Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

joshuachew
post Apr 5 2012, 07:52 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ Apr 3 2012, 03:51 PM)
Looking for an amp for my iPhone 4 / UE Triple.fi. Being so small, I'm considering the Fiio E6 Headamp. I'm looking to up the bass response and maybe bring forward the mids abit. Will the E6 do this? Or does anyone have a better suggestion?
Pico Slim.

For the ultimate portable setup, there is only one way to go, Customs, iPod as transport with either the CLAS or the Fostex.

Here's mine:

joshuachew
post Mar 29 2013, 11:54 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 29 2013, 11:13 PM)
the low gain (-3dB) was design specifically for sensitive IEMs  nod.gif
But on low gain there is still hissing from the MK3-B. and the hissing is very very obvious.

What specifically do you wanna drive and what kind if sound do you want?
joshuachew
post Mar 30 2013, 10:18 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Mar 30 2013, 10:24 AM)
for now i will be driving my gears stated below...
and i wanted it to sound 3d , slight transparent , very detail bass and smooth mids...
I usually play pop , country , alternative than others
For nice thick mids I would recommend the Just Audio AHA. For sweeter mids, The Continental.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 30 2013, 11:23 PM
joshuachew
post Mar 31 2013, 09:32 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Mar 31 2013, 01:59 PM)
How about mustang and the shadow... they do have nice reviews as well ...has anyone encounter with them and please provide me some advice
Well, RSA has RSA sound. Forward, aggressive and tight bass.
Instead of naming brands on the forums. You should just get down and test them out yourself.
joshuachew
post Apr 1 2013, 12:21 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(nicholostan @ Mar 31 2013, 11:31 PM)
Any local stores can try... jaben only got mk2 in the website and those I listed .... maybe going jaben around 3 - 4 months later when school holidays
Don't just limit yourself to Jaben. If you can cross the border and go to Singapore there are so many audio shops where you can go and give them and try.
Cause honestly, if you limit yourself to Jaben. You'll go nowhere.
Even E1 is bringing in a few more brands too. ALO has some pretty decent amps too. But go listen to them. Singapore is a good place to start.
joshuachew
post May 19 2013, 11:12 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 16 2013, 02:05 AM)
read that ad1000x has a different design im actually looking for my end-game headphone and im not willing to go any higher since i've tried the hd650 and the T1 and the shure flagship all I didn't really like more than my AD900X honestly. From what i've read AD2000X only has different materials and AD1000X is a better buy for its price.
What amp were you using to drive the HD650/T1? Shure Flagships and your own AD900?
joshuachew
post May 25 2013, 10:23 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(arvil22 @ May 25 2013, 10:17 PM)
there is some answer yes but the answer are not tally on google which is no
Was that answer the Fostex HP-P1?
That device does not tally with Google? Then what did you get from your research on Google?
joshuachew
post May 25 2013, 10:26 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(beh0211 @ May 25 2013, 03:45 PM)
Source : hippo biscuit / nexus 4/ macbookpro (mainly hippo biscuit)
Equipment : se215/ms1i/dt770pro 80 ohm
Requirement : DAC+amp ?? want to have more smooth/nice mids/ soundstage
Budget : ~Rm500

is hippo cricri+ suits my case?? is hippo biscuit a good combination with cricri+?
I would suggest maybe an iBasso for your budget. And I don't know of the combination with the Biscuit. But I have never been a fan of Hippo amps. Try it out for yourself if it does make a difference in the sound and not just alters the volume. Compare it to other affordable amps like iBasso, FiiO, or even the DIY amps like Mini3 etc. You'll be pleasently surprised.

QUOTE(arvil22 @ May 25 2013, 10:24 PM)
The HP-P1 is made for

iPod Touch (2nd, 3rd, 4th Generation)
iPod Classic (6th Generation)
iPod Nano (4th, 5th, 6th Generation)
iPhone 4
iPhone 3GS
iPhone 3G

http://www.fostexinternational.com/docs/products/HP-P1.shtml 

there is no iphone 5 on the list
Kidding me? I use it with my iPod touch 5th Gen and my iPhone 5 and my iPad 4. All using the new lightning cable. This is a case in point of what Googling and not going out to try can do to you.
joshuachew
post May 26 2013, 11:06 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 26 2013, 08:05 AM)
No need for that, direct lightning to USB  nod.gif
The cable in the link is a direct lightning to USB. I have already mentioned in my earlier post that I do use it with the lightning cable so I didn't see the need to repeat myself.
joshuachew
post May 27 2013, 08:35 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ May 27 2013, 02:13 PM)
If you want multi function, get the latest Sony PHA-1, a much better deal IMO, it can use as Apple line out DAC (You can use Lightning to USB, or a convertor) and PC usb dac for home desktop set up.
There is a thread comparing them both on Head-Fi. Good read. *here*
joshuachew
post Apr 15 2014, 01:48 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

I came across this and thought I'd share it here. It's super cheap and a good deal for beginners looking for a (almost) complete set up.

https://head-direct.com/Products/?act=detail&id=194
joshuachew
post May 3 2014, 08:17 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 3 2014, 02:15 AM)
Currently looking for an Amp/DAC combo (either seperate units or an all in one)

Source : PC
Cans : HD558 (current)/Alpha Dogs (Planned)
Requirement : Emphasis on proper tight bass and lush mids. Nice big soundstage will be a bonus. Slightly warm would be nice.
Budget : RM2K
Type : Portable or fixed doesn't matter.
You might wanna check this out. And he did his listening with the SRH1540 and a HD650.

http://www.head-fi.org/products/teac-ha-50...r/reviews/10925
joshuachew
post May 3 2014, 03:35 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 3 2014, 01:49 PM)
Thanks mate. Looks very very solid. But does anyone here uses the GoVibe PortaTube+? Really interested in that one too.
Tested the Continental that I own against the PortaTube. And honestly it was not even a fight. The Continental is much more open, lusher mids and fuller bass. Kind of everything a traditional valve amp is acclaimed for, the continental beat the PortaTube at it. But yes, ALO Continental has been discontinued now. But if you're looking for a new one. Do drop me a PM. And no. I am not the one selling it. But I have a source.
joshuachew
post May 3 2014, 06:24 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 3 2014, 03:45 PM)
Wow. I asked because a review pitted the HP V1 against the PortaTube+. But if the Continental did kick Porta's ass then the Continental V3 must've been something special.

Hmmm, have you tried ALO Continental V3's bigger brother the Pan Am? Saw it going for $499 only on Amazon. Btw PM me about the V3. You had my curiosity, but after seeing the reviews, now you have my attention.
Sent you a PM.

And here is a review from what I read that led me to getting the V3
http://www.headfonia.com/long-live-portabl...continental-v3/

The Pan Am is better than the V3, but if I were to spend money anyway it would be on the WA7 as its much better than the Pan Am. But the Pan Am for its size and price, does not sound as wow as the Continental.
joshuachew
post May 17 2014, 02:17 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Crusnik04 @ May 17 2014, 10:58 AM)
Hi need amp for my shure srh940 to play with my xperia z,listen to Heavy metal music like testament,trivium,metallica,megadeth etc,which amp/dac u recommended?
Budget? What kind of sound are you looking for in the amp?

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 3 2014, 02:15 AM)
Currently looking for an Amp/DAC combo (either seperate units or an all in one)

Source : PC
Cans : HD558 (current)/Alpha Dogs (Planned)
Requirement : Emphasis on proper tight bass and lush mids. Nice big soundstage will be a bonus. Slightly warm would be nice.
Budget : RM2K
Type : Portable or fixed doesn't matter.
Would recommend the CLAS -dB and MK3 B combo.
And also. Drop the Alpha Dogs idea. I think an LCD2 would suit you better. Throw in a good interconnect and some ALO Reference 16 cables and you're pretty much set. Just my two cents though. icon_rolleyes.gif
joshuachew
post May 21 2014, 01:17 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(sleepbell @ May 20 2014, 04:59 PM)
Source: Samsung Note3
Earphones: Shure SE215
Player : poweramp
Source : flac, ape
Requirements: Portable Amp/DAC

please recommand , Thanks
Honestly. You don't need one. If you get an amp you'll be double amping. If you want to DAC out from your Android. That's going to cost you much much more than even the earphone that you have.
joshuachew
post Jun 3 2014, 03:53 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jun 2 2014, 08:34 PM)
i think 2nd n 3rd link ships to US only with that price
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Jun 2 2014, 09:31 PM)
sweat.gif  doh.gif Sorry. Flag too small. Ingat Malaysian one. Hahah. Malaysian shipping usually $15-20.
All you have to do is send them an email that you want the item shipped to your country and they will have it included in the options.
joshuachew
post Jun 5 2014, 03:41 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:57 PM)
of coz not that crazy la , if i were to use my galaxy S , i'll use it as a player straight away already biggrin.gif
so which will be the better choice?
This isn't crazy. It's an entry level product. You should actually go out there and try it out yourself. You'll be able to try all the products in your budget and see which suits you best. Always remember. You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.
joshuachew
post Jun 9 2014, 05:52 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 8 2014, 10:40 AM)
For your info, here is currently one of the best DAC in the world at RM6399  nod.gif

That Hugo.......
joshuachew
post Jun 22 2014, 07:23 PM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(nonobody @ Jun 21 2014, 04:48 AM)
hi audio sifus, I need help to improve my sound quality from speaker hcs3220 connected to laptop so I'm thinking of getting an entry level amp or dac? Or a external sound card maybe?

The problem arise when I compare my HTC one x and laptop connected to the same speaker, I can notice a diffeence in output with the HTC sounds better.

pls advice.
Someone might recommend you a 20k DAC if you don't state your budget.

This post has been edited by joshuachew: Jun 22 2014, 07:23 PM

0.0512sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:20 AM