetCom, Norway
NA = Nrj, France
NB = Tele2 Norway, Norway
NE = H3g Nordic, Sweden
NP = H3g, Italy
SS = Vodafone, Japan

Release years:
D = 2004
E = 2005
F = 2006
G = 2007
H = 2008
I = 2009
J = 2010
K = 2011

Release months:
A = January
B = February
C = March
D = April
E = May
F = June
G = July
H = August
I = September
J = October
K = November
L = December

Ex:
xx = General FW
k = 2011
f = June
2 = ver no 2

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 1 2011, 10:09 AM
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 10:07 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

care to share ur setting?

as in the CPU level L0 till L4???
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 10:23 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 1 2011, 09:57 AM)
you need root to do it
tweak voltage use Tegrak overclock ultimate. I undervoly about 75mv across board n it gives you better battery life and generate lower heat levels
you can always change values anytime and reset back to defaults

I already said I undervolt 75mA across board ie all levels. simple way and works well
you can readup user test at xda . so many combo. and all say is good. just test yourself. do not undervolt too much or you face freeze issues.
how bout any random reboot issue ??? will it be related to the OC or UV??
and u leave the L0 as it is 1200??

here u go proof

wow mean it sell 2099.16, and with 16G micro sd card and bluetooth earphone...

no 16g sd & bt add another RM99 ... dont think u can split that to 36 month

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 1 2011, 10:28 AM
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 10:55 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 1 2011, 10:48 AM)
I never faced random reboot, freezes, hang ups, auto shutdowmns etc already using the phone close to 2 months .
OC and UV do cause hanging, freezing - random reboot not sure. This you just have to test yourself - start from a low UV level and monitor. Some users hat XDA has reported certain UV levels not recommended. I didn't read into their details as I just UV what I think is best for my purpose

Random reboot are also usually due to 3rd party apps especially those warez from blackmarket. I don't overclock at all - 1.2 Ghz is more than enough. Using SetCPU, i set the range from 500 Mhz to 1.2 Ghz and I also set profiles for screen off, temperature above 45, charging, battery below 30% - to control mainly my battery usage . It is amazing what these tools can do in combo with Tegrak app
ok i do OC mine to 1.4
ill try again setcpu & tegrak OC

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 1 2011, 10:56 AM
cruzzmz
post Jul 1 2011, 11:12 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

SetCPU, i set the range from 500 Mhz to 1.2 Ghz and I also set profiles for screen off, temperature above 45, charging, battery below 30% - to control mainly my battery usage

care to share the profile
cruzzmz
post Jul 2 2011, 08:44 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Jul 1 2011, 03:47 PM)
could you please share what values you use for each profile for SetCPU and also tegrak?

i think i might have put mine too low on SetCPU today, phone went to deep deep sleep and wouldn't wake up!
with enabling setcpu while screen off ... didnt put my sgs2 in deep sleep ... & cannot wake up.

to see ur cpu behavior ... pls use CPU Spy ---> https://market.android.com/details?id=com.bvalosek.cpuspy

BTW a tip to forumers if u find ur android dev hangs or cannot wake up ... to reboot just press Power + Vol Up till it reboot itself.

Since there is no LED indication ... use NoLED apps -->https://market.android.com/details?id=com.led.notify

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 2 2011, 08:46 PM
cruzzmz
post Jul 2 2011, 09:03 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

I think we should do a circle of sgs2 user in Google+
what do all of u think???
cruzzmz
post Jul 2 2011, 09:17 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(spekitam @ Jul 2 2011, 09:07 PM)
Yup totally agreed.
By the way..i'm going to root my phone.
Planning to use this tutorial as my guide..is it ok?

And how do i reverse back the process? I mean how do i unroot back? Is it true if i just reset to factory setting will change the phone to the original state?
i think if it involved odin should be good
but my advise to 1st timer better get the USB Jig just in case

OT: Who have G+ do PM me .. ill try to get one SGS2 circle going on ... dont want to kacau this wonderful thread
cruzzmz
post Jul 2 2011, 09:44 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(broken hearted @ Jul 2 2011, 09:39 PM)
i went to 2 shops just now asking for the price of SGS2. 1 sell RM2.3k + 1yr warranty, another sell for RM2.5k + 1 yr warranty + other accesories like in-car charger,casing,etc..
it seems like prices for this phone is going up instead of going down..
whoever plans to get this phone better act fast before it goes higher..
wait for the perfect price at least most of the ppl got at retail price after waiting for almost 2 months
cruzzmz
post Jul 5 2011, 10:59 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

wanna ask u all something ... is the modem xxke4 really improve the batt?
cruzzmz
post Jul 5 2011, 11:21 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

battery spy ... i love it
cruzzmz
post Jul 5 2011, 11:27 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Jul 5 2011, 11:23 PM)
Just realised our SGS2 doesn't come with QuickOffice, Thinkfree etc....sigh

sad.gif
it has polaris .... but i still prefer doc2go ... since it can open any files with password

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 5 2011, 11:28 PM
cruzzmz
post Jul 6 2011, 06:52 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(teanbread @ Jul 6 2011, 01:07 AM)
bro~my galaxy s2 using stock rom now ~~
can i use ordin flash pda to  Lite'ning Rom v1.5 XXKF2 rom
then reflash pda by Tegrak-Kernel-Build-25-for-I9100-ZSKF4.tar ~
if like this ~can or not?
can flash any rom by odin & yes u can flash the kernel after with odin ... no problem

Anyone encounter the problem of data connection is always switching in between 3g and Hsdpa so often? While when I compare to sgs will not happen like that so often. And sometime it might freeze the connection and I got no choice to disable and restart the connection. Anyway my telco is from maxis.
Any idea?

dont hv the data connection always switching but i do get the freezing ... tried the newest modem ... still d same maybe will flash another modem soon and see how it goes

cruzzmz
post Jul 6 2011, 11:29 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(Assclown @ Jul 6 2011, 10:48 PM)
1 more downside of using ADW launcher, the default Message app doesnt display the unread counter.
why dont use the notifier???
cruzzmz
post Jul 7 2011, 03:08 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

I dunno bout K9 since it cant do my office mail which is in exchange ... i do found that i really like using touchdown for exchange.
I tried a few like roadsync, moxier etc but always i will come back to touchdown

but that is just my 2 cents

for wifi problem, is ur ap set as WEP or WPA? seems like until now my sgs2 cant connect to ap with WEP enable ... on WPA no problem
cruzzmz
post Jul 9 2011, 01:12 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jul 9 2011, 12:38 AM)
MY EXPERIENCE WITH GS2 AND DIFFERENT ROMS/STOCK ROM
Been playing with a bunch of roms for awhile and here's some finding's I'd like to share:

1) Villainrom is quite a bit of a PITA to use because there are a lot of patches that need to be added. Other roms are usually cooked up-to-date by the cook and comes very close to perfect.

2) Baseband KE7 baseband after battery calibration gave me best battery life

3) KF2 kernal gave me some random shutdown issue. Flashing back to KF1 has been the most stable.

4) Our firmware is from Singapore. The stock firmware can be downloaded here:
http://hotfile.com/dl/120783140/282d1ad/I9100ZSKF1.rar.html

It took me a bit of digging to find the correct firmware with correct CSC. If you wish to use samsung apps, you have to make sure the CSC is correct or a lot of the functions wont work. Most of the custom Roms on XDA have different (their localized) CSC.

5) Hacked google nav is excellent, no longer need to bother with PAPAGO. HOWEVER, the robotic voice is absolutely horrible..

6) One rom that is close to perfect is TK Rom 3.0.8. However for some reasons "Samsung Apps" was left in there and because the CSC is incorrect for our region, the app is pretty much useless. If you were to flash back all the samsung apps as per the rom's thread, you will find that almost none of the stock samsung apps work since the CSC is incorrect.

TK Rom + baseband KE7 + KF1 Kenal is the most stable rom I've used so far. However, to "perfect" the rom, you need to install root uninstaller (android market) and remove the samsung app. Install GO Launcher and speed up the transition speed. You will no longer feel the transition lag between pages. It's about 95%, if not 100%, as smooth as iOS.

I am now trying Cognition S2 which also seems to be a very well made Rom.
ok thanks for the info ... ill try cooking the rom with the kernel and will pack the CSC (BTW is ZSKF1 have the same CSC as Maxis has) & Baseband (modem) of KE7 and will release it to LYN forumer

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 9 2011, 01:16 AM
cruzzmz
post Jul 9 2011, 01:59 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(selphy @ Jul 9 2011, 01:41 AM)
Guys, over at XDA, seems the new SGS2 roms based on Android 2.3.4 is out. Check it out! Downloading at turtle speed now so would probably try when i get up. Have fun! Its XXKG1 base. smile.gif
Nice ... downloading the stock rom to look and see what is new brows.gif
then maybe ill whipped up something to be shared
icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0386sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:50 AM