Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

hypermax
post Aug 3 2012, 08:19 PM

2,524 posts

Hi guys, I am very new to this section. Basically i have been reading up articles on the web for the past few days, but my knowledge for high quality audio equipment is still very rudimentary. Thus I hope gurus here can give me some advice and recommendations.

Basically I own an Edifier S330 for the past 2 years. I was initially quite satisfied with its performance when playing normal R&B and other pop songs. However, recently I started to have strong interest in Jazz and classical music, and all of sudden I find the sound of my speakers lacking. Perhaps not "rich" enough is the word. Anyhow below is the brief details of my audio source:

Music format: MP3 320kbps and some FLAC
Player: foobar2000
Sound card: Creative SB X-fi Fatal1ty (older PCI version)
Speakers: Edifier S330

Questions:

1. Will adding an external DAC improve the sound quality tremendously?

2. Which DAC is recommended? Budget around RM500 (thinking of Fiio E10 since many good reviews)

3. Should I upgrade my speakers instead (to maybe Aego M)? (sorry if this is the wrong section to ask)

Thanks and best regards.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 3 2012, 08:20 PM
hypermax
post Sep 15 2013, 02:09 AM

2,524 posts

Hi experts, I am thinking of getting a USB DAC to drive my HiVi X4 (Realtek onboard really sux big time). Btw between T-muso DAC PCM2704 and Light DAC 24/96 Sabre ES9023, which should i buy? I am listening mostly to classical music, with occasional R&B and rock.
hypermax
post Sep 16 2013, 11:58 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 15 2013, 07:56 AM)
if between DACs, i think the differences not much significant on sound signature, but merely the features, like 24 bit decoding etc, so either will do, but more people using ESS sabre based DACs nowadays
I see. thx for the info

Btw, is there a lot of difference between custom made USB DAC and those commercial ones with complex circuitry? (besides the price of course laugh.gif )
hypermax
post Sep 17 2013, 12:31 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 16 2013, 12:18 PM)
it differs in terms of resolution, some resolve signals better than others, and other fancy features which i am sure is to brainwash people
I see. Thx for the explanation.

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Sep 16 2013, 03:34 PM)
Tested both and used to own T-Muso. If you mean Light DAC 24/96 Sabre ES9023 from Slevin Sent, I will say the sound really bad but according to other forumer, they have different experience. So maybe I get the faulty one? I returned Sabre and keep T-Muso.

After that I test UD100 for few hours and I fell in love with her, ordered a unit and sell off my T-Muso. However, after few month I realized I miss T-Muso coloration. Both sound good. UD100 is brighter, and T-Muso have fun coloration and you might think that it's more relax. I love clarity, and that's why I think UD100 is my type. But when come to heavy guitar riff, solo and drum rolling, I prefer T-Muso. I wish I own both now.

I'm sorry for including UD100. biggrin.gif BTW, some of UD100 review and discussion:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/626632/tiny-dac-b...s-ud100-vs-odac

And they going to release a new one, UD110:
https://www.facebook.com/StonerAcoustics

I think you will never go wrong with T-Muso.
Thanks for sharing. Will get the T-Muso first since UD110 is not released yet

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Sep 16 2013, 06:10 PM)
Do consider the following as well:
FiiO E10
iBasso D42 (dual dac)
JDS Labs ODAC
Thx for the recommendations.

Any idea where to audition DAC around PJ/KL area?

Dear Sifus,

I am currently using UD110 USB DAC with HiVi X4 (active speakers). Controlling volume from playback software can be a pain as i have to adjust everything individually, and certain games volume cant be controlled. My X4 is still damn bloody loud even when the volume knob is turned to the lowest if (i dun turn down the software volume). Is there a way to hardware control the volume (via amp or something else)? From what i understand, amp is not required for active speakers.

Sorry for the long question. Hopefully someone can answer me. Thx
hypermax
post Oct 9 2013, 12:56 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Oct 8 2013, 06:49 PM)
Does your keyboard have volume control keys/buttons? Certain keyboards have these and you can control the master volume automatically without ever having to click on the volume/mixer control in the system tray. On the other hand, if you are familiar with DIY stuff then simply construct a volume control box that connects between the DAC and the speaker inputs. Roughly use either a 10KOhm or 50KOhm dual gang logarithmic potentiometer. wink.gif
Thx for the advice. Problem solved. The DAC I was using was in 32bit, so windows can't control the volume. Changing it to 16bit mode for direct sound and 32bit for ASIO solved the problem. Big thanks to Stoner Acoustic for the help.
hypermax
post Feb 27 2014, 10:31 PM

2,524 posts

Can someone recommend me a preamp? Wanna use it to control the volume from my UD110V2 USB DAC to HiVi X4. Even though X4 are active speakers, the volume is too damn loud and it's troublesome to control the volume from software on a Mac (need to adjust each and every application one by one)
hypermax
post Feb 27 2014, 11:00 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Feb 27 2014, 10:44 PM)
schiit asgard 2
Thanks for the recommendation but i think it's too expensive for a pre-amp. Just need something to control the volume without distorting the sound quality.
hypermax
post Apr 1 2014, 12:35 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Apr 1 2014, 12:15 AM)
How about in terms of just amp? I read some reviews C5 is quite superior just like O2
O2 is actually not superior. It's just very neutral. At first it sounds nice becuz it's freaking neutral. But after a while, it gets boring as it can sometimes be too analytical, especially when paired with monitor headphone like ATH M50.

O2 is a bargain for its price, but it is by no means the "reference" amp. It measures well no doubt, but it's not everyone's cup of tea.

The best way to survey for an amp is by auditioning it yourself. You are the judge, becuz everyone's taste differs. So dun take other's word for it.

Just my 2 cents notworthy.gif
hypermax
post Apr 2 2014, 10:11 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Apr 2 2014, 01:02 AM)
i do like neutrality with a little bass. C5 seems to fit as it comes with bass boost. Just wondering with the same price if i can get a "close enough" amp with better value.
I'm talking in terms of the price range...C5 seems to have good reviews vs amps in the same budget...so i assume its more "superior" Any amps to recommend within the C5 budget?
Well, no harm trying. Perhaps you can get the C5 first, then we meet up and compare it with my ODAC+O2 combo smile.gif
hypermax
post Apr 4 2014, 09:31 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Apr 4 2014, 08:29 PM)
Funny thing is,I feel a bit bassy with O2+ATHM50,only neutral with O2+DT880PRO.... tongue.gif
Ya kah? I actually find the bass for ath m50 just nice, but not excessive

Haven't tried dt880 pro before, but it has the reputation of being very analytical.

0.0533sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:56 PM