Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 3 2013, 04:59 PM

1,601 posts

Hello..im a newbie here. Im just looking to improve the sound of my ATH-M30's. Any good entry level portable amps to recommend ?

Source : Ipad, S3
Equipment : ATH-M30 headphones
Requirement : neutral/clean/clear sound (prefer "clarity" of music over thumping bass...etc..loud...)
Budget : Below RM200 if possible smile.gif

Thanks!

ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 4 2013, 08:48 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 3 2013, 05:35 PM)
FiiO E10 nod.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 5:38 pm

iPad > FiiO L3/L9 (LOD) > FiiO E6
S3 > 3.5 to 3.5mm > FiiO E6

Sorry i wasnt specific. Actually its the Ipad Mini. I guess i cannot use those LOD without the adapter ya? Any LODs with the new apple lightning connector ? I see..so E6 is the recommended amp.. Thanks~
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 4 2013, 11:42 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 4 2013, 10:48 AM)
there is no direct lightning LOD at the moment due to patent issues.  the lightning adapter actually is a DAC itself  nod.gif
Is the SQ much different if direct output from headphone jack ? Ipad > E6 > Headphones

ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 4 2013, 12:13 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 4 2013, 12:10 PM)
from headphone jack = double amping, SQ is much more debatable
Im very new in this..haha! so its still better to do this?
Ipad Mini > Lightning-30pin adapter > LOD > E6 > headphone
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 7 2013, 01:28 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 4 2013, 02:41 PM)
not sure bout the lightning port, but for older apple port can direct LOD to amp
seems that the original apple lightning to 30pin adapter has DAC so can use with LOD. seems like cheaper third party ones dont have... sad.gif another extra cost. if i off the ipad EQ.. will it be ok to Ipad Mini -> headphone jack -> e6 -> headphones ?
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 7 2013, 02:15 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jan 7 2013, 01:32 PM)
even with eq off its still double amping
so is the Apple internal amp any use ? i have read around that apple products usually have good quality sound outputs. so i guess double amping this would be ok. What do you think ? Else...have to wait for lightning compatible portable amps to come.
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 7 2013, 02:46 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jan 7 2013, 02:24 PM)
erm it depends on what headphone you are using. but because ipad mini is not a device that is use specially to play music i doubt they will put any powerful amp in it, in order to save battery consumption. but there are alot of sifu also said that apple internal amp is not good.
using ATH-M30. i guess power can be solved with portable amp, but SQ diff story. thanks for the feedback smile.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 17 2013, 11:44 AM

1,601 posts

CAn i do this:

SIII -> USB OTG -> UD100 -> E3/E6 amp -> Headphones/IEM
Im thinking the amp is only to amplify the output so it shouldnt matter if the amp is lower end (E3). Whats important is the output from UD100 (good quality) is amplified more.

Is my thinking correct? Newbie here smile.gif

I have an ipad mini, i read in previous Ipad generations, they can use the camera connection kit with usb port to do this:
IPAD -> Camera connection kit USB -> USB DAC -> AMP -> Headphones/IEM

Anyone tried this ? With new Lightning connector/ old ipad ?

ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 17 2013, 12:37 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 17 2013, 12:23 PM)
yes, thats a correct path, but still, amp is more than just amplify output, it will also change sound characters too  nod.gif
Do you think e3 will suffice? Since most of the quality improvements is from the DAC.
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 2 2013, 09:04 AM

1,601 posts

Hi guys, im thinking of upgrading from Fiio E11
Any suggestions for amp or dac/amp thats better?

Source : S3, Colorfly C3
Equipment : ATH-M30, Nakamichi S800 iem
Requirement : Better than E11 for sure. Clarity+ bass boost, Small and portable around E11 size.
Budget : +-RM300...cheaper better...haha!!

Based on reviews of C&C BH amp, this seems to fit... anyone tried it/own it ? I guess O2 amp characteristics is nice(transparent amp)..but the size is not what i want..not as portable.

Thanks guys smile.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 2 2013, 01:15 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 2 2013, 12:30 PM)
are you sure from FiiO E11 to BH is an upgrade  hmm.gif
Not sure..thats why ask for suggestions here. But the people at Head-fi seems to say its better than E11, with quite a number of them that owned E11. But sometimes things at Head-fi overated..so come here for more feedback. Else is there any that you would recommend? Hippo CriCri+, Ibasso D-zero... i dont mind 2nd hand sets that are in good condition...should be around RM300 also for 2nd hippo n ibasso
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 2 2013, 01:28 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 2 2013, 01:24 PM)
The next upgrade from FiiO is the highly acclaimed E12 but it is out of your budget  tongue.gif

Haha..yes... thats for sure.. but those that fit my budget are C&C bh amp, used Hippo Cricri+ and Ibasso dzero.. cool.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Feb 26 2014, 05:47 PM

1,601 posts

Source : Colorfly C3, HTC One, Tablet, FLAC files.
Equipment : Ath-M30, Sony XBA C-10, Nakamichi S800
Requirement : Clean, clear, accurate. Nice tight bass. Don't want an amp that just blasts the bass and make everything muddy.
Budget : small budget 100-300+-
Any budget amp with those characteristics? Thanks in advance smile.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Feb 28 2014, 01:40 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Feb 27 2014, 01:34 PM)
Add extra 50 or 100 budget,think can get more options..... tongue.gif
Yeah ? Like what? Im open to suggestions thumbup.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Feb 28 2014, 01:40 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Feb 28 2014, 09:33 AM)
Schiit Magni...... tongue.gif
Looking for a portable one actually. Schiit Magni needs to be plugged in right?
ultra_nyamuk
post Mar 30 2014, 11:55 PM

1,601 posts

Hi, just need a suggestion:
Contemplating on JDSLabs C5 amp.. with shipping around RM670++.
I know with that budget i can get something like Fiio E18 for example.
Is C5 worth the money for that budget ?
Source.. Colorfly C3, HTC One.. FLAC files mostly. ATH-m30, Sony BA, Nakamichi IEM.
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 1 2014, 12:15 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 31 2014, 04:39 PM)
The contention here is with the HTC One as a source.  The FiiO E18 will out perform the C5 by quite a margin.

How about in terms of just amp? I read some reviews C5 is quite superior just like O2
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 2 2014, 01:02 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Apr 1 2014, 12:35 PM)
O2 is actually not superior. It's just very neutral. At first it sounds nice becuz it's freaking neutral. But after a while, it gets boring as it can sometimes be too analytical, especially when paired with monitor headphone like ATH M50.

O2 is a bargain for its price, but it is by no means the "reference" amp. It measures well no doubt, but it's not everyone's cup of tea.

The best way to survey for an amp is by auditioning it yourself. You are the judge, becuz everyone's taste differs. So dun take other's word for it.

Just my 2 cents  notworthy.gif
i do like neutrality with a little bass. C5 seems to fit as it comes with bass boost. Just wondering with the same price if i can get a "close enough" amp with better value.
I'm talking in terms of the price range...C5 seems to have good reviews vs amps in the same budget...so i assume its more "superior" Any amps to recommend within the C5 budget?

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: Apr 2 2014, 01:09 AM
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 2 2014, 10:13 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 2 2014, 05:48 AM)
in audiophile play, there is no such thing as superiority but preferences  nod.gif  one man's meat another man's poison  nod.gif

anyway you seems bent on the C5 as a "superior" amp even compare with DAC/amp then take the leap of faith  sweat.gif
Only on amp section. No dac ..read E18 has pretty good dac. But will be listening mostly from Colorfly C3..so i cant use dac also sweat.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Apr 3 2014, 02:36 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Apr 3 2014, 02:26 AM)
Hmm if I were you, I will upgrade the headphones or iem first instead of adding amp. Headphone or iem wise, still have room to upgrade.
Not sure if you know, c3 doesn't have line out. Adding amp is double amping. Though sometimes double amping might also have good effects but I must say you must meet the "coincidence". Double amping is not the usual way to connect equipment. Might cause distortion. If you want to improve your sound system, I still recommend solve it from the source.

If you really like colorfly clean sound signature, next time when you save up can go straight for c4. It's a really beautiful sounding dap. Build in amp quite strong, clean, good punch and crystal clear. I have chance to audition once in China.

Else lower budget, can consider hifiman hm700. It's selling dap alone 16gb version and dap+ iem version. With balance output, the hifiman iem sounds even more open, cleaner with better details. Hifiman unique signature is like a speaker, flexible and comfortable, not very punchy and more on the mids.

Or you can also consider getting portable dac/amp to connect to your handphone but make sure your handphone model is otg supported. I would suggest you to go for e17. E18 is closer to x3 sound signature, warmer. E17 is cleaner sound though details is slightly inferior than e18.
Thanks for the opinions/suggestions smile.gif much help.

0.0435sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:01 PM