Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

shiki_arc
post Feb 28 2012, 01:23 PM

281 posts

Hello guys, i'm just making my first step into audiophile world. Due to my limited budget, my first purchase which i'll be making soon would be the ATH-AD300/ATH-T500(not sure yet). So I heard an amp is needed for portable listening and for maximum performance so i'm planning to get 1 with my headphone purchase.

So, my rig is either my desktop, Galaxy W or my sony mp3 player. Can I have a recommendation for these usage? I mainly listen to music and games, movies sometimes.
Budget i'm not sure. Just hit me with the most suitable beginner amp for a decent price. My budget is definitely low so i'm surveying so I know how much I need to prepare.

Thank you very much sifus. cool.gif

shiki_arc
post Feb 28 2012, 01:30 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Feb 28 2012, 01:25 PM)
if you have AD300, start with a tmuso DAC, my greatest advice
and btw, i dont like T500 even a slightest bit, AD300 is way to go, also my greatest opinion
Ok, thank you very much! smile.gif You helped me a lot here =) Just 1 more question, I only have to plug in the amp to the audio port then plug my headphones in right? Any other things i should worry about?
shiki_arc
post Feb 28 2012, 02:05 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Feb 28 2012, 01:38 PM)
unless u have a dac, then yeah audio port > amp> headphone, if got dac, then usb(best use motherboard one)>dac>amp>headphone
QUOTE(GenericMav @ Feb 28 2012, 01:49 PM)
tmuso is a desktop dac, plug the USB in, and stereo jack out, with built in pre-amp, you got every blessing of every penny your money from it, no need to think about amp anymore  cool.gif
Ok, thanks a lot guys notworthy.gif Gonna survey prices and get the headphone and DAC ASAP! cool.gif

How about Govibe mini DAC? is it ok?
shiki_arc
post Feb 29 2012, 01:42 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Feb 29 2012, 12:25 AM)
i would rate GoVibe dac on par with tmuso dac, they do sounds similar in a way
ok! cuz i got bundle price for GoVibe + ATH-AD300. Just wanna know if its ok or not. Thanks again cool.gif

0.0485sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:54 PM